??!
1 photo
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.9 (250)
  • Transparency
    3.9 (238)
  • Customer Service
    3.9 (247)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (48)
    • 1-2 weeks (38)
    • 2-4 weeks (28)
    • 1-2 months (18)
    • 3+ months (9)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (120) · No (25)
Previous
Next

Paul was amazing. Thanks very much for explaining everything.

published

Everything seems so good so far. It was easy to set up. Thanks very much. Everything was explained very well and I think it will be very comprehensive. Paul was very helpful thank you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Su M.

Su M.Queensland

Promptness in processing application and payments

published

I liked the way I was kept informed about the claims submitted by my VET. Regular text and emails to inform of the status. Appreciate the promptness from start to end.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Hi Su,
I'm delighted to hear of your positive claim experience and that you were kept informed throughout the process. Thank you for taking the time to share your great review with us, we really appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Heather and Ken

Heather and KenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Glad we had it!

published

We have been with Guide Dogs Pet Insurance for 12 months. It is expensive, but no more so than other insurers. Settlement of our claim took about 3 weeks but we were so happy to have a large amount of our claim paid.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how Guide Dogs Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BeeJay

BeeJayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Fantastic So Far

published

We've had to make two claims for our Newfoundland now and the policy has been really good value for us. Would definately recommend for any Giant Breed owner. The process is easy and the turn around time was well within expectations.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Lindsey S

Lindsey SSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

No issues so far

published

Easy to set up, easy to claim, claim resolved really quickly. Pet insurance seems to be way too expensive all round. Only with for 12 months. How many words do you want??

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Not happy

Not happy Perth, WA

make it hard to initially claim

published

This is factual : All talk from Sales department they make out how easy it is claim and then you are totally let down when claiming stay well away from Guide Dog pet insurance . call centre overseas too . they make claiming very complex and very long winded and loose loose loose documents and make you resend over and over and over due to their incompetent staff. again all true and factual.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
6 comments
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Not happy
Not happy

Can you confirm you have my 3 documents which is the full history for Zara please.
bel

Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Hi Bel,
Thank you for your message, as mentioned, I have passed your query to the relevant team who will be able to discuss this further with you.
Kind regards,
Alisa

suzanne

suzanneSouth East Queensland, QLD

best feeling ever

published

I was able to just pay the gap with my vet and the feeling of not having to worry about a high bill was amazing. The transaction was quick and easy. This was my first claim and it was great.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Hi Suzanne,
I'm thrilled to hear of your claim experience using GapOnly, which lead to a quick and easy transaction. Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us, we really appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Brooke

Brooke Southwest, VIC

Thank you

published

Policy is good value given the age of my dog she is 8.
Lodged a claim it took some time however I was happy with the end result.
Been with the guide dogs for over 1 year now.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Poor customer and claims service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how Guide Dogs Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Scottie W.

Scottie W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Request for feedback

published

Lol. My claims are still pending and with no feedback and you have asked for some feedback on how the claim experience was. Also the overseas call centre wasbt a great experience

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Terrible

published

Although my claims are sorted quickly, the phone service is absolutely terrible, and frustrating. The time difference doesn't help but the people on the phone shout and talk over you, loose documents which I've sent, and have no interests in helping. Cant wait to leave

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Hi there,
We endeavour to provide excellent customer service and I’m sorry to hear that this hasn’t occurred on your recent contact with us. I have sent you a private message in regards to this.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Rhiannon

RhiannonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Awesome Service

published

So happy with the customer service and claims process. This is my second time claiming and another extremely smooth and easy transaction. Wouldn’t be without this insurance. Very happy customer.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
ColS

ColSSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Aggressive Tactics

published

I was filling in a quote online and was distracted by something for 5 minutes.- then I received a call from Guide Dogs Pet Insurance. Very aggressive tactics to close a deal. Polite operator, but in my opinion, highly improper tactics from this company owned by Hollard Insurance.
Won’t be using this company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Need them for all my dogs

published

Policy is excellent value if you have a dog that is prone to accidents, illness and injury. Lodged many claims and all resolved even a big operation on her elbows. I have been using guide dogs insurance for over 2 years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Mae B.

Mae B.South East Queensland, QLD

Exceptional Service

published

I feel the policy I have chosen is perfect for our pets needs. We have a Premium Policy. We have been with Guide Dogs Pet Insurance for 1 year now.
I have had two claims now and I am extremely happy with the claiming process and the communication provided during the claim process.
I would definitely, and have already recommended Guide Dogs Insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Mae B.
Mae B.

Thank you. Your welcome

Pet Insurance

Find out how Guide Dogs Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Be Careful of the 30 day cooling off period

published

We signed up when we got our puppy at 8 weeks of age. We brought our puppy home signed her up to pet insurance before we picked her up as you can’t before 8 weeks of age. Well little did we know our girl came from the breeder with a Urinary Tract Infection because we had to take her to the vet in the first 30 days within the cooling off period we are not covered with anything to do with a Urinary Tract Infection, Kidneys etc. when you get a Urinary Tract it gets cleared each time so how is this fair. You pay to cover your pet as soon as you can but then find out you are not covered. We have only been with them since the end of August 2020. Value for money well we haven’t been able to claim on Angels UTI’S.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Took nearly month to process claim

published

Revived claim 29/12/20 now 21/1/21 and still the claim has not been finalised or processed rang on 2 occasions same thing told in final stages will be processed in 2 days nothing !!! Never this issue with my other dog and rspca insurance

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
megan m.

megan m.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Activating was really simple

published

Just set this up, was really simple, have not made a claim as yet or even spoken with anyone so cant comment on claims process, however activation was easy and efficient

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Hi Megan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear of the ease in which you were able to set up your policy and that we can provide you with cover that is suitable to your needs.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Greg Incoll

Greg IncollSydney, NSW

Just what we need

published

I was recommended the Guide Dogs insurance and am very happy with the coverage, and supporting the organisation. My daughter has had the cover for 2 years and is also very happy with it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Pet insurance GAP

published

Having access to your new "GAP" payment at the vets was very helpful when my labrador went in for surgery. It was quick, and took some of the pressure off my bank account on such a stressful day. Thank you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance
Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

Samantha M.

Samantha M.asked

Guide Dogs Pet Insurance

Hi
I am just wondering if Guide dogs pet insurance cover for Common Breed/ health issues like:
Anaemia, Spinal Disease,Cranial cruciate ligament (CCL), Cranial cruciate ligament (CCL), Ingestion of foreign body and After hour consultation.

Sam

1 answer
Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsGuide Dogs Pet Insurance

Hi Sam,
Thank you for reaching out to us with your query. Our website contains a breakdown as to what is covered within our plans and what is excluded; https://www.guidedogsinsurance.org.au/dog-insurance. Included within this breakdown, we do cover after-hours emergency visits and cruciate ligament conditions after a 6 month waiting period, which may be waived on application. If you would like to discuss further, I can arrange for one of our team members to reach out to assist. I have sent you a private message to obtain contact details.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Get an answer from our members and Guide Dogs Pet Insurance representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Guide Dogs Pet Insurance
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$20,000$15,000$15,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 85%Up to 80%Up to 75%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover IncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional Extra
Tick Paralysis$2,000$2,000$1,500
Emergency Boarding FeesCovered when you, the sole carer, are hospitalised for more than four dayCovered when you, the sole carer, are hospitalised for more than four dayCovered when you, the sole carer, are hospitalised for more than four day
Lifetime Cover IncludedIncludedIncluded
Cooling Off Period30 Days30 Days30 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$3,200 (6 month waiting period)$3,200 (6 month waiting period)$3,200 (6 month waiting period)
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days30 Days
Compare all 3 Guide Dogs Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.