??!
3 photos
Mazda 323

Mazda 323 (1998-2002)

4.4 from 34 reviews

Reviews

(19)
(12)
(1)
(2)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)


Eric S.

Eric S.

  • 3 reviews

GREAT LITTLE CAR

published

It is a great little car, it requires no maintenance other than normal stuff such as tyres, brake pads etc. I liked that it was zippy, responsive, with power when you need it. I bought the car in its early life about 88k and sold it at 220k due to an accident. Never replaced the timing belt, I wasn't going to do it at all. Never. Ever. Had. Any. Issues. Whatsoever. There are two things I disliked: the NVH levels were too high (Mazda, c'mon, you can do heaps better than that) and the high revs: 3k at 100km/h. Too much. It definitely needed a sixth gear back then. Low fuel consumption, reliable Japanese engineering, great little car overall.

Purchased in October 2007 for $7,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great car

published

Had it for 3 years put 75k on it bush bashed it raced it crashed it and fixed it
This car is unkillable it has to be one of the best little cars on the market for the price you pay
Wouldn't get anything else crap fifty words is hard to make up

BadgeAstina
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
sarkis

sarkis

  • 2 reviews

perfect

published

bought my car second hand has lasted me a long time. although, i did recently have a head gasket problem, however it was an easy fix due to a good family mechanic and well manufactured motor. this car runs so smooth and will last you years. has done well over 260 000 kms and i have never regretted it. good on fuel, and can be a pocket rocket if you want it to be

BadgeAstina
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
skipy123

skipy123

  • 2 reviews

Great car!

published

It is a great car, can't fault it with anything. I changed nothing on it, never let me down. Fuel economy is OK, but it could be done heaps better. Noisy, very noisy, and high revs. Mazda should improve on NVH and fuel economy. A sixth gear would have been a must back then. I strongly recommend Mazda to copy some top European cars past models.

BadgeProtege
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2007

Miss Capricorn

Miss CapricornMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 15 likes

Well worth the money.

published

Bought my car in 2002, brand new and she’s still going strong. Little bit heavy on the juice, but still in really good Condition. Services don’t cost anything like the new models. Electrics still work fine, only had to replace the CD unit. Will consider only upgrading next year for safety reasons.

BadgeProtege Limited Edition
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2002

Haydos

HaydosCanberra

  • 4 reviews

Good cheap run around

published

This car is an excellent cheap run around. I've neever had any mechanical issues with it. The stereo was really hard to get out however when I replaced it. Its super cheap to run. I'm not sure if its a common issue but mu bonnet wouldn't close properly unfortunately. Get one.

BadgeProtege
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

cavv

cavvAU

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable Daily Driver

published
BadgeProtege
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2004

Micemeat

MicemeatHobart, TAS

  • 24 reviews

Zoom Zoom Zoom

published

Great little car!
Amazing economy.
Performance- Build quality - quite luxurious for a 1.6 sedan. Ride comfort is really good. Appearance - solid, nice, great, eye-candy.

Great little commuter or for long travels, hasn't missed a beat the whole to me owning her.

Due for a service now, but still running strong!

Pros: Looks
Cons: Noise

BadgeProtege Shades
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Dee

DeeAU

  • 3 reviews

Great family car

published

The driving experience of this car is great it's not noisey and feels quiet smooth to drive, it's spacious and comfortable for long drives. It's cheap to run and fix it hasn't let me down so far and as mine is manual and I'm learning to drive manual I find it an easy car to learn to drive manual in

BodySedan
BadgeAstina
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Great reliable car

published

The car is reliable, I have a 2003 model, it's the 1.8 litre it's ok on fuel I get like 400kms to a tank, that's all city driving though, get much better mileage on the highway. It had 88,000kms when I bought it, now it's got 140,000kms. Nothing's gone wrong with it, costs me about $170 every 10,000kms to get it checked over and change filters flush engine etc. I would get Mazda again for sure

BadgeProtege Shades
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Manu

ManuVictoria

GREAT CAR! WITH ENOUGH FEATURES AND SPACE

published

I bought 2001 model for $2400 with 170000 kms on it nd now it is 208000 kms. After a year i spent $500 on rear shockers and timing belt and now it is running great. With 17 inch tyres and exhaust it is still Very fuel efficient and easy to maintain. i am going to sell it now but i dont want to sell it.

BadgeAstina
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Mazda astina 323 2002

published

Only purchased this car in 2016 and had less then 86,000 very reliable good value for money I only spent $4,000 from privet seller only bad problem I had with it was the transmission would make a weird sound but got that fixed and still runs till this day and doesn't cost to much to service

BadgeAstina
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Mazzda

MazzdaSydney

Good reliable car

published
BadgeProtege
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic

Jack

JackReservoir, Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not the perfect car but close.

published

I bought my 2001 Protogue last year with 40 thousand on the odo which was a bargain.
Overall, it's a fantastic little car which fills up on $40 but the only issue was no AUX port, I know 2001 is a few years ago but that long ago?

BadgeProtege
cm1991

cm1991Newcastle

Great car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeAstina

Great reliable town car and packhorse

published

Cheap to run, easy to park. Only thing that broke in 124000 km was a light bulb. Last service I got timing belt replaced (original one still looked perfect), brakes done (original pads, yes, original pads were finally near the end of their life!). At 124500km I had to replace the clutch. I had a VT Commodore for four years also and it cost three times as much to maintain as my 1.8L Astina did for 10 years plus. I will not be selling it anytime soon. It's still a great little car.
Room for tall people both front and back, reliability, economy and versatility

BadgeAstina

jimbo_80

jimbo_80

  • 19 reviews
  • 20 likes

A joy to own

published

I bought mine brand new and never had a problem in 9 years. It was the last 323 before they brought out the Mazda 3. It was silver with standard alloy wheels and looked like a much more expensive car than it was.

Interior was classy, comfortable and roomy, and the rear seats fold flat. Performance very good for a small car, very easy to drive and park. Very fuel efficient. Serviced regularly and never had any problems.
Very reliable, comfortable, fuel efficient
No ABS

BadgeAstina

mac

macAU

  • 20 reviews
  • 18 likes

Could not fault for the first 100,000 then all downhill

published
BadgeProtege

Reliable, lovely little car

published
BadgeProtege

Remorseful

RemorsefulWEST MELBOURNE

Oh my little YOGI

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeProtege Shades

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Peter G.

Peter G.asked

front and bsck tyre pressures

No answers

Chrissy

Chrissyasked

I want to replace the engine in my 1.6L 1999 KN Lxi Ford Laser (Mazda 323) with a 1.6L 2001 KQ Lxi Ford Laser. Both 4 door sedans with 5 speed manual transmission. My brother is coming down to swap the motors over, but hasn't done a fuel injected motor before. What does he need to know when replacing the motor on a fuel injected car, in comparison to a motor that doesn't have fuel injection? He has replaced many motors that weren't fuel injected.

1 answer
Miss Capricorn
Miss Capricorn

You would need to speak to a mechanic in order to have this question answered.


Tal

Talasked

Battery light on any common causes?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.