??!
8 photos
Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine

Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine

3.2 from 46 reviews

See the Best Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Kmart Espresso Coffee Machine In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
6
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
15

DJY

DJYVictoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good price

published

The price is great and it works as well as any other , don't let the price make you think it is not up to making a decent coffee cause you would be wrong. This little unit looks great and works well.

Purchased at Wodonga.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Marcia

MarciaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great replacement

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Read to see how I got rid of that plastic taste! Great coffee machine!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers
Josie Anna

Josie AnnaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

I have a burnt plastic one batch one!

published

The coffee machine itself is awesome and works perfectly. I used to be a barista and I can say that I was very happy with it. Problem is that I got one of the ones which makes everything taste of burnt plastic. Even just the steam wand makes the milk taste of burnt plastic!! So disappointed. The burnt plastic taste actually gets worse the more you try to "flush" it. I got mine in late August 2019 in Victoria. So if you think they had fixed the burnt plastic batch, like me, unfortunately, they are still out there.

Purchased in August 2019.


Peppermint Breeze

Peppermint BreezeGreat Southern, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A compact, very inexpensive machine that produces a good coffee at home.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 36 reviews
  • 14 likes

Even miss 12 can use it

published

Great buy.
My husband loves a "real coffee"
In the morning but the price of some of those machines was just scary.
Not to mention the thought of spending then possibly end up not using.
We purchased this from our local kmart
And have not looked back.
So simple to make a great coffee
And you can purchased coffee grinders that match also a great buy
Easy to clean and looks great.

So simple our miss 12 even enjoys making dad a coffee.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderKmart
See all answers

MDS

MDS

  • 2 reviews

Great Value

published

After reading a couple of reviews about the burnt plastic taste it was the first thing I checked. My machine was fine so I suggest that was a batch issue. It’s a budget price and as expected mainly plastic. But it makes good coffee. Excellent value

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Garryg63

Garryg63Hunter Region, NSW

Wonderful!

published

If you love the taste of plastic with your morning mug then you need this machine! All expense had been spared to bring you one of the most pathetic machines available to the modern world. Choice gives a good wrap I think it's good crap. You get what you pay for. If in doubt smell inside the water container before buying. Then sit down for five minutes till you get your composure back, you'll see what I mean. Kmart returned no questions asked.

Purchased in April 2019 at Maitland for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Rarely
GrinderBodum Bistro Electric Blade Grinder 11160-01UK (Black)
See all answers
indifferent coffee addic

indifferent coffee addicGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Burnt plastic

published

I like the look. I did several flushes and can't get the burnt plastic smell to go. In fact you can taste it in the coffee after. Totally returning it.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
John M.

John M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Foul burning plastic smell taste that won't go away

published

As per some of the other reviews the coffee has a strong burning plastic smell that does not go away despite numerous flushing. Not due why done reviews font mention this perhaps there is a bad Bach???. Will seek a refund. Bought this to replace my old Sunbeam Piccolo that is similar price. Coffee is much better out if the Piccolo so will go back to that.

Purchased in June 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

paully2012

paully2012Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent budget machine. Better than I thought.

published

The cremer is great, fast heat up. The milk frother takes time to get used too. I blocked the air in pinhole on the frother so I could froth better. The steam wand is a little short but works fine. Can heat milk for one cup in around 40 seconds. Better than my last expensive one. For $89 its a bargain.

5th of June 2019 Update: Excellent value. Great Coffee
This machine is an absolute winner. Makes beautiful coffee. Excellent crema every time. Steam wand takes a little to get used to but works great. This little machine is a bargain for $89. Would buy two just to keep another as they are great budget machines.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Online Store for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Nav

NavGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love it

published

It is cheap to buy and worth to have it. I just love it. I would definitely recommend for someone who love coffee but don’t want to spend much money.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Several times a week
GrinderSunbeam Burr Grinder EM0430
See all answers

EngineerMJ

EngineerMJAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bad plastic taste despite repeated flushes - returned.

published

This machine is in my opinion not fit for human use. Followed the instructions to flush out the unit on first set up. Despite this the plastic smell was really strong in the water / steam. Repeated flushes made little or no difference. If you lift the water reservoir lid and sniff the plastic smell remained very strong. Tried really hard to like this but in the end gave up and returned it as the plastic taste/smell was horrible and not getting any better.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

veidt

veidtGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Kmart has done it again!

published

I bought this coffee machine a few weeks back and it has been providing excellent and consistent results ever since. The machine is easy to use and makes excellent espresso with a rich crema on top. It comes with a plastic tamper, which I recommend you to replace it with a metal one.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

sarah s

sarah sNambour

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap and effective coffee machine

published

We've had our Kmart coffee machine for 6 months now. It's easy to use, coffee tastes great, easy to clean. It does take a bit to warm up, so I turn on the milk steamer when I turn it on. Setup instructions tell you to wash through the product before use, so use the hot water option and use all the water from the tank...if you haven't done this it maybe contributed to others reviews on a plastic taste.

I always heat up the milk before the coffee. Great little inexpensive machine.

All my visitors enjoyed coffee from this machine and never complained on taste, have all actually complimented and couldn't believe the machine comes from kmart.

Its very safe, so if you forget to turn it off it will turn itself off.

Purchased in November 2018 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
D P.

D P.

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Avoid! Plastic smell and taste that won’t go away

published

This machine has a serious problem as I’ve also encountered the plastic smell and taste with the coffees out of this machine. I thought it was something I was not doing wrong but I followed the instructions to the letter and as this isn’t my first manual machine there is something clearly wrong with it. It’s being returned today. Don’t believe the hype and Choice reviews about it, just avoid!!

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Product is used: Daily

Awful plastic taste

published

Coffee has a plastic taste to it. At first I thought its just because the machine is new but now after 8 attempts on different days I give up. The plastic taste wont go away. Plastic taste is not quite as bad as b4 though still its an awful drink. Unfortunately for me I read so many good reviews about it online that I threw the receipt away the day I bought the machine. So now I am stuck with a machine that is no use to me.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Ant

AntMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Coffee Tastes of rubber plastic

published

At first I thought it was just me but clearly I am not the only one coffee tasted of rubber / plastic Was disgusting have returned to store For a refund

Purchased in April 2019.


Choice says ‘Best’

published

‘Choice’ says ‘best’ on their review. Scored 70% compared to deLonghi La Specialista 65%. Judges said crema colour, thickness, aroma, flavour, mouth-feel ( not heard that phrase much ) and aftertaste. ( heard that a lot )
I have to agree with that review. I find the machine lives up to expectation. Mind you I am using a top brand coffee and am doing the right things. I followed the instructions and am making great coffee.
Worth the money.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Timmy

TimmyIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's not consistent and gets worse

published

I had one for 3 months, and slowly the coffee's got worse, I just replaced it with a new one this week, he machine seems to have a problems with pressure, it seems like it's can't provide consistent pressure of standard 9BAR which results in under extracted bad watery sour coffee's. Maybe it's been my bad luck, I don't know, tried different grind's, different coffee's it's all the same problem. First Machine I was using 10gram piece, then that became watery and sour and no creama after 2months, then I used 5gram piece it was working fine for like 3 weeks, then that became watery and sour and no crema. Now the new one, I'll see how it goes the next month.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
See all answers

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Steph B

Steph Basked

Is anyone elses temperature gauge not working? So frustrating

1 answer
Marcia
Marcia

Mine is working fine. Makes hot coffee. You must have a faulty one. Take it back and swap it for another.


Carmel M

Carmel Masked

Does anyone have any problems when using the single shot brewing filter? I get a great crema when I am using the double shot one, but when just using the single shot filter there is never a crema and the espresso splatters all around the cup! It is sitting in the filter holder perfectly.

1 answer
Marcia
Marcia

Cannot help you with that as I have only used the double shot one. Will try the single shot and see what happens.


PamMm

PamMmasked

Hi my kmart coffee machine isn't working, everytime i tried to use it the water keeps on leaking. and the coffee won't come out. any help?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kmart representatives

Details

CategoryManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $89.00
Pump Pressure15 bar
Input Power1,100 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
Water Tank Capacity1.2 L
Colour / Finish Black
Milk FrotherSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNone

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.