??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VF (Sedan)

Holden Commodore VF (Sedan) (2013-2017)

4.2 from 95 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (5)
  • Braking
    4.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (5)
  • Features
    4.6 (5)
Previous
Next
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

I'm in love !!!

published

Just recently purchased my Holden Commodore 2015 SS
Doesn't get any better than that!!!
Everything about the styling to the Power!! My goodness the Power
God I hope I keep my License lol

Just jokes on a lighter note
Just love this car, And I have owned many cars in last 35 years
So pretty much see a great car when I see one

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Pancho

PanchoSydney, NSW

The best left till last !

published

How good is this Calais V with LS 3 V8, my daily driver that puts a smile on the dial every time behind the wheel. Can sit 3 mates and 4 sets of clubs comfortably in the boot on long trips or short haul with the family. My early 911 might handle better but the Calais is hard to beat as a powerful all rounder, no better value.

Purchased in October 2016 at Holden Dealers for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Adam R.

Adam R.South East Queensland, QLD

BEST CAR I HAVE OWNED

published

2014 SV6 SEDAN.
Best car I have owned. Bought second hand with 50,000kms on the clock. Now has just over 85,000kms and have never had a single issue with the car at all. Awesome to drive. The MyLink system is great and easy to use. Cant complain at all.

Purchased in October 2016 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Holden Commodore VF (Sedan) compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

2015 SV6 Storm best buy for the $

published

Love this car. Best value car for the $. Economical .9 to 10 liters per 100 KLM around town. 6.4 to 7.5 highway driving. Perfect mechanically. Always serviced at Holden dealership. Powerful and beautiful premium Prussian Steel paint. Roomy. Would have liked full fold down rear seat and Hurrican mufflers but hey, this is a superb car and a keeper. Better than the new BMW, Turbo Falcon and Jag I used to drive. Buy one while you still can with low mileage. Cheers.

Purchased in January 2016 at Eagers Holden Brisbane for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
S.G

S.GAdelaide

  • 12 reviews

Wouldn’t dream of any other car.

published

I bought a beautiful red VF ssv redline about 2 years ago. Start of 2017. It caught my eye and every other vf that I looked at just didn’t appeal to me and I kept going back to the exact car that caught my eye from the moment I saw it. I knew it was the one! So I bought it. And it’s the best car I’ve ever owned in my life it was 2014 model. It has so much power I loved it! So immaculate and fancy inside and out, handles very very well and never ever found one problem with it. It may be a V8 but it’s still the perfect car for that ideal family who love style and class. It has the special car seat safety harness attachments inside the seats too so extra safe for a baby!

Purchased in February 2017 at Holden Dealers for A$48,439.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jay

JayWellington

Comfortable large performance sedan with attitude when needed.

published
BadgeSS
BodySedan
Engine Size6.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Sam

SamBrisbane

Great car.... if it wasn't a lemon. BAD ELECTRICS

published
BadgeSS V
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Jade

JadeGold Coast

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Best family car

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Aidan

AidanMildura

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Final Holden made in Aus!

published

Fantastic car! The last ever made in Australia and we are glad we bought one. Used daily for family travel this car provided comfort as well as luxury. Getting serviced every 6-8months is working well, still only on our first set of breaks but third set of tires, the down side to low profile tires.

BadgeSS V Redline
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Sedans

Find out how Holden Commodore VF (Sedan) compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paulkit

Paulkit

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice car with all bells and whistles

published

Bought our Holden Calais VF in 2016 from Brighton Holden., best decision we made. We have had a BMW and other cars but this one ticked all the boxes. It is powerful, spacious, latest tech, drives well, mileage is good too. My wife loves it's self parking function and the Bose speakers

BadgeCalais V
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jack Mehoff

Jack MehoffSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car, but few problems

published

Was a great car to buy brand new. Just a few finish problems, the unit under the passenger seat is loose and allows water in.
The passenger seat cover (standard) lifts at the base.
The MyLink is super buggy but can live with it.
Has plenty of room in all aspects, leg, boot and rear passenger.
Gearbox was way too soft.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2013
john

johnwollongong

Great to drive

published

The car great petrol wise around town poor going to head from to Melbourne 870 klm see how goes on fuel only got 1800 kilometers its the spitfire green color only problem you can't use the power it got my luck there be a cop around the corner my foot aches trying not press on peddle

BadgeSS V Redline
BodySedan
Engine Size6.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Smiley

SmileyBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very spacious

published

I absolutely love driving this car it is very nice leather interior which is easy to clean. It's a very spacious family car with plenty of space for the kids to seat without being very close to each other. I love all the compartments in the car. I absolutely love the sensor that comes on with automatic lighting and when you put the car into drive the doors automatically lock which is a safety thing. It's great on fuel especially long trips out on the highway.

BadgeSS Storm
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Dave

DaveMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

OMG...WHAT a car!

published

Purchased a new VF Series 2 SSV Redline just over a month ago now when on 'special' and wow, what a car! No regrets except that is knows how to drink the fuel...but hey, the car makes up for its thirst with the most awesome sound from its V8 and infant by all its exceptional features and the way it drives.

BadgeSS V Redline
BodySedan
Engine Size6.2 litre
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Big D

Big D

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

SSV LS3

published

The Holden VF is the best car delivered by GMH Australia. The SSV Redline is an exceptional car with style and elegance and power to boot. From the 6.2 ltr manual to the style and comfort. The Bose system, heads up display and all the safety features, flawless for sure. One to keep!

BadgeSS V Redline
BodySedan
Engine Size6.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Sedans

Find out how Holden Commodore VF (Sedan) compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cat.K

Cat.K

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Cat.k

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Cat.K
Cat.K
John

JohnMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car built by Holden

published

Best driving experience. 3 modes Tour, Sport and Track. Great performance, great handling and great breaking. Quality finish with lots of extras. Sun roof, leather heated front ‘performance’ seats, an embroidered instrument panel, appropriate decals and badging, a lip spoiler(optional large spoiler), red daylight running lights surrounds, red or black mirror scalps, a unique red-lined wheel treatment, includes a package of driver assistance and infotainment features,a commemorative presentation case, individual vehicle numbering and a unique option code. The Motorsport Edition is codenamed KOM (for King of the Mountain), parking assist, rear camera, remote locking key-less, Ancap rating 5 stars, six air bags etc.

BadgeCommodore Motorsport
BodySedan
Engine Size6.2 Litre LS3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Monica

Monicamelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 15 likes

great all round car. recomended

published

i drive a vf commodore thru my work as a work car everyday, these vf commodores are a huge improvement over the older models both in comfort, handling, safety and most of all they are very economical. i drive a base model sedan, but its absolutly brilliant. i highly recomend this model for familys. they are also very reasonable cost in servicing. buy a vf, you wont regret it!!

BadgeEvoke
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
John

JohnAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my car so much

published

I love driving this car, I feels just great, it drives beautifully, and has so much room , the seats are extremely comfortable, with plenty of leg room, love the Bluetooth and the entertainment system easy to use, the interior of the car is very nicely done , the car also looks fantastic, it’s a great looking car, I feel very special every time I drive it

BadgeEvoke
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Cooling system problems

published
BadgeSV6 Storm
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 1 of 5
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Lisa D.

Lisa D.asked

VF (Sedan) (2013-2017)

Are timing chains still an issue in the sv6 my17 series 2 sedans? As mine arrives next week. It has only done 34,000 km. And how much do they cost currently to repair if need be?

2 answers
micheal
micheal

Cost depends on who does the job Holden dealers. Lube mobile. My car ( kmart tyre & auto) ultra tune. will charge 10 times more than a local independent mechanic Yes timing chains are still an issue some are failing at 50,000 km

Gary H.
Gary H.

Timing chains are *not* an issue in VF Commodores as they were in the VZ-series, where a faulty batch was mixed up with the correct chains, thus causing elongation and stretch, typically around 50,000 to 70,000km. The VF (SIDI DI) chain metrics are similar and same number of chains, but do not have faults. They should easily last the life of the engine without changing, provided service intervals are adhered to. Where VZ chains required replacement, it was a $3,000 job and 2.5 days.

Dave

Daveasked

VF (Sedan) (2013-2017)

Occasionally If I do a long trip on a hot day the fuel gauge stops working. The next day after a trip the fuel gauge works normally. Holden put the scanner on the car and the gauge corrected itself. can you please provide a possible explanation or is this a known problem. My car is a 2014 SV6 with only 70,000 kilometres.

2 answers
micheal
micheal

its a known problem ask Holden for a solution

Dave
Dave

Thanks Michael. I suspect that it is an electrical glitch in the fuel sender unit.

Dave

Daveasked

VF (Sedan) (2013-2017)

Occasionally If I do a long trip on a hot day the fuel gauge stops working. The next day after a trip the fuel gauge works normally. Holden put the scanner on the car and the gauge corrected itself. can you please provide a possible explanation or is this a known problem. My car is a 2014 SV6 with only 70,000 kilometres.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars and Sedans
Starting Price A$35,490
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power210kW @ 6700rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 2800rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013
Discontinuation dateDec 2017
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.