??!
2 photos
Hoover 5013PH Dog and Cat T4008

Hoover 5013PH Dog and Cat T4008

3.2 from 95 reviews

Reviews

(26)
(27)
(11)
(6)
(25)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (6)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (7)
  • Product is used:
    • Several times a week (4)
    • Weekly (2)
    • Daily (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (7)
  • Pet OwnerYes (6) · No (1)

Maureen

MaureenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

some problems with emptying

published

Good suction, does a good job removing hair, grass, bindii etc... from carpet and tiles however cleaning the turbo brush and emptying the chamber are very disappointing.
I have two long haired afghan hounds and I vacuum every second day, but I need to use scissors to pull the hair out of the chamber because the hair and debris clog it up, same with the turbo brush.
By the time I get all the debris out of the brush and chamber I am covered with it and yearning for a good old vacuum bag.

Purchased in November 2019 at Godfreys for $98.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Renee m

Renee mNSW, 2038

  • 25 reviews

You think it is good until you actually use soemthing else after it!

published

Had this vacuum and it appeared OK to the naked eye, it appeared I had vacuumed but what I noticed is that the cat hair on my carpet was reappearing almost overnight (my guess was that it was still deep in the carpet and lifting). Well I vacuumed on the Saturday, looked ok. Redid Sunday, looked better. My Dyson Animal V8 arrived on Monday, and i went over the whole house and oh, my, god. The barrel was FULL within minutes! I was disgusted. YUCK! Don't waste your money, invest in something proper!

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Rainy

RainyIllawarra, NSW

  • 9 reviews

If this can pick up cat litter on an old part-shaggy carpet, it can pick up anything (including pet hair)

published

Literally the worst vacuum I’ve ever used

published

Suction was extremely poor from the start, now it just gets blocked constantly. Makes a 10 minute job take an hour, I can’t stand it. I’ve only had it 4 months, and have only been using it on barely messy carpets.

Purchased in February 2019 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Creedence M.

Creedence M.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great power

published

I have only had this vacuum for a couple of months but love it so far. We have two dogs that shed no stop and it does an amazing job and getting most of the stubborn hair out of our carpet. After purchasing for $99, I’m very happy with the quality for the price of the product.

However, the vacuum hose doesn’t clip into anywhere on the vacuum which is quite annoying for storage of it.

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfreys for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

unhappyblanco

unhappyblancoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent vacuum shame nowhere to clip / store the hose

published

Neat vacuum, very easy to move and great colour with a very powerful suction which is great with collecting cat and dog hairs and firballs. The ONLY downside is there's nowhere to clip on the hose when storing it. My previous vacs you could slot the hose into the base standing upwards so its not sprawled over the utility floor. Poor design in that respect but otherwise we're really pleased with it. Great value and quality - would have scored top had the hose clipped into the base to stand upright.

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfreys for $98.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Mariana

MarianaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Lasted 2 years exactly

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Godfreys for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

pastor3141

pastor3141albury

  • 2 reviews

weakling

published

i do not mind the short cord
i do not mind the speed at which it fills up
I like thats its light and quiet
what I dont like is thats too weak to do much good with the cats hair.
I do not like the turbo head constantly jamming
I did not the turbo head breaking
Suction is underpowered for its 1800 watts and the turbo head causes a large part of that power to be used up by rotating the brush.
I have had better machines from this brand.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Good quality

published

We use it on timber flooring to get thru the timber holes and it does an amazing job. I do not have pets but I have 3 girls Means more hair.

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
StormVII

StormVIIMelbourne

Don’t waste your money or time

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

lodz_au

lodz_auSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good, no problems

published

I've had this vacuum cleaner for a couple of months, and it works well, I have two cats that leave their fur everywhere. Picks up cat hair well. I just have to turn the suction down otherwise it pulls up my rugs. Easy to use. Hasn't been used that much.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Sarah

SarahSydney

Do not waste money

published

This vacuum is constantly breaking and blocking, which means it doesn't do a very good job at sucking. It's a nightmare to clean my floors because of it. Cant clean one room without it blocking - very frustrating Don't waste your money. Just spend a little more and get a decent one. You may as well not have a vacuum with this one.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Kath G

Kath GSydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 20 likes

A good product

published

I bought this for my daughter and have used it on a number of occasions. I find that it is a very good vac for the price. It copes very well with her 2 cats that are heavy shedders of fur and the suction on this is so good at getting it out of the carpet . I would totally recommend this product

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Humpty

Humptyeast maitland

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great leaves the Kogan for dead

published

no it is a magnificent product for the price. However I was a bit sceptical at first because of the price, I and my cleaners are very happy with the product. Purchased a Kogan and it had many problems and even after returning it to them they stated that there was nothing wrong with it.Then I bought the hoover and now everyone is happy.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Brian Lamprell

Brian LamprellSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Very Happy

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
JRo

JRoSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Perfect for what we need

published

After enduring vacuums that went from bad to worse, my husband and I gave this vacuum a go and have never regretted it. It's great at picking up cat hairs and litter and is so light and easy to manoeuvre. For its price tag it really is a steal. Would recommend to anyone with pets.

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Jen

Jen

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

If you own animals don't buy this vacuum cleaner

published

I purchased the Hoover dog and cat turbo vacuum about 3 months ago from Godfreys as I own both of the above. I am unable to do a full vacuum of my tiled house without it clogging somewhere in the pipe or turbo brush or even the dust collection bucket. It is so frustrating. It does not clean the carpets in the bedrooms unless the turbo brush is running which is rare due to blockages. It is frustrating to say the least. I do not recommend this vacuum for anyone with animals!

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Gen

GenIllawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Vacuum

published

I am a cleaner & this vacuum is the best vacuum I've ever bought. I can't stand the stand up vacuums, this one is perfect. It is so simple & easy to use. Retractable power cord (will admit it's not that long but none are these days), easy to remove the filters & contents to empty out, pulls all hair, fluff & crumbs up easily, even small leaves. It has a light that shines red on the top of the vacuum when something is stuck or it's full. One problem, I can't get the head off the pole. It doesn't affect cleaning the head but it would make life a tiny bit easier if I could get the head off.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

ERIK

ERIKCairns

  • 9 reviews

HOUSE ALL ROUNDER

published

Any chore done - cobwebbing, mats, carpets, sofas, tiles, bedding esp if a pet household.. as hair sticks to furniture... Great Suction & Long lasting machine with easy clean filters. A car clean done easily with smaller attachments reaching narrow spots

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Mummy2Be_123

Mummy2Be_123Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 33 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great vacuum, Cord is too short

published

We purchased this vacuum cheaply as we had a Dyson prior which we kept having issues with. This vacuum has be great, the suction is not to bad for a small vacuum, it seems to pick up hair well, the vacuum its self is quite loud so no vacuuming if the baby is sleep and the turbo head is awesome though a little annoying if hair gets stuck in the brushes because you will be there for a while cleaning it out. We currently use it solely on floorboards, rugs and carpet in the car and it makes them look as good as new.

My pet hate with this vacuum is the really short cord, the cord really needs to be longer. especially when you are vacuum a large home.

would hesitate to purchase another one of these in the future

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Paula Townshend

Paula Townshendasked

what does the maximum level mean and how can I fix it? The light stays on even after I've emptied the dust container.

3 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Paula,
This light is indicating that there is a blockage in the machine, blockages can occur in the head, rod, hose and filters.
We would also recommend to check if the filters are due for replacement, it is recommended to replace them every 6-12 months.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Rainy
Rainy

I know exactly what you're talking about because the same thing happened to me. I would definitely put this down to bad instuctions in the manual. Here is how to fix it:
1. Push the red button on the top (the one closest to the word "Hoover". Turn that part of the vac. cleaner upsidedown. At the bottom of the filter push the black square piece, which will release the top (remember, it's upside down). Tip the dirt out. You will think you have emptied it, but in this next step you will get the shock of your life when you see the amount of dirt is still there. It helps to do this part anywhere where there is no carpet & wearing gloves. THE FIX: Inside the part that you just emptied, on the right side inside the empty section (the filter part is facing you) there is a round black tube-like structure (this why you are wearing gloves). Put yout hand around it & turn it to your left (anticlockwise). At first, it might be tight (mine was) so I just turned it harder. Pull it out & watch the dirt fall out. Amazing how much dirt is still in there, 'ay? Put the black tube back in, turning it to the right (clockwise). Before closing it, take the white filter out. If the colour is tan or brownish, the filter is really dirty, so clean that as well. You can scrape the dirt off with your hand if you like. If you think there is a piece of thick tan spongy thing, it is just another load of dirt.
Place the filter back, close the top of the dirt holder, canister, or whatever you want to call it. Place the canister back in the vac cleaner. Plug it in & turn it on. The light should go off. I'm not sure which "max" you are talking about because I haven't got the manual in front of me. If you are talking about the large red button on the top, turn it all the way to the right. It is noisy, but the machine will have more power to pick up more things. I assume that would depend on how thick your carpet is, but you definitely wont need to put it that high if you are picking up things on a non-carpeted floor. Before you vacuum, pick up small things off the floor (paper clips, paper, etc.). I have heard that kitty litter that has been tracked onto a carpet can actually clog & even break a vac. cleaner. I use the catlux litter in the purple bag (Woolies + Coles) that is actually tiny chips of wood. It's also soft on their little paws. I wouldn't take the chance of vacuuming up crystal litter, but you can if you want. With all other vacuums I've used, vacuuming up the litter I use, was impossible. I put this down to an old shaggy carpet, but the carpet wasn't the problem, the vacuum cleaners were. Miraculously, this vac. pics it up perfectly without any problem. I personally think that the problem using this vac is the instruction manual. Maybe it was written by someone who never used it or maybe never even vacuumed before, but cleaning out the dirt instructions are really terrible. People who write manuals should have to use them first. Well, that's what I think anyway. NOTE: I wrote this as I cleaned my vac to write this answer, so that I could tell you exactly what I was doing. I hope these instructions are clear. If you need any further info. just let me know. If I can help, I certainly will. Cheers!

Paula Townshend
Paula Townshend

Thanks. I'll give it a go.


Mel

Melasked

Can I reverse the suction . If yes how do I do it?

1 answer
Mariana
Mariana

No.


Maged

Magedasked

Where I can buy filter for hover model 5013 ph and how much? thanks

2 answers
Kath G
Kath G

get in touch with your nearest Godfreys they will help you with this.

Humpty
Humpty

godfreys


Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.