??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-5 KF Akera

Mazda CX-5 KF Akera (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Mazda CX-5 KF Akera 2019 and Mazda CX-5 KF Akera 2021. AWD, 2.5L Petrol, AWD, 2.2L Diesel, AWD, 2.5L Turbo Petrol
4.3 from 15 reviews

Reviews

(10)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (5)
  • Handling
    4.8 (4)
  • Braking
    4.8 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (4)
  • Features
    5.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (4)
Mazda is NOT good

Mazda is NOT goodGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My real experience with Mazda Australia and Penfold Burwood after getting my CX-5 - 4 days with engine issue

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $49,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Wiesiek

Wiesieksydney

  • 7 reviews

10 K review

published
Mark Francis

Mark FrancisSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

CX5 Akira 2018-I love this car

published

I have had my Cx5 2.5l petrol Akira for 16 months and it has been awesome.
It is my daily drive around Sydney and for trips to the Snowy and Blue mountains.
Smooth to drive, safe, comfortable, functional, stylish, good for towing my trailer.
The servicing dept of Mazda has been terrific.
I have friends with more expensive makes of cars who have driven my CX5 and have admitted it is better than their cars costing $30,000 more.
I just got back from a country trip and was getting 7.5l per 100km.
Great Job Mazda.

Purchased in May 2018 at Brookvale Mazda, Sydney, Australia for $47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF Akera compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Twerpy

TwerpyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Diesel engine issues

published

Engine oil level too high problem still exists in 2019 build.

The fix for this problem and advised during purchase for the above no longer existing has appeared at 3000 km mark and 5mths Vehicle mainly city driving with a couple of highway 3 hour journeys.

Beware

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mike B 2012

Mike B 2012Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Mazda’s CX-5 Akera is a pleasure to drive and maintain...

published

The best SUV i have bought yet. Its been over 6 months, runs like a breeze...comfortable and smooth ride, easy steering control, enough power for city drive and perfect grunt with turbo on long drives, love the package with all features in the top model, interior is sleek and non-plastic so feels quieter and excellent electronics. The only drawback, it does not have a Traffic update system in the Nav, needs to connect to internet via phone hotspot before it gives you that feature. And that's unlike many other car makes which connect with Suna Traffic via Radio. Barring that short-coming i absolutely love my CX-5 and strongly recommend people to test drive one as its easy and very silent to ride in n drive.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Allen

AllenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Top in it's category!

published

Mazda has done an excellent job with it's second generation CX-5. Everything has been updated top to bottom. Upgrading from 2014 model to this has given me the chance to compare the two generations and feel the difference throughout.
It is in fact a new car. CX-5 was a brilliant car but the 2nd generation is almost a premium CUV with same price tag. The Akera badge can be compared with Audi or BMW mid range CUVs.
Interior and exterior details are well thought out and the material used specifically on the interior is really good.
I absolutely love the car and enjoy it everytime I drive it.

Purchased in March 2018 for $48,600.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Blake1

Blake1Sydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews

Lexus cross shop

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Tamsta

TamstaVictoria

  • 26 reviews

Great tweeks made to SUV

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Dazrox

DazroxPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

Hard to fault

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF Akera compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maggie3029

Maggie3029Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 43 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing vehicle absolutely love it.

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mum

MumNewcastle

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Mazda cx5

published

Absolutely wonderful car love the auto open/Close boot button, smooth running and quite engine too many safety features to name all side assist cameras, car proximity warning keyless operation and happy with boot illumination lights Newcastle Mazda were a joy to deal with and were helpful with purchase and when delivering vehicle.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Jill

Jilladelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda CX-5 Akera Diesel

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Kilgore Trout

Kilgore TroutSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very nice

published

Comfortable ride - good acceleration - spacious boot- interior a bit too much plastic and plastic chrome - comfy seats - good vision - sun roof creates wind noise when open but maybe that happens with all sun rooves as I have never had one before. Audio system ok but not intuitive

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Ali

Ali

  • 5 reviews

Mazda CX-5 Akera Next Gen 2017 Auto AWD Petrol it just might be the best mid sized SUV around.

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Pankaj

PankajMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best mid size SUV

published

Excellent pricing and equipment levels
Strong standard safety suite
Upmarket feeling cabin with quality materials
Better for storage than ever before
Great handling
All-wheel-drive powertrain a plus
Lacking the latest in-car connectivity – Apple CarPlay and Android Auto
Excruciatingly slow USB charge points up front
MZD Connect can be glitchy
The steering is one of the things that gives the Mazda its unique feel on the road: it is quick and accurate at speed, and while it can weight up a little oddly at times – when you’re braking from speed and turning into an intersection, for example – it is generally very well sorted, and light enough at parking speeds to make easy work of those situations.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF Akera compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Gillian B.

Gillian B.asked

CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L Diesel (2017-2020)

Is the Mazda warranty for 3 or 5 years?

No answers
D from Lindfield

D from Lindfieldasked

CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L Diesel (2017-2020)

Has Mazda solved its diesel engine issues In the 2019 Mazda CX5?
For those complaining about the engine how much highway driving do you do?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.