??!
1 photo
Homestar Finance

Homestar Finance

4.3 from 295 reviews

Reviews

(198)
(50)
(8)
(8)
(31)
  • Timeliness
    4.2 (129)
  • Loan used for:
    • Refinancing (81)
    • First Home (26)
    • Investment Property (8)
    • Second Home (6)
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate (131) · Fixed Rate (2) · Split (1)
  • Online Tools
    3.8 (53)
  • Transparency
    4.4 (132)
  • Customer Service
    4.5 (135)
  • Application Process
    4.3 (131)
  • Loan Term28.541 years


Happy customer after refinancing with Homestar Finance

published

Ghada Colton was our customer service representative from start to finish and was always happy to answer our questions. The whole process took a while and we did need to resubmit documents a couple of times but if you are happy to stay on top of things and make sure the turn around is quick at your end each time the final result is a great interest rate and more money in your pocket. Hopefully they continue their run of passing on any RBA cuts in full.

Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Refinancing
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Todd

ToddHunter Region, NSW

Great to deal with & very low interest rate

published

We refinanced our home loan and Justin was our home loan specialist. He answered all my questions and made my wife and I feel at ease during a nervous time. Homestar was one of the lowest rates I could find and would so far recommend them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Great service especially during settlement period

published

Rick and Ash consistently answered all my first home owner questions throughout the whole application process. When it came to crunch time(settlement after the Christmas break) I had consistent support from the team regarding lodging all the correct documents and escalations with the legal team to get me into my apartment ASAP. Being a first home buyer I bombarded Ash with questions that were likely out of her scope but she answered everything I threw at her and provided advice as required. 5 STARS WELL DESERVED!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2020
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jo121

Jo121South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

HOMESTART gets 5 star from us

published

From the get go Rick and Ash were a fantastic team giving good clear instructions and advice they ensured my expectations were clear and were available for any queries I had. The process wasn't a quick one but considering it was spread over the Christmas period it took 2 months to remortgage I think this was reasonable.
I got the rate I had discussed with Rick a very competitive one too in comparison with even other online lenders and my friends were surprised at how good it was.
Rick made good suggestions like taking a little extra to cover costs which could always be repaid into the loan or the offset.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2020
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
2 comments
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Jo121
Jo121

[Address Removed]

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Great Financial understanding

published

We have 3 different loans and 6 other accounts and they managed to follow all and work out what was going on, they have a great financial understanding and were quite simple to deal with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Sean D.

Sean D.Illawarra, NSW

Great rates and service!

published

Jenny did a great job managing the finance approval for the purchase of my first home! Everything settled today with no issues so I'm very stoked. Can't recommend homestar enough

Transparency
Customer Service
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Good low rate. Process could be faster

published

Very happy with the service provided by Ghada Colton. The process end of the day was quite straightforward. Whole process could be made faster. I am satisfied with the rate that we were offered.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

easy to do

published

Simple process to change lenders to a better rate, very happy with the straight forward process. Helpful staff with quick response to questions. Would recommend to people chasing a better rate then current lender.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2019
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Excellent service

published

Very happy with the service provided by Patrick. He made the process extremely easy for a first home buyer and was always available to answer our questions. The rate we got is also the best in the market so couldn't be happier and would recommend Homestar Finance to family and friends.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Greg

GregPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very satisfied

published

Have just finished the process with Ghada and Homestar. I explained my lack of knowledge and Ghada took full control of my situation. The process wasn't quick but it was thorough. I have a very low rate and nothing else has changed, it's direct debit, and I can't thank Ghada enough

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Anwar

AnwarSydney, NSW

Excellent

published

I had a very good experience with Homestar from start to finish. It’s not a terribly fast process -getting a home loan online- but it was easy and there was always help when required.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2020
Loan used for:Investment Property
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


kathy

kathyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

The best low rate around

published

Extremely happy with the great rate that Homestar have given us, something our previous big 4 bank couldn’t even get close to. Jenny was very helpful with the whole process and was quick to answer any questions we had.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Benjamin M.

Benjamin M.Victoria

Homestar - an unbeatable rate

published

Patrick that we dealt with was excellent and very responsive. No fees and an offset account and a very low rate, that my existing bank couldn't get close to. So far very happy with everything.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Herman Sutanto

Herman SutantoSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great Home Loan Rate with Customer Focus

published

The customer service representative was outstanding. I started loan processing with Justin Ho the Homestar Loan Specialist. Everything went smoothly and I am now a Homestart customer. Justin was professional and understanding his customer which made the whole process less stressful for me who had little time to talk over the phone. I will say it is worth considering Homestar, it will save you thousands of Dollars for future equity.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Very Happy

published

Very happy to have moved from the "big 4" to Homestar.
The customer service received from Tony Vasey was excellent. And we save 1.1% on interest repayments. Which adds up if you have a large loan.
To others paying high interest rates, I would say it is worth considering Homestar.

Application Process
Loan TypeVariable Rate
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great rate, all the features you'd expect

published

From first contact, my Homestar home loan specialist was helpful and attentive. The application process was relatively simple (a PDF document I was able to complete electronically) with all the standard attachments (statements, payslips, etc). The approval process itself was a bit lengthy as it was a busy period. The loan documents are were all handled electronically through Homestar's solicitors e-sign portal.

After settlement, the Origin Mortgage Management Service team were very helpful in setting up my online banking profile, which itself has a simple and clean interface with all the basic functionality you'd expect (although no mobile app).

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Paul

PaulSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Awesome decision to change lender to Homestar

published

I refinanced from another bank after they refused to negotiate a reasonable interest rate in the current climate of rate drops. I was with them for over ten years, was loyal, ahead of payments, etc. I started investigating other lenders and came across Homestar. Their interest rate was one of the lowest on the market. With due diligence, I started to look into Homestar. The customer service representatives were great and eventually, I started working with Patrick Vergara the Homestar Loan Specialist. Everything went smoothly and I am now a Homestart customer. Patrick was fantastic and made the whole process less stressful for me and my wife. I will save thousands of dollars over the coming years. We highly recommend Homestar!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
3 comments
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Paul
Paul

Thank you! My name is [Personal Details Removed]

Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Thank you for your details Paul, we have received them and have requested for product review to remove your personal details (as this is a public website).

Kind regards,
Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Wendy

WendyAustralian Capital Territory

I highly recommend Homestar Finance

published

I refinanced my home loan and took out an investment loan with Homestar. Jenny was so helpful to me throughout the entire process, always quick to respond to my emails and answer any questions I had. I felt very comfortable in all of my dealings with her. In addition to her terrific service, I also got the best interest rates and I am so glad that I switched to Homestar. (Although I was offered a gift card to write this, I am happy to promote the great service I received and this review reflects my honest opinion.)

Customer Service
Application Process
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Ryan

RyanSydney Surrounds, NSW

Appreciate the help of the homestar team. Great rate and refi

published

Very thankful to Jim and the team at homestar for helping us refinance our loan. It's a much better rate and unlocked some equity in the home to help with a growing family. Highly recommended.

Transparency
Customer Service
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Tu Nguyen

Tu NguyenIllawarra, NSW

Fantastic and low rate

published

Richard has helped us to refinance our Home loan to Homestar Finance today. I am really happy and enjoy the whole stress-free process. Richard is very professional and answer us every inquires in timely manner. I really appreciate and look forward to enjoy the lowest interest.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Raymond

Raymondasked

Are there atm fees to withdraw money from visa debit card?

1 answer
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Hi Raymond,
If you visit any of the Big 4 banks' ATM's, you won't be charged any ATM fees when withdrawing from your visa debit card.

Kind regards,
Homestar Finance


Michelle

Michelleasked

Hi

I was looking to refinance and I saw an ad for an owner occupied loan at 2.99% with your company. I want to confirm that:

1)the 2.99% is NOT a honeymoon rate, therefore not increase after a set amount of time. Is there any disclaimer I should be aware of? I have heard people being burnt by offered a low rate but then after a few years the loan rate increases and this is not even in response to a RBA rate increase.

2) if there is another rate cut, will these also be passed on to customers? I know Athena home loan swears by this for their loan products. Is yours similar to this? I want to know there is transparency

Thanks
Michelle

2 answers
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Hi Michelle,

1. No the 2.99% is not a honeymoon rate.

2. We cannot predict the future, but we can tell you that the past 3 rate cuts by the RBA, have been passed on in full to our Homestar customers.

Please note: You do need to meet specific credit criteria to get this rate.

Kind regards,
Homestar Finance

Michelle
Michelle

Thanks you! That is excellent


Banzaii

Banzaiiasked

Who manages your offset accounts and provides visa debit cards? Do these need to managed via a linked account from a bank etc. Are deposits into offset guaranteed?

1 answer
Geoff B.
Geoff B.

The loan and the offset are managed via the website and are underwritten by ANZ, the deposits are guaranteed. (BSB no’s are ANZ)


Get an answer from our members and Homestar Finance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.