??!
3 photos
Ford Falcon FG

Ford Falcon FG (2008-2014)

4.4 from 110 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
73
4 star
19
3 star
6
2 star
8
1 star
4

Brody J.

Brody J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

published

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

Great for commuting; with space whilst looking great. You won't spend a fortune servicing and the black leather interior/sport function is as powerful as you need for our roads. Very quick, only issue which is a known issue (tailshaft) goes at 90-110 thousand km, just had mune re-built and running a dream again. This car will sore in value and is not easy to find in 2019 already.

Purchased in February 2014 at Ford Dealers for $34,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

BeachedAz

BeachedAzSpewcastle

  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Ford Falcon XR6 -> Great choice for a 2nd hand car

published

The later Ford Falcons were an underrated car when they were released. Considering the ongoing costs, Falcons are a good option if you are hunting around for a 2nd hand car in the 7 to 10 year old category.

-> Grippy : good handling
-> Cheap parts. Front wheel bearings do tend to wear out and need replacing.
-> Cheap to run for the gas option (Eco LPi)
-> Good engine performance, no issue with the gas option

Handling could still be better compared to other cars but is still superior to the older Falcons. As long as you keep them serviced I Feel this is a fairly solid bet for 2nd hand car buyers.

Purchased in July 2019 for $13,309.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sarj

SarjGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best Fuel Efficient Car

published

I recently bought a used 2012 ford falcon ecolpi which done 200k's. Its one of the best car I owned in terms of running costs and maintenance.It only cost me around 45 to 50 dollars depending on LPG price and get around 600kms easily. It's very powerful for a LPG only car and got 200kw. The only issue I found is the diff bushes are prone to crack which I replaced with a Nolathane bush and never had issues with it. So if you own an Fg and sick of replacing diff bushes go for the Nolathane or other similar quality ones. It bit expensive compared to the normal rubber bushes but saves you money and time in the long run.
So in short if anyone looking to buy a ecolpi dont hesitate just for it. Its a shame that we don't have anymore falcons

James

James

  • 2 reviews

Best car

published

Reliable, affordable and has power. Use this car as my daily. Not much mechanical issues and cost is cheap to get fix. Can’t get a better Aussie vehicle than the falcon!

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Year2013
See all answers

Zak

ZakPeel, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Seriously underrated car

published

The ford falcon was honestly such a great car. Never left my family stranded for over 100000kms. Bought new in 2011, unfortunate sold it in 2019. The engine was smooth and powerful, however pretty thirsty but acceptable for a 4 litre, always felt safe to drive. Lacked modern features but was designed to get you to A to B safely and the falcon got you to C and beyond. 100% recommend to any family on a budget or young driver wanting a good reliable safe car.

Purchased in February 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Poorly built

published

Poorly built car. Constant problems with tyres wearing prematurely due to wheel alignment. I've had the wheels aligned numerous times, which hasn't fixed the problem. Warped brake discs and vibrations while driving. I've had the ICC replaced due to failure and the drive shaft repaired due to a bearing problem. I have zero confidence in the build quality of this car.
DO NOT BUY ONE!!!!

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Col W

Col Wadelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great Car

published

Great to drive, reliable, comfortable. the MK2 has a very good tech package, easy connectivity. Good ride. Used to drive to work and for leisure, about 25,000 km per year, bought it with 58,000 km on ODO. Initial service by Jarvis but seemed to be an expensive fluids only service, will now get serviced at willaston auto body repairs. No issues as yet.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

JAY

JAYAU

Best car in LPG

published

I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil
I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil
I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil

BodySedan
BadgeXT EcoLPi
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Stoofa

StoofaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Purchased a G6E

published
BodySedan
BadgeG6E
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Very smooth

published

I bought a 2009 fg xt in winter white with 160 000k for a very good price and it is a very good car and a better car than my previous VE commodore,as the car has a few kms on the clock I will tell of the associated problems with age,all that has gone wrong is the front discs were warped,roof lining was sagging and the boot light doesn't work right and when I tried to fix it,a fuse blew causing a strange "transmission not in park" warning on dash but that went away when I replaced the blown 5a fuse,but boot light still doesn't work other than that the car is great and a real bargain except it uses lots of fuel.

BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

shane

shaneAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

Loads of electrical faults

published

Comfortable.
Fuel efficiency 700km around town on a full tank $90
Easy to drive
Stereo could be better
Electronics have gremlins galore with constant faults ALL the time which really lets this car down.
Climate control is fantastic.
Servicing yourself is easy on thus car.
Safety features great
Worth a drive before buy

BodySedan
BadgeXT EcoLPi
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2011

LiamF

LiamFMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

It’s okay

published

My experience driving this car has been pretty good, it is nice and smooth. I like the interior, it is nice and roomy. The only thing I dislike about this car is it’s fuel efficiency, it is just really bad and I find myself having to fill up multiple times a week with e10 as it’s the cheaper alternative.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Good to have this the car.

published

The car is awesome I only ever have owned fords.
But I must say the fg is the best car I have ever driven..
power handling looks ... it’s got it all
I will never buy another brand .
I think in the near future I will be the proud owner of the new mustang

BodySedan
BadgeXR8
Engine Size5.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Dilhan T

Dilhan TMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

nice car

published

i have a 2008 ford g6e, it's a comfortable car to drive, it handle ok could be better, i have loved these cars for a long time but when it comes to owning one you really see the problems they have, the diff bushes like to go a lot, which you think ford would have resolved the problem with their new falcons before they discontinued them, they drink a lot of fuel too! They are very spacious and too many people they're plain however i love the interior!

BodySedan
BadgeG6E
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
davidglenelg

davidglenelgGlenelg South

One of the best sedans ever made.

published

Silky smooth 6 speed transmission, very quiet with virtually no road noise, responsive motor, well built suspension, abs and tractiion control work very well.

I have been in many situations where other drivers have pulled out directly in front of me, nearly side swiping me when they have changed lanes without looking etc, and this car has gotten me out of those dangerous situations without a single scratch.

It is good to hear that Ford's Australian engineering team is still going even though the factory is now closed down, here is hoping that they bring out a new falcon sedan soon.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Julian S

Julian SSpringwood

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wonderful car and so underated

published

I've owned my G6E for eight years now and have driven it over a variety of roads. No dust sealing problems and no rattles or squeaks. Every electronic item on it still works. Have used the car for local round town work and also interstate trips and it handles it all with finesse. Round town fuel usage is 9.5L/100km and country driving fuel usage is 7.0L/100km. Only consumables have been replaced like tyres and battery. The car is serviced by a local independent mechanic. The dealer I bought the car from has now gone out of business. I suppose one day I'll have to part with it but heaven knows what I'll replace it with. Nothing out there seems to be as good an all rounder as my G6E.

BodySedan
BadgeG6E
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2009

Constant Error code.

published

I have a 2008 fg xt, Issue started afew months ago occasionally. I’d park my car, turn it off, take my keys out and when I open my door a little alarm goes off and a message pop up on my dash saying “transmission not in park”
It’s been happening a lot more now, almost every time.

BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Bus Driver John

Bus Driver JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It really is a great car.

published
BodySedan
BadgeG6 EcoBoost
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012

Iconic Aussie ute. Truly sad that they are no more.

published
BodyWhat?
BadgeXR6 Turbo 50th Anniversary
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Emilyh

EmilyhCranbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy going comfy car

published

Handles beautifully around corners
Comfy on long drives and has a 2hr rest reminder
Love the interior and the embroidered Xr6 on the seats
Generally costs $70 to the tank to fill gets about 700km which is pretty good considering it's age and kms (126000)
Service costs me around $100 (oil filter & 10l of oil)

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Page 1 of 6

See all Ford Falcon reviews

Questions & Answers

Bradley F.

Bradley F.asked

I have 2010 FG G6 was driving along when the Transmission fault warning appeared curious as to see what the problem was if anyone could help me please?

No answers

taranpreet.saini_01

taranpreet.saini_01asked

I was wondering if anyone knows where I can purchase a cold air intake system for a Ford Falcon G6 Ecoboost FG.
If anyone knows please send the link.
Thanks

No answers

Ian B.

Ian B.asked

No electrical power. Battery okay

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

CategoryCars and Sedans
Starting Price $39,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeLPG and Petrol
Wheels17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption14.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 93 L
Engine6 Cylinder 4L
Max Power156kW @ 4750rpm
Max Torque371Nm @ 3750rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Compare all Ford Falcon

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.