??!
2 photos
Hoover Action Pets

Hoover Action Pets

3.7 from 58 reviews

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
24
4 star
16
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
9

Suction not great

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $370.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Kaytlyn

KaytlynSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does the job

published

I bought this vacuum when I was living with my housemates dogs and cats. It managed to pick up hair best on carpet, but sometimes struggled sucking up items off the tiled/timber flooring. This vacuum has a vet short chord of maybe 3m. It makes for a very annoying chore having to unplug and use multiple powerpoints throughout the house. The vacuum comes with lots of different heads for cleaning cars etc.

Purchased in July 2018 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Anushka

AnushkaVictoria

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic for carpets

published

We have mainly carpets but a few tiled areas. Have found this vacuum cleaner to be perfect for our needs . We recently tested it next to a Dyson dc54 and what the Hoover did in one go took the Dyson about 8 times going over . Very happy with our purchase. Only complaint is it often tips over

Purchased at Godfreys for $479.00.

Pet OwnerYes
Clogging Issues No
Liza Ryan O.

Liza Ryan O.

  • 4 reviews

Great Vacuum Purchase

published

Great vacuum if you have pets. Good suction and has a power head or normal head options. Works well in mats/rugs and hard flooring. Definitely sucks up all the pet hair. Relatively light and easy to drag around. Need to change bags but that isn’t a major problem for me.

Purchased in November 2018 at Godfreys for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

sooz

soozPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing

published

Bought the Hoover Pet Action to replace the wonderful little Hoover Smart. I explained that I had a small apartment style living where storage was a consideration to purchase. I was told that this was an upgrade to the Smart.
Totally disappointed with the Hoover Action Pet. Suction was acceptable however
1. The cleaner is heavy and not very maneuverable. It would frequently tip over onto its side or back
2. The head is so large that it would not easily fit under furniture
3. It is bulky to store, requiring to be broken down into individual parts before stowing. This made the cleaning process less convenient.
The Hoover Smart had just as good suction, and none of the issues mentioned above.

Purchased in July 2018 for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Gareth

GarethPerth, WA

Epic Fail

published

It is difficult to believe a company that has been making this equipment for 100 years could develop such a frustrating machine. As mentioned by others the cord is a bit on the short side, but the deal breaker for me is the poor tracking which causes the machine to tip over. As you pull it along you may as well flip a coin as to which way it will drive, and if you want it to follow along behind you best results seem to be attained in the upside down position.
Apart from that it works great.

Purchased in August 2017 at Godfreys for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Alberto

AlbertoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Wish I'd read the other reviews before I bought it

published

I went along to buy another Nilfisk but listened to the salesperson and got sold the Hoover Action Pets instead. The cleaner head takes large amounts of pile off our (expensive) carpets. The machine's capacity is small so the bag doesn't fill properly and needs replacing after every clean. The cleaner head is too high and doesn't fit under some furniture and too wide so doesn't fit into some spaces. I still use the old Nilfisk floor tool on the tiles. There is no handle on top of the machine so moving it around is cumbersome. The hose gets a kink it. In short a waste of $400+. I'll abandon this machine and go and buy a Nilfisk, which I should have got in the first place.

Purchased in June 2019 at Godfreys for $430.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Alberto
Alberto

I eventually took the Hoover back to Godfreys and they kindly did an exchange (with cash adjustment) so I now have the Nilfisk which I originally intended to buy. My carpets and I are much happier!


Greg

Greg

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

don't bother if you have pets

published

I could have bought a cheaper cleaner but got sucked in by the salesman. The pet feature is useless as the head keep blocking up, the machine tips over by looking at it and the bag capacity is far too small. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The machine is crap.

Purchased in March 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Mike Buchanan

Mike BuchananWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Most useless vacuum cleaner I have ever owned

published

1. Very heavy and cumbersome.
2. Power cord too short.
3. Smooth floor head sweeps rather picks up dust, especially on tiles.
4. Always having to clean the brush on this head as keeps getting blocked up with dust and fluff.
5. Won’t roll over the cord as the wheels are too short.
6. The power head works ok on carpets but the other head is useless on carpets as doesn’t suck up small bits of fluff.
7. Tips over easily

Purchased in April 2018 at Godfreys for $479.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Good for carpet, useless for everything else.

published

First the good: Extremely good with the power head on carpets, does what it is meant to do.

Now for the bad: its bulky, tips over easy, the cord is WAY to short, its hard to get into any small area, the power head is only good on carpet, on tiles it is frustratingly terrible at suction to the point that I find it quicker to bend over and pick up anything other than dust. I had always used Dyson before and got suckered into buying this from a very persuasive saleperson. I am now going to buy another Dyson and throw this thing in the cupboard to be forgotten about.

If its only for carpet I would rate it 3 out of 5 deducting stars for the short cord, bulkiness and habit of it tipping over

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Happy customer

Happy customerBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

A must have for carpet areas

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Adrian

AdrianAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Hard to move around

published

As others have said its hard to move, a bit heavy, and the hose always seems to some how get twisted and kink, which is annoying. Cord an extra 2 metres would be useful. Hard to get it to stand up stable for storage. Persuasive salesman talked us up from a more basic barrel model and i regret it. The powerhead feature looks impressive but im not sure how much it really does or if its more of a gimmick.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Difficult to empty dust container

published

No not so far. Powerhead does a fantastic job picking up dust and pet fur. Carpets look great
but is a bit cumbersome. I have one major gripe,emptying the dirt cylinder. As per another reviewer it took longer to empty than it took to vacuum. As the suction is so powerful the dirt and dust is really compacted. When opening container to empty into a bin it wont all just fall out and the design with attached lid is not user friendly the lid keeps catching the dirt. Had to poke, shake and prod for a very long time to empty the dirt. VERY messy.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Helen D

Helen D

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst vacuum used in the last 50 years

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Shafeel

ShafeelSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published

A little pricey for a vacuum but so worth it. Family members have also bought this product based on our feedback. Suction is fantastic! Leaves the house spotless. Only thing is you do need to clean it frequently to try avoid suction issues from dirt/dust build up. Overall fantastic and we are very happy. There is also a blue light that shows the dust particles on the floor clearly in darker areas. Firm grip. Comes with other mouth pieces also to reach into hard spots. A great investment!

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Sarah Chambers

Sarah Chambers

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Hoover Action Pet - Spend More Time Cleaning The Head

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Stuart

Stuart

  • 8 reviews

Great Pet Vac

published

As the owner of a long haired fur baby (cat) ive always had a problem with white fur on the furniture. Well this is a problem NO more. This vac picks it all up even in tbe nooks a crannies. Great suction to get ot all in the barrel. Great Vac

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Chris B

Chris B

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

it's pretty good

published

It's a good vacuum cleaner. It has a large head, so going under tv cabinets, low beds isn't possible. also only a 45 degree turning head so manuvering around chair legs is a mission. picks up most fur off the ground, filters need constant replacement to keep the suction s

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Clumsy, heavy and plain annoyance

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Audio Obsession

Audio ObsessionVictoria

  • 9 reviews

A solid vacuum cleaner with a power head on the cheap (with minor build issues)

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

rhonda

rhondaasked

Looking for vacuum efficient picking up long hair on carpets. Tired of wasting money on vacuums that don't work

1 answer
Anushka
Anushka

Hi Rhonda, I would say this vacuum definitely works on human hair and let hair (I have a long hair cat with lots of fine hair) , the only thing is human hair will get caught around the brush motor head part, but most vacuum with a motorised brush will have this issue too


barney

barneyasked

Anybody had problems with "maximum" light flashing red and the exhaust panel becoming very hot? Machine works well but when suction is changed to maximum, the sound changes like something is being sucked into the filter and the light starts flashing. The filter cover and that section of the cleaner becomes very hot.....Has worked perfectly until this morning....any suggestions? Purchased in August 2017

2 answers
Rara79
Rara79

I have had this happen also but only when there’s something obstructing the stem or hose. Check your stem and hose or power head aren’t blocked at all and if you have the bag saver attachment empty it and give it a clean. I take the hose out of the vacuum turn it around and put the wrong end of the hose in the vacuum and switch on. This often sucks whatever is blocking the vacuum hose back out again. Once the blockage is cleared everything goes back to normal again.

barney
barney

Thank you. Will try reversing the hose. Have washed filters but don't have bag saver attachment. If nothing else will take to Godfrey's tomorrow.


Victoria

Victoriaasked

How do you turn up the suction power?

1 answer
Deb F
Deb F

Turn the dial clockwise and the lights light up as suction increases


Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $479.00
Bin Capacity2.5 L
HEPA FilterYes
TypeBagged
Power1,600 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.