6 photos
LG NeoChef MS2596
3.9 from 110 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by LG

Pros

  • Effective heating

  • Good value for money

  • Attractive design

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (44)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (44)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (44)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (44)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (43)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Zoe
ZoeMelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Caught fire

published

This model is a lemon. I bought one a few years ago and it started sending out sparks from the panel after a year of use. Had it repaired under warranty but the same thing happened a few months later. Replaced it with the same model and the same thing started happening again after about 8 months. It was replaced again with a third unit which, after about a year, sent sparks from the panel again and this time caught fire.

Gave up, bought a Westinghouse. So far no fires.

Purchased in January 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
NoAnswer
NoAnswer
  • 2 reviews

Low buzzing sound when turned on, brief high pitched sound when just starting.

published

Plug it in and check while at the store. Took me multiple calls to get LG and their service centre technician to admit that there's a fault and fix it. They're not saying what it is, but I think it could be the magnetron, which is the most important part that heats the food! That's why there's 8 years warranty on that part!

Purchased in April 2021 at Harvey Norman for $188.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Chris
ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible Microwave and Terrible service by LG

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Harvey Norman for $231.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS2596 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill
BillMelbourne
  • 46 reviews
  • 31 likes

Pretty good but a few idyosycracies

published

Purchased to replace a 6 year old Panasonic. So far it works well but there are a few things that annoy. 1. The music. Turn it off by holding down power and keep warm buttons. 2. the feet are slippery and need rubber pads. 3. The front door shows lots of fingerprints as you push on the door to start. Heating is strong and even. No probs after a month of daily use.

Purchased in May 2021 at Harvey Norman Online for $219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
AndrewW
AndrewW
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lg. Neo micowave

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Goodguys for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
AndrewW
AndrewW

Hi LG team thank you for the information regards the finish tune.. I think i will leave it as it is though..
As its impossible to not hear when the microwave has finished cooking which is not really a bad thing..

kind regards Andrew W

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Mr Neutron
Mr NeutronDarwin, NT
  • 2 reviews

I own an LG washing machine and fridge/freezer but this microwave just doesn't cut the mustard

published

It worked well for a few months, but then the controls inside the door stopped working so I had to disconnect the power each time to get them back again. One day it started up on its own while I was sitting close by! Another time it seemed to be cycling through displaying different numbers and playing random sounds. Now finally after 9 months it has thrown in the towel and refuses to cook at all, it goes through all the motions of cooking but the food doesn't get hot. I shall be returning it to the retailer tomorrow for something more reliable.

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hifi Home for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Electro58
Electro58Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lasted 3 years

published

Bought it on the basis it was an inverter with a reputation for even defrosting - it is and was, until it stopped working after 3 years. The advertised 10 year warranty is rubbish due to semantics when we followed it up, and after buying a Panasonic to replace it, in comparison it’s like a Datsun. pay the extra $100 and do your self a favour.

Purchased in January 2018 for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
gayle wilson
gayle wilsonSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

This microwave ticked all my boxes, using it does not!

published

I bought this on Friday as it was on sale at Myer (JB HiFi matched the price). I paid $175.00.
Love the look, hidden buttons and easy to clean glass door plus bright light. No more beeps, instead a lovely musical sound. The door opens and closes quietly. Perfect size to fit my Ikea dinner plates. I favoured this microwave because of the warranty.

Manual is terrible and lacking recipes. I tested the rice preset. OMG 27 minutes to cook 200g of rice? Of course I did not use the built in cooking menu and instead 10 minutes on high using boiling water gave perfect jasmine rice. I can only assume all the other presets will be useless.

Tested popcorn in a paper bag and papadams, both cooked well.

Purchased in March 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $175.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
John Citizen
John CitizenSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crap product does not heat up or defrost

published

We bought this product from Appliances Online last month (November 2020) and it started showing faults from middle of December. The issues we had are a) the microwave does not heat the food evenly. Some parts of the food will be cold and other parts quite hot b) Does not defrost and parts of food are still cold.

Purchased in November 2020 at Appliances Online for $269.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS2596 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wanted to love it, but it’s not a good unit

published

We’ve been plagued with nothing but problems on this microwave, I wanted to use it fully. Within in the first couple of months the turn table glass chipped significantly, got that replaced, sent it back for repairs after it sparked, so fault could be found, but it continues to spark randomly, the convection smokes to the point it can’t be used and I’m concerned that it will catch on fire. The glass turntable has chipped again! All this is good for is heating food, we paid a lot of money for a system that can only reheat!

It’s a shame as I loved the idea of this microwave. Not happy Jan!

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
BRB2020
BRB2020Southwest, VIC

Glass door exploded

published

Purchased in November 2020 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Sonson
Sonson
  • 2 reviews

Don’t waste your money

published

This microwave works well and cooks evenly but within 12 months the inside rusts and LG will not cover under warranty stating it’s due to poor maintenance despite my last Sharp microwave lasting 20 years without any problems and we have always been careful to dry the microwave after use. I have been using microwaves in the kitchen for nearly 40 years but never had one that rusted like this.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Mooey
Mooey
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great but it leaks!

published

I loved this microwave, it's got style and swagger but mine is a leaky beast. I don't know why but on occasion it leaks fluid out the back and I cannot find where it's coming from. The interior isn't steamed up when it happens, I haven't overloaded it or cooked/defrosted anything requiring full on mega power, it has plenty of space around it and is the only thing sitting on this part of the bench. I can't for the life of me work out what's happening and haven't experienced this with a microwave before. I would have attempted taking it back to the store but I live 2 hours from town so it's not a quick trip. Have just put up with it but wish I could figure out why it does this.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $218.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Steve R
Steve RSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Looks great, but a wet disappointment

published

My machine is just over 12 months old so I have experience.

Negative feedback - Doesn’t ventilate properly leaving oven walls wet (e.g baked potato). Had other brand ovens before in same location and never had this problem. Plus it has an annoying tune that comes on randomly during a cycle.

Positive feedback - Looks great and functions are useful (eg baked potato). Reminder tunes when cycle are over remind you to get your items out - annoying you until you do it.

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for $199.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
LG
LG A.LG
Steve R
Steve R

Can your products team come back to me and tell me why the machine does the random tune coming on during the cycle and what it's steaming up? I recall seeing people talking about the the random tune.

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

So happy with brand new microwave..cannot fault it

published

I love this microwave. Firstly so much quieter than my old one. Bright internal light. Very cheery little tune instead of incessant beeping. Great programs. Love the melt, soften and prove functions. Keen to try the prove for my next batch of home made bread. Looks fantastic. Nice and small but still suitable for family of four. Extremely happy with purchase.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $225.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS2596 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Rhema T.
Rhema T.asked
NeoChef MS2596OB (Black)

How do you roast chicken an vegetables in it?!?!?

No answers
Prizm
Prizmasked
NeoChef MS2596

Hi, does the clock keep accurate time? Or does it start getting slower/faster over the months?

1 answer
Xan
Xan

clock usually depends on grid frequency to keep time on these microwave units. I think aus has pretty good frequency management as far as I am aware.

John K
John Kasked
NeoChef MS2596

I bought my MS2596 26/12/2017 had few issues other than working out how to use different features. Have rarely used it to cook anything for more than 15 minutes on high mostly reheat. Noticed about 12 months ago that food would not heat as much on second heat application like a 5 minute application then the 2nd 5min heat application was noticeably lower in temp. Last night my 6 minute frozen meal was still very cold in centre after the cooking cycle what could be the problem because this machine has had little use. Thanks...John K

No answers
See all LG NeoChef MS2596 questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG NeoChef MS2596

Details

Features

  • There are 8 Reheat cooking modes for these types of food and drinks: Beverage, Casserole, Dinner plate, Muffin, Pie, Pizza, Rice and Soup.
  • 8 ‘Popular Menu’ options enable the one-touch cooking of: bacon, casserole, fresh vegetables, frozen vegetables, frozen meat pies, jacket potatoes, rice/pasta and risotto.
  • There are 3 Melt menus for butter, cheese and chocolate, and 3 Soften modes for butter, cream cheese and ice cream.
  • A Proofing mode is designed for making yoghurt more easily.
  • A Smart Inverter system from LG distributes heat evenly, to cook food evenly and thoroughly, without hot spots.
  • This microwave is operated using glass touch buttons, which include a Quick start button and a Child safety lock.
  • 10 power levels range from 100W to 1, 000W.
  • The stainless steel option is $299, which is pricier than the black or white finish colour options, which are both $263.

Points of praise

  • According to reviewers, food is heated up evenly and effectively in this microwave.
  • Easy to use and clean, this NeoChef microwave earned points when it came to user friendliness.
  • Despite its small 25L size, it fit more food than expected according to reviewers, including those with 4-person families.
  • A sleek, streamlined design caught the eye of many a homeowner, who appreciated the elegant aesthetic.
  • A catchy tune at the end to signal the end of the cooking time, which one reviewer described as being similar to a Nintendo.
Compare all 3 LG NeoChef MS2596
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $229.00$229.00$269.00
Type ConventionalConventionalConventional
FeaturesChild Safety LockChild Safety LockChild Safety Lock
Capacity25L25L25L
Dimensions 272 x 362 x 470 mm272 x 470 x 362 mm272 x 362 x 470 mm
Turntable Diameter292 mm292 mm292 mm
Door MechanismTouchTouchTouch
Power1,000 W1,000 W1,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteBlackStainless Steel
Compare all 3 LG NeoChef MS2596

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.