??!
1 photo
Hoover Tornado VCM43B1

Hoover Tornado VCM43B1

3.6 from 41 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.6

41 reviews
5
(14)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (10)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (5)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (8)
Previous
Next

Terrible made in China product

published

Only after using it for less than 3 months the suction level drops. Cleaned many times, nothing helps. This vacuum frustrates enormously. Vacuums back from the 80s were much bother. The Hoover company and brand lost my respect and trust.

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Not a Fan

Not a FanHobart, TAS

At least it looks OK!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Roy G.

Roy G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Useless

published

After 1 month lost all suction, even though we cleaned the filters, impossible to get your floors clean, this is definitely the worst vacuum cleaner I have ever had so will avoid this brand in the future for sure

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matthew

MatthewPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Crap vacuum

published

Went out and bought a hoover vacuum from Godfrey's, went back to get it serviced and had it back within a week, after using it another 3 times it lost all suction and power

Purchased in August 2019 at Godfreys for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
shootingstar

shootingstarWOULDN'T U LIKE 2KNOW, Nsw

  • 59 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Fantastic works exceptionally well on a tiled floor. Picks all the pet hair, it's quite, light weight. It sucks better than my dyson upright, only downside is the short cord but that's easily fixed with extension cord. Dust bin holds alot no need to empty before finishing the house even with all the pet hair which is bad now as it's summer one big dog & three cat's two of cats have long hair. No regrets purchasing this at $99 on sale was a bargain.

Purchased in December 2019 at Godfreys Online Store for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Lafawnduh M.

Lafawnduh M.

  • 2 reviews

Great unit!

published

Previously had a Samsung vacuum which was a great unit, but if had electronic controls on the handle, which after a while broke, so could only control it by plugging it in at the wall outlet to turn it on. Eventually it literally blew up.

I wasn't sure what to expect from the Hoover tornado. It didn't really seem to give the appearance of being anything special.

When I got it home though, I was, and still am, very impressed! Great suction, easy to move around, great filter, and nice big chamber. I can do my whole apartment and still not need to empty the chamber.

Very pleased with this guy.

Purchased in May 2019 at Godfreys for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Cammy1

Cammy1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good then Bad

published

I bought this cleaner 1 year ago and while it was good for 6 months it then just stopped sucking. went back to store but were not helpful. all filters have been cleaned on a regular basis but nothing improves. Sorry it has been a waste of my money .....
Hoover..... NO NO NO

Purchased for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

The most useless vacuum I've ever owned

published

Bought this last year , at first suction was good then stopped it's been cleaned thoroughly and hardly used and still no suction. Checked hosing filters etc and still no good

Purchased in April 2018 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Nivlek

NivlekSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A fantastic product for a very reasonable price.

published
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BlondeIntrovert1971

BlondeIntrovert1971South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Powerful clean. Great price

published

Went through a number of vacuums before this one and we are quite pleased with the performance. We have floorboards and rugs and the clean is thorough on both surfaces.

Purchased in May 2019 at Godfreys for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Buckwheat

BuckwheatPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing performance....superb value!

published

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
2 comments
Buckwheat
Buckwheat

Been using this vacuum cleaner for 3 months now...l.Still good as new and just as powerful as ever....Haven't cleaned filters yet....Still 5 stars....Does an amazing job on cars.....Best Buy as far as I am concerned.

Buckwheat
Buckwheat
Edgey

EdgeyPeel, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great-for six months only

published

At first this Hoover worked well, really powerful and quiet. After 6 months it has lost all suction and overheats. We’ve had a problem with it overheating when we first bought it and had to return it for another. The replacement worked well initially but now we’ve got the same problem coupled with zero suction despite cleaning the filters. This vacuuum lulls you into a false sense of security!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
mummp

mummpGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great at the start but.......

published

Great at the start picked up everything on all floor surfaces but now even in maximum it hardly has any suction. Have cleaned all the filters again Nd still hardly any suction. Was praising this product but now not happy at all. Will have to see what it will cost to fix

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Sarah

SarahSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

really good for the price

published

great vacuum i first bought it when i lived in a tiny apartment and it was used on floor boards and one carpeted room and it was so quick great suction power.. now in a much larger house and still using it and it is still going strong. only issue would be pulling it right apart to clean but you dont have to do that too too often

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Vicki

Vicki

  • 2 reviews

Excellent machine - couldn't do without it.

published

I have been using my Tornado for a couple of years now - bought it for $299. Bought it originally because of our husky, and wanting a large capacity bagless for easy emptying of LOTS of husky hair. It works extremely well for that purpose. So well in fact, I bought another 2 for family when they were on sale for $99. Yes, the cord is only short, but as mentioned, you only need an extension cord and that problem is fixed. I bought the power head ($49) for hairy carpets and it works a treat on hard floors as well, so no need to change the head. Heaps of power, reasonably quiet, sucks really well, filters are easily cleaned and replaced. Excellent product and so light to tow around. Happy shopper!!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jackie  GOODLEY

Jackie GOODLEYBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent machine for the price

published

This vacuum cleaner was on sale for $99 reduced, they say from $299. It is an excellent machine, sucks well and is not noisy. The main drawback is a short mains cord, only 4.5 m, but I can use an extension lead with it and then it is fine.

Dia

DiaSunshine coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little tornado

published

Love this little machine could even say better than our dyson, purchased this from godfrey's for $99 for upstairs, we have wooden floors upstairs and its fantastic, great suction and doesn't scratch the floors, only complaint is lead isnt that long but with an extension lead its fantastic. Love the bagless cylinder easy to open to empty.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Caroleena89

Caroleena89Gold Coast

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent product

published

Very very happy with this product. The vacuum has strong suction power and glides across the carpets and floors. I use this on all my floors and believe it is worth every cent. It is easy to manoeuvre around the house and very compact. Very happy with the overall performance.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Matthew

MatthewSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Only good when new. Loses suction significantly after a while

published

When I bought it I was very happy. Sucked up much more than my old vacuum. I find the filters hard to clean and made of poor quality materials.
Now it is barely usable even for wooden floors.
Positive - light weight and inexpensive.
Negative - Poor suction after even a short period. Limited attachments.
I don't think I will buy a Hoover again.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Betnie

BetnieNorth Parramatta

  • 5 reviews

Vacuums so well.

published

The suction on this vacuum is just amazing, it just sucks up everything in slight.

I personally think its way better than any Dyson vacuum I have previous owned which is three over the last six years.

When I first got it I used it to clean the carpets and so much junk such as pet fur just came up like crazy.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Omer

Omerasked

Hi!
What are the rate vacuum performance by airflow and suction?
Regards

2 answers
Alex K
Alex K

I’d rate a 4/5, it is very powerful but could always be better!

kylie
kylie

Hi I rate it 100% the suction is so good and airflow is great to Its allergy free so no sneezing ect and really easy to clean. I hope this helps you with your question

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.