??!
8 photos
Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine

Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine

3.3 from 66 reviews
Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

3.3

66 reviews
5
(27)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(18)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (44)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (44)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (43)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (41)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (17)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.1 (33)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.1 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Extreme value for money

published

have owned this machine for over 12 months now, and it has poured literally hundreds of cups. It was purchased to replace a known brand (at more than 10x the price) that failed in short order. This machine is simple to use (temp controlled when switching between steam and draw, plus easy to read gauge) and very reliable. Perfect cremma and strong/consistent steamer. At this price, you can’t really ask for more. Honestly considering buying another and putting it away for when I finally run this one into the ground. Highly Recommended!

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
mike

mikePerth, WA

Value for money and reliability

published

This machine lasts over a year in a high usage family environment. Good design in having a filter that is removable with a bayonet mount compared with press-fit other el-cheapos. Great frothy coffee

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Millie

MillieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best coffee machine.

published

Absolutely excellent machine for the price. Is it the best coffee machine in the world? Probably not. But is it the best coffee machine in the world for $89? Absolutely. Hands down worth the money.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kmart for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ErinH

ErinHBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good while it lasted...

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Shira L.

Shira L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

For the price: amazing coffee

published

Can't beat the price to make cafe style espresso drinks from home--frothy milk without the carafe, etc.. Worked like a charm for a year and just now starting to show some wear. Only one small complaint: getting the grime out of the bottom of the water carafe is hard. Otherwise a great buy.

Purchased in February 2019 at Kmart for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
David

DavidBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

The steam wand failed on two units in a row

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Wombat

WombatPerth, WA

Good Machine for budget

published

PROS:
Cost $89, Coffee taste good (depending on beans!!!), Easy to use and good for first timers, Easy to clean, heats up quickly.

Cons:
Steam/hot water tank too small, gap for cup could be taller, milk straw too short, can't make adjustments to pressure or temperature, can't dispense coffee and froth milk at same time.

If you are willing to overlook some of the cons it is a good machine for a low budget or as a second machine.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderKmart Anko Coffee Grinder
See all answers
Denise Tocco

Denise ToccoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great machine for the price!!

published

The machine looks good and makes good coffee. Definitely great value for money.
Materials are a bit cheap and it’s flimsy but does the job and looks great on the bench

Purchased in April 2020 at Kmart for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Disappointed

DisappointedTasmania

Didn't work from the start

published

Purchased this as a gift for someone, so it was unopened for 6 months. Turned it on and ran through water - temp got to about 30, then immediately dropped to 15 and stayed there ever after. Will be returning but probably had it too long to get a refund so will have to get exchange under warranty. $89 is a lot to pay for a door stop. Useless, can't recommend it.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Rarely
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Burnt plastic smell - April 2020

published

I bought this machine because I needed decent coffee for my work during the lockdown.

I really wish I can comment on the quality of the coffee, but I am not even there yet. I run through the machine 3 containers of water, in which one was a quarter vinagar and 3/4 water solution and other two were just regular water. I also cleaned the parts with soapy water. Nothing helped getting rid of this toxic plasticy smell. I am thinking about returning it. Disappointing.

Purchased in April 2020 at Kmart Online Store for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
8976mas

8976mas

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

Very satisfied with this machine, upgraded from our stovetop espresso maker and have enjoyed some amazing coffee. The machine brews coffee at the perfect drinking temperature and not boiling hot.
The steam wand leaves a lot to be desired, in saying that, i didn't buy it to use that function. Very happy overall with this machine.

Purchased in July 2018 at Kmart Online Store for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Burr Grinder EM0430
See all answers
Master

MasterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Started off fine

published

Week in pressure dropped coffee became burnt heat wouldnt reach what its ment which is to be expected but normally that's only a few degrees but 60c is hopeless for water and steam wand just squirts warm water doesn't even steam any more frankly not worth the money

Purchased in November 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Andrew Beer Drinker

Andrew Beer DrinkerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great little machine for the price.

published

Had it for a few weeks, make approx. four coffees a day, haven't had an issue. Given the Price point I would recommend for the budget conscience consumer. Very Impressed.

Purchased in February 2020 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderKmart Anko Coffee Grinder
See all answers
Josh

JoshGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Stable

published

I have owned this machine for 8 months. It has its quirks, but it can be used as another review without any problems. I use at least two glasses a day (up to 9 drinks on weekends and hundreds of drinks a day on the family day).

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Product is used Daily
Tim

TimGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great coffee machine for those who enjoy making cafe style coffee. Tastes great too!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kmart for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderJavapresse
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mallo

MalloFar North Queensland, QLD

So far so good.

published

Have had this machine for 10 months and have put through at least 6 cups a day. No issue with reported plastic smell or taste, good hot consistent coffee, haven't used frother as I have a manual version that I use after heating milk in microwave for a minute. Coffee I use is the Woolworths home brand rainforest alliance beans and I grind them using the $30 anko mini blender. Only issue so far is if beans are fresh ground after opening pack they are oily and fine grind blocks mesh in shot holder stopping water flow, the remedy seems to be open packet and put in freezer overnight then grind, also storing unused beans in freezer.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
GrinderAnko Mini Blender
See all answers
Tom

TomMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job- a little clumsy - but expected for the price

published

It is a budget manual coffee machine. Does everything that it should, maybe not as well as the higher price items. Coffee is a little thin for me. I don't believe the 15 psi pressure is at the coffee head and extraction is not the best, if you want a thicker/stronger espresso.

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderKmart Anko Coffee Grinder
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great to wake up to

published

Nothing like an authentic hot exspresso coffee in the morning ..!! Great value for money compared to other way more expensive Brands...looks trendy and you can show off to your guests!...
Probably the most used item in the kitchen ba the fridge..Love it,simple to use. and makes you look like a pro Barrista !!

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart for A$82.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Holly Wood

Holly WoodSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

So far .... great value

published

The reviews were divided but because no-one had issues with returning "unsatisfactory" machines, I thought it was worth a try. Yes it is cheap looking plastic but it's kinda cute and you aren't driving it around the kitchen. Makes a consistently good cup of hot coffee. No plastic taste at all though I did run a vinegar water "wash" several times before first use. Will it last and be easy to descale? We will see.

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

Faulty brand new

published

Got it straight out the box, wont turn on. Tried multiple power sources, checked everything i can. What a waste of time. The plastic is quite flimsy and I don't know if i said this, it wont turn on, the useless piece of s

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Rarely
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Alcx R.

Alcx R.asked

Can I replace the anko one with a 51mm portafilter? What would be compatible?

No answers
Bobby

Bobbyasked

The water green water temp indicator keeps going off after about 3-4 seconds of putting water through the coffee. It cannot seem to maintain heat any longer. We do not suffer from scale here, that I know of.
Heating element / sensor failure???

2 answers
Dave
Dave

Mine has always done the same during the draw and it causes no issues. Green means it has reached the target heat and stops heating. Monitor the actual temp gauge. Depending on how cold your reservoir water is, the sensor will react as soon as the water moves outside of the (very small) draw target range and start heating again. 100’s of coffees later and it still gives perfect crema. hth

Bobby
Bobby

It only started doing this in last day or so. Previously it held temp all the way through the shot. Now the last 2/3 is lukewarm.

Michael B.

Michael B.asked

Hi there. Does anyone know how to descale the machine? The user manual says to refer to the de-scaler instructions but the de-scaler says to refer to the user manual!! Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

1 answer
Shira L.
Shira L.

Gosh when you get an answer, I'd love to know. How to get the gunk out of the bottom of the tank?

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.