5 photos
Mazda 2 DY

Mazda 2 DY (2002-2007)

4.5 from 21 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

21 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Neomal Perera
Neomal Perera
  • 2 reviews

Gem of a car

published

Purchased in October 2013 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mike G
Mike G
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

240,000 km and never had a spanner put on the engine.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2005 at Grand Prix Mazda for $17,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Cassie M
Cassie MAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

First car, never had an issue! Dont want to upgrade.

published

I purchased this car when i just got my licence and 7 year later I still dont want to upgrade. I regularly service it and never have issues with it. Fuel economy is great. Only issue im having recently is the clear coat is coming off my paintwork but i guess that is a sign of age for a 14 year old car.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DY compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very impressed.

published

Probably the best small car that I have owned. It handles well, goes really well and costs very little to run. The only complaint is that the radio is difficult to replace with another type. Only in the early 2007 models though. Seats are comfortable and I'm 6ft. Car is quiet, unless you really give it a stir and then the throaty engine sounds great.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
TransmissionManual
James
Jamesmelbourne

Excellent reliability and performance

published
BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1600
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

You can't beat this jewel in his car class. Wife calls it Porsche Demio.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGenki
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
kiwidownunder
kiwidownunderAuckland, NZ
  • 3 reviews

A really nice car to drive.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeDemio
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.3
David
DavidMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Honest reliable practical commuter

published
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
BadgeNeo
BodyHatch
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
The Y-man
The Y-manGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 56 reviews
  • 31 likes

Roomy, reasonable economy, decent handling

published
TransmissionAuto
BadgeNeo
BodyHatch
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DY compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
doesthatmakesense
doesthatmakesenseMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Mazda2 Hatch 2006

published
BodyHatch
1 comment
Martin Buck
Martin BuckWellington, New Zealand

Got too many problems for me

published
Engine Size1340cc
Transmission4 speed auto
BodyHatch
3 comments
Martin Buck
Martin Buck
Martin Buck
Martin Buck
Martin Buck
Martin Buck

Runs like a Swiss watch

published

Have done over 110,000 kms and not a problem. Very roomy back seat, also great load space with seats down and large rear door with low loading lip. I use it mainly around Sydney but have driven to Tamworth and Canberra, and it handles highway speeds comfortably. Very zippy off the mark even with the auto. Economy 7.2l/100km on the highway, just over 8l/100kms around town.
Totally reliable, fun to drive and very roomy
Only complaint is that the small wheels give it a slightly choppy ride on rough surfaces.

Engine Size1.5l
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Michael M
Michael MMELBOURNE
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car and very roomy for its size

published

We've done 60,000km in it with only a couple of issues so far. As others have said interior is very roomy, I'm 6ft tall and is nice and comfortable to drive, we also have a large dog and she can sit up quite happily in the boot.
We've got an auto and it is still quite zippy around town. Feels well built.

We've only had the following issues with it:
- After springs replaced from suspension recall front end now audibly creaks when being compressed on car park ramps, steep driveways etc.
- CD player got stuck and wouldn't eject a CD for about 6mths then one day the CD just came out and all is ok again!
- One of the engine mounts has worn out and needs replacement
Flexible, reliable, practical car

TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
deb.beaton
deb.beaton
  • 5 reviews

Excellent

published

Did a lot of research before buying my Genki. Couldnt have chosen better. Usually travels carrying 3 people and not a problem. Corners & handles incredibly with plenty of get up and go (I have a manual not automatic). Love my Two!!
Everything, great car, great fuel economy, great reliability, and soooo cute

BodyHatch
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
bpmicra
bpmicraMelbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bad

published
BodyHatch
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DY compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Mazda 2 reviews

Questions & Answers

Steve B.
Steve B.asked
2 DY (2002-2007)

I have 2006 Mazda, have had it for years and been running smoothly but yesterday I felt like the car had a hiccup then the AT and engine lights on the dashboard came on. After a minute the AT light was gone but the engine light stayed the whole day. Can anyone please tell me what the issue is? Thank you.

1 answer
fariha j.
fariha j.

I own a mazda2 (2005 genkii), a thoroughly enjoyable, reliable, feul efficient car, but.... had thecsame issue when i first bought it second hand 3 years ago. The engine checklight would turn on intermittently. My very very reliable mechanic (blunder road, durack, brisbane) lifted it up and gave it a thorough once over. He told me the problem wasn't in the engine at all but in the circuitory of the checklight itself. Once he replaced the said offending circuit.... Voila! No more problems. Cost me $270.

Kylie
Kylieasked
2 DY (2002-2007)

Hi I have a blown head gasket and have a mate fixing it for me but hes made the mistake of not marking where the timing chain needs to be and now hes upto putting it all back together but doesn't know where it needs to line up? Can anyone help plz ??

No answers
John
Johnasked
2 DY (2002-2007)

Hi guys 2 questions i have 2006 mazda 2 and i have knocking sensor issue and what viscosity oil is the correct for Melbourne weather conditions cheers

No answers
See all Mazda 2 DY (2002-2007) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda 2 DY (2002-2007)

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda 2
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $16,335
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels14" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power82kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque141Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2002
Discontinuation dateDec 2007
Compare all 16 Mazda 2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.