13 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Multi Floor, Animal Pro, Animal, etc... (See All)
3.5 from 802 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dyson

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (190)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (194)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (195)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (191)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (192)
  • Pet OwnerYes (135) · No (66)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (37) · No (162)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Tiger
TigerPerth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Poor Product Design

published

Purchased in January 2021 at The Good Guys Online store for $409.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben
BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Weak suction and pet hair clogs

published

Have owned this machine for a few years and the suctions seems to be getting weaker and weaker each time we use it. All of the heads are not suitable for long haired pets, constantly clogging and jamming.
Very disappointed with this (expensive) product and wouldn’t recommend to anyone. Don’t think my next will be a Dyson.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $800.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message

We are sorry to hear of this. Please get in touch with our Dyson Experts via Facebook Messenger, Live Chat or phone and we will only be happy to help. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/dyson-support

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ruined my wool carpet

published

Purchased our Dyson specifically for dog hair as we just had 100% wool carpet laid and our dogs hair was covering it. What we noticed was our wool carpet started fuzzing up it is now a big matted mess, it was obvious is was the vacuum head doing the damage. Dyson works ok on floors and rugs but avoid if you have wool carpet.

Purchased in July 2021 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message

Please get in touch with our Dyson Experts via Facebook Messenger, Live Chat or phone and we will only be happy to help. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob
RobGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Pretty Much Useless

published

Purchased the above approx 3 years ago. Has to qualify as one of our worst purchases ever. Wheels keep falling off unit, the wheels on the power head fall and wont reattach and now the poer head has stopped working. Overpriced, overrated and underperfoming.

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for $700.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave
DavePerth, WA

Initially good now no sucking power and smelly

published

Initially was a good vacuum on purchase, good suction, but after 2 years of near daily use and 2 replacement brush heads and a broken wand attachment plus now very poor suction And smelly I think it’s the last Dyson vacuum I’ll be buying. There’s also no way of cleaning the unit out so a build up of smelly dust etc inside that can’t get to to clean makes the house smell after vacuuming

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Unhappy
Unhappy
  • 2 reviews

Not worth it

published

The vacuum does not pick up hair on carpet whereas cheep alternative does. Head completely broke off within two year warranty. Warranty only meets normal legislation of repair. Refused to give money back or even replace.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eloise A.
Eloise A.
  • 4 reviews

Waste of Money

published

Paid $500 for this vacuum it barely sucks anything up from the carpet. Terrible has the quality of a $50 vacuum. Also it’s great to empty when dirt flies all over you.

Purchased in October 2019 for $499.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
DEEPAK
DEEPAK
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Worst vaccuam ever.

published

Doesn't vaccuam carpet properly, head keep getting stuck. Very expensive vaccuam and very poor performance. Spoken to dyson helpline and there services are the most worst experience I ever had.

Purchased in July 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $499.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Liz M
Liz MLaunceston, TAS
  • 2 reviews

Shades behind my Dyson Origin which lasted yonks through 4 sons, cat and dog

published

carpet, wooden, tiles and vinyl. Changing tools for different surfaces is a pain when using at least twice a week.
I hate to be one of those but the whole machine does not appear as robust and people friendly as my original.

Purchased at Dyson for $500.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Auntysooty
AuntysootyRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 9 reviews

Warranty and Customer Service…

published

I am just under 1mth shy of the 2yr standard Dyson warranty ending on my Cinetic Big Ball. It hasn’t been performing the best for a couple of months and I decided to call Dyson to see what advice I could get. The amazing/helpful and friendly ‘[Name Removed]’ explained to me their Return process of getting my Dyson back to their Service Centre (at NO cost to me). I asked so many questions and [Name Removed] answered every one.. It’s this kind of fabulous customer service that will keep me purchasing Dyson. I even have a spare DC39 (my workhorse) which I can use while the newer one is being looked at. I will update with the outcome. Fingers crossed it’s not serious. Well done [Name Removed].

Purchased in December 2019.

Noise Level
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Usually A fan
Usually A fanPerth, WA

Worst Dyson I’ve ever owned!

published

Purchased in June 2021 at RetraVision for $599.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
Usually A fan
Usually A fan

I already did and as a result have spent an additional $135 on a tangle free turbine tool (useless on large floors and carpets) and a dual mode floor tool which I am yet to see if it works.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Muhammad
MuhammadSouth East Queensland, QLD

Piece of Junk........Stay away from Dyson

published

Bought this Vacuum in 2019, paid top dollars however after approx 3 years of use, its motor has burnt out and warranty would not cover it (comes with 24 months warranty) either. I do not expect this to happen considering the amount i paid for this piece of junk. Even cheaper brands last longer than this.
Dyson might a good brand in the past......not anymore
Don't waste your money......stay away from Dyson

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tania
Tania
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Motor has burnt out twice

published
Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tim
TimSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Big Ball Animal - big tick

published

i can highly recommend this product. It has great suction and picks up all the animal fur with ease off carpet, rugs and timber floors. It also comes with lots of attachments for all your needs.

Purchased in February 2021 for $749.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Read all reviews before buying

published
  • Thumbnail
Noise Level
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Tim P.
Tim P.asked
Cinetic Big Ball

Hi My Dyson Cinetic Big Ball CY22 is getting very hot when I use the appliance. I understand there are no filters to clean. Is this normal? What could be causing the excess heat?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
Netty
Nettyasked
Cinetic Big Ball

I loved my previous Dyson ball vacuum cleaner but it was getting old & not sucking as well so purchased a new Big Ball. Ever since I've owned it ( a few years now) I've had trouble opening the latch to empty & reclosing it. I usually have to get my husband who also finds it a struggle. There seems to be something wrong with the trigger mechanism.

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
Becks W.
Becks W.asked
Cinetic Big Ball

Hi seriously load noise emitting from the vents (exhaust) and dust coming out.

I've checked everything else no blockages etc. I notice others asking about the same thing. Paid over 1k and no reciept yet now it's doing this. Not impressed. Seems like filter change is needed yet I brought on the understanding I'd never need to do that. Disappointed.

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Details

Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal+
  • Award Winner 2020

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal+

4.2
(58)
CategoryBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $849.00$749.00$499.00$599.00
Bin Capacity1.5 L1.6 L
HEPA FilterNoNoNoNo
Weight7.64 kg7.64 kg7.64 kg
TypeBaglessBaglessBaglessBagless
Cord Length6.6 m6.6 m6.6 m6.6 m
Suction (Air Watts)250 AW250 AW250 AW250 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateApr 2016Sept 2019Apr 2016
Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.