??!

Reviews

3.5

33 reviews
5
(13)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (21)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (21)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (21)
  • Internal Layout
    3.8 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Mark

MarkPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Doors Slam Shut

published

Water and Ice in front door were main reason for purchase. Freezer space is great too. Doors Are heavy and slam closed through despite fridge being level. Also dents very easy. Wouldn’t buy again.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$2,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Rach

RachCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

So disappointed in LG - promotional cashback not honoured!!!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$3,975.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers

Elegantly well designed and spacious.

published

The most striking feature with this four door is that both the top and bottom sections are full length spaces without any dividing panels as with two door refrigerators. So even when one opens say the right hand door one can access items from the entire lengths of the shelves.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 708L French Door compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JoyL

JoyL

  • 8 reviews

Functional and stylish

published

While the door-in-door design may seem unnecessary, we find it fantastic as it allows easy access to those most used items such as milk, margarine and spreads without having to access the whole fridge and therefore allowing cold air to escape. It’s a great energy efficient design.
The fridge and freezer area are roomy. My only negative is that the freezer drawers are not very wide so if you freeze large containers, it can be tricky.
We love the cold water and ice dispenser.

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Jarryd Chapman

Jarryd ChapmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great fridge

published

This fridge is perfect for our family of 4. It maintains temperature well, has ice (cubes or crushed) at the ready as well as cold water. It’s a great size for all those foods that the kids need at the ready. The seperate door for quick access to drinks makes this fridge a stand out.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$3,240.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Les

LesThe Mallee, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great two door unit with ice dispenser

published

We brought the fridge in October 2018 and it has not missed a beat. It is the charcoal matt grey model and looks especially smart. It keeps perfect temperature in both the fridge and freezer compartments and we have never lost any vegetables or fruit as all compartments work especially well together. The separate door in the fridge area with the knock light is easy to use and takes a bit of getting used to but easy enough. We especially like the ice and water dispenser. We have used them for parties etc.. and have never run out of ice or crushed ice. The fridge is now 18 months old and we are extremely happy with the purchase. Would recommend to anyone considering purchasing a two door fridge with plumbed water connection.

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$4,196.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lee

LeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great fridge but dents very easily

published

Great fridge had it for 2 weeks but disappointed we already have dents it’s in an open space. Our last stainless steel fridge we had for 13 years in same position and didn’t get a dent till last couple of years clearly the materials are very poor as we have no idea how it has become dented in such a short time

Purchased in March 2020 for A$2,860.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

Faulty Fridge

published

I purchased the french door fridge late last year however it was delivered and installed just prior to Christmas 2019. The fruit and vegetable drawers were creating ice and freezing all my produce from the beginning. Tried some simple trouble shooting steps which didn’t work so I decided to call LG. They sent someone around a week later and advised it was a manufacturer fault which needed a part to repair the fridge. When I called them back and requested a replacement fridge as this should not have happened to a brand new fridge. They refused, considering the amount you pay for this item I would not expect a fault from day 1. Very disappointed would not buy an LG product again.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$2,800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers

Cheap quality skins on fridge with a huge price tag

published

The main problem is the rust and discolouration of the fridge doors. A $4800.00 fridge that looks like it comes from the dump. No help from LG at all because it is a cosmetic fault. They were/are not interested in the slightest. We have had function faults (ice/water dispenser) rectified after an almost endless process. We will never buy another LG product on the strength of the horrid attitude in this instance. Their True Colours have shone brightly. We would not recommend LG to anyone.

Purchased in April 2016 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 708L French Door compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tammy

TammyWheatbelt, WA

Don’t buy this fridge if you live in the country.

published

Wish we had never brought this fridge and unfortunately we have three on the farm for our three families. It freezes the vegetables in the crisper so we are having to throw out vegetables all the time. Sadly this is a known problem with this fridge which we were not aware of when we purchased. LG have been giving us the run around for months and I was even told that by them that I should not have brought a fridge if there was no service centre nearby. There is a repairman 70 kms away but not a registered LG repairman. To take 3 fringes back to Perth to have repaired would be a nightmare. I have had enough and am in the process of contacting consumer affairs. Will never purchase anything LG again.

MargO

MargOMid North Coast, NSW

Looks great, that's it!

published

First 4 months we lost so much fresh fruit and veg as it kept freezing in the crisper. Followed 3 lots of instructions from LG before they finally agreed to call repairman - found out it is a common problem and fixed by installing an extra part. Thought storage would be great, but sadly its terrible. Shelving inflexible, cannot store a tall bottle of sauce let alone a wine bottle unless you push back the retractable shelf. Crisper drawers only extend half way out so very awkward and limiting to use. Left door way too heavy, hard to open and it bangs closed heavily. Freezer drawers do not offer great access either. All in all, extremely disappointed and definitely would not recommend.

Purchased in September 2019 at Appliances Online for A$2,800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
MargO
MargO

The offer of a refund would be greatly appreciated.

Ehsan H

Ehsan HGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Great product!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Billy Guyatts for A$2,748.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Laura

LauraGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great Fridge, Plugged it in and it works.

published

Purchased in October 2019 for A$3,298.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers

Avoid at all costs

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 6 person(s)
See all answers
SeepK

SeepKSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great fridge! Complaint free!

published

I love this fridge. It's got a very convenient, well thought of design. I absolutely love the 'extra space' compartments and love the retractable shelf which is very convenient when you have tall carafes to store.

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys Online store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 708L French Door compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil

PhilLeichhardt

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Crisper drawers freeze food

published

Reading reviews on this and other sites, there seems to be a common problem with this fridge.

Sadly any fruit and vegetables freeze in the “Big Fresh Zone” drawers and a week after turning the fridge on, there is a frost build up behind these drawers.

LG denied that there’s a common problem, but they are sending a technician, so let’s see.

Purchased in February 2019 at Appliances Online.

Jan Day

Jan DaySouth East Queensland, QLD

4 door French Refrigerator section Freezes soft foods at the highest temperature setting

published

LG Fridge GFL708PL. At the highest 6 degree setting soft foods in the crispers and main sections of the fridge on both sides freeze so we're throwing out most fruit/vegetables even after buying special mats to improve airflow in the vegetable crispers. Eggs also freeze inside a special container we bought (the fridge doesn't have a spot for eggs). This thermostat fault appears to be common to this design. Waiting for a service call back in hope of a solution. The left side door also lams shut which is annoying and risks damage to contents, which other reviewers also note. Avoid this one.

1 comment
Jan Day
Jan Day

update: it took 2 service calls to fix the fault with a replacement part that took weeks during which time s lot of food was spoiled.

NikkiB

NikkiBGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

The perfect fridge freezer

published

I totally love the design of this fridge freezer it is the most practical fridge I've ever had, it just works perfectly for us. Things are clearly visible so nothing gets left at the back turning furry! Love the door in door to for just grabbing a drink. Its also a very good looking fridge. Ice dispenser is very neat and compact so not taking up a large chunk of the fridge or freezer
As mentioned by others is does run cold, but I have it on the highest setting and salad is now cold not frozen. For me I couldn't be happier

Purchased in June 2019 at Stan Cash for A$3,466.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Danni

DanniGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love our new fridge! Stylish and functional!

published

We have been using our new fridge for 5 weeks now. We love it. The door in door feature is really handy for our family of 7 and I can only assume the energy bill will also show a decrease as we're not having to open the full fridge completely to get to those regular use items like milk, juice, margarine and sauces etc. It was really easy to hook up to the water connection and the ice maker made our first lot of ice an hour or so after being turned on which we were amazed by. We've had no ice clogs and absolutely no problems with this fridge. It looks fantastic in our new kitchen.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$3,900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 7 person(s)
See all answers
Peter C

Peter CSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Underwhelming and not what I expected from LG

published
  • +1

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kevin Peet

Kevin Peetasked

708L French Door

Hi LG representatives.
We closely looked at at a similar Samsung fridge but love the look of the GF-L708PL with the in door ice maker that leaves the shelf space larger as opposed to the Samsung that has shelf space taken up by this.
We are about to buy it but with all the reviews that we have just read about the fruit & veg draws freezing food & the door alignment issues we are now thinking that we will go with the Samsung.
Is there a later model that has rectified these faults? OR are you guys about to launch a new model that we should wait for?
We don't like the door in door feature in another version that we saw but apparently the black Stainless steel finish that we like is only available in this door in door model. Is this right?
Regards Kevin & Jenny
Please email back on kevin.peet@holcim.com. Thanks

No answers
Jaime G.

Jaime G.asked

708L French Door

Our LG GF-L708PL has bubbled skin and rust forming near the dispenser on LH door. It is less than 2 years old. I think this is poor quality materials issue. Should |I go straight to Consumer Affairs or try and talk to LG 1st?

1 answer
Clive L.
Clive L.

Our refrigerator bought this year came with a two year warranty on the product with a ten year warranty on the compressor. Get in touch with LG immediately. Consumer Affairs would expect you to do this before contacting them.

Rita R.

Rita R.asked

GF-V708BSL (Black Stainless Steel)

I have this fridge for almost a week already as a replacement of Samsung 725L 3doors. But I dislike the left door where it felt heavy and slam shut. Receiving the link to align the door from the LG chat representative and it still not working. The door slam shut is loud to me. I don’t have the problem with my other fridge. Could anyone please let me know how did you rectify the problem. Very much appreciate for your all input.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.