?
? !
2 photos
Ford Focus LW Mk1

Ford Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

2.5 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (5)
  • Braking
    3.8 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.8 (4)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (4)
  • Handling
    3.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (4)
  • Features
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next

Best Car I’ve ever Owned!

published

Bought a 2011 Focus Trend Sedan Powershift used July 2018. Been an awesome car ever since. Very fuel efficient, really fun to drive, loves the corners. The boot has good space and is spring loaded so you just press the key and open it goes. 10/10. Onto the next Focus now!

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jasmine V.

Jasmine V.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

2014 Ford Focus lemon

published

I purchased a Ford Focus 2014 model.
59,000kms only 5 months out of warranty and my steering rack has failed. There was a recall for the 2014 Ford Focus manufactured in August between the 8th and the 15th for steering gears incorrectly placed. Mine was built on the 15th of August 2015 but yet no recall was accompanied with my vin. I nearly had an accident when it failed. Ford have declined to fix this under good will even though it’s a manufacturer fault.

This is happening too often. Accidents, failures. It’s a joke. We should all come together and actually take these issues to the media. Out them and show Australia how crap there vehicles are.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trudy M.

Trudy M.Perth, WA

Optional extras ~ power steering

published

Bought my 2011 Ford Focus Sports brand new from the day of purchase had issues but it was all in my head or my driving apparently...
3 clutches replaced, TCM module replaced and 1 week after the TCM was replaced power steering went.
It is a money pit and according to Ford unroadworthy.
These days my focus sits in its parking bay and never moves.
I can't afford to pay out the finance which is not even mine on it so I can't even sell it... So I pay the rego and just sit and look at it... Hate Ford.. Never again

Purchased in July 2017 at Rangeford for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LW Mk1 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Young GrandDad

Young GrandDadSouth East Queensland, QLD

I find this car great. Know your rights to have car fixed.

published

I had same steering malfunction. Given the car had 65000k on it and car was serviced by ford each time and cost over $30k new i simply told Ford i would lodge complaint with Qld fair trade, such low kilometres is unreasonable given your own warranty is for 100 thousand kilometres. They offered to cover 40%. I told them your parts, your labour marked up and only 40%? Kept calm, filed as i said and Ford paid 100%. Do not believe ford customer care. You are covered by consumer laws.

Purchased in April 2012 at Bryan Byrt Ford for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lauren

LaurenPerth, WA

DONT GET A FORD FOCUS

published

Last year I purchased a late 2011 Ford Focus titanium. It had at the time only done 60,000kms. It had a full service history, but hadn’t been used frequently over its lifetime. I started to use it as my main car and nearly immediately i experienced jerking, high revs and no take off speed. I put my car in to a ford dealer in January, the extended warranty had ran out the month before. They have wiped their hands clean and not given me a cent of contribution. It is really disgusting that you can wipe a car off that has done that amount of kilometres. It is now going to cost roughly $6000-$8000 in repairs and I am struggling to see that this gorgeous well looked after car is nothing but a ride off!!!!

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amanie

AmanieIllawarra, NSW

Absolutely disscusted!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size.
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark D

Mark DGeelong

Electronic Power Steering Failure

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dee

deePerth, WA

Gear box now the power steering

published

I bought my Ford Focus 2011 in January 2012 as a demo model...since then have had the transmission changed x 2...after being treated by the dealer as an idiot for 6 months each time I had to resort to begging for them to believe me and now find the power steering is gone...quoted $4300 to fix...the cars not even worth that much...Ford never again...what a lemon.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Elizabeth

ElizabethNorthcote

Ford Focus EPAS Power Steering Failure

published

This is just an update on the common EPAS failure in the 2011 - 2015 Ford Focus. I own a 2011 model, which is out of warranty by almost 2 years. After the EPAS steering failed, I was presented with a $6000 bill to repair it. I filed against Ford Australia in VCAT under the Australian Consumer Law. Ford settled and paid for the repair before the court date and the matter has now been finalised. I urge anyone else with this issue to do your research and if possible, file in consumer court under the ACL.

BodyHatch
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LW Mk1 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jules

JulesPerth

Only a matter of time before there's a fatality....

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Power steering malfunction

published
BodySedan
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad C

Brad C

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2011 FORD Focus Lemon

published

2011 Ford Focus Steering has failed. Its a know issue with Ford Australia but they refuse to recall or fix. USA has done a recall but not Australia. Would not recommend. I refuse to pay for a part thats failed due to no fault of my own. Ford even told me there was nothing I could have done to prevent it and that it is a know issue.

BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RachelF

RachelFMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Power Steering Failure

published

You can add my Focus to the list needing to have the power steering replaced. Submitted a claim to Ford Australia for compensation but was denied as the car is out of warranty and too old. It’s only done 30000km. $3004 plus installation for the replacement part which four weeks later I’m still waiting on as they have no stock in Australia. After reading other reviews I will be following this up further with Ford Australia as I too should be entitled to some form of compensation. Apparently this issue was made know to Ford in May 2011; if I was aware of this, I would not have purchased this car. Other than that I have been reasonably happy with the car however in hindsight would not purchase again regardless of power steering issues.

BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paying customer

Paying customer

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome Car

published

I have been so lucky I've had the car only for three weeks and have encountered zero problems.
I have the base model,the drive is smooth and quiet and the finish of the car is all quality. The comfort level is outstanding... Compared to my other cars. Fuel is great 7.3/100.
Other all Im very happy..

BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Faults

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LW Mk1 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt A

Matt ANundah

  • 5 reviews

Could be better

published

a solid car mechanically, just need to be careful of paint peeling on plastic parts of the chasis. This can end uo costing you a bit in cosmetic repairs, but wont stop you from getting from a to b. Fuel efficiency is pretty good across long drives but drops significantly in suburban traffic.

BodyHatch
BadgeZetec
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Torn

TornMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's ok

published

Unfortunately it has the turning circle of a luxury cruise liner, making tight car parks a nightmare. It's an ok drive if not a little bumpy, you'll definitely feel it on uneven roads and when highway diving you'll get a lot of noise leaking in. Fuel economy is ok as long as you're not using it in the city as a work car, constant traffic light stops will reduce efficiency. Very quick off the mark. Questionable audio jack and USB placement (back of the glove box). Don't hate it but wouldn't buy it again. Oh and a chunky middle section leaves long legged folks a little cramped for the sake of some ridiculous "holders".

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Electric power steering failure

published

Dangerous driving experience.
Spacious front, very little space at the back.
Not reliable at all might be a death trap.
Power steering locks while driving and could possibly be a death trap to you and family.
Ford will not take responsibility in fixing the issue or recall these models, they have advised owners to fork the money to fix the issues and will not guarantee that the power steering fault issues will be fixed in the future.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Crap gearbox and Power steering issue!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Brilliant handling!

published

This is the best car I have ever owned. Superb dynamics, stylish and a real driver's car. The diesel provides exceptional economy with real grunt when you need it. Excellent for those long country trips. Very comfortable driving position with good support. A little cramped in the rear and boot could br a bit bigger.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

peter

peterasked

Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

anyone had issues with this model? looking to buy one as long as it's not a lemon ,and it is manual

1 answer
Jenny I.
Jenny I.

Hi Peter, I probably can't make a comment on a manual MK1 but trust me if you think of buying an auto, my advise would be to RUN as fast as you can away from it. I have had nothing but trouble with the gearbox in mine and have just had it fixed for the 9th time, so fingers crossed they got it this time. Good luck but buy another brand.

mahesh r.

mahesh r.asked

Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

Car is having jerks during moving and sudden acceleration And no acceleration during the start of driving

No answers
Mark P.

Mark P.asked

Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

Are dealerships still addressing the problem of powershift transmissions, and what was the outcome of the class action against FORD . Do i still have cause to have transmission fixed. Thanks for any help MARK.

No answers
See all Ford Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012) questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $21,990
TransmissionAutomatic, Dual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power92kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque159Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.