??!
8 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Multi Floor, Animal Pro, Animal, etc...
3.6 from 729 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.6

729 reviews
5
(290)
4
(179)
3
(79)
2
(76)
1
(105)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (131)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (131)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (133)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (130)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (131)
  • Pet OwnerYes (95) · No (40)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (23) · No (113)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Tony.

Tony.South East Queensland, QLD

Not impressed!

published

Purchased the Bigball multifloor after the old Dyson DC37 finally stopped after years of faithful service. Thought I'd upgrade to a better machine with this unit. Wrong!
If it's called multifloor why is it not good on carpet? Suction is great but the stupid pneumatic head is a waste of time and useless. It just leaves a clump of dog hair either in front when pushing or behind when pulling.
Contacted Dyson and was told I could buy another more suitable head for $140.
Why would I do that when I've just spent $500 on a "multifloor" vacuum?
Save your money and buy an old 37, wish I had.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$499.00.

Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Sanja3766

Sanja3766Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

One badly designed vacuum cleaner for a lot of money!

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Motors in these are absolute rubbish

published

My Dyson Animal lasted two years. It's use has been household carpet and vinyl flooring. A few days ago the unit started producing a screaming sound which I took to be a bearing failure. I fitted a new motor and. Upon examining the old motor found the end cap on the motor housing had fatigued totally and allowed the amature to contact the outer section. The casing is unbelievably thin.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Elina S.

Elina S.Sydney, NSW

Poor suction. Very disappointed.

published

Very poor suction through the head.not worth the money. Used on hard floor and carpet. Carpet head was slightly better than the hard floor one but suction still not adequate.

Purchased in May 2020 at Dyson for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
mib0004

mib0004Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very disappointed, not worth the money.

published

We bought this Dyson after having 15 years faithful service from our previous Dyson.
We are extremely disappointed with the Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro.
The problem with this one is mostly the emptying motion. It is like some fancy designer who has never used one got the contract. The bottom flops open and the barrel moves down just enough to cover the fine mesh filter making it difficult to clean out. Then it doesn't always clip back together properly. I am also wondering for the price why did they become so stingy with the cord length. It is about 2m shorter than the old unit and never seems to be just long enough.
The current Dyson cleaners are nowhere near the quality of earlier models. I would never buy one again.

Purchased in January 2019 at Betta Home Living for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Nat

NatHobart, TAS

Not worth It

published

Purchased 3 years ago & only tried to use it twice before putting it in garage as after going over an over fluff on the carpet I had to bend down and pick it up. ( So just use my v6 slim cordless) Thought it was my carpet 3 yrs later it’s still new so just tried on my mums carpet as it’s been just sitting in the box unused and the same thing happens it sucks on your hand but picks hardly anything up after 10mins use the V6 slim again is full in minutes!!

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Andrew2

Andrew2Far West, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Design disaster do not buy

published

The multi floor head is a constant struggle. It makes vacuuming carpets a nightmare. Instead of gliding over the carpet like every other vacuum I have ever used this thing lowers the blue strips that are supposed to be brushes and drags badly. Pushing the head is not possible. You have to lift, place it in position and pull heavily towards you.
The top handle is downright stupid. because it is a loop above the tube, it twists your wrist badly.

Purchased in July 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$690.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Andrew2
Andrew2
VG1

VG1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

What a piece of rubbish

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Jayden G.

Jayden G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointed

published

Works great on tiles, struggles on carpet floors. Has anyone else found it just doesn’t pick a great deal up on carpet floors? I have tried all settings and find I am constantly picking up after it like I do for my infant child. I’ve previously owned older model Dyson that worked great on carpet. Disappointed.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Siggy Nowak

Siggy NowakSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Dyson crap

published

The musclehead of this vacuum cleaner is total rubbish - ridiculously designed. We have had other Dyson vacuum cleaners which were well designed, but this one really "sucks." Suction is so great the muscle head sticks to the the carpet and scratches the polished floors even on the low suction setting. It's not called a "muscle head" for nothing!! So brutal to move - needs to be more like a hovercraft than a limpid clam. The designers certainly need to go back to the drawing boards. Meanwhile here I am cursing and looking for an alternative head with bristles instead of hard plastic ribbing.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Siggy Nowak
Siggy Nowak

The on/off switch is flimsy and yes the canister emptying mechanism needs more work. For a $700+ vacuum cleaner Dyson is going backwards on this one. Surely no-one has tested it with real people.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Going away from basics - a failed model

published

Purchased in June 2019 at David Jones.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Dodokebab

DodokebabSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Picks up so much unseen dirt!

published

Just purchased this today from Harvey Norman Everton Park. It blows out a large amount of heat. However the amount of dirt it sucked up was outstanding! Actually I was horrified at how much dirt there was in my bedroom! I emptied the barre twice for one bedroom!! And I vacuum regularly - obviously my old vac was not so good after all!!!! The tools are light weight to counteract the heavy barrel. The tools are very useful and there’s plenty of choice and an extra head in the box. I was pleasantly surprised at all the extra tools. The one for cleaning skirting boards worked a charm!! I’d recommend it.

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$675.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Ryan G.

Ryan G.

  • 4 reviews

Perfect Vacuum!

published

Small and easy to store, but has great suction. Keeps the house clean and so very easy to look after. Capacity of the dust collection could be greater, but apart from that a great product.

Tayla S.

Tayla S.Northeast, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Love my Dyson

published

I have only had this product for 2 months but absolute loving it!!
So easy to move around and the results are great 10x better than my previous vacuum.

Great on all floor types and even great in the car !!

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$600.00.

Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Olga Moore

Olga MooreGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Excellent vacuum cleaner

published

Excellent product no bags sucks dust amazingly
Bought on Go MasterCard 60 months interest free $6 service fee per month
Beautiful design top of the range virtually for close to nothing
$24 per month won’t break any budget

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phoebe S.

Phoebe S.

  • 2 reviews

Nothing to fault! Amazing!

published

i use this vacuum daily on a number of floor types, wood and tile being the main two. It has never let me down. My family have been customers of Dyson our entire lives and refuse to use anything else. There quality is amazing and dealing with complaint, purchases or anything else is always smooth and a positive experience.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
tjz25

tjz25Sydney, NSW

  • 24 reviews

Good to very good, lives up to advertised specifications

published
dragana0282

dragana0282Southwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

I believe in dyson and this is dissapointing.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Judith S.

Judith S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Do Not Buy Dyson, Never again Dyson

published

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Tricia Griffiths

Tricia GriffithsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very disappointed.

published

My first Dyson lasted over 30years. It was wonderful. I purchased another 18months ago and I more than disappointed with it. It’s terrible. The brush had already worn. And my new carpets(3yrs) look dirty all time. Tricia Griffiths.

1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Page 1 of 37

Questions & Answers

Sue

Sueasked

Cinetic Big Ball

My brand new Dyson won’t clean a short pile rug! I have used every head and nothing helps, have I just wasted $500

No answers
Meg F.

Meg F.asked

Cinetic Big Ball

Can I use my dyson big ball to vacuum wet carpet? I've rubbed i with nappy san and warm water and also used vanish carpet clean and am wondering if I can vamuum that up.

Thanks

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Dyson vacuum cleaners are designed for use on dry household dust and dirt. Any use on liquids or moisture can cause damage to your machine and is not recommended.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com. If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

Dena Ford

Dena Fordasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal+

My Dyson ball animal + makes a screeching sound like one of the wheels isn’t turning properly when I pull back while vacuuming. When the brush is not on it doesn’t make the noise. Please help?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

This certainly isn't what we would expect. Please forward your query and details through to auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be happy to help.

If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.