??!
1 photo
Jeep Cherokee KK

Jeep Cherokee KK (2008-2013)

2.7 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.7

20 reviews
5
(2)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next

I'm getting on average 638 kms from full tank considering the weight and robust feeling I'm impresse

published

At first I didn't here many good reports about the jeep brand. But now I'm impressed the seating is very comfortable especially on long drives. I think the materials used are excellent. The road holding is very good on uneven sealed roads I don't go off road but I do think it would be quite capable if I did so

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Thrillhouse

ThrillhouseAU

  • 4 reviews

The last proper Cherokee

published

Good, commanding driving position. The 3.7L V6 doesn't like being hurried but produces reassuring torque (if thirstily). The Limited trim level is plush. Heated seats are very effective, the AC is positively arctic and the stereo is excellent. Cargo space is ok, better with passenger seats down - they lie almost flat. Up front, legroom is a little cramped due to a fairly intrusive drivetrain tunnel and no rest pedal for the driver. The ride is truck-like, but that is expected from a body-on-frame 4x4. We like it. Would buy again.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Love my Jeep!

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee KK compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
nilbog

nilbogSydney, NSW

  • 38 reviews
  • 21 likes

20 breakdowns, 4 tows and still faulty

published

In the 6 years we owned it, it spent over 6 months at the mechanics. Never did solve all the issues, and we are talking about major failures brakes, ABS, Cooling system,and more. Mechanics replaced so many parts and after 3 years the brakes failing to release randomly did get resolved. Sudden full engine management failure causing limp-home-mode was never resolved.

Purchased in June 2011 for A$54,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

I think my jeep Cherokee 2012 consumes a lot of petrol on open road at 500km only ? From a 69 full t

published

I feel it up with 66- 69L of petrol , then I make 522km only on open road . not happy with that only , All the features are my dream. Comfortable , well holding on the road , an interior to die for nice radio fitted with built in GPS .

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Remus

RemusTownsville, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great plodder!

published

We have had out 2011 Jeep Cherokee just over 5 years and covered just over 140000 km's. The only problem(s) we have had were the replacement of three shock absorbers which were covered under warranty. Good solid car and it'll do us for the next 5 years. Hard to believe all the other bad luck stories.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011

Never again

published

Jeep Australia what a poor vehicle to put on the market in this country. The dealer network doesn't seem to understand what the vehicle is all about, on 3 separate occasions after 20K 30K and 40 K service the vehicle broke down in the forecourt after picking it. On these occasions I returned the vehicle to the dealer due other issues arises within the week of the regular routine service. The vehicle has now done 105k for the last year dealer on dealer cannot get a EGR valve which is intermittently failing ( limp mode ) nothing in Australia is my constant reponse
I am now in the state of mind to get rid of the lemon.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2010

no touble at all

published

i drive a KK Limited 2.8 Diesel with 200 hp with some 96.000 k's on the Counter now without ANY Problems whatsoever....unbelievable but true. Personally i fail to believe the horror-stories told by some blokes here.
Consumption is as low as 10 Liters/100 km which is good for this heavy vehicle with it's high grille and steep windscreen. Got an OME Sports 2" liftkit and pulling Trailers occasionally. It performs great on the beaches and in reasonable ( not ecxtreme ) off-roading.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011

What more can you ask when you already got a full package

published

Took me a long time to decide which car to buy as my first car with so limited budget. Am Glad that I eventually choose Jeep Cherokee Jet edition over the other cars. Don't get me wrong, this is a very thirsty monster but what you expect, it's a MONSTER!!

BadgeJet
TransmissionAutomatic
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee KK compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2012 KK Limited Jet 4WD - My 3 Year Review

published
BadgeJet
TransmissionAutomatic
Ashton W

Ashton WMaroochydore

Wish there was a "half star" option

published

Paid $49,000 for a new jeep.
It dropped a fuel line in the dealers driveway before we could even drive it off their premises!
Had 21 more issues and needed 5 more tow trucks over its short-lived life.
Never took it off road cause I didn't trust it.
Tried to get the dealer ([name removed]) and the importer Fiat Chrysler Group Australia to give me a full refund or a replacement vehicle but they refused every request.
I refused to on-sell my problem Jeep to someone else, so we crowd-funded the total destruction of it.

BadgeLEMON
TransmissionAutomatic

Need high ground clearance

published

I owned a 2011 cherokee limited. I find this cherokee is good for medium off roading, but excellent for sand driving with extra added ground cleraence. Superb interior with leather seating. It done 71000 kms successful without any complaints. Only change battery recently.High fuel economy and service cost are the only draw backs which I can mention. Each services cost me above $700 and the last major service for 48000 cost me $1100.Suspension and stearing wheels are not smooth I admit it's a jeep.
Reliable ,
High service cost and high fuel economy.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic

Heap of rubbish

published

Rotors and brakes wore out before 15000ks what a joke DVD player broke and wasn't fixed excuses and more excuses never again!!

Jespher

JespherCanberra

Horrible

published
BadgeJet
melagil

melagil

  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published

24 hours after i took delivery of it i had the displeasure of watching it winched onto a tow truck when it broke down, a sight i am now used to having wathced it 4x since. the car simply loses all power and acceleration making it dangerous. jeep have walked around scratching their head and using me as guinea pig as they have tried to fix - unsuccessfully. Steer clear I would buy a skateboard before i touched a jeep again.
Nothing. Have had the car 16 months and it has been towed 5 times!!
Jeep cannot fix a recurring problem which has meant they have my vehicle for 12 weeks since October. They do not have a clue what is wrong but wont replace the car.

2 comments
Tez73
Tez73
Carlie
Carlie

hi did you have any further problems once your vehicle got over 50000ks ??? how would you rate the 09 jeep

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee KK compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Spice

SpiceWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Buyer beware

published

Expensive to run, nothing but trouble - water dripping down from the air conditioner wrecked the carpet and stereo, all dash equipment died, it was only four years old! Will never get another or recommend!

Too much

1 comment
Mark567
Mark567
Nicney

NicneyAU

  • 44 reviews
  • 10 likes

OK

published

The car is fun to go off road in but expensive to run and repair. I don't think I'd ever buy another one.
The space and off roading.
One by one, almost everything has broken on our Jeep and it's quite expensive to repair or replace parts. It is a very heavy car so uses a lot of fuel. I recently found out it only has one anchor point - so unbeleivably wee can only fit one child seat in the back of this big car, which I assume would be sold as a family car. We need to pay to get a second anchor point installed.

lisha_gal

lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 122 reviews
  • 35 likes

Bad

published

This car is a fuel guzzler! It costs double my new Nissan Tiida in fuel per week. It was a really nice car to drive. I felt very safe in this vehicle. The parts were very expensive. Servicing at the jeep dealer was also extremely expensive. Great car to take on the beach, it was alot of fun. Our Jeep had an airbag problem also which we were told would cost around $2000 to fix. Air con problems as well. We sold this car to save money, and we deinately have. Pitty it is so expensive to run. Would not buy another Jeep Cherokee again.
Nice to drive, great turning circle
Too expensive

1 comment
pooky
pooky
cracker

cracker

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad

published

we had the loss of power issue once, it was going into 'get home safe' mode as there was a loose connection on the auto shifter, so the car didn;t 'know' what gear it was in, hence the 'get home safe'. Once conenction was remade, issue has not re appeared.
acceleration, easy to park, easy to get kids in and out. easy to get pram in boot
fuel consumption (what did I expect), clunking of front wheel case (we drive full time 4 everywhere except above 80 km roads), jeep cust service in both albion and the other place is attrocious, would never buy another jeep for that reason alone

gmproductreview

gmproductreview

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published

The drivers position is high like most 4WD and the seat is very comfortable, hugging you but not too tight. The rear access has a tail gate release on the fob allowing hot air to be removed from the cabin quickly. Servicing and spare parts are very reasonable and certainly not as expensive as other imported cars. The service that I have received from the dealer was great, even replacing parts for free when the car was out of warranty.
great car with heaps of power and very comfortable ride. Great turning circle and very easy to park.
heavy on fuel around town - however, I believe the diesel model is alot better on fuel and gives a longer range between filling

See all Jeep Cherokee reviews

Questions & Answers

Zaklina Matlioska

Zaklina Matlioskaasked

Cherokee KK (2008-2013)

What is n20c it came on the dash when I couldn’t start the car up

No answers
Jelly H.

Jelly H.asked

Cherokee KK (2008-2013)

Hi all. Help! My Jeep Cherokee 2012 won’t drive over 40km/ph. I think I left the lights on all day (weird because it usually beeps to remind me) I got it jumpstarted. Ran the car for 10 minutes before driving however it wouldn’t drive over 40km/ph so I went back to work and left it running for another 10 minutes and still the same thing happened when I tried to drive it again. The battery is not that old. I did fiddle around under the steering and near pedals trying to find the bonnet switch inside the car

No answers
Samantha R

Samantha Rasked

Cherokee KK (2008-2013)

Can i swap a cherokee kj engine with my cherokee kk engine (both 3.7 petroll models) ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.