??!
1 photo
East Coast Car Rentals

East Coast Car Rentals

4.6 from 5,574 reviews

See the Best Car Hire Services in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4,576
4 star
612
3 star
23
2 star
36
1 star
327

Great service

published

We hired a car from Launceston for 13 days. Staff were great, we examined the car together to ensure we all agreed on existing damage. Rental charge was very reasonable and included insurance. There was a small excess liability but this was covered by our travel insurance. We returned the car with no issues.

Would use again and definitely recommend. BTW they only have white cars in the Launceston depot.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeHyundai Accent
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers

Fair72

Fair72

  • 2 reviews

Scheming

published
8 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Fair72
Fair72
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Lord Lucan

Lord Lucan

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks like more of the same scaremongering to add insurance sales

published

I took my 3 children down to Sydney after an extended period of ill health with my middle child.
I was met with a quite scripted lady who tried her best to scare me into buying an insurance premium.
After I declined the insurance cover I was met with a condescending attitude and told that will be $1000 bond please and your bank may hold this bond for up to 4 weeks. I am in the bank right now and 100% been told that Suncorp do NOT hold this money it is east coast cars that have a hold on my money. Total shonks. Stay well clear.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
3 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Lord Lucan
Lord Lucan

I have not been given a cancellation receipt as this is the first I have heard of such a thing.
Suncorp assured me 100% that East Coast rentals are holding my money. This is a common theme with East Coast I think

East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

What I Hoped For

published

After shopping around online for a hire car to use in far north Queensland I decided to book a Suzuki Swift with East Coast Car Hire in Cairns. The staff were very friendly and informative, the car was reliable, ran well and very economical. Furthermore, the close proximity to the airport coupled with the airport courtesy bus made for an excellent experience. I will most certainly use the services of East Coast Car Rentals again in the future wherever possible.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeSuzuki Swift
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

East Coast Car Rental

published

Unexpectedly Off site, not made clear beforehand, so you have to wait for the shuttle bus. The bus is always 10 minutes away so you dont panic but end up waiting half an hour.
They frighten you about freezing $1000 for excess then say if you pay extra the excess reduces and they dont freeze your money.
Read the small print and put up with being manipulated.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeToyota Corolla
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Terrible Service

published

When booking East Coast Car Rental off webjet, they made no mention that the branch was 4 km from the airport. We waited ages for the shuttle only to be met by an extremely rude man when we arrived. Eventually we just left and got an Uber to the hotel. Never again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Jonathan

JonathanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Double dipping and dodgy

published

My sister hired a car for my wife and I from Sunshine Coast airport and purchased the insurance required to make the booking. Before allowing us to take the car the manager was rude and condescending, He told us that we had 2 choices for more insurance. Give $1000 bond on our credit card or pay $25 a day after he refused to look at the proof of the insurance we thought we already had.They used exactly the same script on a family behind us who also thought they had insurance already.We felt ripped off by this company and we and our family will not be using them ever again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

I was very impressed with the service at the Gold Coast office.

published

The shuttle driver who pick me up and dropped me off was such an amazing person, so friendly and helpful. The office staff were friendly and professional. The car was a great car to drive and was very clean. Definitely highly recommended and will definitely be using east coast for any future hires

Value for Money
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
Upset Customer

Upset Customer

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Melbourne Tullamarine branch was amazing!!

published

Hired a car online through Eastcoast website with ease and found the shuttle waiting and driver was very friendly.
Picked up the car from the Melbourne branch and the car was perfect and extremely tidy, staff were friendly and accomodating.
No unecessary bond taken as we opted to pay insurance which made the process enjoyable!
Have already booked with Eastcoast for our upcoming trip!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a better vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hello there! Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your feedback with our Melbourne branch and they are thrilled to hear your kind words.

Over Charge and poor customer service

published

We waited nearly 30 minutes at Gold coast airport for their shuttle to arrive.. and after few weeks of rental they charged me $75 just for forwarding a parking fine. I will never use them again..how on earth you charge #75 just for forwarding a parking fine.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Farid Uddin

Farid UddinSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dishonest and poor customer service.

published

We went to Melbourne to attend a business meeting and hired a car from East Coast through Jetstar Airlines. We used around 120-130 KM, we were in the rush to catch our return flight and did not fill the fuel as its a matter of a couple of litres. When we returned the car they claimed 33 litres, $111 for fuel. We denied to pay and went to a nearby fuel station, it took 7 litres petrol around $11 to fill the tank. A lady (Vicky) in the customer service even did not say sorry and her reaction seemed its a normal matter. Dishonest and poor customer service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeHolden Equinox EQ
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hello Farid!
Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken with our Melbourne Airport Manager and she has informed me it was miscommunicated, and it was mistaken by our employee. We do apologise for the inconvenience of human error.

Farid Uddin
Farid Uddin

What do you mean by miscommunication? Your employee checked in the computer, prepared invoice and claimed me the fake amount. She did not even say sorry. What do you mean by human error????


Megan W.

Megan W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Great rates, friendly staff.

published

Recently hired from the Adelaide airport (Richmond) and cannot fault them.
The shuttle from airport was prompt, the staff were very friendly and informative. The car was clean and in great condition. We booked a 7 seater and got a Hyuandai iLoad. The fuel economy was a nice surprise. I was concerned their lower rates would mean low quality cars and service but I was impressed with it all. Our destination was 2 hours out of Adelaide so the unlimited mileage was a big plus.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeHyundai iLoad TQ-V (2008-Present)
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hello Megan.
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it! I'll be sure to pass this onto our Adelaide Airport and I can confirm they'll be very grateful for your kind words.

Kind Regards, Katelin.


Dianne D

Dianne DSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disgusting staff

published

When I had a problem with my rental car and rang Lloyd at Eastcoast Car Rental he told me to f*&%k off. Disgusting service. Will never use this company again. I work in accommodation and now tell all our guests not to use this East Coast Car Rentals. Lloyd you lost yourself thousand of dollars a year through your bad attitude. Car was filthy and half full when picked up. Found syringe under seat.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeToyota Camry
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Wisey

Wisey

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad from start to finish.

published

Pickup from Sydney afer nearly 1hour , no apologies or excesses We left the airport traffic was light !!!!! Then on arrival at car pickup asked to pay $1000 deposit before you could take a car if you did not take out their insurance!!! It was almost blackmail !!! When we went back to drop car off the service was just as bad .

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeToyota Corolla
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Disappointed customer

Disappointed customerNorthern Region, NSW

DO NOT HIRE FROM THIS COMPANY

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi there.
Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it. This matter was brought to our attention on Sunday and we are investigating this matter further. We are awaiting feedback from our Sydney Airport Manager regarding this response.

Hi Katelin,
I took this complaint to the head office. I initially received a response saying it was being further investigated however upon trying to get an update on the progress of my complaint I have received no further contact.

Rahmanul R.

Rahmanul R.Northern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Commendable service

published

The service which we got in Melbourne airport was too good. The shuttle arrived in time to pick us up, the car was ready when we got there, everything was perfect. But we got the total opposite service at Sydney airport.

2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi Rahmanul.
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were happy with our customer service in Melbourne. Can you please contact us on customerservice@eastcoastcarrentals.com.au regarding the service you were presented at Sydney Airport.

Rahmanul R.
Rahmanul R.

Hi Katelin. Email sent.


Cheap for a reason. Ends up expensive

published

Getting car took ages. Booked hyundai i20 and got Kia Rio. Not sure if i20 would have been better but the car was terrible. Dirty. Clutch sucked and (despite usually driving manual daily) we stalled several times. They charge extra $4 fee on top of each toll you pay. Airport drop-off not near airport and you have to be early to make sure you will get to terminal on time

Value for Money
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeKia Rio
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Ken

KenSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Prepare for the hard up-sell

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Ken
Ken

Paul M

Paul Mtraveller

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent experience

published

I was nervous because of the bad reviews but my experience at the Hendra office was friendly, professional and seamless, my time was tight owing to a family funeral and a flight from Mackay to Brisbane and back again, pick up and drop off was great, office was efficient and car was very good, will use again, thanks East Coast.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeHyundai Accent
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers

Prakash S.

Prakash S.Sydney, NSW

Worst place to rent your car from

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeSuzuki Grand Vitara
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi Prakash.
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your experience. Can you please email customerservice@eastcoastcarrentals.com.au with your rental agreement number so we can investigate this matter further.


Page 1 of 279

Questions & Answers

Jason W.

Jason W.asked

Does anyone have experience with the Hobart branch? Our flight times are 12.50 pm Friday & 1.30 pm Monday so I'm hoping there is little traffic plus their location is very close to the airport. I'm mostly concerned as I'm taking some elderly family members on a short holiday and was aiming to use their shuttle for myself and to pick up / drop off the other passengers from the airport. Am a little concerned the age/condition of their people movers.

No answers

Nina P.

Nina P.asked

Hi - i would like to hire a car for the day from your Melbourne downtown office as we are staying at the Pegasus Aparthotel. Do you have after hours drop off or if we park at the hotel overnight can we drop off easily in the morning?

No answers

joseph n.

joseph n.asked

Hi may I where is your place in Melbourne cbd? The address would be best. Thank you

2 answers
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hello Joseph.
Thank you for your inquiry. Our Melbourne City location is 103/230 A'Beckett St, Melbourne VIC 3000.

joseph n.
joseph n.

Thank you


Get an answer from our members and East Coast Car Rentals representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.