??!
13 photos
Jayco Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring

Jayco Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring

3.6 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Mileage 10,633.333 km
  • Interior Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Exterior Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next

Never buy a Jayco product again

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$46,000.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage900 km
Car ModelIsuzu MU-X
Functionality
Interior Build Quality
Exterior Build Quality
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco
Dave
Dave

Good little van

published

2017 Journey from new. Haven't had any issues. Tows well behind the Pajero. My only concern would be the glass windows but haven't seen another with them to compare. No issues with them so far though.

Purchased in March 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage20,000 km
Functionality
Interior Build Quality
Exterior Build Quality
Comfort
1 comment
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hi Ron! Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We hope you enjoy many adventures in your Jayco Journey. Customer Relations Team

Graham

GrahamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

best thing I bought cheap holiday touring

published

2 axles, great to tow, has oven ,not too bad when wind blowing badly best thing is being able to leave and tour around .
toe with a ford territory diesel 2.7 ltr

Purchased in June 2018 at Forty Winks VIC, Horsham for A$35,000.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage11,000 km
Car ModelFord Territory SX
Functionality
Interior Build Quality
Exterior Build Quality
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hi Graham! Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We hope you enjoy many adventures in your Jayco Journey. Customer Relations Team

Caravans

Find out how Jayco Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mylestom

mylestomCoffs Harbour, New South Wales

Multi issues and more each time we take it away for a holiday. Just continual Stress

published
Floor Plan17.55-8
Pommy

PommyMount Victoria, NSW

First van no worries .

published

We found the van to be well built even though mass produced, few little problems but our dealer at Orange NSW was great. Considering it's not the off road model and we have taken it to Birdsville twice we have gotten away reasonably unscathed. Only problem has been the fridge died, seems to have degassed itself

Floor Plan17' touring

Issue with cupboard handles and roof alignment

published

This is my first van very happy with it tows great has the room we need except the handles on the cupboards they are plastic and fall apart why did they change from the push ones to the plastic pull ones. Roof doesn't line up properly when lowered cant latch on drivers side without physically pushing it over

Floor Plan17 foot
Not happy jan

Not happy jan

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Roof

published

Roof lifting very heavy all jayco journeys should be recalled and fix the problem. Airconditioning on roof to heavy makes roof come down out of alignment and cant latch down roof.

Floor Plan17 ft touring

Mostly happy, but dissappointed due to roof problems

published

Overall 70% satisfied but quality of workmanship in some areas disappoints. Roof is way too heavy for old style lifter system in use. Needs are radical re-think and/or re-engineering and strengthening of lifter bars. Roof comes down out of alignment making it hard to latch roof on drivers side of van. Keeping awning loose etc does not improve situation. Van tows well, like ensuite, single beds very comfortable, lighting very good, fridge and A/C both work well. Cabinet quality just OK, clearly not a lot of pride in workmanship. Does lack internal storage space. No pull out pantry although this was a great feature on our Freedom van. Would I buy another Jayco? Probably but steer clear of pop-tops.

Floor Plan17.55.9
Kathy

KathyMelb kilmore

Cupboard handles very stiff and falling of

published

Cupboard handles very poor quality. Overall good easy to tow good shower air con and heater good bed good lighting the only clock is too small need a bigger one.

Floor Plan17.55 journey
Caravans

Find out how Jayco Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lynne

LynneMurray Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great to tow!

published

Few teething problems with lights now fine. Very good to tow doesn't sway. Inside very well set out toilet & shower excellent. Aur conditioner bit heavy on roof to lift compared to discovery model but works very effectively. Comfortable inside .

Floor Plan17.55
Sue

SueMannum s.a

Only had for 6 months and had nothing but electrical faults

published

Disappointed in the new van ,used it in October 2016 faulty lights.Using it in December 2016 more light problems and door handles break easierly.we have called Jayco and said we may come and see but at your cost. Not Happy

Floor Plan17.

Great van and terrific service from Jayco 17.55.9

published

What a great van! Our fifth new Jayco, the layout is great, very peaceful colour scheme, toes beautifully, looks smart, and great value for money, picked up new in June 2016, headed of on big trip, went into Townsville Jayco to have the roof adjusted and while here we mentioned that the rear wall had a bulge in it when hot. The next morning we had an email from h/o wanting photos, every few days another email ask how the van was. On our return home we took our van into our dealership, who sent it to Melbourne to fix/replace rear wall. Jayco h/o were fantastic and replaced the complete caravan. Where else but Jayco would you get this great service.

Floor Plan17.55.9

Excellent value for money

published

Excellent - Jim 23 Nov 2016
Puchased my 17-55-8 touring van in January 2016 , have done 3k trip into Queensland , Van tows excellent with the dual axles and performs very well.
I have just had the first service & a couple of warranty jobs done at Jayco Nowra were i would recommend the sales team & the service team,
all was done with no hesitation . This is an excellent dealership, very perfessional. Our hand over took 3 hours never missed one thing.
Other than a couple of minor things we have found the van very comfortable & easy to use . The quality of the van & appliances are very good for a van that is reasonably priced.

Floor Plan17 ft pop top 17-55-8
Mr Ed

Mr EdPort Macquarie

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Some minor teething problems, but acceptable.

published
Floor Plan17.5 ft
Yannaki

Yannaki

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not perfect but good touring van

published
Floor Plan17.55 - 3
Caravans

Find out how Jayco Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Poor finish

published

Just brought van 6yrs old but never been used, staples protruding through plastic, tape and card board over exhaust vent for fridge when on gas, cupboard doors screws falling out, poor wiring, plumbing needs to be modified and it hasn't travelled 100km yet. I read all the bad reviews but thought they couldn't be that bad with the amount of vans on the road.

Floor Plan17.55
TSV

TSV

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Jayco Journey cheap, but ,stress wise...very costly!

published
Floor Plan17.55-8
See all Jayco Journey reviews

Questions & Answers

CDD

CDDasked

Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring

Hello we are interested in getting a solar panel on 2018 pop top ..is this possible

2 answers
Graham
Graham

When you get it put on let me know as I want to do the same GRAHAM

Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hello! So that we can further assist you, please send your inquiry to info@jayco.com.au and include the chassis number of your van. Customer Relations Team

Anne

Anneasked

Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring

What can a Jayco journey outback do that a tourer can’t? We will get the gas bayonet, the bike rack... neither can go off road, and it’s 300kg lighter, so what’s the limitation?

2 answers
JJO17
JJO17

Ground clearance, solar, wading depth, tougher suspension, more travel, all round better van, much nicer looking etc etc.

Anne
Anne

Thanks! I got the outback!

ryan r.

ryan r.asked

Pop-Top Journey 17Ft Touring

Whats the height from ground to the top
Of the caravan. Not including the airconditioner?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Jayco representatives

Details

Compare all 6 Jayco Journey
CategoryCaravans
Price (RRP) A$41,993
Sleeping Capacity2 people
Number of Axles1
Tare Weight1,835 kg
Travel Length7.05 m
ExpanderNo
Pop-TopYes
Main Bed SizeDouble
Bathroom / Laundry InclusionsShower, Sink and Toilet
Exterior Features240V Power Point, Awning and External Speakers
Interior FeaturesAir Conditioning, TV and Wi-Fi System
Kitchen InclusionsCooktop, Microwave and Sink
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateSep 2007
Compare all 6 Jayco Journey

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.