??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-5 KF

Mazda CX-5 KF (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Mazda CX-5 KF 2019 and Mazda CX-5 KF 2021. Akera, Maxx, Maxx Sport, etc...
4.4 from 65 reviews

Reviews

(43)
(12)
(4)
(2)
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (18)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (15)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (18)
  • Handling
    4.8 (16)
  • Braking
    4.8 (17)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (17)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (17)
  • Features
    4.7 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (17)
brarboyz

brarboyzPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews

Love it

published

Best car I ever had. Value of money. 7 litres urban. All sensor working great. Comfortable ride. 5 years warranty, 4 yrs free service. High quality material , feel luxurious. Best in this segment

Purchased in December 2018 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mr SS

Mr SS

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic car, navigation system is poor

published

Purchased in December 2017 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mazda is NOT good

Mazda is NOT goodGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My real experience with Mazda Australia and Penfold Burwood after getting my CX-5 - 4 days with engine issue

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $49,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
teag

teagNorth ryde

  • 11 reviews

Perfect upgrade from our Mazda 6

published

We have owned a Mazda 6 for 18 years and its always been very reliable. We purchased a Mazda CX-5 for an upgrade and are very happy with it.

Great value for money and all the features youd expect in a modern car.

No issues

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Frank Hope Valley SA

Frank Hope Valley SAMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Best car ever!

published

The Mazda CX5 is the best car we have ever bought. We bought it from Paradise Motors SA in October 2019. After considering many other medium SUVs, the CX5 confirms all the positive reviews we read months before making our decision. We chose "soul red" colour and had the MotorOne Protektiv Car Care product included. Often people remark on the quality of the paintwork (eg very shiny) and are impressed (as we are) on the general appearance of the car. It's the 4th Mazda vehicle we've had, including 3 new ones from Paradise Motors who are simply the best as far as service is concerned - we won't go anywhere else!

Purchased in October 2019 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
esp

espMelbourne

  • 34 reviews

Zoom zoom!

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $29,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Comfy but noisy

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Dwyer's mazda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wiesiek

Wiesieksydney

  • 7 reviews

10 K review

published
J and T Smith

J and T SmithSouth West, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

In love with my car!

published

I have had my Mazda CX-5 for just over 12 months and have never looked back! It is so comfortable to be in and drive. The technology is user friendly and has so many features to assist you such as the navigation and even the average fuel consumption. It is driven each day for commuting to work, the gym and around town. I have had my CX-5 serviced once and the customer service I received was wonderful, very friendly and informative throughout the entire experience.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark Francis

Mark FrancisSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

CX5 Akira 2018-I love this car

published

I have had my Cx5 2.5l petrol Akira for 16 months and it has been awesome.
It is my daily drive around Sydney and for trips to the Snowy and Blue mountains.
Smooth to drive, safe, comfortable, functional, stylish, good for towing my trailer.
The servicing dept of Mazda has been terrific.
I have friends with more expensive makes of cars who have driven my CX5 and have admitted it is better than their cars costing $30,000 more.
I just got back from a country trip and was getting 7.5l per 100km.
Great Job Mazda.

Purchased in May 2018 at Brookvale Mazda, Sydney, Australia for $47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Twerpy

TwerpyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Diesel engine issues

published

Engine oil level too high problem still exists in 2019 build.

The fix for this problem and advised during purchase for the above no longer existing has appeared at 3000 km mark and 5mths Vehicle mainly city driving with a couple of highway 3 hour journeys.

Beware

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rola Rahal

Rola RahalSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Great Car

published

I purchased the Mazda CX5 and I love it. It's a wonderful car, it has a lot of safety tech and they all work perfectly well. This is the first time I own a Mazda and have had no problems with it at all. My next car will certainly be a Mazda.

Purchased in October 2018 at Mazda Dealers for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Masum Billah

Masum BillahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews

One of the best car I've ever had

published

I love my mazda cx5. It's fun and soo comfortable to drive since I got the diesel one. Very good on the freeway and hilly areas, drives effortlessly. Looks very sleek and elegant. Can't fault a thing. Hopefully it will keep going like now for numbers of years.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fun to drive car

published

I have a Mazda CX 5 and i usually do 70 Km per day. Very happy with the overall performance of the car. Mileage is 9.2 per 100kms with 91 octane fuel. Could have been a bit better. Otherwise I enjoy driving this car. Interior is very posh and I love the BOSE music system. No wonder CX5 is the trending SUV in the Australian car market for years.

Purchased in November 2018 at Brighton Mazda for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew V

Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Multiple Safety System Malfunction Messages on Hot Sunny Days

published

Good car but having ongoing problems with multiple safety system malfunction messages.
Cloth seats are comfortable & ride is compliant.
Petrol 2.5L motor is powerful but lacks a bit in low down torque.

Purchased in February 2019 at Penrith Mazda Centre.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bigman

BigmanHunter Region, NSW

Brilliant car

published

have purchased a December 2018 GT 2.5 petrol... only had for a short period... truly a superb car.. all the upgraded safety tech.. apple car play..radar cruise...head up display works a treat absolute pleasure to drive.. have had Mazda’s before and ran without any trouble.. will do another review down track...

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
fshao

fshaoRyde

  • 4 reviews

Product works greatly for me

published
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
Bill

BillLake Macquarie

CX5 Diesel _ Great car to drive but doubts over diesel engine reliability.

published

Have owned a CX5 GT Diesel for 3 years and it has been a pleasure to drive until recently. I do a long highway commute to work each day, which is why I purchased the diesel (longevity and fuel economy). Everything was fine until recently when the car started to experience loss of power and high engine temperatures (light flashed up on dash). I have it booked into the dealer to be checked, but now that I have done a bit of research it seems the diesel engine has issues with heating and blowing head gaskets, not a good issue to have for a car driven long distances in the Aussie summer. The rest of the car is to the usual Mazda quality standard, but it seems the diesel engine may have a design flaw.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveAWD
Tom

TomMelbourne

$500 to retrofit android auto / apple carplay on 2 month old car - Ridiculous!

published

After receiving my brand new Mazda CX-5 GT only 2 months ago i'm now being asked to pay an additional $500 to retrofit android auto/ apple carplay unit which now comes standard on the CX-5. You'd think for people that have recently purchased a CX-5 (ie, in the last 6 months) that they would as a courtesy offer to upgrade the entertainment unit for free or at the very least a subsided price.

Very disappointing as i was expecting more from Mazda.

Will I buy a Mazda again? Hmmm, not so sure now.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Buyer beware

published

Beware! When driving in rainy conditions you can’t bloody see out the windscreen. The angle of the windscreen holds the water even when you have the highest speed working. It’s a new car with new windscreen wipers.
After owning lots of cars this is far the worst.
Absolute nightmare to drive in the wet. Death trap
Love to hear from other owners if they experienced the same problem

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Page 1 of 4

See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

CX-5 KF Maxx Sport FWD, 2.0L Petrol (2015-2020)

can I use any type of grade petrol in my 2 litre CX 5 Mazda

No answers
Gillian B.

Gillian B.asked

CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L Diesel (2017-2020)

Is the Mazda warranty for 3 or 5 years?

No answers
Gillian B.

Gillian B.asked

I have a 2017 cx5 KF series is the Mazda warranty 3 or 5 years ?

1 answer
Mr SS
Mr SS

Mine is 3 years, looks at your documents, ask your dealer.

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.