??!
1 photo
GIO Car Insurance

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.9 (42)
  • Customer Service
    1.9 (43)
  • Timeliness
    2.2 (31)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.5 (18)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (37)
  • Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks (7), 3+ months (5), 1-2 months (5), <1 week (4) and 1-2 weeks (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (17) · No (12)
Previous
Next
Lisa S.

Lisa S.New South Wales

Refuses Choice of Repairer

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Lisa s.

Lisa s.

  • 4 reviews

My life is destroyed and I'm only 30

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
See all answers

Be aware of GIO

published

GIO ignored my claim having wrong timestamps. GIO is unable to track their own timestamps of calls that i have made. Now it's under review and I'm driving a car that cannot be locked.Samething can happen to you and be aware.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not At Fault Claim, Can't hire a car which is the same make and model to yours

published

Not at fault claim, waited for nearly 3 months to have it repaired. We were not allowed to hire the car that we used to drive, but hire what's allocated to us because the claim department could not justify spending up to $100 per day to hire a car for us, even though that was stated in our Platinum Comprehensive policy. Not recommended at all.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Siddique

SiddiqueSydney, NSW

Not At Fault Claim

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz S-Class
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Siddique
Siddique
Ms D

Ms DSydney, NSW

My car smashed by Capital Smart after GIO did not offer me choice of repairer as per policy.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelAudi Q3 8U TDI
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Rod A.

Rod A.Illawarra, NSW

Worst Company for CTP’s

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Anonymous

AnonymousSydney, NSW

Very slow and not helpful claim recovery

published

My fence was damaged by a third party car insured with GIO.
GIO made no effort to get quotations but pushed the work to the impacted parties.
Quotes submitted for more than a week with no response from GIO, and impacted parties got to call to follow up. And still no immediate action to recover the claims for repairs for more than 2 weeks. Have no trust in GIO claim management and efficiency at all.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Avoid this company

published

Just because you're paying for the highest cover, doesn't mean they actually cover everything. Were happy to sign us up and take our money but couldn't care less about the situation they left us in.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelVolkswagen Crafter
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Renzos

RenzosSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Regularly better than expected

published

I've been with GIO Comprehensive insurance since 2017. They have constantly performed better than expected. Each time I made a claim, the claims consultant made the whole stressful situation easy. Each time I call to change and address or enquire about something, the call centre staff are always friendly, and seem to engage in general friendly chit chat (such as talking about dogs, tv shows, mcdonalds, etc). It's like speaking to a friend! I highly recommend them!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Cerato
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Yas

Yas

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

The call centre people are imbeciles.

published

I was applying for a new insurance company so I had to give my new insurance company. As you have to be thorough and accurate about reporting your claims history, I chatted with some of their representatives online and they said that they will email it to me within 3-5 business days. This was on the 4th August 2020. As I have not received that document, I gave them a call. There was someone, an absolute idiot in their call center from the Philippines who did not even know the ABCof customer service. When I asked to be transferred to someone else, he blatantly denied my request because I was no longer their customer. Is that how you treat people when they are not your customers anymore?

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry ASV50R / AVV50R Atara S
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Mozza

Mozza

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Had the most present experience ever

published

Just had my car written off and the experience and settling the claim was seamless. I had no time waiting on hold I’ve got through to the claims team to submit the claim let them know what had happened, Took the car to the repairer assessment place and unfortunately it was written off, when I called them I got straight through without being on hold to the claim team they forwarded me to the total loss team without being on hold and the claim was settled and paid out on the spot no hassle whatsoever. Was a stressful time and this seamless approach by GIO made an awful experience much less stressful.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Sarah A.

Sarah A.North Western Region, NSW

Terrible service

published

They refused to assist or send someone to help me on 25th June because they already send someone 2 days ago who gave me bad advice led to my current breakdown. Save your money and don't join its a scam.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMazda CX-5
See all answers
UpYours

UpYoursCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 70 reviews
  • 102 likes

Going, going, gone!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Ms Lovell

Ms LovellSydney, NSW

Increase Excess without warning and no assistance during COVID-19

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMadza
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bellysmelly

bellysmellyAU

  • 34 reviews
  • 41 likes

No hassle claims

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Tom

TomDunlop 2615, ACT

If i had an option to put Zero. I will give that.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Lisa

LisaHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great service and support

published

I was a not at fault driver injured in a recent car accident. I made a claim via the at fault driver's CTP insurance. My case manager at GIO CTP was lovely, she was understanding and did everything she could to assist me with treatment and revovery.

Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

No Value for Money

published

I have been with GIO since 2013, despite having made no claims and a perfect driving record my premiums just went up and up and up! Finally, after my latest renewal notice jumped again to over $120 + per month, I finally woke up and looked around for a better deal and found a similar policy with the same excess, but greater agreed value for only $58 per month! Very disappointed in GIO.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHolden Ute
See all answers
Adam B.

Adam B.Sydney, NSW

Customer Service!

published

I had to call GIO three time to insure my new car as my requirements changed. Each time I was answered promptly and the consultant was able to assist very quickly and easily. Without doubt the best customer service I’ve ever experienced when purchasing over the phone.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Renee C.

Renee C.asked

Car Insurance

Can you add another vehicle to roadside assist or does it cost extra?

No answers
Joseph M.

Joseph M.asked

Car Insurance

I just bought a car and I’m in the process of transferring the car into my name but until i get that done I need to get a road worthy done so I’ve purchased a permit to get to my mechanic etc so I need to know that if an accident occurs will I be covered

No answers
Tina

Tinaasked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Can I take my car to any car repairer of my choice.

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

The answer is listed in their website or one phone call away

john smith
john smith

call GIO & ask them

Get an answer from our members and GIO representatives

Details

Compare all 5 GIO Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Home and Contents, Life and TravelBusiness, Home and Contents, Life and TravelBusiness, Home and Contents, Life and TravelBusiness, Home and Contents, Life and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveComprehensiveThird Party, Fire and TheftThird Party Property Damage
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance IncludedIncludedOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess IncludedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
After Accident Care
Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to a total of $1,000Included up to a total of $1,000Included up to a total of $1,000Not Included
Towing Costs IncludedIncludedIncludedNot Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Included

After an incident covered by your policy where your car is damaged and:

  • cannot be safely driven or is in for repairs; and

  • you or the driver of your car were not at fault for the incident; and

  • you have provided the name and address of the person at fault and the registration number of their vehicle;

After an incident covered by your policy where your car is damaged and:

  • cannot be safely driven or is in for repairs; and

  • you or the driver of your car were not at fault for the incident; and

  • you have provided the name and address of the person at fault and the registration number of their vehicle;

After an incident covered by your policy where your car is damaged and:

  • cannot be safely driven or is in for repairs; and

  • you or the driver of your car were not at fault for the incident; and

  • you have provided the name and address of the person at fault and the registration number of their vehicle;

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $1,000Included up to $1,000Included up to $1,000Not Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot OfferedNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Included

Included up to $75 per day for up to 21 days

Included up to $75 per day for up to 21 days

Not Included

Lock and Key ReplacementNot IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to a total of $750 per itemIncluded up to a total of $750 per itemIncluded up to a total of $750 per itemNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier of 2 years

Earlier of 2 years

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $1,000Included up to $1,000Included up to $1,000Not Included
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not IncludedNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireIncludedIncludedIncludedNot Included
CollisionIncludedIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsIncludedIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedIncludedIncludedNot Included
Compare all 5 GIO Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.