1 photo
Global Knives Ikasu Knife Block Set

Global Knives Ikasu Knife Block Set

3.5 from 53 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Kitchen Knives in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Global Knives? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next
elle49
elle49perth
  • 38 reviews
  • 25 likes

Rusty rubbish

published

Rust stains appeared on the knives about 2 weeks after purchase. Even with instant drying after washing.
I can leave my supermarket cutlery soaking in the sink and they never rust. Kitchenware house not interested and manufacture wont cover rust. I was hoping for better when I saved up for these knives.

Purchased at Kitchen Warehouse Online Store for $299.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew N.
Andrew N.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Best set of Knife

published

Love this set of knives, and the difference good knives make! The design is pleasing, both the block and the knife set itself. A pleasure to use, good weight, well balanced that feels great to use with a clean design. , easy to clean up - The best knives I have ever had, very pleased with this purchase.

Purchased in January 2021 at Kitchen Warehouse Online Store for $329.95.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
E Brow
E BrowHunter Region, NSW

Shop around

published

Make sure you shop around before purchasing. I had tried these knives at a friend's house and thought they were amazing. I went straight to the Global Knives site to purchase. The next day I found them $160.00 cheaper on a reputable homewares site. I contacted Global knives to see if they would price match which they wouldn't. They offered to refund my whole purchase rather than offer a credit to my credit card which I considered less than optimal customer service and seemingly poor business sense given that they were prepared to lose over $500 worth of business rather than keep a customer. Apart from that I believe the knives are good.

Purchased in February 2021 at Global Knives.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Northman
NorthmanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

A good looking knife set.

published

Good looking knife set. You can see the blade shines through the window. Good for a tiny kitchen bench. Value for money $330 for 6 knifes and a well designed bamboo block. I give 3 stars for it. The 2 missing stars for the cook knife. Once you hold knife you feel it far behind the traditional cook knife. It's too light and thin to cut hard stuff like pumpkin.

Purchased in May 2020 at Kitchen Warehouse VIC, Box Hill for $330.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kitchen Knives

Find out how Global Knives Ikasu Knife Block Set compares to other Kitchen Knives

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony C.
Anthony C.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

They go blunt very quickly

published

Already blunt after using them only a few times. I've only cut on wood and plastic boards, have always hand washed and dried immediately and have only cut soft foods.

Purchased at Myer.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Moonie Michael
Moonie MichaelSouth West, WA
  • 35 reviews
  • 22 likes

Now I have the sharpest knife in the block!

published

Global, the brand loved by everyone.
They stay sharper for longer, easily cared for with Global sharpeners.
Stylish & convenient storage.
Cooking can be more CREATIVE and less of a CHORE.
Handle designed to better fit the shape of a human hand, perfection!
I highly recommend for anyone, they're a higher priced item, but they're worth every cent I guarantee.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kitchen Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
annie1962
annie1962
  • 46 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great knives as long as they are maintained

published

I got these on 'sale' online many moons ago and must say that they are really good value for money... it's important to have a knife that fits well into your hands and these are very ergonomic.
The stand that comes with the knives consist of wood with perspex and if not kept really clean can look rather ordinary. The perspex can crack easily and one good thing is that both perspex sheets can slide out to be cleaned
Look after them and get them sharpened properly and they'll be with you for life. Oh and handle carefully because when sharp.. they're SHARP.

Purchased in July 2016 for $399.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
mikema
mikema
  • 40 reviews
  • 38 likes

Good value Japanese knife block - provided you don't pay too much

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Overseas for $100.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris
ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Use your money to buy some other knifes

published

Rust spots appeared after using one week. They won't claim it in warranty. They said it is not manufacturing problem. It is sharp knife. But stainless knife should never have rust. I can only say the knife doesn't no deserve this price.

Purchased in January 2019 for $230.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kitchen Knives

Find out how Global Knives Ikasu Knife Block Set compares to other Kitchen Knives

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aaa
AaaLondon

These Knives are utter garbage

published

You pay a reasonable price and you might think you would be buying a quality product. Not the case, I'm throwing these away after a little over a year. These low grade , over priced knives are complete junk.

Unreliable guarantee, should you attempt to use this you will only met by denial and deflection. An unethical and unprofessional UK distributors,

Low priced knives replaced regular would provide considerably better value for money than this rubbish.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Saz
Saz
  • 4 reviews

Great knives

published

My husband had wanted a quality knife set for years, so I finally bought him this set last Christmas. He was really happy with them and they look great on display on our bench as well. It has now been six months of daily use and they're still as super sharp as the day we first used them. Great product.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KellieL
KellieLSydney
  • 35 reviews
  • 10 likes

Same problem as everyone else

published

I have had this knife set for just over a year and use them most days but I have the same issue everyone else has, rust spots.

I have always followed the care instructions but still most of the knives have spots where the handle meets the blade.

for the price of Global knives, this should not happen.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kitchen Knives

Find out how Global Knives Ikasu Knife Block Set compares to other Kitchen Knives

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg
GregPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Products not warranted for manufacture faults

published

Always loved my Globals except for continuous rust spots, especially near where the handle is welded onto the blades.

After the handle snapped off one of my 14” vegetable knives I discovered Global don’t care. They admit rust spots will exist and are excluded from warranty claims. They have ignored all correspondence regarding the handle failure. Very ordinary service and poor products for the price

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Well you do know

published

Its not.only the knives that need yo be kept clean and dry but also the block. The inside wood would build conjestio. if not sterilized and cleaned you knives will develope rust off that as well. Get a knife bag.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not bad but super dangerous!

published

Great knives although I did notice a little rust on them after using them for a few weeks. Just wanted to warn people about the dangers of these knives. They are super sharp and I have cut myself literally twice in the two weeks of owing them, the second cut was so bad I had to go to the hospital and get stitches. I’m not trying to bad mouth these knives but you really have no room for error with these and if you have pets at home or kids make sure they are no where near the kitchen when cooking. Great knives but use them with caution

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

CAM
CAMasked

Just wondering what these knife blades are like. Are they fine in thickness? I find finer blades glide through foods more easily, and it's the reason I want to be rid of the knives I have now.

No answers
Cat Ladyb
Cat Ladybasked

Where do I buy this set of knives?

2 answers
Matt1991991
Matt1991991

David Jones

tcisl1
tcisl1

go on to ebay and innet type in knive set you need for best buy

pez
pezasked

I have just purchased this knife set, and all of the blades seem slightly bent or twisted. Is this just part of being hand made or should I get a replacement set?

1 answer
Kris
Kris

My set isn't perfectly straight. For example, if you are holding the knife vertically (and you are looking at the knife from behind with the blade facing away from you) there is a slight curving to the left but it's not really discernible. If you are concerned, perhaps check out some global knives in person first (and compare it with yours) and then seek a replacement if you are still worried. Good luck.

See all Global Knives Ikasu Knife Block Set questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 09313803795853

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.