??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VY

Holden Commodore VY (2002-2004)

4.0 from 32 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.0

32 reviews
5
(13)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Braking
    5.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (4)
  • Features
    4.3 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (4)
Previous
Next

great 2004 commodore wagon

published

nearly 400, 000 ks still strong and no problems with my 04 commodore i service it often , maintain it myself , use it daily , take it for long runs , no mechanic touches it ,, use good oils , and STP every change

Purchased for A$3,000.00.

BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Roger T.

Roger T.South East Queensland, QLD

This VY is good, only use privately

published

After reconnecting battery leads, imobiliser light on dash wont off and key wont turn in ignition. Always have had to usekey in door lock to open car as remote buttons never worked for years & had no problems in starting. How do get to turn ?imobiliser off

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Jenn Turvey

Jenn TurveyVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing car

published

I drive this car daily, brought it for cheap. Have had no problems other than tyre wear on the car. They are mechanically great! I have owned a few cars and this one is the best!!

Purchased in April 2019 for A$3,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VY compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trudy

TrudyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Brought this car back in 2004 it is the best car we brought we have done 243000 klm in it and have not had one problem has not had a Spanner put on it at all great car

Purchased in June 2004 at PrivateFleet for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Greg

GregSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still going strong after 13 years of ownership

published

Purchased in September 2006 for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sunset_Sam

Sunset_SamPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

2003 Holden Commodore 25th Anniversary V6 Ecotec VY Series II

published

Great car smooth nice breaking has plenty of power I find seats hard to get used to only downfall is

published

Nice car to drive it's smooth and quiet handles well good breaking no real bad noises until you get over 100km there's noise in dash
Nice finish in interior but the plastic moulding on drivers side seat made very poorly and always breaks and they aren't cheap unless you leave hanging or put couple of ugly tech screws to hold in place

Badge25th Anniversary
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Disappointed

published

First commodore I have ever owned. A 2002 vy ex police car. I have been a ford user all my life.
The commodore goes great and is smooth but in wet weather it fishtails around corners if going faster than 15 kilometers.
I am told this is normal for a vy. Too scared to drive in wet, how could that be normal?

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Cant beat a holden!

published

Such a reliable powerplant. Love it. Excellent fuel milage in fact its better than 2litre front wheel drives leaves most cars for dead at a stomp of the foot. Only had 1 issue being the cooling system twice but thats minor. Loves the open roads definately built for nz conditions amd australia alike. Outdoes rice burners in every shape

BadgeS
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VY compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Palya

Palya

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fun and reliable Aussie built car!

published

I have a 2004 VY Commodore Series II S. Really fun to drive, when the foot goes down the car responds without hesitation. It takes corners well and has been faultless so far. It is identical to the VY SS in appearance and still looks sleek in 2017. It averages roughly 12.3L/100km in suburban areas which is excessive by modern car standards, but for those who do not drive heaps the cheaper servicing, plentiful parts and reliability more than make up for it.

Great for those who want an SS like experience without the extra initial outlay or increased running costs of a V8 engine.

BadgeS
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Obsty

Obsty

  • 2 reviews

SS vy commodore

published

Unreal car. Generation 111 unbreakable. Great all over car. Tough economical.450 kms city driving on full tank.650kms country driving. Great car and beats crusty fords .acceleration super. Top end scary. 255kms with still some change to spare. All stock standard. Love interior and love exterior. Flies like a rocket .goes great

BadgeSS
BodySportwagon
Engine Size5.7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010
Giantkiller

GiantkillerMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Reliable Deal

published

To drive a Vy Commodore to the shops, or to the Qld border, is the same comfort experience. It rides well, has excess power for any road, is very comfortable and spacious, what more can I say. It uses 10.5litres around home, crashes to only 7.2litres on a trip, just does the business. Very reliable, but a pleasure to drive.

BadgeBerlina
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Clayton

ClaytonPORTLAND VICTORIA

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

305 000km, still going strong

published

was reluctant buying a 3rd hand car with so many k's. So far so good. It would seem to be that all servicing was done as noted in the book. Can be a little thirsty but considering the power and the interior space, not too bad.
Everything still works, pretty good for a 13 year old car. It pays to shop for a used car that has been serviced regularly.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Engine Size3.8

2004 SS Wagon

published

Brilliant < 40,000 klm example in Black with Red Leather. Great ride, response and presence on the road. Hopefully this vehicle will appreciate in value over the coming years. What would you expect to pay for such a vehicle. It is mint and I mean MINT. A little heavy on fuel however not a problem due to the return you receive when you want/need to put your foot down.

BadgeSS
BodySportwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Michael012

Michael012Melbourne

  • 76 reviews
  • 20 likes

Very practical and good value family wagon

published
Engine Size3.8L
BadgeAcclaim
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VY compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
russy1

russy1Blayney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

gave nearly 7 years of good service

published

Bought this car with 136500 km on the clock and only just sold it with 341000 km on the clock. Only things that i had to replace outside normal service items included the radiator, alternator and the cd player. Went through rear tyres at an alarming rate however this is a common vy problem. Only sold the car because the fuel sender was playing up and the transmission was starting to show signs of wear. Motor and diff were still perfect

BadgeEquipe
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.8 litre
natural

naturalAU

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

Totally satisfied, sorry to see it go.

published
BadgeAcclaim
BodySportwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Kieran R

Kieran RBendigo

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Terrific car, holds the road really well and very quiet inside

published
Engine SizeV6
BadgeCalais
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic

Terrible

published

Review for SS model.

Would never buy one again biggest waste of money i ever spent bought an xr8 and have never looked back
Air con, slow so falcons can smoke them,
Fall apart, unreliable, fuel gauge faulty, chews through rear tyre if no camber kit,

Jol50

Jol50CANBERRA

  • 3 reviews
  • 13 likes

2002 VY Wagon Practical Australian Motoring

published

Bought my VY with 138,000 on the clock. It now has 230,000, has not missed a beat. Just a V6 Lumina Wagon, parts are easy to come by and cheap if you get them from a wrecker. The 16"tyres only set me back about $150 each and the car does well on short and long trips. I now need extra seats but don't want to do the bolt on thing in the back of my wagon, sad thing is, Holden have failed to realise this market. The 7 seat Captiva which I also own is a joke car and the back two seats are as useful as a screen door on a sub! Commodore wagon makes a lot of smart motoring. Now build a high rise version with 7 practical seats and I'll buy it.
Cheap fun Australian motoring
Getting a little old tec wise and few more rattles

Engine SizeV6
TransmissionAuto
Page 1 of 2
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Cliff P.

Cliff P.asked

Commodore VY (2002-2004)

How much engine oil does the engine take with filter

No answers
Kelly B.

Kelly B.asked

Commodore VY (2002-2004)

My Holden wagon when I drive it my warning brake light comes on but when I put my foot on the brakes it goes off but getting a burning smell and smoke come from back Tyers
My brakes failed 3 months ago and i took it to a machanic and $300 latter they apparently fixed it What could it be plz help I have to travel for food shopping and I have 2 young kids

No answers
Kiote

Kioteasked

Commodore VY (2002-2004)

Car stops by itself when stopping at lights etc engine stops and sometimes will not start again until key is taken out and put back in.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.