??!
3 photos
Gaggia Classic

Gaggia Classic

4.4 from 61 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
35
4 star
19
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
1

M K.

M K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointing

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Product is used: Daily
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Khuntella

Khuntella

  • 3 reviews

This machine is simple, and entirey appropriate technology for a good macchiato

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer Online Store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderSunbeam MultiGrinder EM0400
See all answers
migo33

migo33Sydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Durable, affordable espresso machine

published

I have a 2004 Gaggia classic and with the right maintenance routine it will last forever. Parts are relatively cheap and easy to replace. The only reason not to get good espresso from this machine are bad coffee bins and grinder.

Purchased in April 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Steve G

Steve Gwestern district

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Barrista mornings

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

A great starting espresso maker with a few minor setbacks

published

The Gaggia Classic is a easy machine to use and very forgiving. I have used many different kinds of beans in this machine and as long as the grind of the coffee is right, I am usually satisfied.
It is quite easy to use although it is a little clunky because of its size. I find myself having to negotiate the espresso cup under the portafilter to avoid spilling the coffee. Also the tamper is a little flimsy and is too small for the portafilter (easy fix, just buy a decent tamper). Cleaning isn't an issue.
I have had it for a little over a year and I am quite impressed with this device. I hope to have it for many more years to come.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

We're very happy to hear to that you're well impressed with the Gaggia Classic, Nostrodamus! We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for sharing!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Simon i

Simon iTerrigal

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

Amazing
Have 2, one at home, one at work.
Make excellent coffe, better than you can buy most of the time.
Combine with a good grinder and it’s one of the best things you’ll ever buy
Can’t fault it
Very very very very very good

Date PurchasedAug 2008
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Buddy

BuddyGeelong

I love my classic....

published

Had the machine 12 years. No real learning curve.. once you get the beans and grind of your desire, you'll want all your coffees made from a classic..
Cleaning is easy. Not sure if overflow pipe has been threaded since I purchased mine but it easily pulls out to allow resovoir tank access for cleaning.. Shower head only thing that needs a tool and in 12 years I've taken off twice to clean the holes (I'd advise to do more regularly, lol)..
the water pump has just gone on mine and again this machine shines, with everything inside easily disconnected with replaceable parts.. after a while you realise your in a secret club, only classic owners know the coffee that this machine can produce. Is there a fan club?

Date PurchasedJun 2006
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Go_Hawkers

Go_Hawkersmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Coffee Every Day

published

If you love coffee you already know Gaggia and you might know about this machine too. It's the brilliant baby Gaggia and its sits in pride of place in our kitchen. I use it every day and am always interested in trying new roasters. This develops the real power you need to get a proper espresso extraction but you also need to have the touch and skill loading the basket just right, to get top results..I clean it after every coffee to keep it taint free - if you look after your equipment, it will look after you. It is solidly made and I expect to own ity for many years to come

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Alex R

Alex RSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Handy little thing, hard to clean

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
estaleb

estalebshepparton

  • 7 reviews

Almost perfect

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Ka R.

Ka R.Wentworth Falls

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

They don't make them like this anymore

published

So easy to use, such a consistently good brew, and over 11 years old second hand. What more can you ask.... I would highly recommend this workhorse, especially if you use a good brand of coffee and don't burn the milk. It is also very portable for taking away with you on weekends.

Date PurchasedMar 2007
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Andrew

Andrew22a Tweed Street, Tauranga, NZ

  • 3 reviews

The extract can be ok but not a reliable machine.

published

Having worked on a few Gaggias would not recommend these as a reliable machine. Ok at best.
I'm impressed people review them as highly as they are when there are cheaper options out there that can do both steam and coffee extraction at the same time.(breville(not recommended) or sunbeam)

N

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Paulie

Pauliecanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic machine, great quality

published

Makes fantastic coffee and is very consistent but requires you to be involved (which I love!). Upgraded the steamer for perfect microfoam and bought a good grinder. It will make several cups in succession for groups, Easy to use and clean, just about perfect! Make sure you clean regularly for best results.

Date PurchasedMar 2005
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Martn

MartnSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect coffee machine

published

I am very happy with this machine
I have been using it for seven years and nothing broke so good quality. The panels are made of stainless steel so It is easy to clean and like the name suggest, classic. It will always make a perfect expresso
Overall I would recommend buying this

Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Thanks for the review, Martn! Glad to hear you have been very impressed with your little Gaggia Classic.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Sam M

Sam MMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Fantastic Little Machine.

published

This is a fantastic little coffee machine, not only is it stylish and cool with a nice chrome finish it makes a fantastic coffee, despite its size it caters to a surprisingly large quantity of people.. I recommend changing the steam wand, which is relatively easy to do, as the standard wand can make the milk a little bubbly.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
marvo

marvoQLD, 4060

  • 4 reviews

Basic and great

published

This is a classic machine and is a favourite amongst the online coffee world. It can be modified with different steam wands, etc and easily cleaned. Parts are available online (local and overseas) and easily found.
I bought this second hand, and it works well. Not great for pumping out coffees for a party though, but great for daily coffee or two.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Lana

LanaAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Easy to use but grinder not so great.

published

The only downfall is not the machine itself but the grinder. We got it second hand and it is still in good condition. The stainless steel is a bit of a pain to clean but other than that we are still happy with it. Plenty of more coffee beans to try on it in the future.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Barnstormer

BarnstormerMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Manual Coffee Machine

published

This machine has been around for over two decades for a good reason, it is built like a tank! Commercial quality engineering and components in a domestic coffee machine. It is an even better machine if you go to the expense of upgrading the frothing wand. Makes a quality Crema delivered at the ideal temperature.

Date PurchasedSep 2004
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

RIP old girl

published
Date PurchasedSep 2012

Dan

DanVIC, 3056

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

We bought two of these

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

SLS

SLSasked

Hello! I have a gagglia brera - has worked perfectly for several years. Now the light in the top left comes on to indicate that the water tanks needs to be re-filled - but it continues to come on and the machine will not work regardless of the water level in the tank. Please kindly advise! thanks,

1 answer
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hi there, thanks for asking. We advise you to contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.segafredo.com.au/contact-us/

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Yve

Yveasked

What's with the little black plug in the bottom of the filter holder?

1 answer
PeteS
PeteS

Hi Yve. I'm not sure what it's called but you get a better crema with it in. I have the thin end in the outlet. It's sort of like one of those widgets the put in Guinness beer.


Aussie

Aussieasked

I would like to ask..."what material is the heating tank made of?..I had a coffee gaggia in the 1980's and after about 12 years the electrics went all brittle so I decided to tear it apart to check the heating tank..lo and behold it was aluminium and was corroded badly and there was tons of aluminium dust at the bottom..this is what I was drinking?
I hope before you purchase one ask if the heating tank is alum.. or stainless. Go for stainless if you can get it.
I am Italian born.

3 answers
PeteS
PeteS

Mine is alloy. I believe they are now stainless steel.

Aussie
Aussie

Thanks for that. I may consider buying another with ss tank. Cheers Aussie.

Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hi there, thanks for asking. Please contact:

Espresso Italia-Segafredo Australia
67/69 Scarborough Beach Rd
North Perth
6006
WA
08 9201 1350

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Get an answer from our members and Gaggia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.