??!
4 photos
Fiat 500

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
14
3 star
1
2 star
6
1 star
11

Consumer, Melbourne

Consumer, MelbourneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Known Transmission Problems - could not be fixed (Lemon)

published

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers

not happy

not happy

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

looks cute but poor quality

published

I use my car daily for mainly city or suburban driving. This car requires 6monthly services. I have had to spend over $2,000 for replacing extra items apart from regular service. I purchased the 2014 model in December of that year. In that time I have had to replace the battery, spark plugs and a very expensive sparkplug cover, tyres, air filter, front headlight, plate light, my number plate and its cover keep falling off, just to name a few. I have never had to spend this much extra to replace these items on a new car that has just been on the road for 4 years and has done just on 45k.

BodyHatch
BadgePop
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
happyhippy

happyhippySunshine Coast

  • 6 reviews

Dashboard Cracks where airbag is and Fiat won't fix! Only out of warranty 6 months!

published
BodyHatch
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Transmission was an issue but lucky enough to get Giat to fix

published

Always wanted one of these since having an original. Mine too after 38000 km started sticking in neutral leaving me stranded in the road. Luckily I had just bought it from a garage and they replaced the clutch less gearbox with reference to s known fault. Glad I didn’t buy it privately. Haven’t really loved it so much since.

BodyConvertible
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Steve

SteveDONCASTER

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stay away, very unreliable and dangerous car

published

My wife purchased this car a couple of years ago and it was all good until the transmission started playing up.
With just 28.000klms on the clock the car started dropping into neutral while driving leaving here in the middle of the road. Fiat customer support in Australia is terrible and want to charge $7500 to repair this problem.
My advice to anyone looking to buy one of these is DONT. Not worth it as the Dualogic automatic is just rubbish.
Do a search on one of the Fiat forums at (www.fiatforum.com) and you will find out all the details.

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Andy H

Andy HBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

500S 6Sp

published

I have owned my fiat for 3 years and never had any issues with it. I have decided to part with it though as it’s incredibly small and I want something a bit bigger with a bit more power. Not the greatest in hills but gets you where you’re going.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Salospeed issues

published

I am really concerned and scared to drive my Fiat now. I am having dreadful issues with the transmission. Fiat refuse to fix under warranty when it is clearly a manufacturer issue. Fiats were recalled in USA for the same issues. I can be driving along the freeway when it automatically goes into neutral. Very scary when there is a huge semitrailer behind you. So I gently pull over. The car won’t start again so I wait. After about 10 mins it will start. Often it won’t start in the morning or you try to reverse park and the car won’t go into reverse. This has been happening regularly since I first purchased it in 2014. I am at my wits end. Sick of arguing with Fiat. Does anyone else have this problem. We need to look at a class action!

BodyHatch
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

lamster

lamsterSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fiat 500 C Pop

published

If you buy a Fiat it will make you happy when you get in it, that’s how I would sum up the experience. With regards to the drive it is characterful which is a good way of saying unique, I would recommend test driving it because the duallogic gear box is not for everyone. My only complaint is the dealership programs 6 monthly servicing in the car computer and the log book says 12 months so I think this is excessive. Surprisingly there is enough room for four passengers. Ours is in red with an open top, in Autumn, Spring and Summer you forget about all the little quirks and just enjoy the open experience. Preferably with a latte in hand facing the beach :)

BodyConvertible
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

All look no substance

published

Let's be honest, no one ever buys a fiat for performance. Its all for the look.
I bought a fiat 500c 2016 in mint green.
If you are happy to struggle uphills, constantly have issues arise in your car (anti roll back cut out whilst you are on a hill), pay for approximately $600 per routine service (basic service) and waste heaps of time dealing with car sales/service people.......go ahead.
Getting a reliable German, Japanese or Korean car that has lots of competition for servicing is the way to go.

BodyConvertible
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Loving organic

Loving organicAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fiat 500X review

published

I love my Fiat 500X! I bought it 12 months ago and it is a dream car. The interior design is slick and modern and the sunroof is really useful when it's not too hot. It has many great tech features, and of them all I have fallen in love with the blind corner warning when changing lanes. It doesn't have a lot of power, but I find that's okay for city driving. I have been asked by lots of friends if it is a diesel because of the sound it makes.

BodyHatch
BadgeLounge
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Adore my Bella, she is the best car I have ever owned which includes a 328 BMW. No I would not swap

published

Driving......Fab
Interior.......perfect
Reliability.....execellent. I drive all over the metropolitan of Brisbane most days. Very cheap to run. Always take her to Fiat for service. Average cost $300.00 pa.
What more can I say, I love Bella!
No sorry, she is not for sale, I am hoping for a very long love affair.

BodyHatch
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

Isabella P

Isabella PMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

I love my little baby fiat!

published

This car is super cute, very easy to drive and a great, cheap car for a student. It is relatively cheap to run and easy to maintain. I love the baby blue colour on both the body and the dash, and the convertible hood is so much fun in summer.

BodyConvertible
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

David

David

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I think I'm in love!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLounge
Engine Size0.9l 2 cyl
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Andronj1

Andronj1Sydney

Split dashboard

published

My 2014 fiat 500 has now developed a split along the airbag passenger dash. This is obviously manufacture problem, but Fiat want $1700 to rectify.
The outline of the airbag is totally visible and I presume it’s dangerous.
Fiat should have more integrity than this and should stand by their product.

BodyHatch
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Danielle

DanielleSouth East Queensland, QLD

Paint peeling off fiat 500

published

I also have a 2010 fiat 500c red. All my paint clear coat is peeling off. I won awards for this car and now the paint on the car is a mess. I have had trouble with the boot opening for years now. I don't use the boot anymore. Lately I have notice the roof lining glue is coming apart. I would not recommend at fiat 500 to anyone. I brought mine new $32000.

BodyConvertible
BadgeLounge
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Annette

AnnetteBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

not a clown car

published

I love the retro look of this car, and the colour combinations, which is why I bought it. The size of the car means it fits in everywhere. It does lack power on the freeway and if there are more than 2 passengers, but since I mostly drive solo this isn't a problem. The fiat pop is a cool little car -even the pope drives one!

BodyHatch
BadgePop
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Naomi Tesler

Naomi TeslerAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Just love it

published
BodyHatch
BadgePop
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

LynThorpe

LynThorpeAU

  • 15 reviews

Fiat 500 Selespeed automatic transmission problem

published

Fiat 500s have a known problem. In North America alone 80000 have been recalled because of problems with the transmission (Selespeed). The problem is known in the U.K, Australia and Europe. If your car has problems, pursue it. The repairs cost about $6000. If you are thinking of buying one, negotiate specific cover on this component.

BodyHatch
BadgeLounge
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2009

LC

LCBroadway

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great little car: but missing some basics

published

Drive is smooth, choice between tipyronic auto or manual. Great fuel eccomony and apeakers are awesome. Cd player and aux imput all there. Bluetooth as well..BUT all the cup holders are too small.. they dont fit a normal cup for coffee nor a bottle of water so not sure what pypu would be drinking in the car (even too small of a can!) and there's no cruise control.. so for long distances this is a real pain in a new car.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionTiptronic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

European styling - Chinese build quality

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2009

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

knobby

knobbyasked

What would you say about a dealer (a big one) recommending the Fiat 500 turbo should run on 91 fuel?
Says the actuator failed due to my use of 95 fuel. (the Fiat recommended fuel). Will share the cost of repair.
$1590 my share. Beware Zagame Motors Melbourne. This could happen to you too. Beware!!!!
What should I do?

3 answers
Andrew M.
Andrew M.

Knobby, did the dealer tell you the gearbox actuator failed because you were using 95 ron fuel?

knobby
knobby

That's correct. Not me but my sister the owner. Vehicle was serviced by these people the day before.

knobby
knobby

The vehicle was low on fuel when she collected it after service. The next morning it was problematic on startup.
Dealer asked her if she had fueled it last night which she had. Told her the 98 fuel was the cause of the problem. Suggested she flog the thing flatout and the problem may solve itself. He knew she had to fuel it up after pick up. A classic bullshit set up. She's a business woman not interested in mechanicals.


Kristin P.

Kristin P.asked

Hi all im considering buying a 2015 Fiat 500c Lounge twin turbo .9 2 cylinder . What can you tell me about this adorable looking car ? Any problems with it ? Trying to think more with the head than the heart ...love the style but what about reliability ??

No answers

Fischcriek

Fischcriekasked

has anyone had problems using 98RON in their 2015 Abarth?? My car wont start with 98 and ended up using 95RON And engine sometimes chugging along.. engine warning lights come and go

2 answers
iviau
iviau

Whilst not an Abarth, I had problems with starting my Fiat 500 1.4 sport when using 98 octane fuel. I stopped doing so when I worked it out and am now only using 95 Oct fuel and have not had any issues. Higher grade fuel made no difference to performance but just made the motor run smoother.

Gardengnome
Gardengnome

I have been running my 2013 500C 875cc Twinair on 98RON since new without the slightest hiccup.


Get an answer from our members and Fiat representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.