??!

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.2 (164)
  • Transparency
    4.4 (143)
  • Customer Service
    4.5 (167)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (38)
    • 1-2 weeks (26)
    • 2-4 weeks (16)
    • 1-2 months (9)
    • 3+ months (6)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (83) · No (12)
Previous
Next
Sylvia

SylviaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

So glad I have Pet Insurance, it's the best thing ever

published

I took out top pet insurance when I bought my Cavoodle, never had insurance before, and am so glad I did, he has had pancreatitus, and recently ruptured disc resulting in spinal surgery. Your company was great and paid the 80%, the staff I spoke to were so helpful at a time I needed them the most.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Charmaine Hartmann

Charmaine HartmannSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Incompetent, never again.

published

It took three months for a basic claim to be processed, with the same questions asked over and over again. How many times did this company want the medical history of my little dog? 4 times it was sent. Cannot get onto the portal as it only comes up with HTML. I finally wrote to the head of the company after this going back and forward for 3 months and it was sorted. However, due to this appalling customer service, I cancelled the policy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Michael

MichaelCentral West, NSW

Bambi accident

published

Excellent attitude to my enquiries. Prompt response and resolution
Good value
3 years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Pet Insurance

Find out how Seniors Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bev V

Bev VSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Peace of Mind if needed.

published

Given sound information and able to make an informed choice/decision for my fur-baby. Moving forward it is hoped that this will be value for money and peace of mind as he grows.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Sue

SueMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Very helpful

published

Claim received within 2 weeks very happy with Seniors insurance have contacted by phone and response very helpful great to deal with very worth while insurance recommend to all seniors

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Brian

BrianMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Very good.

published

Yes, all of our claims over the past two and half years have been attended to quickly and efficiently.
Our vet lodged our claim on our behalf, claim was resolved quickly.
Nearly three years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Bec

BecSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

I thought the customer service person was very perfunctory and disinterested

published

Not good value. I feel we get very small amounts back as we do not claim very often because our dogs are well cared for and healthy. I am reconsidering our need for insurance and whether we can find better value for money

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Claim paid very swiftly.

published

Very easy to lodge a claim just photograph your vet’s bill and consultation notes and claim online. My claim was honoured and the money in my bank account in less than a week.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Theresa

TheresaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Efficiencies

published

I am impressed with the communication and efficiency in which my Pet Claim managed. The service is exceptional from the team and I thank you for providing such a high level of care.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Pet Insurance

Find out how Seniors Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Suzy

SuzyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

My review

published

The policy was Easy to set up and complete.
It Seems to be good value comparing it to other insurers.
I Have not gotten my policy to review all details yet- just went on line to get my quote.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Suzy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear of the ease in which you were able to set up your policy and that we can provide you with cover that is suitable to your needs.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Essey

EsseySydney, NSW

Very good customer service. Thank you Irma

published

Irma was patient and helpful through the process of insuring my Chihuahua over the phone. It was easy to set up today. I got a 10% discount for being over 50. Thank you Australian Seniors

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
2 comments
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Essey
Essey

Thanks Alisa. She is a gem.

Seniors pet insurance

published

We have only recently taken out this insurance so cant make any comments as yet. Staff have been very helpful as I needed to make some changes. It was an easy process filling in the application on line.

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Judone

JudoneSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 2 reviews

Awesome pet insurance

published

Policy excellent no complaints at all even accepted my six and a half years dog with no complaint.
About three to four days recently with gap same day seervice which is excellent only pay gap so much easier for the pensiioners.
About two to three years with no problems

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim DateNovember 2002
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Judone,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you have been able to utilise our GapOnly option and that we can assist in providing support for your pet when needed.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Judone
Judone

thank you :)

Happy we purchased pet insurance from Australian Seniors

published

I have held the policy for nearly two years since we bought our pet. Reasonably priced policy. Claims have been paid promptly after all information was submitted. Very helpful staff.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Perfect

published

My Insurance claim was handled very quickly and the correspondence from Australian Seniors Pet Insurance tracked its processing very well. I was very happy with the entire process from start to finish.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Pet Insurance

Find out how Seniors Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shads

ShadsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Trying it out for now

published

Yes. I only just joined up I’ve not put in a claim yet. I will try it out and see how it goes as I’m not sure as yet
Thanks

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Shads,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any queries in the future.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Colleen Anderson

Colleen AndersonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good basic coverage

published

Not bad value, still expensive for someone on a Pension, but less than others, only joined last night yet to lodge a claim, still assessing competence level. Easy to set up

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Cassie

CassieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good insurance

published

I had my last dog insured with seniors and I found them very good. Quick refunds and very friendly. I have a puppy now and decided to insure her with seniors also.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Jan

JanSydney, NSW

Simply the best

published

Quick to respond any amount due is in the bank before I know it very pleasant on the phone I have confidence my Millie is well covered very satisfied thank you

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Jan
Jan

great service

Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Adequate

published

Easy set up
Claim took over 2 weeks. sometimes more
I have had insurance for over 19 months. Unfortunately I happen to have purchased a puppy with lots of problems. Although I insured her at 3 months old, some of my claims have been classed as pre existing..

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
See all answers
3 comments
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Robbie B.
Robbie B.

I would like my policy number removed from my review plesse. Thank you Robbie

Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Robbie,
Thank you for your response. I can confirm that your policy number has not been included in your review.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Lana

Lanaasked

Pet Insurance - Essential Accident & Illness Cover

I would like pet insurance for a 4month old puppy. Can you give me a quote ?

1 answer
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Lana,
Thank you for reaching out. To assist in providing you a quote, can you please reply to my private message with your contact details and I will arrange for the relevant team to be in touch with you.
Alternatively, you can visit our website to view more information and arrange a quote, https://www.rspcapetinsurance.org.au/
Kind regards,
Alisa

John V.

John V.asked

2 answers
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi John,
Thank you for reaching out to us with your query. I would appreciate the opportunity to arrange for a member of our team to contact you to provide a quote and further information on our available policies. I have sent you a private message to obtain your contact details.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Cassie
Cassie

Hi John
It depends on the age of your pet. My last dog was 8yrs when I insured him and it cost $46/fortnight. I made quite a few claims as he was quite sick and his premiums went up to $53/ fortnight. Now I have a puppy and it costs $29/fortnight.
When you make a claim the refund is with in the week usually.

Elke

Elkeasked

Seniors Pet Insurance

What is Not covered?

3 answers
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Elke,
Thank you for reaching out. You can find more information about our Pet Insurance on our website, https://www.seniors.com.au/pet-insurance
Alternatively, if you would like for one of our team members to reach out to you, please send me a private message with your policy details and I will arrange for the relevant team to be in touch.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Elke
Elke

Please email me what is not covered as requested, not a web address link, as sent.

Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Elke,
I apologise, as we do not have access to your email address via Product Review. All information on what is and is not covered is available on our website in our Policy Booklet. To view our Policy Booklet please visit our website; https://www.seniors.com.au/documents/seniors-pet-insurance-policy-booklet.pdf
It would be beneficial to speak with one of our team members directly to discuss policy coverage and exclusions in more depth specific to you and your pets. If you would like me to arrange this for you, please send me a private message with your contact details and I will organise for the relevant team to be in touch with you.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Get an answer from our members and Australian Seniors representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Seniors Pet Insurance
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$12,000$12,000$12,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%Up to 75%Up to 60%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover IncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Tick Paralysis80% of Vet Expenses75% of Vet ExpensesIncluded
Emergency Boarding FeesIncluded (you must be the sole carer and hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days)Included (you must be the sole carer and hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days)Included (you must be the sole carer and hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days)
Lifetime Cover IncludedIncludedIncluded
Cooling Off Period30 Days30 Days30 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300$90 per visit up to $300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600$2,600Included
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days30 Days
Condition Limit$2,000 per condition (Basic Accident & Illness Cover only)
Compare all 3 Seniors Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.