??!
25 photos
Jayco Journey
3.0 from 53 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(14)
(7)
(5)
(16)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (7)
  • Mileage 30,912.167 km (6)
  • Comfort
    3.3 (6)
  • Exterior Build Quality
    3.5 (6)
  • Interior Build Quality
    3.0 (7)
  • Off-roading Performance
    3.2 (5)


Kim K.

Kim K.Hunter Region, NSW

Can't fault it

published

Haven't had any problems with my 2018 18:55 comfortable for the wife and me bought new
Tows great,looks great easy care and find jayco service very good people to deal with

Purchased in November 2018 at Jayco Newcastle for $54,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 15,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II (2015-Present)
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers

hey you

hey you

  • 3 reviews

Had it for 9 months

published

Jaycee Journey DX Outback, bought it new , tows well, nice looking van,,nice design shame it was put together by Richards Craniums,,,nothing was as it should have been,,,repairs under warranty took for ever,,,dripping shower washer replacement took 4 weeks = that over filled the cup of unhappiness, sold it at a loss after 9 months, bought 14 yrs old Future System caravan no problems at all.

Purchased in March 2018.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 5,000 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Theresa

TheresaCentral Queensland, QLD

Frustration frustration frustration would i buy this van again

published

Bought brand new first big trip axle shagged after just 4000 kmls tyres scrubbed out front panel of van cracked out not impressed so far does tow well inside very neat and tidy unit

Purchased in August 2019 at Jayco mackay for $56,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Michael Robertson

Michael RobertsonDarling Downs, QLD

Shame jayco shame

published

Plumping not done right,cupboards falling apart,12v wiring burning ,dents in trimming, and van is only 3 months old and jayco don't think any of it is there problems.absolutely no quality control what's so ever

Purchased in September 2019 for $72,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 2,456 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers

Richard Mc

Richard McPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Jayco Journey Outback 2019

published

Great looking van.
Workmanship is disappointing. Dents in cupboards, laminate coming off, roof bowing in two places. All under warranty, but what a hassle.
Should not have happened to start with.
Dents found on pick up, laminate and roof coming down found the next day.....
Jayco, workmanship for a $70,000 van, very disappointing.
Jayco and Caravanland, take no responsibility, just because it is under warranty....
It should not happen to start with. Should have been found prior to picking up, Caravanland had it for a Month.
Buyer be aware.

Purchased in September 2019 for $68,854.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 17 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK8.I (2015-Present)
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers

Easy fix to Lift roof of van

published

Move struts 300mm,up the gas struts to 600 ,new vans are already moved and the gas struts are 630 ,will make it a one person lift easy l have a 2012 van

Purchased in December 2011.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 120,000 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers

Shirley

ShirleyGippsland, VIC

Buyer beware if you are thinking of buying a Jayco van.

published

Purchased in November 2014 at Bayswater Jayco.

Value for Money
Car ModelMazda BT-50 MK1 (2006-2011)

love the van not fussed with the cuppoard doors screws to small to much three ply used

published

very well easy to tow its just the woodwork not good lot of fixing to be done putting up the roof is a two person job I wish I had really checked on weigh you can carry

Floor Plan17ft

Suspension Problems

published

2018 Model 1 trip only undertaken completing 14k trip on black top.
- Tyres scrubbed out unroadworthy
- Suspension requiring replacement multiple components
- Nowra service center problematic told to wait 3 mths for replacement tyres and components

Never again

robert42

robert42Northern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Not Perfect

published

Heavy glass shower door fell off,electric brake wiring under van breaking,wheel alignment out of spec,van heavier then what's on compliance plate,plastic cupboard handles breaking,water leak above bed no sealant on part of roof, quality control at factory poor good to tow but so many problems.

Floor Plan17.55-9

Not one for unsealed roads

published

Purchased brand new Journey DX Outback only to take it on gazetted unsealed roads and lots of damage. We were not off road and drove to conditions with reduced tyre pressure. Shower door fell off marking cubicle and hole in flooring, all drawers dropped and hinges. Inside is fitted out as normal caravan. No additional measures taken to make inside suitable for unsealed roads. Great looking van but be prepared to spend time reinforcing it to suit conditions. Lots more damage to list but hoping all fixed under warranty.

Floor Plan17-55-9

Love it

published

It is a great van and easy to toe and get into tight places , We love it and have had no problems with it to speak of. Have had it on gravel road and it stands up well

Floor PlanDouble bed standard floor plan

JJO17

JJO17Perth, WA

Very good van, tows great

published

Very stable with passing trucks and not affected by wind. Van tows great and brakes well once you have the brake controller set up correctly. Pop top comes down with movement and needs to be checked each time it’s lowered. Small issues with QC but acceptable. Very comfortable and well laid out. Everything works and there is a big improvement in quality control. Very happy with our new van.

Floor Plan17-55-9 Outback DX
1 comment
JJO17
JJO17

One year and van has been excellent. Would gladly give 5 stars now. Had some great trips to some interesting and challenging places. Highly recommend the Journey Outback DX 17ft.


mylestom

mylestomCoffs Harbour, New South Wales

Multi issues and more each time we take it away for a holiday. Just continual Stress

published
Floor Plan17.55-8
mako33

mako33tumbarumba

A heap of junk

published

70 problems over the last 2 years, It has been back to jaycos factory 3 times for rebuilds. Now the mess they have made of it the last time it was there. The workmanship is nothing short of appalling. No quality control at all. You would think they would have learnt by there mistakes by now. Trying to get a new one out of them at on cost.

Floor Plan17 foot d/bed seperate shower/toilet at rear
Pommy

PommyMount Victoria, NSW

First van no worries .

published

We found the van to be well built even though mass produced, few little problems but our dealer at Orange NSW was great. Considering it's not the off road model and we have taken it to Birdsville twice we have gotten away reasonably unscathed. Only problem has been the fridge died, seems to have degassed itself

Floor Plan17' touring

Paul

Paul

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Well we just love it!

published
Floor PlanJourney poptop 17.55-8 OB 16yj

Issue with cupboard handles and roof alignment

published

This is my first van very happy with it tows great has the room we need except the handles on the cupboards they are plastic and fall apart why did they change from the push ones to the plastic pull ones. Roof doesn't line up properly when lowered cant latch on drivers side without physically pushing it over

Floor Plan17 foot

Not happy jan

Not happy jan

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Roof

published

Roof lifting very heavy all jayco journeys should be recalled and fix the problem. Airconditioning on roof to heavy makes roof come down out of alignment and cant latch down roof.

Floor Plan17 ft touring

Mostly happy, but dissappointed due to roof problems

published

Overall 70% satisfied but quality of workmanship in some areas disappoints. Roof is way too heavy for old style lifter system in use. Needs are radical re-think and/or re-engineering and strengthening of lifter bars. Roof comes down out of alignment making it hard to latch roof on drivers side of van. Keeping awning loose etc does not improve situation. Van tows well, like ensuite, single beds very comfortable, lighting very good, fridge and A/C both work well. Cabinet quality just OK, clearly not a lot of pride in workmanship. Does lack internal storage space. No pull out pantry although this was a great feature on our Freedom van. Would I buy another Jayco? Probably but steer clear of pop-tops.

Floor Plan17.55.9

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Gav

Gavasked

Has anyone taken the outback journey on the Tanami or Gibb river roads if so how did the van handle it TIA

No answers

Harry Usher

Harry Usherasked

Hi- am looking for a good 2nd hand Penguin Outback, but before that have 3 questions re installing a tow bar on our Mitsubishi Triton. 1) been quoted for a Hayman Reese heavy duty tow bar which sounds over spec’d for the Penguin - any alternatives? 2) How many sockets pins, and are they round or square? 3) can one connect solar panels to the Penguin socket to charge the battery once the vehicle is detached?

1 answer
Theresa
Theresa

The only positive in putting on a hyman Reese is that in the future if you want to upgrade to a bigger van the tow hitch would be already done. otherwise I cannot see why a heavy duty tow bar would be required.


Mark Pegoraro

Mark Pegoraroasked

I have a journey outback poptop 15.48 model 2019
What is the total height of the van with the top open (incl aircon, solar panel and TV aerial)?

1 answer
Michael Robertson
Michael Robertson

I have a full height van not a poptop


Get an answer from our members and Jayco representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.