??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VE

Holden Commodore VE

3.9 from 132 reviews

See the Best Wagons in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
59
4 star
33
3 star
15
2 star
14
1 star
11

Great Car

published

Awesome car, really comfortable, plenty of power and looks great. Had no problems with it at all so far, would recommend it to anyone that’d listen, assuming you can afford the fuel.

Purchased in February 2019 for $18,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Lisa S

Lisa SMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Very reliable

published

I own a 2012 ve ss manual.
Fantastic car!! I had to replace the radiator hose back in 2016 and that is the only time the car has had to stop.
Battery gave up in 2016 also lasted 4 years.
Had to replace the traction button recently in 2018 and had to replace the reverse camera as it was faulty in 2018 all under warranty. I have done full logbook and never needed any extra work. Couldnt speak more highly of it. Also still on the original brakes which are going on 7 years old and the still have life left!!

Purchased in October 2012.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
.mee

.meeSouthern and Hills, SA

An amazing car ..

published

Bought my 07 ve omega 2 weeks ago,
It is 3.6 petrol/factory gas, I get about 600 klms from 73 ltrs of gas have only used half a tank of petrol, this car is so smooth to drive, cannot feel the change from petrol to gas and back, it's one of the best maintained second hand cars I have driven, a credit to previous owners, nothing to spend on it as yet, everything works great, can't fault it, I average 800 klicks per week, and the comfort it gives is second to none...in closing...I love it !

Purchased in January 2019 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Josho

Joshoperth

Good quality car

published

Very impressed, reliable and looks great - was choosing between this and a similar model and glad I chose what I did as I have been thoroughly impressed and blown away by the craftsmanship and sheer reliability of this stellar vehicle just time and time again. Would def recommend as a great car.

BadgeSS
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012

The Bull

The Bull

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2012 VE SSZ

published

Although i have not had the car long it is a blast to drive, especially having the 6 speed manual. There are lots of windy corners in my area and this beast just loves corners! The factory stereo is crap. The car has rear muffler delete so it sounds more like a V8 should. On a 470km trip i averaged 9.7L/100km which is great for the size of the engine and car. I have always maintained my own cars and i always do oil and filter at 5000km, not 10,000 or 15,000 as Holden suggest. Look after your car and it will look after you.

BadgeSS Z Series
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Clara

ClaraMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for the family. Plenty of room, good on fuel.

published

I use my car daily ferrying the kids to school as well as commuting to and from work, we regularly take it on the open road, goes beautifully. I service it every 6 months, no known issues so far. This car was very well maintained by its previous owner. All I’ve had to do was put new tyres on it and replace brake pads, it’s a very comfortable family car. And so far very reliable.
After driving manual transmission cars for the last 20 years the auto transmission is an added bonus! My VE is one of the best cars I’ve ever owned.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

KKK

KKKVIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

one of the best car's

published

i use this car pretty much everyday and nothing has ever gone wrong with it. the car is very basic car but is perfect for every day life. i've only had to get the car serviced one or twice over the past 3-4 years that i have owned the car. but those were mainly just because of the fact that the car was old. but other than that one of the best cars that you could possibly own

BadgeInternational
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Alan H

Alan HAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

such a good car

published

Love my Commos, good, solid reliable car. you can crash most cars and they are a complete right off - Not a commodore it will take a hit and keep on going. Parts are easy to find and cheap and the few minor issues they have later in life is easy fixed.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size5.7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Drives well

published

My daily commuter a ve series 1 2007 dual fuel , When i brought the car it had timing chain issues but i drove it like that for 50,000km then i decided to change them (they were missing by a tooth on the gear) because of the check engine light , after that it was no problem but car went the same , good smooth car , good on lpg , shockers get leaky after about 150,000km , it's a typical aussie car very reliable besides the timing faults , nice to drive , handles surprisingly well, had it for 5 years , big back space , huge inside feels like a lounge , plenty of power , and if you like engine noise when you step on it , it's there , safe car .

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2007
Kal

KalBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Money Pit

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Andy

AndySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

great car, lots of space, smooth ride

published

A great vehicle for a family, whether commuting or long distance (drove it from Melbourne to Brisbane over two days, with no problems whatsoever), mine has only 59 000 kms (being an ex company vehicle, so not thrashed). The six speed automatic is smooth and powerful, though I wonder if the fuel consumption is actually more than stated. The only minor complaint I have is that the back wagon door doesn't shut properly, unless closed very carefully: often takes multiple attempts to do it right, otherwise no issues and I'm very happy with it.

BadgeOmega
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Tee

Tee

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Big spacious,cruise, reliae

published

I use my car commuting to work mostly as I ttavel 60ks four times a week as a.musician I think this car is ideal because of it cruise control and good in.feul, I get the. At serviced every 10,000 ks, and I have had no issues with it.I think that I will get my moneys worth and it will last me years, I like the spacious boot, and room inside the car

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Dual fuel omega best ccar ive owned!

published

My 2010 omega has clocked up 624000 kms, interstate trips almost every week and back and forth to perth a thousand times
Great economy on fuel and gas ,motor is quiet cold and im sure it's going to go for ages yet.the interior is a bit daggy but planning an upgrade to sv6 interior soon.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012

Stuart

StuartTownsville

Holden VE 2011 Omega Series 2 TOTAL LEMON

published

this car is a complete LEMON Holden customer care DONT CARE!
I WILL NEVER RECOMEND HOLDEN TO ANYONE.
nothing but problems with this heap of crap.
paid 15 k second hand have spent already another 4- 5 K IN REPAIRS so far on
timing chain set
rear main seals x 2 + servicing

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Long term reliable car

published

623,521km , yep those k,s are real for a 2010 dual fuel omega.its been adelaide to melbourne every other weekend and some darwin trips too. (Very widespread family) , once the warranty was up i changed oils at 10, 000 k intervals and serviced trans and dif oils once a year.its had two sets of iridium plugs and really feels no different than when i first got it.ive been really impressed with the car and have upgraded shocks and am running nrembos off a hsv all round.air con is great and gets re gassed every other year and ive replaced the radiator once.very happy!

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2010
Basil

BasilMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

This car is great

published

They've holden commodore is a terrific car for the family. Plenty of space for the kids and lots of space Im the boot. This is good reliable car that is comfortable and easy to run. It handles all weather situations and performs as well as any other commodore. I would highly recommend this car to anyone who wants a affordable car that performs well.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Fizzle

FizzleMandurah WA 6210

Check Engine Light is staying on have had my VE II Commodore Berlina International Wagon check at a

published

We purchased this car brand new and we love it but I do have concerns regarding the check engine light staying on. Need advice on a fix for this that shouldn't cost me $2400.00 in doing so, we have done 134,000km in this car and it is well serviced.
Need Advice

BadgeBerlina
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2011

Mattie

MattieMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my car!

published

I love my Holden commodore ve, I upgraded from a vt and am so glad I made the leap when I did, the interior of the car is beautiful, the fabrics are soft and comfortable, the drive is smooth with minimal road noise inside. The service costs are really cheap and affordable. Petrol in my car is on the expensive side but it had the power to move and makes me feel safe and secure. Perfect car!!!

BadgeSV6
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Sam O

Sam ONSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Wonderful car with great presence on the road

published

Love the looks of this car, have had it for 8 years now and is going strong. almost done 144000 kms on it and never any problems apart from regular service with genuine holden parts. Only thing i dont like about it, is the interior. Very cheap plastic and the seats are uncomfortable. Fuel consumption is relatively high as oppossed to Ford XR6.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010

Tee

TeeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

HOLDEN COMMODORE OMEGA 3 STATION WAGON

published

Love the power and size, sleek look inside and out. Lots and lots of leg room front and back of car and boot.
With continued and regular servicing which it has had, the car will continue to run smoothly.
Although v6 the gas is completely affordable, a nice alternative to gas guzzlers.
I can't fault anything on this car, love it!!

BadgeOmega
BodyStation wagon
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionTiptronic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Page 1 of 7

See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Graeme

Graemeasked

My 09 sports wagon fan comes on alot now its done 240000ks was wondering why this is happening

2 answers
tony
tony

Low on coolant. faulty thermostat, loose wire. leaking radiator, leaking coolant. hot weather, running with air con on full on hot days. could be anything. get it checked out by a mechanic

Graeme
Graeme

Cheers thank you


Colin

Colinasked

I have a 2012 holden commodore series 2 sport wagon. Have leak on top of fuel tank have replaced hoses on top. Start vehicle no leaks turn vehicle off and after a couple of minutes starts to drip and after say 2 min it stops.?? Dripping down drivers side. I am thinking maybe one of the hoses not right.??

No answers

Vicky

Vickyasked

How much will it cost to fix holden commodore omega 2007 rear passenger side power window?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Details

CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $48,290
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeLPG and Petrol
Wheels19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption9.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power210kW @ 6700rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 2800rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare all Holden Commodore

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.