??!
1 photo
Medibank Pet Insurance
2.1 from 338 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.2 (81)
  • Transparency
    2.2 (75)
  • Customer Service
    2.4 (82)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (17)
    • 1-2 weeks (17)
    • 2-4 weeks (12)
    • 1-2 months (6)
    • 3+ months (9)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (42) · No (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jann Bunker

Jann Bunker

  • 2 reviews

Jindi-Jo

published

I thought the policy was quite good value, however when I made the claim for a new condition I was asked to provide a full clinical history of my cat. This seems to be an unnecessary imposition.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets4 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Jindi-Jo, thanks for your review and feedback. We are always working to improve our services, so your comments are greatly appreciated. If there is anything we can help you with, please reach out via DM. Thanks, Jade

chrissie2640

chrissie2640Murray Region, NSW

WORST PET INSURANCE EVER

published

I put in a simple , one off claim for one of my Cats , of less than $300 .
All information was provided and The Vet sent their Report.
Medibank Pet Insurance kept asking for more and more information and there was no other information to give .
I kept ringing them and it was like talking to a broken record .
They finally paid it .
The stress on me was enormous because it was so frustrating.
I have now cancelled my Pet Insurance and will NEVER take out Pet Insurance again , as I cannot go through the stress of making a claim ever again

Total waste of money, for what you get back , and not worth the enormous stress it placed on me .
I will be putting money into the Bank instead .

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets4 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Chrissie, I’m really sorry to read of your experience with your Pet insurance policy. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to lodge your feedback. If there is anything we can help you with, please let us know. - Jade

Renzo A.

Renzo A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

not much value

published

I've been paying insurance permiums for 7 years now and had no ability to make any claims due to all their exclusions. I'm going to cancel my insurance as I find no value in keeping it. I'm better off saving my premium money and paying for medical expenses as they arise.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Renzo, I’m sorry to hear you haven’t been finding value in your policy. If there is anything we can help you with, please let us know. - Jade

Pet Insurance

Find out how Medibank Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not recommend!!

published

Do not recommend. Difficult to deal with. Slow to reimburse claims and require multiple follow up phone calls. Significant premium price increases, most recently by one third. Only positive is that it is easy to submit a claim through the portal.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2021
See all answers
4 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Faye, I'm sorry to hear you've had to follow-up multiple times on your claims. If there is anything we can help you with, please feel free to reach out here, via a private message, and we would be happy to assist. Kindly, Jade

Faye
Faye

Is it private if I reply here? If not please contact me at faye.rada@hotmail.com

Faye
Faye

For those reading, I have not been further contacted by Medibank. I attempted to call them again today and was hung up on. Customer service and care is non-existent. I repeat - do not purchase this insurance policy.

Chrissy

ChrissySouth East Queensland, QLD

Two many exemptions

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
2 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Chrissy
Chrissy

I will phone tomorrow as I spoke to my vet yesterday who advised me there is a claim that was treated all as dental care but parts of it was not dental. I did not get reimbursed any costs because of this assumption.

M Rivarola

M RivarolaWoden 2606, ACT

Good customer care, easy to claim, assessments completed promptly

published

The Medibank Pet Insurance pet portal was intuitive to use, submitting claims was easy and hassle free, assessments were completed quickly and payments made promptly. They were there for my pup and I when cancer treatment was needed and covered a substantial part of expenses incurred. I always received responses to my email enquiries and was kept up to date with my claims via text. I would use them again if/when I have another dog. Thanks Medibank Pet Insurance!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Steffie

Steffie

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy with it but price increase for premium and some exclusions

published

Easy to set up, claims were generally processed quickly. Have been with them for 1 year with for my puppy - he had a couple of accidents and we were mostly covered.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Carol

CarolGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Just don’t even consider!

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Carol,
I am sorry to read of your experience with our Pet Insurance. I just sent you a private message asking a few more details. Thanks, Anna

Delia S

Delia SSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

If I could give a ZERO star, I WOULD! Don't start with Medibank otherwise you are STUCK for the life of your pet!

published

- Commence insurance back in 2018 for $71 per month
- 2020 price has hiked to $95 with absolute NO clear and justified explanation as to why it is more expensive to what was offered on the website. I was told: price of vet around my post code, age of the dog, previous history of the dog ever since joining medibank.
- Called to ask for a discount or reduce policy, was told if I were to do that or move to another supplier. Another supplier will deem my previous claim as a pre-conditioned issue. So basically im stuck.

Do not start with Medibank UNLESS you are prepared to be there for the life of your pet because they know YOU ARE STUCK!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Delia,
I am sorry to read of your experience with our Pet Insurance. I just sent you a private message asking a few more details.
Thanks,
Anna

Pet Insurance

Find out how Medibank Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst insurance ever I have dealt with.

published

They come up with a lot when it comes to claiming, I was told I can’t make any changes to my policy until the anniversary date. I wouldn’t recommend medibank pet insurance and would score below 1 if possible.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Amberry91

Amberry91Queensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Trying to cancel. Still haven’t been successful

published

The policy was chosen as it had the most competitive price for service at the time.
We have had a few claims with our accident prone dog. Their online claims portal is easy to use and upload documents.
The hard part is when it comes to settling the claim. The latest one took over 4 weeks for them to settle. This included calling to follow up. They are only available during business hours. Which can be a bit tricky to be able to sit on hold when you also work business hours.
Currently trying to cancel policy so we can go to RSPCA pet insurance. They are only open business hours and every time we call we get placed on hold for long periods of time for the call to be disconnected.
We are now trying to email to cancel..
Wouldn’t recommend.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Andrew W.

Andrew W.South East Queensland, QLD

Have top cover for my pets at Medibank refused a claim for blood test. Don’t recommend Medibank Andrew Williams

published

Been with Medibank Pet insurance for over 10 years. First blood test for hyper thyroidism rebate as expected. Second blood test For hyper thyroidism with no rebate as they Medibank called it a blood screen. It was actually a second blood test. Don’t recommend as it appears they use word screening to get out of paying rebate when it was actually a blood test. Andrew Williams

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Andrew, I’m sorry to read your second claim wasn’t paid. I’ve just sent you a private message to grab some details and escalate this for you. – Jade

IanW

IanWMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ultimately not very good

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Buddy J.

Buddy J.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Crazy increased premium....

published

We are with Medibank pet insurance since 2018. We've just got email from them regarding the renewal of our policy. When we read it, we're shocked.
Our current annual premium is $771. But, new premium is $1000.
It's crazy increase with no detailed explanation. I understand why Medibank pet insurance has very low review rating. If you don't want crazy increased premium, avoid this company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
3 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Buddy J.
Buddy J.
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Buddy, I'm really sorry to read you're unhappy with your Medibank covers. If you'd like to reply to our private message with your details, we would be happy to escalate your complaint. Kindly, Jade

Patricia

PatriciaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Excellent. Easy to claim and fast approval

published

My 16 weeks old Toy Poodle had an accidental fracture that needed a very expensive surgery to repair. Medibank has been amazing and we couldn’t recommend the ultimate policy high enough. After paying more that $5000 in Vet Fees ( surgery, overnight stays, medication etc) a claim was made and 80% of what we paid was back in our back account within 48hs of submission. Very Happy Customers.

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Pet Insurance

Find out how Medibank Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jennifer

Jennifer

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Paying of a claim

published

Worst company I have ever dealt with, keep saying bank is rejecting the money they owe me, have rung at least 8times, get nowhere with them. Always an excuse. Have been with company for 10 years, I want want I am entitled to.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Jennifer, I’m so sorry to read of the issues you have had with your claim. I have just send you a private message to grab some details. Kindly, Jade

SMOO

SMOOSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Charging after the pet has been Euthanised

published

The last claim clearly states "final vet trip- euthanasia", which was approved, paid and recorded against the policy yet they choose to carry on deducting premiums for a dead pet??

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there, I’m really sorry to hear your pet has passed away. I have just sent you a private message, to grab some details and escalate this for you. Kindly, Jade

Anne J

Anne JPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic service when we needed it most

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Mick K.

Mick K.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

This has kept my dog alive and me not broke, Must have for any pet lover.

published

Good value, No hidden clauses, Just good fast service and reimbursement without any hassle. Noone should be without it. With high costs for medical services you will save in the long run.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Krystene

KrysteneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Very easy to claim, great communication not hassle

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Page 1 of 17

Questions & Answers

BARBIE

BARBIEasked

Pet Insurance

The conditions state that any applicable excess is per condition and for a 12 month period . What is the period referred to . Is it the calendar year January to December ?

Please advise urgently ..

1 answer
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Barbie,

Thanks for getting in touch.

So that we can look into that for you, please send us a private message with your details.

Let us know if you have any other questions.

Thanks,
Anna

Vanessa

Vanessaasked

Pet Insurance

Hi, i have two dogs and one cat to insure. Will it be cheaper? Also we currently have our private health insureance with you.

1 answer
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Vanessa,
Thanks for getting in touch.
So that we can look into that for you, please send us a private message with your details. Alternatively, please don’t hesitate to contact our Pet Insurance team on 134 190 from 8 am to 8 pm Monday to Friday & Saturdays 9 am to 4 pm (AEDT) for assistance.
Thanks,
Anna

Nilu

Niluasked

Pet Insurance

Hi,
For the claim what is the meaning of Pet History . Do you need vet history from the birth. I got my pup when he was 8 weeks old and he didn't have a vet visit prior to that because he was a health puppy. His first vet check up was around 8 weeks old and didn't have any health issues so far. If I make a claim in the future would it be ok to have pet vet history from 8 weeks old.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Medibank representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Medibank Pet Insurance
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Life and TravelBusiness, Health, Life and TravelBusiness, Health, Life and Travel
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$4,000$15,000$8,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 70%Up to 80%Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover IncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional ExtraIncludedOptional Extra
Tick Paralysis$1,000$1,200$1,200
Emergency Boarding Fees$500$1,200$800
Lifetime Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Cooling Off Period30 DaysNoneNone
Consultation Fees$300$300Up to applicable annual limit of $300, if condition covered
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600$2,600$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days30 Days
Compare all 3 Medibank Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.