??!
1 photo
HCF Pet Insurance

HCF Pet Insurance

Pet Premium, Pet Essential
2.0 from 49 reviews

Reviews

2.0

49 reviews
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(31)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (7)
  • Transparency
    2.3 (6)
  • Customer Service
    2.7 (7)
Previous
Next
Paskis

PaskisSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Responsive but coverage gaps

published

HCF are quite up-front about the coverage and exclusions, but when buying a 'premium' package it's easy to assume that it's all-inclusive. Especially when it costs as much as your own health insurance. Mundane things like vaccinations and checkups - not covered by the premium plan. Dental - nope. Cruciate - yes but limited in value. Really the 'premium' plan is a 'standard' plan - they could use a proper, all-in premium plan above it. So unhappy though I am with having claims rejected, they did make it clear what they were selling at every step of the way, and they were responsive to emails. Would I recommend? Yes but I'd sure shop around and read the inclusions/exclusions not just shop on price and brand.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
pdjones

pdjonesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 14 likes

Terrible

published

Never deal with this company. They say they are membership focussed but really they are just agents for privately owned insurance companies. They take your money and never pay without several phone calls and resending of already sent documents. When I cancelled they kept charging my account without my permission. Luckily I saw this and after a fight, I managed to get my money back. Definitely not an honest company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
2 comments
HCF
HCF T.HCF
pdjones
pdjones

I tried to send a message to the address given but was unable to. I have spent enough time on this in any case. It is up to you to improve your service, not me.

KMT

KMTGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Groundhog Day

published
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF
Pet Insurance

Find out how HCF Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian Mac

Ian MacSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

HCF Pet Insurance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
leonie walton

leonie waltonSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Stay away ..

published

I had been with HCF for a few years and not one claim with my two dogs
I just recently tried to make a claim
For a Non pre exisiting problem
And I proved it was Non exisiting by sending them vet reports from previous vets. They Never pay they keep requesting more vet info that you simply don’t have
If your dogs not sick why would I attend a vet apart from routine injections etc
After 7 attempts of trying to explain this
I cancelled my insurance ... funny they did that via email in one day hmmmmm
.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF
Snuflepagus M.

Snuflepagus M.Sydney, NSW

Absolutely Horrible

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
See all answers
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF

Above and Beyond

published

Emmerose fronted my call:
was finalising a claim as there there were missing information that that the insurers needed;
She put me on hold to check - when she came back on - she had contacted the Vet on my behalf and organised what was required - no more stress on me.
Very touched by the extra effort !

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
CpB.

CpB.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Awesome so quick and without any fuss.

published

We were a bit nervous taking out Pet insurance, you hear a lot of horror stories about companies refusing to pay up. I can honestly say I was more than surprised with the great service HCF gave us when we made multiple claims for our puppies elbow displaysia only months after joining. The refunds were prompt and easy payment being reimbursed within the week. Thank you so much HCF for making a difficult time so much easier. We are with you for the long run. Cannot recommend HCF enough. We now have our health insurance with HCF as well.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
DanK

DanKSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Slow Claims Process

published

I lodged my claim on 9/1/2019 and uploaded necessary documents via Portal. Since then I have constantly been asked for the same information even though on two occasions HCF Staff contacted my Vet directly in order to obtain information and I was verbally advised everything was OK. I also personally emailed outstanding items required and was advised by reply email on Monday 11/2 that everything was ok and claim was being processed. Then on 16/2 I was advised by same customer support officer that advised everything was OK that now it is not OK as they were still waiting on outstanding Invoice.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how HCF Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Incredibly difficult claims process-repeat requests for the same information

published

We have had pet insurance for our dog for around 5 years. This year was our first claim and it seems that we repeatedly get requests for the same information that has already been provided. Almost a month later and we are still no closer to a result; I suspect HCF just try to make life so difficult you can’t be bothered chasing the money anymore. We have had terrible service, I would not recommend at all!

Insurance claim madeYes
Hairyboy

HairyboyGold Coast

Easy and fast claim

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Nothing but satisfied

published

Once the policy was set up after cat vet history supplied, I’ve had every claim processed within a few days to 2 weeks. Claims from vaccinations, dental clean to paralysis tick poisoning paid. Can’t expect any better service.

Insurance claim madeYes
Amy B

Amy BMelbourne

Don't bother trying to ring to discuss a claim the service is appalling

published
Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF

Hi Amy,
Thank you for getting in touch. I’m sorry to hear you’re frustrated and have had this experience. Can you please let us know your membership number, by sending an email to social@hcf.com.au and we can look into this for you?
Many thanks
Steph

Fabian P

Fabian PSydney

Excellent Pet Insurance - Quick Claims Payment

published

I cannot speak highly enough of HCF. We have been with them for the past 4 1/2 years for our dog Jesse and and they are always so helpful. Every claim is processed quickly and we have never had any issues. I highly recommend them to any pet owner wanting peace of mind. Also the dental option comes in handy and is definitely worth it!!

Insurance claim madeYes
Mila

MilaChapel Hill

They are experts in making life difficult!!!

published

Poor vale for money. Terrible service. They make cancelling the policy difficult. Electronic renewals can't be cancelled unless you call the exactly 30 days before expiry not a day more!

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF

Hi Mila,
Thank you for getting in touch and we're sorry to hear about your experience. We'd like to look into this for you. Please can you email your membership number to social@hcf.com.au?
Kind regards,
Rosannah

Pet Insurance

Find out how HCF Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kylie t

kylie t

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

They Are Shockers Anything To Get Out Of Paying Even The Minor Amounts Of Money

published

I put in a claim and my consultation was not covered because I mentioned to my vet at the end any tips for dogs that bite so they class it as a behavioural therapy consultation - they will do anything to argue with you every time. I hate to think what will happen if I ever have to put in a claim for a major incident - hopefully I will not have and they can just have their $10,000 I will end up paying them in the life of my insurance.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF

Not happy!

published
Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF
pdjones

pdjonesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 14 likes

Cannot understand all the bad reviews.

published
Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
HCF
HCF T.HCF
Kanye

KanyeBelconnen 2615, ACT

  • 46 reviews
  • 39 likes

Terrible

published

You get 10% HCF member discount when you sign up end of the year the policy price go up. They just after the money,
most of the claims got rejected coz they don't cover it or they come up with some thing, only end up getting $80 routine care for the year. After paying over $600
Customer Support is 0 no help. Never ever recommending to anyone. Woolworths pet insurance way to go.

Insurance claim madeYes
2 comments
HCF
HCF T.HCF
Kanye
Kanye

with a different provider thanks.

Subject Verb Object

Subject Verb ObjectGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Claim Rejected.

published
Insurance claim madeYes
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Maggy

Maggyasked

Pet Insurance

We have discovered my dog has spleen nodule dysplasia and the vet has given us two options. First one is monthly ultrasounds to see if nodule has grown and if it has urgent surgery is need asap or will be fatal or to have the spleen removed now. We are going to go with removal of spleen as its too risky. The surgery and two days in hospital will cost approx. $5k. Will she be covered under illness policy and do we have to pay vet bill up front

No answers
Tata

Tataasked

Pet Insurance

I’ve stopped to pay my pets insurance payment because of financial difficulties from 5 months ago. Can I start the same plan from now?

No answers
Renee

Reneeasked

Pet Insurance

Hi, 2 questions.

1) What is the deal with a dog after 9 years? i have a puppy and have insured from the start but someone mentioned she won't be covered after 9yrs old?
2) what does "Routine" care mean and what can be claimed? Just the consultation fees for the vet? My vet "upsold me" their "special" care which means i get free consultaitons and vaccinations. but if this is already covered by my pet insurance (not the vaccinations), why would I bother with there "special" membership.

thanks
Renee

1 answer
HCF
HCF T.HCF

Hi Renee,
Thanks for your questions.
To answer your first question, HCF members who sign up new pets over the age of 9 are not eligible for the illness cover. However, pets who have been insured for illness before they turn 9 years will continue to have the accidental injury and illness cover, provided there has been no break in the policy.

To answer your second question, if you have “Routine care” added to your policy, it covers set benefits as stated below:

• $50 Annual Benefit Limit for any ONE of the Following:
Desexing, Heartworm Control, Dew Claw Removal, Prescription Diets, Microchipping, Teeth Cleaning, Cremation/Burial, Council Registration Fees, Alternative Therapy

• Plus Annual Benefits for the Following:
 $30 for Vaccinations or Health Checks
 $10 for Heartworm Tests or Blood Screen
 $10 for feLV/Fiv Tests or Urinalysis
 $45 for Flea/Tick/Worm Control

I hope this information helps. If you have any other questions, please also feel free to call us on 1800 630 681.

Many thanks
Steph

Get an answer from our members and HCF representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.