??!
16 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 614L French Door (RF610 Series)
3.6 from 276 reviews

Great fridge

This is a really good fridge/freezer. It is quite solidly made, with the drawers being on metal runners. It is very quiet and efficient. The water filter and water line was pretty easy to install. It keeps our food very fresh. Particularly good for keeping vegies crisp in the vegie drawer.

Overall, no problems. Love the automatic ice-maker.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)

Great fridge but....

This fridge cools well, dispenses cooled water well, makes great ice!......but
1. The 'black' stainless steel marks very easily and because of its texture is not as easy to clean as some surfaces.
2. The stainless steel dents very easily and they are very prominent.
3. The interior fridge has two drawers that are the width of the interior, and each drawer has two insert compartments. To access one compartment, both fridge drawers mush be opened to pull out the single full width drawer.
4. The filter for the water dispenser is at the back of the fridge. To change this I have to pull the fridge from the cavity - this is not easy without first emptying the fridge/freezer of its contents. Pushing it back into the cavity is how one of the dents occurred.
5. The freezer might have the storage capacity in litres, however I find that this freezer does not stack quite so well and seems to hold less - I think this is because of the top freezer drawer.
Overall a great fridge, but with the annoyances listed.

Purchased in March 2018 at Winning Appliances for $2,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)

Had to get it serviced 11 times in 8 years

We bought the Fisher and Paykel refrigerator 8 years back . In the very first year itself a fault in the freezer tripped our power . As this was in the warranty we didn’t have to pay for the service at least despite the extreme inconvenience and wasting hundreds of Dollars worth of groceries.
This was only the start though.
After that the ice maker alone had to be serviced more than 4 times for different issues . Then the refrigerator started leaking water and had to be serviced again After this the temperature gauge stopped working . Now it has tripped our power again and earliest available service is almost a week after we contacted the service centre.
Unfortunately the fridge has been out of warranty for many years and we have paid over a Thousand Dollars in service cost alone besides Thousands of Dollars in groceries that were spoiled.

There is surely a design fault in this model especially the ice maker and freezer and I hope the company examines and fixes this fault before more consumers like us have to suffer .

Purchased in April 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)

Good solid fridge

6 months since purchase. Couldn't be happier. Had a single door f&p before. Inside is basic and does the job. Door handles very good unlike the hollow ones on others

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)

BIg fridge with almost nothing inside

This is OK for a large volume fridge, but it has practically nothing inside. The main storage area in the freezer is a large bin (with 2 small drawers above that), so you'll be digging through the large bin looking for frozen food. Very cheap and messy solution. The fridge also has very little inside - not even egg trays. For a $2,000 fridge surely F&P could have afforded to include fitted egg trays? I paid a premium for the F&P brand over other fridges, but definitely got less.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)

Reliable and the most quiet fridge

The F&P fridge has a very smart temperature stabilizing system, and it's almost not there at all., so very quiet.
The shelves are adjustable and very practical to suit all types of users.
It has NON-squeaky doors and are easy to open and close and they don't close with a bang like others.
power usage is great too. easy to clean and access inside of the tray compartments. true value for money.

Date PurchasedOct 2003

Good product just not for me

Fridge is nicely made, looks good and has good shelving space. I would prefer a product with one door rather than two just for opening space. Freezer is a good side and drawers slide out nicely. Just can't see what's in the drawers when they're closed

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)

Great Fridge

All in all this is a great fridge, spacious, well thought through, even temperature and I think is a very stylish design. The fridge is relatively quiet, and we have owned this for 3 years with no problems.
The water filler is great, as it does not take up any fridge space unlike most other fridge designs. The ice maker and scoop is also a really well designed and reliable functioning feature.
The only negative is the drawer runners, which seem to get stiff and seize up before fully extending. Apart from this minor issue its a great fridge

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Excellent french door fridge

This is an excellent fridge for family of 4 or 5 people. i have been using this fridge for last 6 months and so far it is going great.

Pros:
Lot of storage
Adjustable shelves
Alarm system
Separate Temperature control for above and below compartment.
Fast Freeze functionality
Multiple drawers in freezer compartment

cons:
Only thing I miss in this fridge is ice cube storage bin.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Good fridge, lots of useful space

Purchased this fridge back in 2017 when F&P had 300 cashback offer. Didn't get it installed till may 2017 when we moved into newly built home. Compared to our old fridge which was same size in liters, it has far more useful space available. The ice generates quickly, we use stacks of ice, and spends a lot of time on the fastest setting. The water dispenser is good, need to careful it doesn't leak on the floor. Only issue we are having with it is the freezer draw, one side gets stuck sometimes. Issue with the rail coming off its fixed point.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Generally a Great fridge

Wanted a larger fridges and although the fridge space is large enough for us, the freezer is quite small especially as the ice bucket takes up a little bit of the space.
We had purchased an integration kit with it that is made specifically for it, this was quite disappointing as it was very hard to install and doesn’t function smoothly with the fridge.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Fridge # 2 & still faulty

Purchased original Fridge Jan 2018. Original fridge serviced multiply times and eventually replaced. Fridge # 2 faulty for the day it was delivered. Deliver guys not interested. Dropped fridge and ran. Delivery boys complained they had to lift fridge up 3 stairs, not 3 levels just three stairs. Technicians have serviced second fridge at least 5 times with a carnival of errors. For each technician its Groundhog Day, never checking the history of the last service. Continually arrive without replacement parts after confirming with customer service they have the parts. Last visit arrived and had the wrong replacement parts. Customer service and technicians obviously don’t consult with each other. It’s now 11 months since we purchased original fridge and today they are coming to service again. Fingers crossed they can get it together and fix the fridge. To unlikely customers, please do not purchase this fridge, it is absolute rubbish. The service department is completely disorganised and ineffective.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Great features but don't expect it to last forever

Purchased as a factory second in October 2008.

Functions really well and has plenty of space for everything. Easy to clean. No problems as such but now in early 2018 stopped making ice with error code F24 and constant beeping.

I've just paid $253 to fix, not replace, a broken wire, which apparently very common with this fridge. Note - we only connected to water 6 years ago.

The technician says the motor is noisy and if anything breaks down not to fix it as it will cost too much. They're not made to last and I'm lucky, apparently, that it's lasted for 10 years.

** I still have my 29 year old Hoover/Admiral fridge which has never skipped a beat!

Date PurchasedNov 2008

Stylish yet practical!

Love this fridge. The French Door makes it easy to access the food and drinks, fits everything in so well due to the well laid out shelving including the door shelving and the tubs in the freezer. It's stylish, easy to clean but very easy to keep everything organised and see what you've got. Perfect fridge for my family!

Date PurchasedSep 2016

It is a perfect fridge for my growing family

This is the perfect fridge for my family, everything fits well and there is room for everything, the shelves are glass and very attractive, easy to use and clean, I was deciding between two doors and this french door and I am really glad that I made this decision. The food is easy to see and it is room for everything.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Good fridge

We had no problems to date. Functions as described. Ample soace inside. Seperate compartments for storage makes easy access.
Easy to open and close and has an alarm when doors are accidently opened.
One disadvantage is the weight of the fridge. Its pretty difficult to move around. But expected with a large fridge.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Great fridge

Very quiet and an amazing looking. Keep the temperature very well, the freezer is a good size too. Well built, light, with plenty of space for a couple and enough room for a small family too.
Well. My family all love the spaxes it provides and the good division of all the foods that you out. We strongly give it a good thumbs up.
Also love the fact I can have lots of my protein stocked up in the freeze. And it is very energy efficient too. Love it.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Perfect fridge

Since owning this fisher &paykel fridge, it’s been so much more easier for us as a family of 3 to have a better storage system in our fridge. There is heaps of room and easier to organise lots of vegetables with the big storage boxes at the bottom of the fridge. The freezer is also great and the ice blocks just fill up automatically when they are low. The storage on the doors of the fridge are plentiful also.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

So excited

I only just brought this. Im going on to about week 2. I am loving every aspect of this fridge. Looks stylish, esy to use, food is kept at an exact temperature. There is PLENTY of room for the food for us 4. I would have prefered the fridge to be rounded at the corners a litlle. Stubbed my toe on the end! But OHH MYYY... I loveeeee my new fridge!

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Looks great but the ice tray takes up a lot of room

Looked around for months to find a nice double door fridge but with also freezer which could also hold loads of food this was the one we picked but the ice tray takes up a lot of space so we sometimes remove it to free up extra space. The default settings seem to be set just right too.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

I have water supply to the ice maker and no issues, but my water dispenser is saying the water is not connected...symbol on the display...then occasionally, it will dispense water, then just not....is there a pressure switch somewhere? the supply solenoid is working.
No answers

Can you turn off freezer to defrost while leaving top fridge on
No answers

Can you turn the freezer off seperately to defrost while top fridge stays on
No answers

Details

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUX5 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADW5 (White)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADJX5 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUB5 (Black)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUQSX4 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUSX4 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUX (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADW4 (White)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADX4 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADX5 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUM (Stainless Steel)
CategoryFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $3,299$2,999$2,499$3,699$3,199
Dimensions 1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm1790 x 900 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)2 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm , Frost Free, Water Dispenser and Wine RackDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeWater DispenserWater DispenserWater DispenserDisplay Panel and Water DispenserDoor Alarm and Frost FreeWater Dispenser
Colour / Finish EZKleen Stainless SteelWhiteEZKleen Stainless SteelBlackStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Handle Type External External External External External External External External External External External External
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves444444444444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 222222222222
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L614 L
Fridge Capacity 433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L433 L
Freezer Capacity 181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L181 L
Replaced byFisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADUSX4 (Stainless Steel)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADW5 (White)Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF610ADX5 (Stainless Steel)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.