7 photos
Hyundai i30 GD

Hyundai i30 GD (2012-2016)

4.2 from 169 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (15)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (14)
  • Braking
    4.3 (13)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (13)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (13)
  • Handling
    4.2 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (13)
  • Features
    4.3 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

I30 Junk - After sales service is worse than the car

published

I purchased the car new. After 2 months it developed creaking noises from the rear. I lost count of the amount of times that I took it back to the dealer. After 4 years of failed attempts for the dealer to try to identify or repair the problem they said they don't know how to fix it and told me to stop bringing the car back. Terrible car. Worse service. Never buy a Hyundai

Purchased in June 2016 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
peter venz
peter venzSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rabbit 1. Hyundai I30 Zero.

published

Look it's a great little car for driving around town but today we bit a Rabbit (hare) on the road and the whole front fender smashed to pieces. Never have I seen a car fall apart from hitting a little fluffy rabbit. And the whole front piece needs to be replaced. They need to be built a little stronger surely.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2016 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Alex
AlexSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car and never misses a beat

published

I use this car to travel to work and home. Also family transport. It never stops. Service it every 10000kms. It is built well, very reliable and very comfortable. Has all the bells and whistles even though it is the base model. . I just replace factory tyres 6 months ago(Bury in mind we are in November 2020 now and I bought it in 2015). I have never replaced the factory brake pads as of yet. It doesn't use a drop of oil. I would recommend this car to anyone who want a reliable hatch back. It has a little 1.8 litre petrol engine and a 6 speed automatic.

Purchased in November 2015 at Hyundai Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 GD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon
SimonChristchurch, NZ
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Has its good and bad points

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Caitlin W
Caitlin WGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Long term owner, no regrets!

published

Have owned my 2016 activex since new and it has been amazing. I have had no mechanical issues with the car, and have been impressed with servicing through Hyundai as each service has been the exact capped cost with no surprises! Had a slight issue early on with carplay/Bluetooth and bad call quality, however this was rectified promptly with a software update within the cars system. Car drives beautiful both in the city and country highways, nice and quiet and smooth. Very happy with the car and plan on keeping it (even though when I purchased I intended to upgrade at the 4-5 year mark). Boot is very spacious and the flat fold rear seats have been very handy when moving house and could fit large items such as a TV cabinet and hall table!

Purchased in December 2016 for $20,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Lara
LaraGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The design is nice but it's not a robust car

published

I liked the design and features, however the car is very tinny any minor impact results in a big damage. I find the quality of steel is not the same as in German or even most Japanese cars.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MrsBuckley5
MrsBuckley5Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews

Love my i30!

published

I purchased the car in 2013. I was concerned about a smaller car after having had a Magna sedan and a Ford wagon (work car). I need not have worried. It is the best car I have ever had. I love it. It is so roomy, front and especially in the back for passengers' legs. I do short, medium and long trips and it has never let me down. The car is serviced yearly. I drive it most days. It is as good as if I had brought it yesterday. Not sure that today's car would match this one! Plenty of boot room. Great fuel economy - 9.5/100KM. Would recommend this car, even for a second car.

Purchased in June 2013 at Nunawading Hyundai for $29,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shanelle Lawrence
Shanelle LawrenceSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Not a single issue. I love my car!

published

I purchased my Hyundai i30 GD Series II back in 2016 and I haven't had a single issue since.
It still runs like it is brand new! The customer service I received from Hyundai when buying my car was amazing and I am so glad I chose this car.

I have always kept my services regular and not once have I had any problems. The internal sound recording system is my favorite part!! I can record any songs I love on the radio or my phone and listen to them later.

Purchased in January 2016 at Sinclair Hyundai Penrith for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
GiG
GiGVIC, 3109
  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Running good since 2010

published

In the beginning, I under estimate Korean car. I bought SLX 2.0L Fuel model that came with leather steering cover and leather gear handle.
It's been 9 years still running great. low maintenance service. Big space for luggage.
The fuel ratio is around 10/100KM.

Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 GD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heather
HeatherPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wouldn't drive any other car but my i30 !!

published

My i30 is dependable, comfortable, speedy, economic on fuel, looks good, mechanically sound and never had a problem with it in over 4 years of ownership :o)
I drive it every day, some short and some long trips - good as gold.
I have my i30 serviced twice a year and the mechanic always gives me great reports.
There's a lot of cars out there, I'd thoroughly recommend my i30 - 100% :o)

Purchased in May 2015 at Hyundai Osborne Park.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ellie B.
Ellie B.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Perfcet

published

lOVE MY I30 WAGON ...
I have done 100km in my I30 and its still immaculate.
I am due for a service, fuel great as i'm traveling 90min a day to work and usually fill up one a week.

Purchased in August 2018 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ivy
IvySydney, NSW

Peeling steering wheel

published

My car is used on a daily basis for private use and I am the only driver.
I haven't even done 50,000kms in my car and I am having this problem with my peeling steering wheel.
My car is serviced regularly by the same mechanic.

Purchased in March 2014 for $22,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
W Smeets
W Smeets
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS - 78,000 km's

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $13,088.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Michael
MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Good car but disappointing Hyundai Customer Care

published

My Hyundai I30 has done 45,000km and at its' service I noticed a paint defect (see photo) on the column behind the driver's seat. The Hyundai dealer sent photos to Hyundai and I communicated with their Customer Care as well. Two panel beaters said the defect was due to "exteranl influences" - ? rubbing. I have driven for more than 50 years and have never had this issue before. The only thing I can guess as a possible cause was the seat belt flicking back and hitting this column when released, when the car was new.
Hyundai have declined to assist me in any way. The repair will cost $150. Their attitude is disappointing as I do not feel that I have caused the defect by recklessness or lack of care.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Justin
Justin
  • 26 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car, a few minor issues however

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 GD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 12
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

joe
joeasked
i30 GD (2012-2016)

Hi what does the red flashing light above the rev camera gd-02 mean

No answers
Kerry
Kerryasked
i30 GD (2012-2016)

The camera cover on my 2015 i30 is jammed in the open position. What causes that to happen?

No answers
Raelene H.
Raelene H.asked
i30 GD (2012-2016)

Car won't start every now and then - a message comes up saying there is no key nearby where in fact there is. We have two keys and seems to start with one but not so well with the other - do they have a battery which perhaps needs to be changed ?

1 answer
Geoff
Geoff

Most keyless fobs have a small battery. You should be able to hold the suspect key fob up to the start button (as close as possible). The start button creates a small electric field that will enable the fob to respond if it is close enough.

See all Hyundai i30 GD (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30 GD (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacks
Starting Price $24,590
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power107kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque175Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.