??!
8 photos
Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine

Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine

3.3 from 50 reviews

See the Best Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

(21)
(6)
(4)
(3)
(16)
  • Consistency
    4.0 (20)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (28)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (28)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (26)
  • Product is used:
    • Daily (18)
    • Several times a week (6)
    • Rarely (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (3)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.1 (15)


Tom

TomMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Does the job- a little clumsy - but expected for the price

published

It is a budget manual coffee machine. Does everything that it should, maybe not as well as the higher price items. Coffee is a little thin for me. I don't believe the 15 psi pressure is at the coffee head and extraction is not the best, if you want a thicker/stronger espresso.

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderKmart Anko Coffee Grinder
See all answers

Andrew

AndrewMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great to wake up to

published

Nothing like an authentic hot exspresso coffee in the morning ..!! Great value for money compared to other way more expensive Brands...looks trendy and you can show off to your guests!...
Probably the most used item in the kitchen ba the fridge..Love it,simple to use. and makes you look like a pro Barrista !!

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart for $82.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
Holly Wood

Holly WoodSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

So far .... great value

published

The reviews were divided but because no-one had issues with returning "unsatisfactory" machines, I thought it was worth a try. Yes it is cheap looking plastic but it's kinda cute and you aren't driving it around the kitchen. Makes a consistently good cup of hot coffee. No plastic taste at all though I did run a vinegar water "wash" several times before first use. Will it last and be easy to descale? We will see.

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Faulty brand new

published

Got it straight out the box, wont turn on. Tried multiple power sources, checked everything i can. What a waste of time. The plastic is quite flimsy and I don't know if i said this, it wont turn on, the useless piece of s

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Consistency
Product is used: Rarely
See all answers

DJY

DJYVictoria

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good price

published

The price is great and it works as well as any other , don't let the price make you think it is not up to making a decent coffee cause you would be wrong. This little unit looks great and works well.

Purchased at Wodonga.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Marcia

MarciaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great replacement

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Read to see how I got rid of that plastic taste! Great coffee machine!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers

Josie Anna

Josie AnnaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

I have a burnt plastic one batch one!

published

The coffee machine itself is awesome and works perfectly. I used to be a barista and I can say that I was very happy with it. Problem is that I got one of the ones which makes everything taste of burnt plastic. Even just the steam wand makes the milk taste of burnt plastic!! So disappointed. The burnt plastic taste actually gets worse the more you try to "flush" it. I got mine in late August 2019 in Victoria. So if you think they had fixed the burnt plastic batch, like me, unfortunately, they are still out there.

Purchased in August 2019.

Peppermint Breeze

Peppermint BreezeGreat Southern, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A compact, very inexpensive machine that produces a good coffee at home.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 38 reviews
  • 2 likes

Even miss 12 can use it

published

Great buy.
My husband loves a "real coffee"
In the morning but the price of some of those machines was just scary.
Not to mention the thought of spending then possibly end up not using.
We purchased this from our local kmart
And have not looked back.
So simple to make a great coffee
And you can purchased coffee grinders that match also a great buy
Easy to clean and looks great.

So simple our miss 12 even enjoys making dad a coffee.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderKmart
See all answers

MDS

MDS

  • 2 reviews

Great Value

published

After reading a couple of reviews about the burnt plastic taste it was the first thing I checked. My machine was fine so I suggest that was a batch issue. It’s a budget price and as expected mainly plastic. But it makes good coffee. Excellent value

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Garryg63

Garryg63Hunter Region, NSW

Wonderful!

published

If you love the taste of plastic with your morning mug then you need this machine! All expense had been spared to bring you one of the most pathetic machines available to the modern world. Choice gives a good wrap I think it's good crap. You get what you pay for. If in doubt smell inside the water container before buying. Then sit down for five minutes till you get your composure back, you'll see what I mean. Kmart returned no questions asked.

Purchased in April 2019 at Maitland for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Rarely
GrinderBodum Bistro Electric Blade Grinder 11160-01UK (Black)
See all answers

indifferent coffee addic

indifferent coffee addicGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Burnt plastic

published

I like the look. I did several flushes and can't get the burnt plastic smell to go. In fact you can taste it in the coffee after. Totally returning it.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

John M.

John M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Foul burning plastic smell taste that won't go away

published

As per some of the other reviews the coffee has a strong burning plastic smell that does not go away despite numerous flushing. Not due why done reviews font mention this perhaps there is a bad Bach???. Will seek a refund. Bought this to replace my old Sunbeam Piccolo that is similar price. Coffee is much better out if the Piccolo so will go back to that.

Purchased in June 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
paully2012

paully2012Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent budget machine. Better than I thought.

published

The cremer is great, fast heat up. The milk frother takes time to get used too. I blocked the air in pinhole on the frother so I could froth better. The steam wand is a little short but works fine. Can heat milk for one cup in around 40 seconds. Better than my last expensive one. For $89 its a bargain.

5th of June 2019 Update: Excellent value. Great Coffee
This machine is an absolute winner. Makes beautiful coffee. Excellent crema every time. Steam wand takes a little to get used to but works great. This little machine is a bargain for $89. Would buy two just to keep another as they are great budget machines.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Online Store for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
Nav

NavGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love it

published

It is cheap to buy and worth to have it. I just love it. I would definitely recommend for someone who love coffee but don’t want to spend much money.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Several times a week
GrinderSunbeam Burr Grinder EM0430
See all answers

EngineerMJ

EngineerMJAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bad plastic taste despite repeated flushes - returned.

published

This machine is in my opinion not fit for human use. Followed the instructions to flush out the unit on first set up. Despite this the plastic smell was really strong in the water / steam. Repeated flushes made little or no difference. If you lift the water reservoir lid and sniff the plastic smell remained very strong. Tried really hard to like this but in the end gave up and returned it as the plastic taste/smell was horrible and not getting any better.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

veidt

veidtGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Kmart has done it again!

published

I bought this coffee machine a few weeks back and it has been providing excellent and consistent results ever since. The machine is easy to use and makes excellent espresso with a rich crema on top. It comes with a plastic tamper, which I recommend you to replace it with a metal one.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


sarah s

sarah sNambour

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap and effective coffee machine

published

We've had our Kmart coffee machine for 6 months now. It's easy to use, coffee tastes great, easy to clean. It does take a bit to warm up, so I turn on the milk steamer when I turn it on. Setup instructions tell you to wash through the product before use, so use the hot water option and use all the water from the tank...if you haven't done this it maybe contributed to others reviews on a plastic taste.

I always heat up the milk before the coffee. Great little inexpensive machine.

All my visitors enjoyed coffee from this machine and never complained on taste, have all actually complimented and couldn't believe the machine comes from kmart.

Its very safe, so if you forget to turn it off it will turn itself off.

Purchased in November 2018 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

D P.

D P.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Avoid! Plastic smell and taste that won’t go away

published

This machine has a serious problem as I’ve also encountered the plastic smell and taste with the coffees out of this machine. I thought it was something I was not doing wrong but I followed the instructions to the letter and as this isn’t my first manual machine there is something clearly wrong with it. It’s being returned today. Don’t believe the hype and Choice reviews about it, just avoid!!

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Product is used: Daily

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Evita B.

Evita B.asked

Just wanna get a metal tamper what size should I buy

1 answer
Andrew
Andrew

Hi Evita...I use the bottom of the measuring spoon as instructed so just measure the bottom of that for your size..cheers Andy


Dools

Doolsasked

Have had the machine for several months without any problems. Coffee tastes fine but now I am unable to froth the milk. It steams but the cold full cream milk ends up watery, not the silky texture with froth as previously acheived plus it takes much longer to reach the desired temperature. And yes, I wait for the steam ready light to go on before I froth the milk. ? Time for a refund ?

No answers

Nicole M.

Nicole M.asked

Just bought a machine today. It’s not pumping water through. I’ve removed the blue tape on the bottom of the water container and when I press the button underneath water come out, but when I attach the water tank and turn the machine on I am not getting any water. Double checked under the holding fixture and it doesn’t appear to have any tape covering it. Any ideas if I’ve missed anything?
Cheers

1 answer

you have to wait like 1 min or so if its first time use as water hasnt run through it before so takes awhile for it to work out the pipes etc.... i thought i broke it the first time i turned it on because of this


Get an answer from our members and Kmart representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.