??!
7 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Multi Floor, Animal Pro, Animal, etc...
3.7 from 701 reviews

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
286
4 star
176
3 star
78
2 star
70
1 star
91

Cushla J

Cushla JRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews

It is a great vacuum

published

Purchased in August 2018 for $360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Jac

JacSouth Australia

Worst model

published

This unit is terrible , Ive had it for 2years and now the rotating head wont rotate, suction is awful even after emptying barrel.
Head is forever flicking up more dirt than it sucks in .

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Jac
Jac

Thank you , Ive done the above a couple of times and unfortunately its still not rotating . I will send my details as instructed above .

webmate

webmate

  • 3 reviews

Don't buy into the Dyson hype

published

The suction levels on the vacuum are poor - refer video. On timber floors it won't pick up anything larger than a grain of rice on first sweep. I have to pick up multiple items by hand as it's faster than moving the vacuum head back and forth again and again. The on/off and cord retractor buttons seem to be fagile, however in fairness I could be wrong. But their size and placement make it difficult to use anything but hands. When emptying the vacuum it has opened unexpectedly on multiple occasions, dumping dust on clean floors. And its quite difficult to get the bottom door of the dust receptacle to stay closed. It's truly awful!

Purchased in September 2019 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
adam

adamWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 14 reviews

Love dyson

published

My dyson cinetic big ball animal arrived today FANTASTIC MACHINE......
Anyone thinking if buying a dyson dont hesitate you will love it. All i am waiting on now is the 3 free accessories to arrive..

Purchased in November 2019 at Dyson.com.au for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

glidagida

glidagidaHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Very brittle plastic.

published

Functionally it is a vacuum with strong suction, too strong for carpet without reducing the suction. That said, I am not happy with the construction, after 12 months 3 plastic parts have broken in normal use. Another is failing, the barrel has star cracks on the underside where it is buried in the machine. All told poor construction, the plastic is too brittle.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
5 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
glidagida
glidagida
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Brian F

Brian FNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed as there is a filter in the apparently filterless vacuum!

published

Purchased in April 2017 for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Brian F
Brian F

Shay

ShayWestern Australia

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this vaccuum

published

Ive had my dyson vacuum for 3 years now. Perfect for all floors, including carpets. I have 2 dogs, and small childern. No issues picking up mess. Does need cleaned put regularly though!

Purchased in February 2016 at Harvey Norman for $360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Glorious Target

Glorious TargetPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Good product

published

This product is strong and has lots of little pieces that can help me with my vacuuming. I bought it mainly for my cats hairs on the sofa and it does that so good.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
headwerkn

headwerknNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

A very well made, high performing vac that's worth a look if you want mains power - and can use all the accessories.

published
  • +3

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Danny

DannyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

It's good but not great.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Ambassador review: it's great ! Just like the last one.

published
  • +8

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

corinnelise

corinneliseQLD, 4122

  • 13 reviews

Perfect for those with carpet and shedding pets

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Cairoloves

CairolovesGold Coast

  • 32 reviews

Sturdy and reliable vacuum with good suction

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

ChrisOz

ChrisOzSydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews

A solid performer that apartment owners would love

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
David

DavidBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Did I miss something about the Dyson hype?

published

Okay, so I did fall for the hype and the (mostly) excellent reviews. But - and to be fair this is relevant to all bagless vacuums - open the canister to empty it and fine dust escapes into the air. And you have to open it frequently with pets. If the latches aren't secured, you can get a pile of dust all over the machine too. The head isn't great at picking everything up (takes longer to clean the house than my old non-Dyson) but feels sturdy. Bottom line - okay but for the money, look elsewhere if you have pets.

1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
pgmooney

pgmooneyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Highly recommended for homes with fur-babies!

published
  • +6
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Nad H

Nad HGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Most disappointing product I’ve ever bought

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Nad H
Nad H

Thanks Sam I’ll give that a try


duesseldorf67

duesseldorf67Sydney, NSW

  • 28 reviews

Bit of a mixed bag

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Cat

CatAdelaide

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mostly good but some area for improvement

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Goodorbad

GoodorbadPerth, Western Australia

  • 16 reviews

A Great Vacuum But With Mixed Feelings

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Page 1 of 36

Questions & Answers

Ben2020

Ben2020asked

What is the difference between the Animal Pro and Animal +?

3 answers
adam
adam

One is purple other is silver and pro comes with other attachments

Ben2020
Ben2020

So that means the choice review for Animal Pro is applicable for Animal + as well.
The product did not rate well and was not recommended.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

The Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro and Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal+ have the same suction power, filtration, durability and performance. Both machines come in the box with the Carbon Fibre turbine cleaner head, swivel hard floor tool, Tangle-free Turbine Tool, Combination tool and Stair Tool.

In addition to the above, the Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal+ comes with the Groom Tool, designed to provide mess free vacuum-assisted dog grooming.

While Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro doesn't include the Groom Tool, it does include the Stubborn dirt brush, Reach Under tool and Carbon Fibre Soft Dusting brush. This machine is no longer part of our current range at time of writing, however some machines may still be available in retail.

We hope this helps, however if we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help.


Karen I.

Karen I.asked

Very disappointed in my machine it only works for about 5 mins then I have to empty it although it's not full or even close to full sometimes it dosnt even work cleaning it out makes a high pitch noise like there is a blockage and loses suction. Not worth the money we paid and now looking for a new vacuum to replace it. Had another machine for years no issues "upgraded" to this one and totally regret it.

3 answers
adam
adam

It sounds like a blockage, give dyson a call they will help you

Karen I.
Karen I.

Thank you

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We are sorry to hear about this, it does sound like there is something obstructing the airflow in the machine.

We would kindly ask you to run through the troubleshooting outlined here: https://www.dyson.com.au/SupportHome/Vacuums/Cylinders/Dyson-Cinetic-Big-Ball/214893-01/not-working/pick-up-issue

In the unlikely event this doesn't solve the problem, please email auaskdyson@dyson.com with the serial number of your machine and our Dyson Experts will be in touch to help.


Steve M

Steve Masked

I have a cinetic big ballthat I love. The motor know is only working intermittently. And it smells. Model JD3 US FMA2191A
Any thoughts?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We are sorry to hear about this. We would encourage unplugging the machine and contacting our Dyson Experts via askdysonUS@dyson.com. Please include your name, address, contact number and the serial number of your machine.

Our Dyson Experts will be in touch and happy to help.


Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.