??!
1 photo
Ford Falcon BF

Ford Falcon BF

4.0 from 56 reviews

See the Best Wagons in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
22
4 star
22
3 star
5
2 star
5
1 star
2

Mk3 bf wagon..still requires aftermarket oil trans cooler for 4 stars

published

Awesome powerful engine and comfortable wagon.
479000kms old, ran it o 504000 before it died, it still looked above good condition.
Rusting in the lower rear door seals..coming out on a 4 year old car is unacceptable.
Paint was decent though. Warped rotors still an issue.

Just had to replace the gearbox box and drove 30k only to have the oil cooler
In the trans break and flood my engine with transmission fluid.
09 falcon you would think they would have fixed it, problem is the cooler is behind the engine bay on top of the trans 4 spd. Beware! Sold it for 600 in the end, and the guy replaced the trans again,

BodyWagon
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2009

Marianne Turkington

Marianne TurkingtonAubigny

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

FORD OFFERS TOP VALUE FOR AN OLDER VEHICLE

published

The Ford Falcon XR6 2006-2007 model is generally a reliable model, despite its age. Typically, Ford has given it the powerful 6 cylinder motor and, in this case, a six speed sports automatic gearbox which is designed to suit all types of drivers. This car catches the eye of sporty enthusiasts with its sleek, aerodynamic body lines and bold paintwork. Even at relatively high kilometres on the clock, the XR6 performs well; great response under the pedal, with its traditional gutsy 'gurgle' as it changes through the gears. Generally good on fuel, 9L/100 highway driving; obviously more in suburbia and/or if driven to its full potential!

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Aff

Aff

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bullit proof

published

I have had my 07 bf wagon for a few years . Has 190000km now and has had no major repairs . Servicing and wearing parts only . Only down fall is the paint quality . The top has faded pretty disappointing with the crap paint . But overall top and reliable car

BodyWagon
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2010
BL1TZED 101

BL1TZED 101

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Xt lpg only

published

This car has been a pleasure to drive and extremely good fuel pricing on lpg making it a good around town vehicle power windows built in bluetooth for hands free phone is also a god sent it also has great freeway fuel economy making it just as good for long drives and with the lumbar support your back never gets saw and electric seats make you very comfortable as adjustments are easy. I would highly recommend for any company to use as a fleet vehicle.

BodySedan
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012

Manga

MangaLogan city

  • 9 reviews
  • 16 likes

Love my ford xr6

published

I brought my 2008 ford falcon xr6 about 2 months ago second hand and love it handles great lots of guts great family car I upgraded to this from a mazda tribute, still have lots of room for 2 baby seats and 1 child in the 3rd seat. Boot is huge I have enough room for my double pram and left over room for my shopping. It has great functions that you can set how you like eg. Lights to be automatic, radio to turn off once your door opens, choice to have your boot locked at all times unless pressed with special key button which isn't car door unlock button. It had been great for me and my family. The bf looks great too!

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

gaurav

gauravWerribee

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

mk2, hard to corner, but grreat

published

really good car, low on fuel economy, but big boot, big chasis, big everything, heaps of space, mine did 150k, neevr missed a beat, loved it to bits. such a a beautiful car to look at. regular maintenance is enough, and change nattery every so often. would not regret. this beautifully made car.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Elltee

EllteeWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

BF Falcon was supposed to be the model with all the bugs ironed out. IT'S NOT.

published
BodySedan
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Jigpelz

Jigpelzperth

Nice car

published

The running cost of car is perfect it then reliability of it is flexible.
Recently I am troubled with having to start it.
It won't start as normal and I have to adjust the gear lever or accelerators pedal to force start it.
Please advice me in this issue.
Otherwise This car is great!

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2005
shane mooney

shane mooneySydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

cheap family motoring !!!

published

I two BF falcon sedans, these cars are value for money. Common problem I had is the front control arm bushes fail . So after spending $250 for control arms +$265 new front shocks the car drives like new. I have a young family with two kids and everyone can fit in there without any problems. And if anyone spill anything in the car NO Problem its just a falcon. Any one who planning to buy one my advice is to check if the front control arm bushes and rear diff bushes have been done by the previous owner. Fixing those two issues will cost about $1000 on top of the car purchase price. I had a big suv and I downgraded to a falcon, now when I come home I am more relaxed I don’t have the feeling that I have to go and see a chiropractor.

BodySedan
BadgeXT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Dave of WA

Dave of WAPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Crusiey class

published

Purchased a second hand G6 with standard 4.0l six. Great car to drive with instant grunt, enormous torque and does everything well and surprising economy, used 7.4l/100km on 600km round trip to Busselton. Surprisingly potent sound system and sufficiently quiet to enjoy it.
Only has the 5 speed auto but this still the best auto i have ever had.
Ours is navy blue- very sexy machine.

Engine Size4.0
BadgeG6
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic

john

john

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

love this car

published
BodySedan
BadgeES
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size4.0 litre

Great Car

published

Love my falcons I have a Ba gtp a Ba Turbo and have had our Bf XR6 for 8 years. Had 11000 on it when I bought it its now done 225000. Great car only issues starter motor died, alternator died warped rotors and did the pump seal in the tranny. Overall this has been a great car suspension wise she is starting to get a few squeaks but it still drives awesome the B series was a beautiful shape just thinking of trading this in for a 50th anniversary FG

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
TransmissionAutomatic

Dax

Dax

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

BF XR6, ZF Trans. Much better than I could have imagined.

published
BodySedan
BadgeXR6
TransmissionAutomatic

brian

brian

  • 273 reviews
  • 59 likes

about average

published

My brother bought one of these ford xr6 after that he leased the same car.and I was usually stuck in the passenger seat and noticed with a smooth transition ride and boy it used to go quick when it was warm even though the motor was noisy and it used to go up bulli pass quite easy / most of the times it's usually better to buy a new car as someone can run the motor in to their own preference / the car was struck by a truck and was totalled so basically it was written off by the insurance company after that the have him a new car / as my brother was not hurt I totally recommend the ford falcon cars

BodySedan
Engine Sizev6
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeXR6 Limited Edition
1 comment
brian
brian

Of course the insurance company didn't give him the car they gave the lease company the money to cover it so the lease company gave him another ford car I am pretty sure though I never went in though it's a bit darker colour

piece of crap

published
BodySedan
Engine Size4L
TransmissionAutomatic
myke

mykeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Had mecanical work done.

published

After the last review I wrote on the BF XR6 Ford Falcon I took my car to a mechanic to get a few problems sorted. I can now say I will keep the car for another couple of years. It's driving better than before. i had a major wheel shake problem as most owners of these cars would know but after getting the disc machined and new bendex pads the car is more stable now than before. the steering shudder is gone and it feels great to be able to put my foot on the brake pedal and get no shuddering. Other work was done as well to the engine and the car runs great.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6

A downs

A downsMelbourne, Victoria

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Like a step back in time

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyWagon
BadgeXT

GS500F Rider

GS500F RiderSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

No problems since new

published

We bought our BF II Falcon new in 2007 with the 6 speed auto, it's now done 125,000km's.
It's been the most reliable car we have had. Nothing done but but servicing every 15,000km's.
It has been a cheap to run and service car. Front pads lasted 95,000km's and are cheap to replace
We will buy the new FGX Falcon when it is released.
Comfort, reliable, good on fuel, Sydney to Queensland on one tank. Great 6 speed auto. Good steering and handling
Only thing is it has power windows in the front but wind up in the rear

Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeXT
BodySedan

Reliability? Ehhhhhhhhh....

published
BadgeXT
BodySedan

Last of the falcon wagons

published
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyWagon
BadgeXT

Page 1 of 3

See all Ford Falcon reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter C

Peter Casked

My 07 bf L/H side drivers light is not working, It found it has no power at it's fuse ? Where do I go from here? Thanks

No answers

Carolyn B.

Carolyn B.asked

do i need to replace noise in diff probly bushes or will they be ok

No answers

Dean C.

Dean C.asked

is there a variety of diff ratios that could be fitted to my 06 falcon futura.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $46,405
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption12.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L
Engine6 Cylinder 4L
Max Power245kW @ 5250rpm
Max Torque480Nm @ 2000-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2010
Compare all Ford Falcon

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.