5 photos
Mazda 2 DJ

Mazda 2 DJ (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Mazda 2 DJ 2020 and Mazda 2 DJ 2022. Genki, GT, Maxx, Neo
4.3 from 61 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.7 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (6)
  • Handling
    4.8 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (6)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
Josephine73
Josephine73Western Australia
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Should have stuck with Toyota

published

Car purchased brand new from a dealer in 2015. Has driven beautifully, quite spacious, roomy enough for the family. Good fuel economy. Great car until last week when out of nowhere, the Variable Valve Timer Actuator died. No power to drive above 60km/hr and definitely undriveable. Car has always been serviced by Mazda and just recently serviced a month ago. Mazda will not rectify this new problem, even though the component should last the life of the car. This appears to be a common problem with Mazdas and with Mazda refusing to fix the issue - look on the AAC website. So $3500 out of pocket even though it's only just under 6 years old. I should have bought another Toyota. No problems with that one in 22 years.

Purchased in December 2014 for $23,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Testing386
Testing386Sydney, NSW
  • 26 reviews
  • 9 likes

Super practical hatch!

published

This is the second Mazda 2 hatch we have owned, and our fourth Mazda.

Decided on the GT after experiencing the benefits of the Vision package in our Mazda 3.
Car is a delight to drive and park.

Surprising amount of storage with the second row folded down. I regularly fit a lawn mower and gardening gear when I have to tend my parents' home. Load area is short though - our line trimmer handle sticks out over the centre console.

The only disappointment is that actual fuel consumption has not matched the claimed figure. We are hoping this will improve as the engine loosens up with more kilometers.
Five year warranty and five year roadside assist make Mazda a safe purchase.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Deo Balraj
Deo BalrajPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2 Automatic 2019

published

This vehicle is used mainly to travel to the University on daily basis and for local run arounds. This vehicle is very light on fuel and is only 6 months old and the interior still smells like a new vechile. It is good value for money and has 5 star ANCAP safety rating.

Purchased in November 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DJ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great little car

published

Bought new ex-demo. Commute to work great on fuel although a little noisy and the speedo is over on the actual speed compared to the cruise control. Love the reverse sensors they’re a life saver! Comfy and zippy to drive and looks good. I have the dynamic blue colour and always getting compliments. Bluetooth is annoyingly slow and sometimes crap. Sometimes ding sounds from the passenger floor but apparently nothing wrong with it. Overall no major issues but only had it 2 months so far.

Purchased in November 2019 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Davbarg
DavbargPeel, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Has proved to be a great buy

published

Had the car for 2 years now and could not be happier. Great mileage 6.1 k's per 100 k's average over the 2 years. Comfortable, nippy, great electronics voice activation for phone, navigation, music etc. Cannot say enough about this little beast it is trult phenomenal. Could not be happier.

Purchased in September 2017 at Mandurah Mazda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
jane
janeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Automatic transmission fail.

published

I Bought Mazda 2 neo 2016 in April 2017 as demo car. The car done only 18000 Km and have major problem with transmission.3 weeks ago when I was reversing there was big noice under car. Took car straight to Mazda, was told transmission slipping. They reprogram on the computer transmission. After 2 weeks the same problem. now car can't be drive.Propably they must replace whole gearbox.Manufactures faulty gearbox. I lost trust in Mazda. I don't know if some Mazda 2 owners have similar problem ?

Purchased in April 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
AJB
AJBIllawarra, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Mazda 2 Neo - I love my new Zoom Zoom!

published

After 6 months of using public transport my Husband finally bought me a car. Having owned a Mazda 2 previously I was keen to purchase another and was not disappointed. With added extra's now on the basic Neo model (rear parking sensors, wing mirror retract button and bluetooth) I was very impressed. Also managed to get floor mats thrown in at no extra cost. I bought the manual as it was cheaper.
I use daily for a 20 minute drive to/from work and running errands at weekends. No issues so far, I am very happy with my new car.

Purchased in March 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $15,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Snooky
Snooky
  • 2 reviews

MAZDA 2 RULES!

published

Purchased in September 2015.

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Bec
BecGold coast
  • 2 reviews

Great little car!

published

Buying this car was definitely a great decision. I bought it brand new and have not had a single problem with it for 4 years now.
Great fuel economy. Surprisingly spacious in the back seats. Huge amount of space when you put the back seats down too! I’ve managed to squeeze surfboards, golf clubs and bags in there no problem. A handy little car for all occasions.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mazda

Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DJ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cat
CatAdelaide
  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Attractive little car that does a good job

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGenki
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
1 comment
Cat
Cat
Matt
MattWoolloomooloo Sydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published

Great little car that I have found to be without fault in the 5 months I’ve had it. It is very economical and has all the power you need for a city car. Very easy car to handle with all the driver assistance. Love the Sat Nav which has saved me on numerous occasions.

BodyHatch
BadgeGenki
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Taylor
TaylorSydney
  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love love love my car

published

I use my car to commute to work in sydney. Bought the higher model new so the interior is lovely. Very easy to drive and just a wonderful car. Adding front sensors was really handy. Manual model (my preference) very easy to change gears and great for city driving. Overall very happy with Mazda. Odd issue with the NAV that seems to go funny close to service time!

BodyHatch
BadgeGenki
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Lee
LeePALMERSTON
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2

published

I just received my Mazda 2 Genki Auto on Friday. I love the dashboard and the safety features. The interior looks and feel posh. It also has the visor. My kids love the gadgets. The safety features are fantastic for the price. The fuel consumption is great and the car drives like a dream. Feels very comfortable and handles well. Great value.

BodyHatch
BadgeGenki
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
C.B
C.B
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Problematic but still reliable

published

Cheap to run
Bought brand new from mazda dealer
Was absolutely ripped off in terms of price
Fuel gage constantly taking incorrect readings
Bluetooth system is a piece of rubbish... potential to cause an accident more than using the device itself
Seat belt needed to be replaced as it wouldn’t retract

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
displaynamehere
displaynamehereAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

If you are looking for a well built car.. don't buy a Mazda 2

published
BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DJ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 5
See all Mazda 2 reviews

Questions & Answers

Trevor D.
Trevor D.asked
2 DJ (2014-2021)

Has any1 have a problem of Mazda 2 sky active does not want to shut down and keeps clicking under the bonett

No answers
Tom's c.
Tom's c.asked
2 DJ (2014-2021)

I have a 2018 Mazda 2 Maxx dj. Bought new from dealer. Have some intermittent problems.
Sluggish on take off (lag) intermittent problem.
The other is the auto gears rev up and won't change untill ease off the accelerator or switch to manual then back to auto. The dealer service can't find anything wrong.
Has anyone else had similar issues?

2 answers
Tammy S.
Tammy S.

Yes, I have also had this issue since about 120000km . But mine is now at 160000km only other issue I had was the aircon bearing wearing out at 150000. I’ve had it serviced every 10000km. My car is a 2007 model

Tom's c.
Tom's c.

Tammy.s did you get a fix for the issues I mentioned?

paul a.
paul a.asked
2 DJ (2014-2021)

My friend says her mazda 2 makes a noise when she stops and puts it in park,....Any ideas?

1 answer
Clark Y
Clark Y

I have the same issue with the back brake especially first thing in the morning or when it is parked for many hours. Have sent my 2016 Mazda 2 Sedan to dealer service center and was told that it was a common issue for Mazda 2 since the back brake is drum brake. They cleaned out the brake dust then it would stopped for a while but eventually the squeaking sound returned. I still have no solution for this issue. Very frustrating.

See all Mazda 2 DJ (2014-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda 2 DJ (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda 2
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $21,140$23,140$24,150$22,150
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.9 L/100km5.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 44 L44 L44 L44 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 16 Mazda 2
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.