??!

Reviews

4.4

2,201 reviews
5
(1,656)
4
(239)
3
(73)
2
(60)
1
(173)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (748)
  • Transparency
    4.6 (644)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (742)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (86%) · No (14%)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
  • MATE
  • Verified customer

Great service have had no problems

published

The connection is very reliable and I have not experienced any drop outs or problems with my connection. No I have had no issues so far with service and therefore the company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Peter Bourke

Peter BourkePerth, WA

Great value and easy connection!

published

Connection has been excellent, no downtime as yet. Phone calls made to MATE for extra questions I had, were responded to in a friendly and comprehensive manner.
Help with setting up my modem was done eagerly and professionally.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateMay 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Graham

GrahamSouth East Queensland, QLD

PROMPT COMPREHENSIVE SERVICE

published

Clear, easily understood guidance during installation phase, and friendly personalised support (including quick response times) as we came to understand how the system worked. To date, a highly reliable connection with no drop-outs.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMay 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how MATE compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark M

Mark MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Pretty good

published

Been using these guys while I was on ADSL. Found the customer service and ease of connection with them to be very good.

Switched over to NBN recently - decided on 25Mbps as I live alone and thought I'd try that. Free upgrade from the 12Mbps plan. Bundled with my phone as well I am actually $10p/month better off.

Can't say I have found better pricing elsewhere either.

No reason to complain so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

The best NBN provider

published

The best NBN provider. Once join you will never leave them. Uninterrupted reliable steady speed and excellent customer service. With the 25/5, I am getting around 22/4. Thank you mate for providing the best ever service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
RC3062

RC3062

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent so far

published

I have gone from overpriced Telstra to Mate and haven't looked back. Change over from previous ISP was quick and now I have good Australian customer service, reliable connection, excellent speed and unlimited downloads etc.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Edward

EdwardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great support

published

I love the fact that the team are mates here in Australia and not outsourced to overseas i.e. India or Philippines. You get better support when the team understands where you are coming from (Australia). [Bring those call centres back to Australia]
By bundling my mobile with my internet I got $10 discount. That is a good mate relationship.
No setup fees and min charge like others i.e. TGP. As they say "not contracts between mates". Join and pay month by month. Such a good service I got my brother and my neighbour connected too.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Matt

MattPerth, WA

Seamless

published

Transitioned from the same speed plan on Telstra seamlessly and without effort. No loss in speed and no connection issues to date.
Email updates along the way to confirm status of order and connection.
Bundled 2 mobiles and NBN for the same price as was paying previously just for NBN...who could complain about that MATE!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateMay 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Larry L.

Larry L.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • MATE
  • Verified customer

Mate provides efficient service and competitive price.

published

I changed from an ISP I wasn't happy with. The switch to Mate went smoothly and their communication was informative and fast. When I needed technical help, it was reassuring to know I was speaking to a techie in Australia. I have only been a customer for one month, but so far, I'm very happy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how MATE compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Singh Ji

Singh JiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great UX

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Unwana Johnson

Unwana JohnsonHobart, TAS

Good internet service

published

Connection is stable most of the time but could drop in extreme weather conditions. Works well and is fast enough for connecting all the devices in my house. Thank you

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Simon D.

Simon D.South East Queensland, QLD

Best customer service talk to people from Australia for a change not overseas call centers

published

Connection has been consistent holding at above 90 mbs on a 100 mbs plan even on the peak times, Never had any dropouts, Tech support never keep you waiting long and are very helpful

Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Best Internet Service Provider

published

Very satisfied with them.
Been connected for over 1.5 years and just had dropouts only once or twice, called and the staff were very helpful to get the internet back up.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Nathan M.

Nathan M.South East Queensland, QLD

Great Price! Service that works! :D

published

Have not had any dropouts and the service is a fantastic price, I bundled with the Mobile to save the $10 on my NBN, Gaming works fine, Netflix all the streaming services work without any issues best part 100Mbit :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateMay 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Toni_Ravi

Toni_RaviGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews

Other companies could learn from Mate!!

published

Great company to deal with! Very efficient and reliable service, Technician arrived exactly when scheduled, written communication explained process very well. Seamless transition and with problems. Great communication... a refreshing change from most other providers!! Highly recommend, I am stoked with my decision to change provider. All communication is via SMS and email, need to be confident with technology as no human contact. I will never leave this company if this device level is maintained! Happy customer!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Toni,
Thanks for leaving this review!
We will keep it up.

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how MATE compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lyn

LynWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • MATE
  • Verified customer

Brilliant internet and customer service is second to none.

published

I chose NBN fixed wireless plan and reside in rural area. NBN appointment promptly booked and technicians notified could do it 3 days earlier than booked which was wonderful as modem had been delivered in a surprisingly short time and ready to go. Connection is best I've even had, consistently fast even at peak times. The company is an absolute pleasure to deal with and I highly recommend anyone considering using MATE service will not be dissappointed. Cheap reliable service with excellent customer consideration and service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMay 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
trevor vernon

trevor vernon

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic connection/ easy setup/ fantastic customer service.

published

These guys at mate are so attentive to their customers.
I cant believe how smooth the whole transition was.
The set up at my end was so simple, and it worked within 15 minutes.
I even had an email welcoming me as a new customer/ client.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
fransjindo999

fransjindo999Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best Provider!!

published

Have had Mate nbn soul mates plan for a month now. Had a small issue with the Modem and called up tech support which were very helpful and professional and fixed the problem in under 20 minutes. Speeds are constant (even though the plan says 100/20 I am getting 100/40) could not recommend a better provider and you can get 10 dollars off your nbn if you bundle mobile plans. Thank You Mate!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Shane H.

Shane H.

  • 2 reviews

Existing customer back to my M8

published

NBN technician connected Thursday 25/06 Monday 29/6 thanks M8 for activating my service .Support tech emails phone calls appreciated for all your efforts . TP Link Router so far no issues .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Andrew G

Andrew GMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Just a Vocus reseller

published

Unfortunately, Mate just resell a bad product offered by Vocus. I'm lucky to get 1/2 my line speed during off-peak, and peak times are even worse. The worst are International speeds, which drop to 2-4Mbps during the evening. It's nice to have good Aussie support, but that's the only positive I can think of.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Page 1 of 111

Questions & Answers

Donna

Donnaasked

MATE

Hi, I see heaps of great reviews for the Mate customer service and support. Just wondering how many of these customers used the Mate modem, and how many used a BYO?? I am considering using my existing Netgear Nighthawk AC1900, or is it easier to get the pre configured modem??

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Donna,

It is easier to get our preconfigured modem as you do not have to configure it, however, our support team can help you configure your BYO modem over the phone, so we can certainly help!

Regards,

The MATE team

Ensabaanur

Ensabaanurasked

MATE

I was given Google Wifi from a family member. I have FTTP. Will this work without a modem? How do I connect to your network upon signing up?

3 answers
His Worship
His Worship

I don't think so, but here is a link to a decent review:
https://www.whistleout.com.au/Broadband/Reviews/google-wifi-review

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Ensabaanur.

For an FTTP connection you are able to use a Google WiFi router, you will need to put your PPPoE details into the router to authenticate the service.

We suggest calling your support team if you require assistance.

Regards

The MATE Team

Ensabaanur
Ensabaanur

Thank you

Jayz L.

Jayz L.asked

MATE

Why some people(reviewers) get 40mb upload on the soulmate plan. actually it should be 20mb isn’t it?

I’m just asking because I’m gonna sign up and if I can get 40mb like them it would be awesome.

2 answers
Teddybearhugz
Teddybearhugz

When you go to sign up the question you should ask is, what is the typical/average speed in my area. The offer you choose will have the maximum speed eg. 40mb, Mate has several packs to choose from and depends on what is available as to what you could pick from. They're not pushy sales people and are very polite. Do research, ask others what their average speed is with people in your suburb.

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Jayz L,

Some customers may be on our older 100/40 plan which is not $79 per month.

The 100/20 plan is definitely 20Mbps upload.

Regards,

The MATE team

Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(387)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(337)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,042)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(372)
DCSI

DCSI

4.5
(50)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(55)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.