3 photos
Hyundai Excel

Hyundai Excel

X3, X2
4.0 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Hyundai Owner
Hyundai OwnerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worthy, Curvy Shape, Cheap, Economical & Iconic But Not Without Their Faults.

published

Purchased for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kendrick
KendrickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Economical Car

published
Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob Smith
Bob Smithcentral coast nsw
  • 3 reviews

great little get about car

published

Very great little car, basic transport and very handy.

Hyundais engines are very reliable and good on fuel. The only time I have seen people have problems they neglected basic maintenance.

If you are in need of a basic get around car this is a great choice for the budget concious.

BodyHatch
BadgeGLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alibongo
AlibongoBrisbane

Best pile of cr@p ever.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Excel compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex
AlexAdelaide
  • 8 reviews

Excellent small car

published

Super cheap to run, $40 to fill up the tank. Has enough power to navigate around town, overtake safely etc.
Never had any reliability problems and is at 220k km.
Used to carry heavy loads, flat tow cars and never complained. Won't find another car as capable or as reliable at the price these are being offered.

BodyHatch
BadgeSprint Twin Cam
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rebecca N
Rebecca NMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap, sure. Mighty expensive to fix though, and mine needed fixing often

published

I moved to Toyota Corollas about 8 years back now but I still haven't forgotten my first car. Such a petrol waster for the size and measly power - I could barely get up a hill if I had to go 80kph+. The parts are really expensive because they need to be imported so as soon as it got a few years old it cost a fortune to service because there was always something that needed fixing! It is a good first car I guess. I would buy a second-hand cheapie and just run it into the ground. No way i'd pay factory price for anything like that car. Good for learner drivers too ;)

BodyHatch
BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
astrogen
astrogenBrisbane
  • 2 reviews

Great little car and inexpensive

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTwin Cam both models
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

Solid little beast and cheap as chips

published

I have had excellent service out of manual excel -purchased 8 years ago and it ticks along just fine.
It has never had but the minimum of servicing and apart from a dodgy window mechanism -driver's side-
has never failed.
Plenty of power from a gutsy little motor and lots of boot space.

BodySedan
BadgeLS
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

great car at a great price

published

I have a 1995 excel x3 it has done 330000 kilometers with original motor still going strong the handling is great it has a pokie motor, cheap on fuel and insurance i would recommend one to anyone, fantastic car, i would buy another one in a heart beat, they are great learner cars easy to drive quick little motors, i chipped mine and added induction and exhaust upgraded combined with 98 octane and it keeps up with a vtec all day

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Excel compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter G
Peter G
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap and reliable

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSprint
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ross D
Ross DSalisbury Heights
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

I had my 1996 Hyundai Excel for 17 years

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSprint
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 1998
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

ive got the 95 exel 5 door

published

The only problems ive had are normal ware and tare have the auto it generally runs awesome never had problems with gearbox hard to work on for home mechanic but generally a greay little car yes the window regulator stuffs up but simple to fix the door latches break but 30 buks get new one outside ones but hey its an old car they run well cheep on gas spare parts are regularly avaliable but check ive buying one check cv joints they dam expencive

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Excel compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Franksy90
Franksy90Newcastle Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Excellent first car. I'd had my excel for 2 years before I actually got my license. It sat in the driveway never being moved only had the engine turned on roughly once a month. Was still perfectly fine when I started driving it every day. It's a fantastic car never had any major problems only had a broken piece of my break which cost only $4 so I wasn't worried. Back seat is just large enough for a baby seat. Therefore lots of room and a large boot. Perfect first car.
Reliable.

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pinutzi92
pinutzi92sydney

cannot complain:)

published

i absolutely adore my excel:)
i have a 1999 excel twin cam sprint , manual drive:) it is very economical e.g $50 to fill my tank with Premium 98 octane fuel.
parts aren't very expensive,
very very reliable, iv had mine for 4 years and (fingers crossed) has not left me stranded,
its got a very zippy engine and quite quick for a small engine:) especially taking off at the lights,

a fantastic first time car, very easy to learn in, would recommend it to anyone and everyone :)
easy drive, non expensive, quick for a small car

BadgeSprint Twin Cam
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pecky
PeckyWarrawong

Very good car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

michael g
michael gasked
Excel X3 (1995-2000)

have replaced roters/ capliers master cylinder back brake shoes drumes and cylinders. the systerm is air free been bled several times. when the peddle is pumped up it is nice nice and hard. the problem is when you start the car the peddle goes soft it doesent come back hard .their isnt any leaks.

No answers
Maryanne H.
Maryanne H.asked
Excel

I have a Hyundai excel 98
The reversing light is staying on after I have reversed instead of cancelling out
What. Is causing this how do I fix thankyou

2 answers
Kendrick
Kendrick

I regret I cannot help you there. It sounds as though there is something wrong that has to be looked into by an auto-electrician. We disposed of the Excel in 2014 and though I believe it's still running it is no longer mine.

Maryanne H.
Maryanne H.

Thankyou I may have to look at getting another reliable vehicle

Farrin K.
Farrin K.asked
Excel

Why won't my Hyundai excel vim number excel 96 model manual start

No answers
See all Hyundai Excel questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Hyundai Excel

Details

Compare both Hyundai Excel
Hyundai Excel X3
  • Discontinued

Hyundai Excel X3 (1995-2000)

4.0
(37)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $16,490$18,748
TransmissionManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels13" Steel13" Steel
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power62kW @ 5500rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque121Nm @ 3500rpm134nNm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1990Jan 1995
Discontinuation dateDec 1994Dec 2000
Compare both Hyundai Excel

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.