??!
3 photos
Mazda 3 BL

Mazda 3 BL (2009-2013)

4.1 from 111 reviews

Reviews

(51)
(37)
(11)
(6)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (8)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (7)
  • Handling
    4.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.7 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (8)
  • Features
    4.1 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (8)
Will

Will

  • 2 reviews

Reliable car

published

Have our Mazda 3 Neo automatic for over 8 years with 110k. Mostly city driving but have done between Melbourne to Sydney. Never missed a beat and only replaced consumables. Would recommend.

Purchased in December 2011.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Owner

Owner

  • 2 reviews

Zoom Zoom

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tashii

TashiiSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

My Mazda is Da Bomb!

published

I use my Mazda to get me from A to B on weekends and mu husband uses it for work during the week so it gets a workout! I love my Mazda 3 - it's just the size for me and I live the hatch back style. The boot is a good size and I like the look of the dashboard and the comfy seats. I wish it had built in sat nav but that will have to be my next car! I get it serviced yearly and I only had one very small oil leak issues once in 5 years.

Purchased in July 2015 at Mazda Dealers for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Mazda 3 BL compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ukg

ukgMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Great Car

published

This is a great car to drive. had this for 11 yrs and never missed a pin. I just love this car. A future car will be from Mazda family of sure.

Purchased in June 2010 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Angry cutomer 1000

Angry cutomer 1000Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Amazing little rocket

published

I bought my Mazda second hand. It has never complained and I have had no issues with it. Mazda has always been helpful when needed. Except they will charge you 70 dollars just to open your bonnet so be careful! Overall amazing car and not a bad word to say

Purchased in October 2017 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jeffrey C.

Jeffrey C.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Well built long lasting car

published

Bought a 2nd hand 2011 Mazda 3 BL series in 2014 and has been a reliable and safe car that has minimal issues so far. Car was bought at a bargain price way below market price. Servicing as been much cheaper than our other car the VW golf. Fuel efficiency is also a positive no problems lasting a week on a full tank.

Purchased in June 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Edward

Edward

  • 6 reviews

Enjoyable Car and Very Reliable

published

This car represents an amazing value and has been very reliable. Built quality is amazing with no rattling discernible and handling is very tight. While the engine doesn’t sound desirable and sounds like a lawnmower, you get over that quickly and has enough power for your day to day. The automatic transmission is very silky smooth as well. It should be noted that servicing might be more expensive than competitors as it has 6 month service intervals.

Purchased in April 2019 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Geraldine Calder

Geraldine CalderGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

The ideal car for me. Never had a moments problems

published

I use my car at least every second day, either to do Local shopping, Visiting friends,Travelling to holiday destinations, and for Transport to the local railway station if I want to go into the city. My car is serviced by Mazda Pakenham and they call me when the service is due. First day I got it, it was "keyed" at the shops and on day three it was "keyed" at Caribbean Gardens market. Tends to be a target for rogue shopping trolleys .... but I can't blame the car for that.

Purchased in January 2013 for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment

didn't get the offer because I had no proof of purchase for the 4 reviews I did to qualify. Did not mention that the proof of purchase was required ,,,, the review forms themselve ssaid 'optional'until I had posted the reviews. Really peeved

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ljh

LjhWollongong

  • 3 reviews

Mostly lives up to the hype

published
BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sedans

Find out how Mazda 3 BL compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter Bellmont

Peter BellmontMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Thanks Mazda again

published

Took our 2012 CX5 in for 110,000 service and was informed that there was a warranty item to be attended to. Apparently some vehicles have had the struts on the tailgate weaken, so all cars with the same batch were having the struts replaced at no cost to the customer. Many thanks Mazda once again.

BodySUV
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Pinekin42

Pinekin42Cherrybrook

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent allrounder

published

Excellent car for both city and country driving. Great powerful engine mated to a smooth shifting six speed manual gearbox make it a dream to drive quickly and the 2,5 litre engine makes overtaking a breeze. Handling on twisty roads is excellent as is ride.
The interior is well finished and the seats are very comfortable especially on long trips. The stereo has great sound and the Bluetooth works very well with pairing up of my mobile phone very easy. The satnav screen is too small and the absence of a USB port is noticeable.
Overall the car is a delight to own and drive.

BodySedan
BadgeSP25
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Wendy

Wendy

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Mazda 3 Neo Hatch Back

published

I bought my Mazda 3 Hatch Neo back in 2011 and it was second hand. It is my first car and I absolutely fell in love with it, I have it for about 2.5 years now and it works great! The drive is smooth, fuel consumption, stylish and air con works fantastic.

Though, I think that the price of the vehicle has depreciation a lot since it's first purchase. I bought it at about $18 K but I think the price is now about $15 K range. Overall, I love my car.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Sothereyougo

SothereyougoAustralian Capital Territory

  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes

Looks good, feels good, has some issues

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSP25
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2009
KERR

KERR

  • 4 reviews

SP25 is a great drive

published

Great car with great handling. The gearbox is pretty spot on with finding the right gears, and I love using the flappy paddles. Never had an issue with acceleration or overtaking, even with 4 people in the car! Plenty of power.

Cons: road noise can be mind numbingly bad on some roads at highway speeds. Mine's got the Bose premium stereo but the audio's really average, it's almost a deal breaker for me - It's not loud enough, and it feels like something's missing eg center vocals. The large round knob on the stereo isn't actually the volume control (confusingly). The rearview mirror is too low for me, it gets in the way of my view.

BodyHatch
BadgeSP25
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Leonie Baldry

Leonie Baldry

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I have ever had

published

I bought my Mazda 3 second hand and I feel it's the best car I have had. It is very comfortable to drive so no problem with long trips. Its roomy but not too large and has a good size boot! It holds the road nicely and great on fuel.

BodySedan
BadgeMPS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Sedans

Find out how Mazda 3 BL compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Laurenkate

LaurenkateSunshine Coast

  • 10 reviews

Our 2nd Mazda 3, Can't recommend enough

published

Would highly recommend any Mazda. This is our second Mazda 3 Sport and it still feels like a new car 5 years on, and it still looks really modern and new. We are now thinking of buying a Mazda BT -50 because the quality so high. Would definitely recommend the leather upgrade.

BodySedan
BadgeSP25
Engine SizeNot sure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013
soon2baskinnyminny

soon2baskinnyminny

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Flawless

published

Has not missed a beat.....I have done 150,000 in the past 7 years and I have done all of the services at home and it’s perfect. I’m a single mum and it’s economical and reliable. Just want to upgrade to get the latest mod cons. Will definitely buy one again ☺️

BodySedan
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
kat

kat

  • 2 reviews

Amazin

published

The drive of this car is so smooth, it is so quite and has never missed a beat since 2011
The interior is neat and easy to clean. Clear readings of the petrol in km and is very cheap on petrol. It is around $40-$55 to fill up and is extremely reliable

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011
Grease monkey

Grease monkeyCanberra

  • 8 reviews

Great car except for highway noise

published

Purchased a new mazda 3 BL neo in 2012.
In the 4 years and 120k, the car was faultless. Apart from tyres and services the car required no maintenance.
Downsides are the terrible cabin noise on the highway. On smooth freeway services it isn't a big deal.however on coarse roads it can drive you crazy.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Blake

BlakeWaitara

  • 4 reviews

Simply the best

published

I always wanted to buy Mazda. However, I bought this beast as a second car. Then after, loved this beauty. Fully satisfied. Smooth, good looking and dashing. Never regret buying this model but check all the necessary requirements before hand. For this model, 5 star. Very economical and never had problem upto now.

BodySedan
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Page 1 of 6
See all Mazda 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Anni

Anniasked

What would cause the power steering pump to fail in a one owner 2012 Mazda skyactiv luxury sedan, which has driven less than 19,000 kms. This vehicle has had all appropriate services. The cost of the pump was prohibitively expensive at over $1500 plus labour.

2 answers
oracle
oracle

Hydraulic power steering fluid can leak from worn or damaged hoses and failing seals. When enough fluid is lost, the power steering pump can overheat or wear out prematurely, resulting in a loss of hydraulic pressure and failure of the power steering system.

Anni
Anni

This vehicle was recently serviced and still had the power steering pump failure. I realise it is a 7 year old vehicle but has not done more than 19,000kms. Mazda Australia was not interested though I've read on forums that there has been problems with power steering in the past. We also needed a new battery at over $300 for the I-stop feature, which only ever works if the battery has 100% charge. Then the 80,000 km service. It was a very expensive week all up! Disappointed in Mazda!

Thank you for your answer!

Niknok

Niknokasked

I currently have a 2008 Mazda 3 Neo Sport. Absolutely love my car but after 5 years ( of perfect running) I'm feeling the need for an upgrade. I'm looking at a 2012 Mazda SP25, with leather seats, sunroof etc, all the goodies. Anything I should be looking out forin this model? My current Mazda hasn't skipped a beat, even with lots of k' s put on the clock every year. Cheers

No answers
Sarah B

Sarah Basked

I have a 2011 Mazda 3 NEO, currently 110,000km. For about the past 2 years, the engine light has been almost constantly on. I have it serviced as required, & 2 different mechanics have checked it. The first one checked it and said probably just a malfunction. The second one did a diagnostic test, & said it was something to do with oxygen concentration (I think?) . He said to stop using E10 fuel - it is rubbish & has possibly worn something out in the engine. He suggested I use premium 98 fuel, or at least 95.
I've done that for the last 8-9 months, & the engine light remains on. I taking it back tomomrrow for its next 10,000 service & I'm worried he might do the dodgy mechanic thing, & tell me something really expensive needs to be replaced - which as an non-mechanically minded female I will be none the wiser for.

Could anyone please tell me what questions I should ask before just accepting what is told to me - or could tell me possible reasons the engine light won't go off?

3 answers
niko87
niko87

I would NOT be driving a car with the engine light on for a day let alone for months! If the mechanics are unable to diagnose the problem then they are not good mechanics. Take it to a Mazda dealer they might charge you more but they can at least find what it is - and fuel quality will never fix anything you are wasting your money on premium fuel.

niceguy42
niceguy42

I also have the same problem on my 2010 Mazda Neo. The engine warning light first came on in Dec 2018. I took it to a reputable motor mechanic in Jan 2019 for a diagnostic test and found the 2 oxygen sensors needs to be replaced for a total cost of $600. However, after driving out from mechanic the engine light came back on. They rechecked the sensors and did another diagnostic test and found no issues. He then asked me what fuel do I use, which was E10. He told me this maybe the problem and asked me to refuel the tank with premium 98 from either Shell or BP for about 5 times and then come back to reset the engine light to see if that is what is causing it.

Sarah B
Sarah B

Hi, thanks for the responses. When I took it in for the next service, I was advised it was the oxygen sensors - that they needed to be replaced, and if the engine light turned back on again, I had much bigger and more expensive problems. I paid for the oxygen sensors to be replaced (I think it was around $500) and they turned the engine light off. They also said no more E10 - I had to continue using the better fuel. Within a day of the service, the light came back on. I was very frustrated and thinking I was in for the big expensive fix. However a few days after that, it engine light turned off again, and has remained off ever since - almost six months now. No further issues with the car - very happy about that.

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.