??!
5 photos
Kia Sorento BL

Kia Sorento BL (2003-2009)

4.1 from 34 reviews

Reviews

4.1

34 reviews
5
(16)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Retirement vehicle

published

Purchased in July 2008 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chris Stephens

Chris StephensBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Last Korean Turbo Diesel, 2.5 CRDI. Top of the range Auto. GOODBYE.

published

Purchased in April 2009.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Good vehicle let down by poor spare parts supply

published

Bought car new from Kia dealer, after 4.5 years major problem with brake abs unit, replace by kia, took 8 weeks straight away problem with lock out clutch switch, again replaced under warranty, 4.5 years later clutch hydrolic hose split, once again no spare parts, complained to Kia and got the usual fob off. I asked the question (are you trying to stop me from buying another Kia car) The car is well built and very strong but let down by lack of spare parts. No more Kia's for me.

BadgeEX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2009
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento BL compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

SamSydney

2007 3.8 sorento auto

published

Use this car for family transport super smooth quiet powerful very nice ride if you dont overinflate the tyres handles well for an high riding vehicle. Looks good (get lots of comments) passengers remark on comfort and qiietness. Smoothest shifting 5sp auto transmission. A bit thirsty. Just dont leadfoot it and drive it gently it has so much torque you need very little throttle input to keep it rolling lastly i do regular servicing with quality oils and parts (all oils changed ) very good value 2nd hand still looks new better than the shitbox merc ml i had before. Note if u want an economical commuter in city traff ic buy a kia rio or similar

BadgeGlobal Circuit
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Great 4WD and tow vehicle

published
BadgeEX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Migs

Migs

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Timing Chain issue

published

I loved this car this one was my second Sorento, first one I owned overseas and came to Sydney I bought the exact model and in the same colour from a dealer in 2014.

Logbook shows the car was religously serviced. It had about 176,000kms on the odometer.

With me I also serviced and changed oil every 6 months (I have all the invocie to prove this), done by a profesional mechanic, in fact last service was last November only. Driving only used on the road.

4 days ago, 254,000 kms in the odo, while driving under 50kms around a roundabout, the engine dies, as if I lost compression, it felt like something snapped.

Turns out the timing chain broke or snapped!

Why? Kia tell us why would this happen? The car is now worthless!

BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

Great suv

published

Towed a 2500kg van everywhere never missed a beat change oil plus filter every 7500 deisel allways Serviced to the book ,other than service items brakes shocks never had a problem now done 220,000klm best vehicle I’ve ever owned , 9liters to 100ks country driver 13 ligers towing van pulls like steam trian

BadgeEX-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2009
Alfred H.

Alfred H.Tatura

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Confirmation of Sorento timing chain problems

published

My 2008 EX 2.5L Diesel Sorento started to run rough and noisy at about 160,000kms. Timing chain proved to be worn and slack and needed replacement, in spite of the manual telling me that the chain would never have to be replaced for the lifetime of the motor. Would that mean that this model Sorento is only supposed to last for 160,000 ks only? Lucky I had it checked in time and avoided major problems!!

BadgeEX
TransmissionAutomatic
cecaaron

cecaaron

  • 2 reviews

Spectacular Sorento BL Diesel

published

Got to fully agree with Jack and his endorsement of the Sorento diesel. I have had my 2008 EXL auto from brand new. I've towed a 2200kg van around Oz for over 100,000km across the Nullabor return 4 times, from the Snowys minus 5C to 45C in Cape Tribulation and Mt Isa. Temp gauge never varies by more than a 1/4 of a notch. Only problem so far after 160, 000km was a couple of loose bolts on the turbo, fixed in 10 mins. Only upgraded the shockies to Bilsteins after 10, 000km to minimise cornering roll. I'm one very very happy Sorento owner.

BadgeEX-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento BL compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alan1954

Alan1954Gippsland, VIC

  • 7 reviews

Terrible customer service

published

I had a warranty claim when my MY08 Sorento diesel developed an engine problem. I was left without a vehicle for two months and the dealer and Kia Australia were unwilling to offer any replacement vehicle. To add insult to injury they did not even extend the warranty for the two months that they had the car. I would never buy another Kia.
Great car
Let down by lousy Australian customer service and servicing

BadgeEX-L
TransmissionAutomatic
megan

meganQuinns rocks

  • 5 reviews

Timing chain failure after 5years and 16 days and 95,000 kms

published
BadgeEX

Worst car ever

published
2 comments
Alien2OZ
Alien2OZ

Which engine is that?

Chris Riggall
Chris Riggall

3.5ltr v6 petrol

Stoffel1

Stoffel1Perth

  • 22 reviews

Brilliant car with all the capability needed

published
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Alien2OZ
Alien2OZ

How to choose between this, Honda CR-V 2.4 and Suby Outback 2.4 ..... I would have loved petrol but here we only have the 2.2 Diesel. And our Diesel quality is suspect...water, grit, etc.

goindeep

goindeepAU

  • 2 reviews

Find Out Why My Kia Sorento is Awesome

published

We purchased a secondhand Kia Sorrento from 2004 (only 7 years), the car had full service history, we had some minor problems with the electronics from the get go but other than that a great car!
Would not hesitate to recommend. Even a second hand one.
All the best!
The color..
Nothing

1 comment
goindeep
goindeep
Jack

JackAvoca Beach

Fantastic towcar, powerful and a true statement of what the Koreans can do!

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeEX
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento BL compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good

published

Excellent

published

Tremendous value - possibly the nicest, smoothest and most functional car I will ever drive. I am spoiled on it, nothing else I have ever driven comes close - my next car will also be a Sorento if at all feasible.
Very smooth ride with power to spare. Great looks and fantastic features - tremendous value for money. Feels inside like some sort of Cadillac - nice steering wheel. Moonroof is great. Steering and ease of driving is out of this world. Acceleration, handling and smoothness has to be experienced to be believed. I have the EX.
Fuel economy is not fantastic - I get 16 mpg consistently in town, no real long journeys yet.

BadgeEX
Clydester

Clydester

  • 4 reviews

Good

published
BadgeEX
TransmissionAutomatic

Good

published

Really good SUV in my view, has all the features I was after. A lot of people have disregarded Kia as a good car brand as of late, but I don't think this is really true. I think they've really got their act together this time.
It has great looks, really like the design of the body. Awesome interior as well, really feels more expensive than it really is I think. Great power, with pretty decent fuel economy - I have the latest 2.2 litre diesel model.
Nothing yet, performs great =]

sampson3199

sampson3199

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent

published

This is the last of the model. What a pity Kia doesn't continue a model with good suspension and low range manual gearbox. Not sure what I will get when this one wears out. Have done 180,000 km in 3 years and the only problem was a rear windscreen wiper motor replaced on warranty. The Koreans have it together. Look out Toyota!
Excellent 2.5L Diesel Motor, heaps of torque and good fuel economy. Drives well, much better to steer than the Hyundai. Lots of room. Just a joy to drive on and off road. With Bilstein suspension it rides and drives like a Mercedes. Low range works well. Goes anywhere.
Terrible suspension. I had after market shocks and springs installed when new. Had to get after market cruise too.

TransmissionManual
1 comment
Rockyblok71
Rockyblok71
Page 1 of 2
See all Kia Sorento reviews

Questions & Answers

Neil B.

Neil B.asked

Sorento BL (2003-2009)

Have a 2008 Sorento 2500 diesel lost of power and a knock car starts motor knock like no turbo loss power

No answers
Mishy P.

Mishy P.asked

Sorento BL (2003-2009)

I have a problem with my fuel injection hold down bolt randomly coming out or breaking while driving anyone else had a problem like this? Also wanting to know the foot pound for Kia sorento 2008 LX 2.5l

No answers
tony h.

tony h.asked

Sorento BL (2003-2009)

2007 model 220.000kms, any problems that may be known. Thank you.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.