?
? !
2 photos
Hyundai Elantra MD

Hyundai Elantra MD (2011-2015)

3.8 from 33 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Braking
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    3.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (3)
  • Features
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Ankur

AnkurGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my Hyundai Elantra

published

I bought my Hyundai Elantra last year and am absolutely loving it. While I was more towards buying a Toyota initially, when I test drove Elantra, I immediately changed my mind as I loved the smooth ride so much. Fingers crossed, it hasn't been a problem yet and I would easily recommend this car to anyone.

Purchased in July 2015 at Westside Honda for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob

RobDarling Downs, QLD

Crankshaft Sensor Malfunction

published

My 2013 Elantra has been diagnosed with a failed Crankshaft Sensor and faulty ESC Module, It only just out of warranty and Hyundai refuse to do anything about it. Also its under Dealer Warranty but they wont cover it under their warranty. No more Hyundai for me. My daughter has an i30 and is also unhappy.

Purchased in October 2015 at Zooper Cars, Toowoomba for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nara

NaraVictoria

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

The motor needs replacement only after 55,000 kms

published

Purchased in November 2016 for $15,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Hyundai Elantra MD compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sh1984

Sh1984South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mundane small car for the masses

published

Purchased in February 2016 for $21,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CoolC

CoolCGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Great and Reliable

published

We purchased hyundai elantra base model in 2015. It was our first brand new car.

It is a great and reliable drive. Stylish and easy to drive. Boot space is huge compared with similar sedan's and seats are comfortable.

Fuel consumption is good to as it gives 13km per litre and more for long drives.

Worth every dollar.

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SelRap

SelRap

  • 5 reviews

Reliable family car

published

Great vehicle to drive around town and on the highway. Very quiet engine went stopped at traffic lights or other reasons. I can travel from Bowen to Rockhampton on one tank of fuel. That’s over 600 kms. Easy to parking. Only my cruise control has failed recently. Otherwise all good.

BodySedan
BadgeSE
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
kathy

kathyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 48 reviews
  • 39 likes

What a car

published

This car has everything, its sporty comfortable not noisy has heated electric seats cruise control,great sound system great to drive reliable has never let me down,factory tinted windows,sunroof,reverse camera on the revision mirror CD player in the dash, USB ports economy switch electric mirrors,keyless entry all leather upholstery automatic and manual,just so much going on with this car, sport exhaust, this car is a dream and looks great I added different wheels on it but the original wheels are nice as well hyundi need to bring out a updated version of this it would be the best seller I call mine the top of the range a beautiful car love it mines the MD PREMIUM still holding there value

BodySedan
BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jane S

Jane SAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

PERFECT ALL ROUNDER !

published

Brilliant all rounder. got this car on sale (the special edition model) sure I know its not a real leather interior, but its super comfortable, built well, and for a 20K car feels better than you expect for this price point. The engine is quite and will go when pushed. the gearbox is silky smooth and ride is great. The seats are very supportive and conformable. The bot space is simply amazing and the biggest of this class of car. 60,000kms now and not a single fault, rattle, or anything.

BodySedan
BadgeTrophy
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ann

AnnSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

great car with great price

published

I bought this car in 2013 as a second hand. Great price and I never had any problem with it. Very economic and no fancy expensive features. It has all we need as a family of three. The space in the back is enoght for two people and not big enough for more than two. We select Elantra over i45 and I guess it was a good selection

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Hyundai Elantra MD compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Suhail Anu

Suhail AnuSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

descent car

published

needs repairs from time to time, although has been a good car .. space seems to be less at the back boot is big and nice but the blue tooth dies very often twice replaced.. :( that was painful...three times replaced is too much broken now I have decided not pay any more on that.. as they told 150 for defect detection...

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen

KarenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Some finishing and comfort issues

published
BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andy

AndyAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car , hard to fault

published

I have owned my Elantra since new ( bought in 2012) and the only problem I've had is brakes grinding under very hard braking which went away after changing pads to Bendix, I changed the original 15 inch wheels to 17 inch alloys which really improved the handling, overall very impressed

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christine Saw

Christine SawWellington

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great low maintenance car

published

I have own quite a few cars since and Hyundai Elantra has been the best, I'm still driving it at the moment, very low cost to run. fuel efficiency, not many things to worry about really. The only thing is bluetooth speaker not working as great as others. I have also recommended my brother to get one. :) Great family car with not much problem and very low cost to run. Don't expect a high end luxury feel to it though as it is not.

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
O Rahat

O RahatGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Poor service. Bluetooth issue.

published

Comming from VW. I had a golf and bought the Elentra from dealer this year. Running cost reasonably cheap. Reliability still not sure.

Main concern: Poor and unreliable service. My car bluetooth mic is not working properly. When the car is running people from the other end can't hear me properly. I got my car serviced at mentone Hyundai recently and told them about the bluetooth issue. Post servicing the mechanic told me that they couldn't find any issue with the bluetooth but they have updated the system and that should solve my problem. But it didn't. It's not fixed and the problem still exists. I never had this with vw. If there is a problem then they will fix it. I wanted to buy hyundai tucson but changed my mind after this.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

MartinPerth

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Spacious and efficient

published

Wanted a larger car than our little hatch for a family of four but without the gas guzzling reputation of the larger sedans. The Elantra has plenty of space, a very large boot and is kind at the bowser. It's comfortable, quiet and styling is great. The sun roof stopped working though that may be more to do with the kids playing with it. A good all round car for those who want space in a mid-sized car.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Hyundai Elantra MD compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eli

EliSydney

  • 8 reviews

Not powerful engine

published

I am not satisfied with the performance. The engine is not as powerful as what should be. It's very noisy when you want to accelerate however, In terms of Physical Appearance, I could say , It could be in luxury and beautiful cars category. 5 years Manufactory warranty is another positive thing about this car

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lou

LouPerth

  • 4 reviews

Great car

published

This car drive beautiful, smooth and good, the interior is good plenty of room front and read, I particular brought this sedan as I needed to have two baby seats in the back, and they fit beautifully, with room for another person inbetween, (though only a small person) but at least I have the option

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KIWI65

KIWI65Caboolture QLD

Value for Money

published
BodySedan
BadgeTrophy
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robyn M

Robyn MAdelaide, South Australia

  • 3 reviews

Just love this car!

published

I purchased a 2014 Elantra with very low kms and I couldn't be happier, very reliable, handles well, good fuel economy and runs like a dream. Haven't had any problems and a very good price when you compare with Toyota, Holden and Honda for such a great car that has immense street appeal.

BodySedan
BadgeActive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tim S

Tim SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic vehicle

published

I purchased a 2016 Elantra SE auto and I can't really fault the car. It runs well, handles well, and the fuel economy is fantastic.
I do about 650km a week and that's in peak traffic and open freeway every day. Seats are comfy, stereo is pretty good for standard issue and there is heaps of room front, back and boot.
3 steering assist modes make for easy driving depending on city or highway driving.
Vision is excellent all round the car.
All up I'd highly recommend this car. My previous car was a 2013 Accent SR which was just as good.

BodySedan
BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Engine Size1.8L
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai Elantra reviews

Questions & Answers

Michael5555

Michael5555asked

Elantra MD (2011-2015)

What should I do to improve the visibility of my reversing camera at night for my 2015 Hyundai Elantra Elite?

3 answers
Alex
Alex

Hi Michael,
There isn't a lot that can be done to improve visibility with the reversing camera at night. You can try by turning on your rear fog lights to illuminate the rear a little bit.
The rear cameras are usually there to show the immediate surrounds of the rear of the vehicle and not any further than that. Generally speaking around 4-5 meters.
But in low-light conditions, there isn't a lot you can do to improve visibility. This is common across car cameras.

Michael5555
Michael5555

Hi Alex,
Thanks for helping answer the question, I really appreciate it.
I followed your advice and turned on my rear fog lights but it didn't help.
If I were to change the bulbs in my reversing lights for brighter ones, do you think they would make a greater impact on night visibility?

Alex
Alex

Hi Michael,
I don't think changing your lights will help. Reversing camera's are pretty basic and don't feature infra-red or a night mode. There really isn't anymore that can be done regarding the visibility during the night.

viah

viahasked

Elantra MD (2011-2015)

I have 14000 k on my 2015 Elantra Ive been having a problem with it for awhile now it was at the dealership for a month they told me it was diesel in the gas which is a load of bull,,, no one else as problems with there cars.. told me it was fixed took it and drove it for 45 mins engine light came on lost power again, sputtering up riving up......stop in the middle of the road and finally now it turns over but won't start...does anyone have any ideas what the problem can be?

1 answer
Barry T
Barry T

Do not use E10 or ninety one, when I bought the car I was told 01 was ok but it lacked power. Since I changed to 98 I have found much better mileage and have the power back. It took 2 tank fulls to get this result. Hope it works for you.

See all Hyundai Elantra questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai Elantra MD (2011-2015)

Details

Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra
CategoryCars and Sedans
Starting Price $23,290
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque178Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJune 2011
Discontinuation dateJan 2015
Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.