??!
25 photos
Jayco Journey
3.0 from 59 reviews

Reviews

3.0

59 reviews
5
(12)
4
(16)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(18)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (11)
  • Mileage 20,639.417 km (12)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (12)
  • Exterior Build Quality
    3.5 (12)
  • Interior Build Quality
    3.1 (13)
  • Off-roading Performance
    3.3 (7)
Previous
Next
Barry Meredith

Barry MeredithNorthern Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 18 likes

Good bang for your buck !

published

Purchased a 2015 16.52 Jayco Journey Outback JTech dual wheel ,four years ago..Dealer couldnt sell it because it had no ensuite .Have done over 25000 klms,which include three seven thousand klm trips around Qld.Only real problem s forward opening door flew open,triple outer door clips were worn.Tows well easy to manouvre .Finish and interior materials average ,yes some screws came out etc ! Exterior fibreglass is still in good condition. Hail has /did not damage the fg exterior .I agree Jaycos quality control is not the best ,however I have two mates with high end $100000.00 brand vans who have had never ending problems.Would I buy another Jayco,yes.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 25,000 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers

Never buy a Jayco product again

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$46,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 900 km
Car ModelIsuzu MU-X
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers
2 comments
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco
Dave
Dave

Good little van

published

2017 Journey from new. Haven't had any issues. Tows well behind the Pajero. My only concern would be the glass windows but haven't seen another with them to compare. No issues with them so far though.

Purchased in March 2017.

Mileage 20,000 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
1 comment
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hi Ron! Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We hope you enjoy many adventures in your Jayco Journey. Customer Relations Team

Caravans

Find out how Jayco Journey compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Nothing but trouble

published

So excited to pick up our new 16' Outback Journey in 2019
All downhill from there. Dometic air/con, that was supposed to heat, didn't
Fridge freezes up on long road trips.
Scratches on doors. Knobs falling off the oven.
Poor quality finishes inside
Has been in service centre for wks since we've had it.
Never again Jayco

Purchased in September 2019 at Edwardstown for A$38,500.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 5,000 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK6
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
1 comment
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hello Sharon. Thank you for reaching out as we would be happy to assist you. Please send the details of your inquiry, including the chassis number of your RV to info@Jayco.com.au so that we can reply to you more fully. Customer Relations Team.

Graham

GrahamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

best thing I bought cheap holiday touring

published

2 axles, great to tow, has oven ,not too bad when wind blowing badly best thing is being able to leave and tour around .
toe with a ford territory diesel 2.7 ltr

Purchased in June 2018 at Forty Winks VIC, Horsham for A$35,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 11,000 km
Car ModelFord Territory SX
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hi Graham! Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We hope you enjoy many adventures in your Jayco Journey. Customer Relations Team

cobber

cobberGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

DISAPOINTED JAYCO PURCHASER

published
Value for Money
Mileage 300 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
1 comment
cobber
cobber
Kim K.

Kim K.Hunter Region, NSW

Can't fault it

published

Haven't had any problems with my 2018 18:55 comfortable for the wife and me bought new
Tows great,looks great easy care and find jayco service very good people to deal with

Purchased in November 2018 at Jayco Newcastle for A$54,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 15,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
hey you

hey you

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Had it for 9 months

published

Jaycee Journey DX Outback, bought it new , tows well, nice looking van,,nice design shame it was put together by Richards Craniums,,,nothing was as it should have been,,,repairs under warranty took for ever,,,dripping shower washer replacement took 4 weeks = that over filled the cup of unhappiness, sold it at a loss after 9 months, bought 14 yrs old Future System caravan no problems at all.

Purchased in March 2018.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 5,000 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Theresa

TheresaCentral Queensland, QLD

Frustration frustration frustration would i buy this van again

published

Bought brand new first big trip axle shagged after just 4000 kmls tyres scrubbed out front panel of van cracked out not impressed so far does tow well inside very neat and tidy unit

Purchased in August 2019 at Jayco mackay for A$56,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Caravans

Find out how Jayco Journey compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael Robertson

Michael RobertsonDarling Downs, QLD

Shame jayco shame

published

Plumping not done right,cupboards falling apart,12v wiring burning ,dents in trimming, and van is only 3 months old and jayco don't think any of it is there problems.absolutely no quality control what's so ever

Purchased in September 2019 for A$72,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 2,456 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Richard Mc

Richard McPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Jayco Journey Outback 2019

published

Great looking van.
Workmanship is disappointing. Dents in cupboards, laminate coming off, roof bowing in two places. All under warranty, but what a hassle.
Should not have happened to start with.
Dents found on pick up, laminate and roof coming down found the next day.....
Jayco, workmanship for a $70,000 van, very disappointing.
Jayco and Caravanland, take no responsibility, just because it is under warranty....
It should not happen to start with. Should have been found prior to picking up, Caravanland had it for a Month.
Buyer be aware.

Purchased in September 2019 at Caravanland for A$68,854.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 17 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK8.I
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Richard Mc
Richard Mc

Easy fix to Lift roof of van

published

Move struts 300mm,up the gas struts to 600 ,new vans are already moved and the gas struts are 630 ,will make it a one person lift easy l have a 2012 van

Purchased in December 2011.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 120,000 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK7.III
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Shirley

ShirleyGippsland, VIC

Buyer beware if you are thinking of buying a Jayco van.

published

Purchased in November 2014 at Bayswater Jayco.

Value for Money
Car ModelMazda BT-50 J97M

love the van not fussed with the cuppoard doors screws to small to much three ply used

published

very well easy to tow its just the woodwork not good lot of fixing to be done putting up the roof is a two person job I wish I had really checked on weigh you can carry

Floor Plan17ft

Suspension Problems

published

2018 Model 1 trip only undertaken completing 14k trip on black top.
- Tyres scrubbed out unroadworthy
- Suspension requiring replacement multiple components
- Nowra service center problematic told to wait 3 mths for replacement tyres and components

Never again

Caravans

Find out how Jayco Journey compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
robert42

robert42Northern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not Perfect

published

Heavy glass shower door fell off,electric brake wiring under van breaking,wheel alignment out of spec,van heavier then what's on compliance plate,plastic cupboard handles breaking,water leak above bed no sealant on part of roof, quality control at factory poor good to tow but so many problems.

Floor Plan17.55-9

Not one for unsealed roads

published

Purchased brand new Journey DX Outback only to take it on gazetted unsealed roads and lots of damage. We were not off road and drove to conditions with reduced tyre pressure. Shower door fell off marking cubicle and hole in flooring, all drawers dropped and hinges. Inside is fitted out as normal caravan. No additional measures taken to make inside suitable for unsealed roads. Great looking van but be prepared to spend time reinforcing it to suit conditions. Lots more damage to list but hoping all fixed under warranty.

Floor Plan17-55-9

Love it

published

It is a great van and easy to toe and get into tight places , We love it and have had no problems with it to speak of. Have had it on gravel road and it stands up well

Floor PlanDouble bed standard floor plan
JJO17

JJO17Perth, WA

Very good van, tows great

published

Very stable with passing trucks and not affected by wind. Van tows great and brakes well once you have the brake controller set up correctly. Pop top comes down with movement and needs to be checked each time it’s lowered. Small issues with QC but acceptable. Very comfortable and well laid out. Everything works and there is a big improvement in quality control. Very happy with our new van.

Floor Plan17-55-9 Outback DX
1 comment
JJO17
JJO17

One year and van has been excellent. Would gladly give 5 stars now. Had some great trips to some interesting and challenging places. Highly recommend the Journey Outback DX 17ft.

mylestom

mylestomCoffs Harbour, New South Wales

Multi issues and more each time we take it away for a holiday. Just continual Stress

published
Floor Plan17.55-8
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Gary

Garyasked

Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Outback

Hi i have a 2015 outback Journey 17 ft & have discovered lately that i am having tyre wear on the inside tread of my 4 tyres , please explain ?

3 answers
Dave
Dave

Get alignment done . Have heard of one Journey owner only getting 4000Km out of a full set of tyres. Said Jayco not interested.

Gary
Gary

Thanks Dave, being independently sprung, I wasn’t sure how much could be done,certainly can’t see where axles can be adjusted, having said that I will certainly investigate your suggestion
Regards
Gary

Pig
Pig

Had a rear tyre wearing on the outside had a wheel alignment done at a truck alignment factory all good now

David N.

David N.asked

Journey Pop-Top

I have purchased a 2014 model Jayco Journey Pop top. The lead from the fuse box had a pos n neg lead. The pos has a blade fuse. Do I simply hook that up to my AGM battery to power up all 12v systems when not using 240v
Do I need to do anything else to activate the 12v power?

1 answer
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hello David, Please send your inquiry to info@jayco.com.au including the chassis number and our technical advisor can assist you further. Customer Relations Team

Elizabeth S.

Elizabeth S.asked

Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Outback

Liftpoptoponjaycooutback

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Jayco representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.