??!
1 photo
Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

4.0 from 38 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.0

38 reviews
5
(21)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (6)
  • Safety
    4.8 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.0 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (6)
Previous
Next
Darryl

DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great mower

published

Have used Honda equipment for a couple of decades now. I do like the older model mower for use and this model I can not fault. Cuts great, nice balanced machine when the catcher is full and starts first time every time.

Purchased in March 2000 at Honda Dealers for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
David R.

David R.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can't love with out

published

it always starts first time. I have had my mower for the past 2 years and will always buy a Honda. I sent a few improvements to be done and it has so thank you Honda power team

Purchased in December 2017 for A$1,199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sandy Sweeper

Sandy Sweeper

  • 6 reviews

Great job

published

Good cuts dry or wet, high or low. Catcher is just big enough, however solid. Starts most times first go, but don't leave it idle to long as it heats up rapidly. Always clean under deck as blades will stay sharper for longer. Copes with lawn and shabby rentals grass. 6/10.

Purchased in February 2018 at Best Buy mowers for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Sandy Sweeper
Sandy Sweeper

I also only buy Honda and Stihl.

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ROLLA

ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews

Great mower

published

Easy to use, easily the best mower I have ever used. Top quality, easy to refill. Only downside is the catcher fills up only half way when the grass is too thick. But still a great mower. I use the mulching attachment alot and works great.

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Mark

MarkVictoria

  • 5 reviews

Great

published

I have used honda mowers professionally for years and have never had a problem with one . They do great job on all types of lawn and are easy to use .

Purchased in January 2016 for A$920.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good, reliable unit

published

Had mower now for 9 months, block of land is half an acre, easy pull start and cuts grass easily even when wet. Dont catch grass in catcher, use it on its mulch setting.

Purchased in July 2018 at Melbourne mower centre for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Neil Burton

Neil BurtonSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Starts first time everything as promised

published

Fantastic mower.
Easy to start, nice and easy to push around, great catcher and that brilliant Honda quality and reliability.
Our yard is not the biggest but using this mower is always nice and easy and the catcher is one of the largest ones I have used.
And say goodbye to the hard to start frustrations of the older style mowers as this bad boy starts first time every time.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Lizzy

LizzySpringwood

  • 6 reviews

Great mower.

published

I love this mower! It's easy to start, easy to use, offers precision cutting, and as long as it is maintained with regular services it never has an issue. Look after the mower & it looks after you. There is not a day I regret buying a Honda mower and will never buy anything but again. Thank you Honda!

Date PurchasedJan 2008
Matt D

Matt Dearlwood

  • 11 reviews

Excellent Mower. Honda 1st in the Market.

published

Mower cuts great. Starts easy. Well built. Never had any problems for three years now. forget over brands spend a bit more to get an excellent mower. Very easy to manoeuvre and with great ease. straight edged cutting area.easy. I am very pleased with my purchase and i would definitely recommend this mower.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ashley Shaw

Ashley ShawBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great mower

published

Very happy wih the mowers cutting results. Very easy to maneuver and with great ease. Very easy to operate and to maintain is very quick and easy. I am very pleased with my purchase and i would definitely recommend this mower to friends , family andall fellow work colleagues .

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Mate22

Mate22Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Honda Reliability

published

It is a pleasure to use and always starts first pop. It has a precision feel to cutting which the cheaper mowers don't come close to. The catcher design works well even with overgrown or damp grass and seems to compress the catch. I am about to go and do the lawns this morning and I will be using the Honda and actually look forward to it whereas with my old Rover it was a chore. A good solid quality machine.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Bob Sanzaro

Bob Sanzaro

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ever reliable Honda

published

The first Honda mower I purchased gave up after 23 years of mowing an acre of lawn. Pretty good effort so I purchased another and it has not missed a beat since I purchased it about 2 years ago. I expect this to last longer as it is visibly a stronger mower and using it as a mulcher mower gives me a clean cut surface even on tough Kikuyu lawn. Starts first time every time and is used weekly.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Robbo

RobboNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Beat it

published

I've had tis mower for 2-3years & never mist a beat.very happy with it.clean it every time u use it & you'll never.have a problem with it. Very impressed. Starts straight up every time.does the job that i nead it to do.so impressed with honda i bought a brush cutter.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Bruce J

Bruce JSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Great Build Quality

published

Superb build quality, so nice I hate getting it dirty lol. Aluminum Alloy deck is very nicely made, if anything over engineerd as mower is a little on the heavy side, maybe not ideal for the women. Cold starts takes 3-4 pulls Hot starts 1-2 pulls. Easy to change the oil and do general maintenace on.

Leaves grass looking very nice. People complain about chute clogging on cutting wet grass, but cutting grass when wet is silly anyway so.... Only thing i don't like is the catcher as it is not as easy to empty as a plastic catcher as grass gets stuck between metal frame and cover and you need to drag it out by hand.

Good Service from Allmowers Dee Why also.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Good, but not great

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DaveBrisbane

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower

published

i cant fault this product. it cuts with breeze with short and longer grass. money well spent for the price. very easy to maintain along with starting the mower. the catcher can hold a decent amount of cuttings but you need to make sure you have all the grass clippings out the shoot.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
ALANAKELLY

ALANAKELLYKerang

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent mower

published

This lawn mower is amazing and has excellent cutting results. The lawn mower is light weight and very easy to maneuver for anyone. I love the safety feautures too get it to start and how easy it is to operate. It is a really great pi rchase and i recommend this product as it really works

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Poppy

Poppy

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Mower

published

This is my second Honda Mower, my last Honda I had for 9.5 years and just passed it on to my son. It never missed a beat in all those years, at the start of each season I would install plug oil filter and new blades and away I go. I believe you get what you pay for and I am completely happy with the performance and longevity of the mower.I can see now why all the contractors have Honda mowers. I went back to the shop a week later and got a brushcutter as well and completely happy with it as well.if you need a new mower but one you won’t regret it.Currently on special price so that helps the decision. AAA Rating all round.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Chiara and Robert

Chiara and RobertMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to operate

published

We could not be happier with this mower. It's easy to maneuver, easy to operate and maintain, and it cuts better than any other mower we've owned. It starts easily as well. It's quite solid so it's a bit heavier than we expected it to be but that's not entirely a bad thing.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Carvaan

CarvaanPerth WA

  • 31 reviews

I am a big fan of Honda

published

Every time I am in the market I prefer to buy Honda without a doubt but this time a made a mistake as this model has very good specs, very powerful but the chute was small and can't handle wet grass.
I mean technically who mows in wet grass but in winter months it happens and trust me u don't want to keep cleaning the chute after every 5 minutes specially when u spend $1100.
NO NO

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Page 1 of 2
See all Honda HRU19 reviews

Questions & Answers

Stephen B.

Stephen B.asked

Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

is tis a self propelled mower

1 answer
rassaf
rassaf

No, it's not self propelled.

Stephen B.

Stephen B.asked

Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

is it self propelled

No answers
chindonly

chindonlyasked

Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

What should you do if the two blades come loose and start tilting at an angle? The bolts don't seem to be engineered to stop this tilting.

3 answers
Bassy
Bassy

Hi Chindoly - I checked my lawn mower over the weekend and mine doesn't seem to be having this issue. I bought my Honda at an authorised Honda retailer and had my extra 2 blades installed by them at the time of purchase, so if I was experiencing this problem I would go back to them to rectify. I hope this helps.

jeremy.ieraci
jeremy.ieraci

The blades are purposely designed to swing back when they strike a hard object. They do this to save your blades and crankshaft. The blade swings straight when engine is engaged due to constant gravity

Greg W
Greg W

Jeremy.jeraki , don't you mean "centrifugal force" causes the blades to straighten when the engine is running?

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.