?
? !
2 photos
Hoover Tornado VCM43B1

Hoover Tornado VCM43B1

3.7 from 43 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (12)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (12)
  • Pet OwnerYes (7) · No (5)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Chris
Chris
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

1800Watt, Very Good Suction Vacuum Cleaner

published

Very good suction on carpet, timber floors and even if you have pets inside.
Maintenance and taking care is very important of any products, washing and drying or replacing filters would keep the vacuum cleaner for pro long use with good suction.
Highly recommend this powerful 1800Watt Hoover Vacuum cleaner

Purchased in May 2021 at Godfreys for $149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
monica
monicaAU
  • 3 reviews

Great vacuum cleaner.

published

I love this.Really strong suction,I can't put it on high because it's too strong.Very easy to clean,just take it all apart,wash,dry then put it back together again.So easy.I use this vacuum cleaner on carpets,wooden floors and vinyl floors.

Purchased at Godfreys Physical Stores for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Terrible made in China product

published

Only after using it for less than 3 months the suction level drops. Cleaned many times, nothing helps. This vacuum frustrates enormously. Vacuums back from the 80s were much bother. The Hoover company and brand lost my respect and trust.

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Not a Fan
Not a FanHobart, TAS

At least it looks OK!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Roy G.
Roy G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Useless

published

After 1 month lost all suction, even though we cleaned the filters, impossible to get your floors clean, this is definitely the worst vacuum cleaner I have ever had so will avoid this brand in the future for sure

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Matthew
MatthewPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews

Crap vacuum

published

Went out and bought a hoover vacuum from Godfrey's, went back to get it serviced and had it back within a week, after using it another 3 times it lost all suction and power

Purchased in August 2019 at Godfreys for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
shootingstar
shootingstarSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 62 reviews
  • 50 likes

Excellent

published

Fantastic works exceptionally well on a tiled floor. Picks all the pet hair, it's quite, light weight. It sucks better than my dyson upright, only downside is the short cord but that's easily fixed with extension cord. Dust bin holds alot no need to empty before finishing the house even with all the pet hair which is bad now as it's summer one big dog & three cat's two of cats have long hair. No regrets purchasing this at $99 on sale was a bargain.

Purchased in December 2019 at Godfreys Online Store for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Lafawnduh M.
Lafawnduh M.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great unit!

published

Previously had a Samsung vacuum which was a great unit, but if had electronic controls on the handle, which after a while broke, so could only control it by plugging it in at the wall outlet to turn it on. Eventually it literally blew up.

I wasn't sure what to expect from the Hoover tornado. It didn't really seem to give the appearance of being anything special.

When I got it home though, I was, and still am, very impressed! Great suction, easy to move around, great filter, and nice big chamber. I can do my whole apartment and still not need to empty the chamber.

Very pleased with this guy.

Purchased in May 2019 at Godfreys for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cammy1
Cammy1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Good then Bad

published

I bought this cleaner 1 year ago and while it was good for 6 months it then just stopped sucking. went back to store but were not helpful. all filters have been cleaned on a regular basis but nothing improves. Sorry it has been a waste of my money .....
Hoover..... NO NO NO

Purchased for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The most useless vacuum I've ever owned

published

Bought this last year , at first suction was good then stopped it's been cleaned thoroughly and hardly used and still no suction. Checked hosing filters etc and still no good

Purchased in April 2018 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nivlek
NivlekSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

A fantastic product for a very reasonable price.

published
  • Thumbnail
BlondeIntrovert1971
BlondeIntrovert1971South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Powerful clean. Great price

published

Went through a number of vacuums before this one and we are quite pleased with the performance. We have floorboards and rugs and the clean is thorough on both surfaces.

Purchased in May 2019 at Godfreys for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Buckwheat
BuckwheatPerth, WA
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing performance....superb value!

published

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Buckwheat
Buckwheat

Been using this vacuum cleaner for 3 months now...l.Still good as new and just as powerful as ever....Haven't cleaned filters yet....Still 5 stars....Does an amazing job on cars.....Best Buy as far as I am concerned.

Buckwheat
Buckwheat
Edgey
EdgeyPeel, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great-for six months only

published

At first this Hoover worked well, really powerful and quiet. After 6 months it has lost all suction and overheats. We’ve had a problem with it overheating when we first bought it and had to return it for another. The replacement worked well initially but now we’ve got the same problem coupled with zero suction despite cleaning the filters. This vacuuum lulls you into a false sense of security!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
mummp
mummpGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Great at the start but.......

published

Great at the start picked up everything on all floor surfaces but now even in maximum it hardly has any suction. Have cleaned all the filters again Nd still hardly any suction. Was praising this product but now not happy at all. Will have to see what it will cost to fix

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Rick B
Rick Basked

It is apparent that I have the same problem as many others with this vacuum suddenly suffering the loss of power and overheating when it has no blockages anywhere and has always been well cleaned. There is obviously a common fault they can suffer from which the manufacturer must know by now. I don't have original purchase details and would only ask that the experts tell me what part in particular fails so I can get it fixed as there are no Godfrey dealers out here. Thank you.

5 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Rick,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing with your machine.
Loss of suction is usually caused by a blockage in the machine, blockages can occur in the head, rod, hose and filters.
The filters may also be due for replacement, it is recommended to replace the filters every 6-9 months.
Godfreys is our certified repair agent, if you are unable to locate any blockages and are still experiencing issues we would recommend taking the machine to your nearest Godfreys store, with proof of purchase, to be inspected further.
If you are unable to take the machine into a store you can contact your nearest to organise to have it sent to them.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Rick B
Rick B

Gosh, you totally ignored my question and yet it is such a common Hoover Tornado fault. It's fine when it starts and then slows down and then stops. Fine when cooled down again. There are no blockages. Guess I'll have to replace it if I can't buy the parts simply because Hoovers technicians won't cooperate over a well published issue on numerous sites.

Not a Fan
Not a Fan

The problem seems to be in the thermal cut-out switches. Maybe the cut- out temperatures are too low. I had thought of replacing them with some 5 degrees hotter, but this would be a risk. Alternatively, it could be that the motor runs excessively hot due to poor design of the motor itself, or the confined space that the motor occupies.
I can keep mine going (sometimes) by starting it on full power (ie full cool airflow) then slowing it to about mid power. However, sometimes it just cycles on and off....very frustrating! I take out and wash the foam filter every time I empty the vacuum and use my workshop vacuum to help clear the hepa filter. I won't buy Hoover again.

Sharon D
Sharon Dasked

Hi, I was cleaning the cone filter and the silver part came away from the rest of the cone filter. Is this suppose to detach from the filter? Tried to put it back together, but it won't stay on. Can see that theres little lugs that match up? Any help would be appreciated, Thanks Sharon

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Sharon,
We have spoken to our service team who have advised that you should be able to reattach and that you will need to follow/match marked interactions on dust container to assemble it properly. If you are having issues, please take it into your nearest Godfreys store for assistance.
Good luck!
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Geoff
Geoffasked

Hello good afternoon. I purchased a Hoover Toronto 1800W in June 2019 . Today being the 1st of November 2020 the vacuum has blown up and has stopped working - is this product faulty ? I did think this would last longer - my email is geoffvlaar@outlook.com

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Geoff,
We are sorry to hear of what has happened with your machine.
The machine will need to be booked in through your nearest store, with proof of purchase, to be inspected further an to determine the cause.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

See all Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 questions

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $299.00
Bin Capacity1.6 L
HEPA FilterYes
TypeBagless
Cord Length4.6 m
Power1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9326491590860

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.