7 photos
Mazda 2 DE

Mazda 2 DE (2007-2014)

4.3 from 86 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
  • Features
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Jacqui
JacquiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it

published

I love my Mazda. She is zippy, low maintenance and economical. I have had her nearly four years, get her serviced yearly and never any issues. Fantastic purchase, I will get another. Highly recommended.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sam U.
Sam U.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Not in the quality expected

published

Got one with just over 100k on the clock but having difficulties with power steering and seatbelt pre tention sensor. These kind of issues are not expected with a reputable japanese manufacturer and repair cost would be more than 2000$ atleast. Never buy Mazda again :( Going back for Toyota.

Purchased in August 2019 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Lyna
LynaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 6 reviews

Love my baby Mazda 2

published

Bought this baby brand new in 2010 at Mazda Dealer Edwardstown and I still love it. It's an economical little hatch that takes me to A to Z everyday, and has plenty of room to store groceries. I can fold down the chairs to give it more room when needed. Needless to say it's been reliable I haven't had any issues with it breaking down on the road.

Purchased in June 2010.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DE compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeffro
Jeffro
  • 2 reviews

Good economical small car

published

We drive our little Mazda 2 everyday and have found it to be very easy to drive and fuel efficient.We have only owned this car for 4 months but it has been very reliable and fun to drive.It also has no problem carrying 4-5 people

Purchased in January 2019 at Melbourne's Cheapest Cars for $8.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Michelle
MichelleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love my Mazda 2!

published

I have had my Mazda 2 for 5 years and I love it.
I bought it brand new and have never had any issues with it.
It is the right size and would definitely recommend it to anyone, as it is reliable and has enough space.
I also find that the dealerships around Adelaide are good to deal with.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
T T
T TMurrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Perfect zippy little car.

published

This is my first car (bought second hand) and I absolutely love it. It can store a surprising amount of things, and has a large boot space for a small hatchback. I have never had any issues with this vehicle, it is very reliable and has been on a number of large road trips. It costs about $50 to fill up and goes a long way with it. Despite being two doors, there is still ample leg space for backseat passengers.

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Glenn
GlennVIC, 3072
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice little niffy car

published

Got this as a second car for my wife to learn driving. The drive and handling is pretty good, and the car corners well. Easy to park in city and tight spaces and is pretty niffy car overall. However, petrol consumption is rather high at around 9 - 10L /100km, perhaps due to age coming to 10 years old.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
audible
audiblePerth, WA
  • 29 reviews
  • 14 likes

Needs constant repairs.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
audible
audible
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jlang
JlangRockingham
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

love this car

published

This is a great little car. It drives really well. It is a manual and the gear change is great and smooth. The small issue is only from 1st to 2nd gear where it is a bit tougher. It is small so it is easy to park. The fuel consumption is good as we can fill a tank on $40.00 (dependant on fuel price on the day) I would recommend this car. It is the second mazda we have bought. (Bought a mazda 3 also). It is safe and reliable.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DE compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jess B
Jess B
  • 5 reviews

The perfect first car or city living car!

published

This was my first ever car and it was honestly a dream - its so easy to drive and I always feel safe and secure. It’s smooth and incredibly cheap on fuel which is wonderful for a uni student! The interior is beautiful and super easy to keep tidy! I would definitely recommend.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo Sport
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Melissa C
Melissa CSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great first car.

published

Great fuel efficient car. Makes a great first car but doesn't have a lot of safety features maybe due to the range I got. Its compact so it makes it easy to park and get through narrow spaces. We took this car around New Zealand and it saved us to much money on petrol. Leg room is a bit right at the back but what can you expect from a hatch back right? Running cost is quite reasonable, average service cost at Mazda ranges from 200-500 dollars every 6 months/10,000 km

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
J Daniels
J DanielsPerth
  • 4 reviews

Manual Mazda 2010 4 door sedan

published
BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Luke
Luke
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great first car

published

Bought this car a little over 6 months ago and it has been great ever since I purchased it. Have never ahd a problem with it, it is extremely economical on fuel. It is a smaller car so you would not want to have a whole family in it. But it is a great little run about town car,

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
maxwell.l
maxwell.lSydney

Fantastic city runaround, affordable motoring

published
BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Engine Size1.5
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ena
EnaPerth, WA
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda from now on!

published

Love my mazda 2, handles beautifully,looks good,very quiet,very economical to run.
Plenty of legroom,front and rear. Split rear seats so very versatile,huge boot area. plenty of stirage spaces,and unlike most new cars has a cigarette lighter..even non smokers need to plug some things in,has fascility to charge smart phone/computer. Love the steering wheel,where you can control radio,cruise control etc.
i am now a Mazda convert.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DE compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 6
See all Mazda 2 reviews

Questions & Answers

lesley
lesleyasked
2 DE (2007-2014)

What is DE stand for

No answers
Donna C.
Donna C.asked
2 DE (2007-2014)

how many kilometres can I get out of half tank fuel

No answers
Donna C.
Donna C.asked
2 DE (2007-2014)

how many kilometres can I get from half tank fuel

No answers
See all Mazda 2 DE (2007-2014) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda 2 DE (2007-2014)

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda 2
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $15,790
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power76kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque135Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2007
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Compare all 16 Mazda 2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.