?
? !
5 photos
Hoover Action Pets

Hoover Action Pets

Bagged, Bagless
3.8 from 104 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (30)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (29)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (30)
  • Pet OwnerYes (21) · No (11)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (8) · No (23)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Michtill

MichtillSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes

Powerful & compact

published

So far I'm loving this little vacuum, especially as it has the power head which makes it so easy you could almost do it with 1 finger & having 3 cats it pick up all the hair and the amount of dust collected totally surprised me. The Hoover Action is a powerful, compact bagless vacuum that comes complete with its own deep-cleaning power head. Includes washable HEPA filters, a bonus combination floor tool for cleaning hard floors and a full 2-year warranty.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2021 at Godfrey's via Kogan for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tracy R

Tracy R

  • 3 reviews

The absolute BEST vacuum I had had!

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Godfreys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maria

MariaSydney, NSW

Worse vacuum I have ever used ... .I regret buying this have had nothing but trouble don't waist your money....

published

Carpet and tiles both it doesn't clean at all it doesn't tip over its quite heavy looks good but isn't im very unhappy with this product wish I didn't waist my money. I bought it from Godfrey at St martins Village Blacktown nsw

Purchased in May 2018 at Godfreys for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
5 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Maria
Maria

Yes sure typical response I knew it that's why I'm so disappointed in this product I have just stated that is was checked and there was no blockages in the vacuum

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Action Pets compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Shocker absolutely useless

published

The worst vacuum cleaner ever.
Like pulling a truck around
Useless suction
A shocker. Should never be selling these cleaners .
How could a vacuum cleaner like this go on the market
Hopeless any Type of flooring
And the weight!!

Purchased for $499.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jenjen

JenjenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great suction on all surfaces

published

I love this vacuum. I recently upgraded from an Electrolux bag less vacuum.
I have pets so I needed something that could clean efficiently and quickly and this does just that. I go from hard floor to carpet without needing to change the head. And with a flick of the switch I get extra power to deep clean the carpet.
Being a bagged vacuum its actually a much cleaner machine and doesn't need all the maintenance a bagless vacuum needs.
Only con is that it's a bit hard to maneuver around objects.

Purchased in May 2020 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Power!

published

Was very surprised by the amount of dust sucked from my carpet the first time using the machine. Realised how much i was missing after my cheap kmart one broke. The power head is great for carpet, but the power needs to be turned down for rugs - or use the non powered head. Bagged which doesn't bother me. Does however have tendency to topple over with with little wheels.

Purchased in September 2019 at Godfreys for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ankur R.

Ankur R.Sydney, NSW

Highly highly recommended

published

Wow, what a vaccuum cleaner. Cleans so neatly and nicely. So easy to carry around, even gets the hair out. Highly recommended. Been using it for more than 3 months and simply loving it.

Purchased in March 2020 at Godfreys Online Store for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
reiBee

reiBee

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for our 2-bed carpeted apartment with dog

published

Great vacuum - picks up a tonne of stuff out of the carpet. Our 2-bed apartment is fully carpeted so we invested in this vacuum a few months ago and it works a charm. Picks up all of the hair from our long-haired dog. The carpet looks visibly much cleaner after a vacuum which we do a couple of times a week.

Works on the tiled surfaces in our kitchens and bathrooms also. The powerhead is great! And the unit and powerhead are pretty quiet. Stable and doesn't tip, and it also pretty lightweight, even with the special head.

Purchased in January 2020 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great suction!

published

I use this on thick carpets, hard wood floors and thin carpets. The suction is awesome and the vibrating function makes sure it picks up everything. The only downside is that it tips over easily and the pipe can get twisted. That aside, I still prefer having those extra clean surfaces!

Purchased in August 2018 at Godfreys Physical Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Action Pets compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

AMAZING! 3 dogs, asthma & shaggy carpet.

published

I had been researching this vacuum for a few weeks/a month as my mum has the bag version. I have 3 dogs that shed a LOT, a German Shepherd, Maremma & Staffy plus asthma. I am THRILLED with this. If you've been thinking about it- DO IT! It performs beautifully on carpet and hardwood floors. Brilliant suction and it has improved my asthma by MILES.

Purchased in May 2020 at Godfreys for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex

AlexSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great vacuum cords a bit short

published

I love this vacuum it's powerful great suction especially the light option with more power with the spinning head brilliant but it's an absolute pain with such a short cord and it tips over constantly I'll quite often turn to see it upside down and it's so frustrating

Purchased in March 2019 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

it has so much suction power that it sucks up my cords aggressively enough to detach the whole plug from the wall

published

Carpet, tiles and floor boards. This vacuum cleaner works well on all these different types of flooring. The vacuum cleaner performs excellently on different surfaces it performed consistently regardless of what material the floor is made out of. It has no issues with tipping over.

Purchased in January 2018 at Godfreys for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mike

mikeWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Really cleans carpet well

published

Christine loaned me her one and its great .cleans carpet of dog hair and smell.
Very strong construction ..heavy build almost commercial standard I recon.
Does trip over its own lead and hose sometimes. Will definitely buy it off her

Purchased for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shilpa B.

Shilpa B.Sydney, NSW

Very nice love my vaccum hoover is the best

published

I use it for both carpet and hard surface tiles in the kitchen
I love it .. it gives a clean smooth carpet and even picks up the minutest of the dust from with in the carpet or mats.i can definitely see the difference between using the cheap ones from kmart and this one.. just love it

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfreys for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jen A

Jen ASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

An excellent product, I'm very happy with it.

published

I chose this in part because it has a bag, which I find cleaner and tidier. It has a large capacity so I have only needed to change the bag once in the 11 months I've had it. It's thorough, light to manoeuvre and picks up pet hair no trouble.

Purchased in January 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $239.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Customer S.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Action Pets compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joanna

JoannaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Omg I'm in love

published

For so many years I kept buying cheap vacuum cleaners and then replacing them with another one. This year I bought a slightly more expensive one with a well known brand name and omg I'm so impressed. First vacuum I filled two bags that's how much the other vacs left behind. My carpet is so clean.

Purchased in May 2018 at Godfreys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Joanna,
We are so glad to hear that you are happy with your purchase.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen S.

Karen S.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst vacuum ever

published

Went to Godfreys around July 2019 and was talked into this. So awkward to move around, is heavy, grip type handle is a pain, constantly tips over, hose gets twisted and the short cord is irritating. Good suction on carpet, removes alot of pet hair, ok on the tiled areas. Hard to store. Paid $459.00.
I think in all honesty it's the worst vacuum I have bought in 37 years. Turned me off Hoover for life now.
I will go and get the stick vacuum I wanted to start with.

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfreys for $459.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mel

MelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Don't think I could hate vacuuming more

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Suction not great

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $370.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joanne

JoanneSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Hoover hero

published

We recently purchased a hoover action powerhead after owning a Dyson stick vacuum for a number of years. Wow! What a difference it makes to spend the money on a product that actually does the job well. We were recommended this product byt the salesman at Godfrey and we are so pleased we listened to his advice! Highly recommend.

Purchased in August 2019 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

francis fountain

francis fountainasked

Action Pets

my turbo head keeps turning off

3 answers
Maria
Maria

My unit is just terrible .....but hoover will not help there happy they got my money now there taking no responsibility typical

Epc
Epc

Useless or of the worst vacuum cleaners

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Francis,
We are very sorry to hear of the issues you have experienced with your machine.
Please take this machine into your nearest Godfreys Store with your proof of purchase to be inspected by the staff and if need be, booked in with our repair team to inspect and test further. If the machine is not under the warranty, please see below link for more information on repairs:
https://www.godfreys.com.au/vacuum-servicing-repairs
Good luck with your machine!
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Kerrin L.

Kerrin L.asked

Action Pets

we just bought a 5007ph action pets vac. what setting should the variable speed dial be set to?

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Kerrin.
The suction strength needed will be different for all flooring types.
There is a guide on the machine showing curtains, upholstery, rugs, carpet and hard floors, the images will light up as the dial is rotated.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Maggie

Maggieasked

Action Pets

Hi
How much does this unit weigh in k.g as I find it quite heavy when it drags behind me while I’m vacuuming it’s not lightweight at all

2 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Maggie,
The weight of the Hoover Action Pets is 8.2kg.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Maria
Maria

Yes I hate it ......worse money i have ever spent

See all Hoover Action Pets questions

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Hoover Action Pets

Details

Compare both Hoover Action Pets
CategoryBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $399.00$499.00
Bin Capacity2.5 L2.5 L
HEPA FilterYesYes
Attachments Combination Floor Head, Crevice Tool, Dusting Brush, Flexible hose, Power Head Floor Tool, Telescopic RodCombination Floor Head, Crevice Tool, Dusting Brush, Flexible hose, Power Head Floor Tool, Telescopic Rod, Turbo Tool, Upholstery Tool
TypeBaglessBagged
Cord Length5 m5 m
Power1,600 W1,300 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Compare both Hoover Action Pets

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.