??!

Reviews

3.6

35 reviews
5
(10)
4
(9)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(3)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (9)
  • Mileage 6,775.625 km (8)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (12)
  • Exterior Build Quality
    3.0 (12)
  • Interior Build Quality
    3.2 (10)
  • Off-roading Performance
    3.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Laurie Mills

Laurie MillsNortheast, VIC

Disappointment

published

Our third Silverline and honestly should have kept the 2015 model even though it was plagued with problems that it took two years to iron them and get things right. To Jayco's credit they fixed a lot of things after they were well out of warranty. Trouble started when we traded it in on the new 2019 model, without going into too much detail this van was so bad Jayco and the dealer agreed to take it back and issued us with a new replacement 8/2019 model which so far we have done a three day trip and now it is back with the dealer and has been there for three weeks and still waiting on several parts to come from the factory which I have been told could be up to six weeks. This is our fifth new Jayco and will certainly be our last.

Purchased in August 2019.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 700 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers
Garry

GarryHunter Region, NSW

Disappointed

published

Bought the Siilverline 2016 from the getgo it had a massive water leak on the left hand side ( slide out side) to Jaycos credit it was fixed under warranty, two goes to fix. Than the same side the two front windows have severely cracked this happened after 18 months, just out of warranty again to Jayco’s credit was fixed with no cost to myself. Again 14 months later the exact same windows are cracked but it is now a different story with Jayco as they don’t want a bar of it and are blaming Dometic or me for washing the windows with the wrong product funny that as the other 5 windows are perfect. I would not expect to pay $700 pus every 14 months to replace windows. I would not recommend Jayco or buy another one ever.

Purchased in May 2016 for A$73.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 10,000 km
Car ModelMazda BT-50
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Warren

WarrenSouth West, WA

Good so far but not without a few problems

published

Gas oven had to be replaced .poor drainage in the shower they reckon they fixed it but still the same replumbed it myself .tyres on left hand side wearing badly from new but not a warranty claim

Purchased in October 2017 for A$73,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 10,000 km
Car ModelHolden Colorado
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Caravans

Find out how Jayco Silverline compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bog

Bog

  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble

published

Has anyone had trouble with water leaking down the outside handle light and causing the wall vinyl to crack due to the water running inside the cavity? Also we have just started having trouble with our wheels the left ones over heating and screeching noises even worse when braking.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$90.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 7,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
See all answers
Bob G.

Bob G.Gippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good value, after 8 weeks of vanning, we are still happy with purchase decision but.......

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bayswater Jayco for A$80,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 6,000 km
Car ModelLand Cruiser 200 series
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Retirement Dream

Retirement DreamMid North Coast, NSW

I think it will be a great van once all poor accessories are repaired!

published

Brand new2019 model just picked up,back twice in a week,Side boxlocks & side gas doors won’t lock & burst open,satellite tv didn’t work, paint defects, leaking shower,oxidisation on stone guard bolts,Alexa issues.

Purchased in July 2019 at Watson’s Caravans Port Macquarie .

Value for Money
Mileage 500 km
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200 Mark II 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel Sahara
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers
Teresa L.

Teresa L.Perth, WA

Great van

published

We’ve had six vans to date and our 2019 silverline is by far best.No problems to tow in any weather.With the four cameras and the esc braking makes a very relaxing drive.Also no need for self levellers.No problems with it to date.An all round great van.

Purchased in February 2019.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Teresa Pitt

Teresa PittFar West, NSW

Happy with our Silverline

published

We purchased ours a 2016 second hand but basically new. We have travelled 40,000 mile so far travelling Australia. We stick mostly to bitumen but have hit the dirt with no issues. We have had very minor issues such as a broken draw handle, table lounge sag due to no support for the side of the storage door, they were easy fixes. We purchased ours from Halls in Mildura who are great to deal with both purchasing and servicing. Would I purchase another, yes. They tow great for a large van with comfort plus and handle Australian conditions if you drive to the conditions with a few mods, such as foam covering over pvc and break wires, also fitted a rock guard. We have the double slide out and wouldn't be without it.

Purchased in June 2017 at Halls Mildura.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Car ModelNissan Navara NP300 / D23
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
See all answers
Fangio

Fangio

  • 2 reviews

POOR BUILD QUALITY

published

Purchased a 2016 Jayco Silverline 21.65-3 recently and it was just 3 years old and with little use.
I would say that I am fussy, having worked hard all my life for those retirement benefits.
The build quality on this van leaves a lot to be desired, shoddy fittings, careless front lounge construction, additional screw holes where they shouldn't be and overall poor quality assurance. I must have purchased a Monday or Friday van !!!. Won't ever buy a new one for the price.

Purchased in May 2019.

Mileage 5 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Caravans

Find out how Jayco Silverline compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maree Schull

Maree Schull

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Faulty Dometic Windows in Jayco Silverline.

published

We have a 2016 Jayco Silverline Outback. Having worked hard to afford a luxury van, we are very careful to follow all manufacturers instructions. While sitting in a fully enclosed shed between trips the bathroom window developed cracks, top and bottom. The dealer where we bought the van, Jayco and Dometic have all failed to help in any way. The Dometic employee continually accused us of using chemicals to clean the van with, that must have damaged the window. I assured him verbally and by email that was not the case and if it were, why was the damage to only one window??? I have seen reviews from other owners stating the same issue. Beware of Jayco's windows, they will not admit to faults.

Purchased in March 2016 at Brisbane Camperland for A$72,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Mileage 20,000 km
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
See all answers
Des

DesSydney, NSW

SHOCKER

published

Purchased in November 2016 for A$68,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
Chris

ChrisVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great looking van however its been plagued with faults.

published

Our 2014 Silverline was supplied to us with existing faults at the handover. Thought it would be easy to get them repaired. How wrong where we. It took months to get into a dealer to have it repaired & they did a shocking job. It then went to an independent repairer to have it done correctly. A wall then swelled due to a major water leak. The selling dealership carried out the repair & its still not completely finalized after 18 months. Jayco are great value for money however product quality & service is appauling. Going to Melb Caravan show this weekend to find a replacement. NOT a Jayco. been there done that .

Purchased in December 2014.

Value for Money
Functionality
Comfort
Exterior Build Quality
Interior Build Quality
brauny

braunyYeppoon, Queensland

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Comfortable & looks the part but only skin deep

published
Floor PlanFront Club Lounge
Swiftyc

SwiftycPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 18 likes

An off-road family apartment

published
Floor Plan25.78-6
Harry K.

Harry K.Brisbane

Poor quality control ex factory.

published
Floor PlanFront club lounge.
Caravans

Find out how Jayco Silverline compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gordon

GordonMudgeeraba

  • 2 reviews

Silverline Consrtucion First Class

published

We have a 24.75 Jayco Silverline Outback 2015 Our first trip around was around Australia 3 months and 25,000 k 95% on tar sealed roads,its our third trip around the block all in Jayco vans.we have only had minor warranty problems. The construction is first class we had a B Double hit the back of our van with some 100 mile an hour tape up job we drove away B Double needed 2 large tow trucks, I have photos.
I can not speak too highly of our Silverline only one problem we have been unable to fix, we ordered our van with 3 water tanks, but the pump wont suck water from the 3rd tank at the back of van, and never has.

Helen

HelenDarwin

Jayco Van Beautiful

published

We have travelled most of the country in it, on all sorts of weathered roads and in all sorts of weather conditions, including cyclonic - no leaks, however she isnt a fan of the wind! The height on the van makes it difficult to tow on extreme windy days - which is fairly normal I think.
It tows beautifully otherwise, and with the brake lock system ( tried and tested) this is an amazing piece to ensure the van does not leave the road. Other than some issues with the springs initially which Jayco have had changed under our warranty, we are having an amazing experience with our Jayco van.

So many problems, poor build standard

published

Where do I start , freezer won’t freeze we were told freezer in Caravans are not meant to freeze , 9 months later lots of return visits we had it all replaced , bed broke, ensuite door falls off had to go back twice before it was fixed , shower not draining, leaking roof and windows , brakes not working properly from day one only just repaired a month ago , sink popped , hole in fibreglass , water leaking out of shower, cupboards dropped, table edge ver sharp , rip zip on chair came away , that’s a few of the issues we have lots more issues latest is windows cracking while van sitting in driveway. Are we happy with our Silverline the answer would be a big NO

Floor Plan21.5 with slideout
Garry M

Garry MGrafton,nsw

  • 2 reviews

Solar a no no.

published

Just found out our 2018 Jayco Silverlines panel system is only good for 2/3 days free camping, even with full sun. We used 2 hours tv and one set of lights for the same time and when necessary, the water pump. Jayco advise this is about right! Whats the use of solar panels if you can only do 2 days, and have to carry a generator.

Milo

MiloHobart, TAS

Faulty wiring

published

Found faulty wiring in my three year old Silverline Outback 25ft we ordered and took delivery in October 2015 there were some lights not working when I went to check the van prior to going on holiday. 10amp light fuse was blown. As I am and electrician I proceeded to fault find why?? Found the wires supplying the shower LED and exhaust fan had burnt through the wires insulation and shorted the active and neutral wires together. You could see evidence of a burn but lucky the fuse blew. Could have been worse if the van caught on fire. The two wires were squashed, that would be due to factory installation within the ceiling. This is our third 25ft Jayco and never had anything like this before.

Floor PlanOutback Silverline
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Michael M.

Michael M.asked

21 ft Silverline 21.65-4

I have a 2016 silverline and am trying to use the 12 volt pump, it does work and cuts out when it reaches pressure, but when I turn on the water it comes out in spurts and pushes lots of air also

1 answer
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hello Michael, please send your inquiry to info@Jayco.com.au and include your chassis number so we can assist you further. Customer Relations Team

Lynne

Lynneasked

21 ft Silverline 21.65-3 Outback

Can someone please advise me how to bring in the slide out bed when you don’t have power or.battery power

2 answers
Jayco
Customer Relations TeamJayco

Hello Lynne, please send your inquiry to info@Jayco.com.au including your chassis number so we can assist you further. Customer Relations Team

Laurie Mills
Laurie Mills

You need to speak direct to Service Jayco direct at the factory, most dealerships would not know.

Cheryl P.

Cheryl P.asked

Silverline

We have a 21.65.4 on order, can you tell me if there is a foot rest on the lounge?

1 answer
Laurie Mills
Laurie Mills

If it is a front kitchen it will have a footrest sliding out opposite the side lounge, usually the cushion is stored under the bed.

Get an answer from our members and Jayco representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.