??!
3 photos
Gaggia Classic

Gaggia Classic

4.4 from 66 reviews

Reviews

4.4

66 reviews
5
(38)
4
(20)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.1 (7)
  • Milk Frothing
    3.6 (7)
Previous
Next
Smooch100

Smooch100Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Awesome coffee machine!

published

LOVE this machine, makes awesome coffee, easy to use and clean! Just don’t expect to get the perfect cup right away, took us a few goes after we purchased it and some practice. You definitely need to invest in a good grinder, or can get your ground beans from a local cafe. The steam wand is amazing, steams/froths the milk quickly and really well, and easy to clean. Also make sure you use the right tamping pressure to compact your coffee. We bought a new stainless steel coffee tamper as the one that comes in the box is a small plastic one. Overall, we’re happy with this purchase, the quality of the coffee is perfect and well worth the money spent.

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
reiBee

reiBee

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great home machine

published

We bought this machine in June 2020 and it's going great. Neither of us were coffee experts but we've picked it up pretty easily, this machine makes it simple enough.

Purchased in June 2020 at Appliances Online for A$646.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Rorted

RortedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

The best household appliance I have ever owned.

published

The one possession that's been with me for 20 years. Coffee as good as it gets. gets used almost every day. parts are available and cheap if necessary, Worth every cent, wish all appliances were this good again.

Purchased at David Jones Retail Stores for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Gaggia Classic compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jaseaway

jaseawaySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great home coffee machine with some tweeking

published

I bought my Gaggia second hand from a very disappointed owner that only had it a few months. At first I could see her frustration this simple machine is not just a press of a button and her comes a perfect espresso. I had to play with the beans and grinds to get the correct flow and even had to replace my cheap grinder with a good one.
After many years of service it is still producing excellent morning coffees and well worth the time and investment of new grinder.

Purchased in May 2015 for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Sam T.

Sam T.Illawarra, NSW

Keep saving up and buy a good machine for a bit more $

published

Went from the Saeco Via Venezia to this and they are world's apart. Within the first year of owning the machine, it needed a $100 of maintenance not covered by any warranty. The grind required for the coffee is very fine or it makes a weak coffee. The space between the arm and the base is too small for a standard mug so you have to take the tray out.
Took up all these with the imported to be told that these were all choices that I should have considered and really not interested.
My advise, save up a bit more than the $700 for this machine and get a good machine that is reliable.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
M K.

M K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointing

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Product is used Daily
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Khuntella

Khuntella

  • 3 reviews

This machine is simple, and entirey appropriate technology for a good macchiato

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer Online Store for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam MultiGrinder EM0400
See all answers
migo33

migo33Sydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews

Durable, affordable espresso machine

published

I have a 2004 Gaggia classic and with the right maintenance routine it will last forever. Parts are relatively cheap and easy to replace. The only reason not to get good espresso from this machine are bad coffee bins and grinder.

Purchased in April 2013.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Steve G

Steve Gwestern district

  • 9 reviews

Barrista mornings

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Gaggia Classic compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A great starting espresso maker with a few minor setbacks

published

The Gaggia Classic is a easy machine to use and very forgiving. I have used many different kinds of beans in this machine and as long as the grind of the coffee is right, I am usually satisfied.
It is quite easy to use although it is a little clunky because of its size. I find myself having to negotiate the espresso cup under the portafilter to avoid spilling the coffee. Also the tamper is a little flimsy and is too small for the portafilter (easy fix, just buy a decent tamper). Cleaning isn't an issue.
I have had it for a little over a year and I am quite impressed with this device. I hope to have it for many more years to come.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

We're very happy to hear to that you're well impressed with the Gaggia Classic, Nostrodamus! We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for sharing!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Simon i

Simon iTerrigal

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

Amazing
Have 2, one at home, one at work.
Make excellent coffe, better than you can buy most of the time.
Combine with a good grinder and it’s one of the best things you’ll ever buy
Can’t fault it
Very very very very very good

Date PurchasedAug 2008
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Buddy

BuddyGeelong

  • 2 reviews

I love my classic....

published

Had the machine 12 years. No real learning curve.. once you get the beans and grind of your desire, you'll want all your coffees made from a classic..
Cleaning is easy. Not sure if overflow pipe has been threaded since I purchased mine but it easily pulls out to allow resovoir tank access for cleaning.. Shower head only thing that needs a tool and in 12 years I've taken off twice to clean the holes (I'd advise to do more regularly, lol)..
the water pump has just gone on mine and again this machine shines, with everything inside easily disconnected with replaceable parts.. after a while you realise your in a secret club, only classic owners know the coffee that this machine can produce. Is there a fan club?

Date PurchasedJun 2006
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Go_Hawkers

Go_Hawkersmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Coffee Every Day

published

If you love coffee you already know Gaggia and you might know about this machine too. It's the brilliant baby Gaggia and its sits in pride of place in our kitchen. I use it every day and am always interested in trying new roasters. This develops the real power you need to get a proper espresso extraction but you also need to have the touch and skill loading the basket just right, to get top results..I clean it after every coffee to keep it taint free - if you look after your equipment, it will look after you. It is solidly made and I expect to own ity for many years to come

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Alex R

Alex RSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Handy little thing, hard to clean

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
estaleb

estalebshepparton

  • 7 reviews

Almost perfect

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Gaggia Classic compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ka R.

Ka R.Wentworth Falls

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

They don't make them like this anymore

published

So easy to use, such a consistently good brew, and over 11 years old second hand. What more can you ask.... I would highly recommend this workhorse, especially if you use a good brand of coffee and don't burn the milk. It is also very portable for taking away with you on weekends.

Date PurchasedMar 2007
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Andrew

Andrew22a Tweed Street, Tauranga, NZ

  • 3 reviews

The extract can be ok but not a reliable machine.

published

Having worked on a few Gaggias would not recommend these as a reliable machine. Ok at best.
I'm impressed people review them as highly as they are when there are cheaper options out there that can do both steam and coffee extraction at the same time.(breville(not recommended) or sunbeam)

N

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Paulie

Pauliecanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic machine, great quality

published

Makes fantastic coffee and is very consistent but requires you to be involved (which I love!). Upgraded the steamer for perfect microfoam and bought a good grinder. It will make several cups in succession for groups, Easy to use and clean, just about perfect! Make sure you clean regularly for best results.

Date PurchasedMar 2005
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Martn

MartnSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect coffee machine

published

I am very happy with this machine
I have been using it for seven years and nothing broke so good quality. The panels are made of stainless steel so It is easy to clean and like the name suggest, classic. It will always make a perfect expresso
Overall I would recommend buying this

Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Thanks for the review, Martn! Glad to hear you have been very impressed with your little Gaggia Classic.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Sam M

Sam MMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

Fantastic Little Machine.

published

This is a fantastic little coffee machine, not only is it stylish and cool with a nice chrome finish it makes a fantastic coffee, despite its size it caters to a surprisingly large quantity of people.. I recommend changing the steam wand, which is relatively easy to do, as the standard wand can make the milk a little bubbly.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

SLS

SLSasked

Hello! I have a gagglia brera - has worked perfectly for several years. Now the light in the top left comes on to indicate that the water tanks needs to be re-filled - but it continues to come on and the machine will not work regardless of the water level in the tank. Please kindly advise! thanks,

1 answer
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hi there, thanks for asking. We advise you to contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.segafredo.com.au/contact-us/

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Yve

Yveasked

What's with the little black plug in the bottom of the filter holder?

1 answer
PeteS
PeteS

Hi Yve. I'm not sure what it's called but you get a better crema with it in. I have the thin end in the outlet. It's sort of like one of those widgets the put in Guinness beer.

Aussie

Aussieasked

I would like to ask..."what material is the heating tank made of?..I had a coffee gaggia in the 1980's and after about 12 years the electrics went all brittle so I decided to tear it apart to check the heating tank..lo and behold it was aluminium and was corroded badly and there was tons of aluminium dust at the bottom..this is what I was drinking?
I hope before you purchase one ask if the heating tank is alum.. or stainless. Go for stainless if you can get it.
I am Italian born.

3 answers
PeteS
PeteS

Mine is alloy. I believe they are now stainless steel.

Aussie
Aussie

Thanks for that. I may consider buying another with ss tank. Cheers Aussie.

Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hi there, thanks for asking. Please contact:

Espresso Italia-Segafredo Australia
67/69 Scarborough Beach Rd
North Perth
6006
WA
08 9201 1350

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Gaggia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.