??!
1 photo
Medibank Pet Insurance
2.1 from 330 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.2 (75)
  • Transparency
    2.1 (69)
  • Customer Service
    2.4 (76)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks (16), <1 week (16), 2-4 weeks (10), 3+ months (9) and 1-2 months (4)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (37) · No (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Delia S

Delia SSydney

  • 2 reviews

If I could give a ZERO star, I WOULD! Don't start with Medibank otherwise you are STUCK for the life of your pet!

published

- Commence insurance back in 2018 for $71 per month
- 2020 price has hiked to $95 with absolute NO clear and justified explanation as to why it is more expensive to what was offered on the website. I was told: price of vet around my post code, age of the dog, previous history of the dog ever since joining medibank.
- Called to ask for a discount or reduce policy, was told if I were to do that or move to another supplier. Another supplier will deem my previous claim as a pre-conditioned issue. So basically im stuck.

Do not start with Medibank UNLESS you are prepared to be there for the life of your pet because they know YOU ARE STUCK!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Worst insurance ever I have dealt with.

published

They come up with a lot when it comes to claiming, I was told I can’t make any changes to my policy until the anniversary date. I wouldn’t recommend medibank pet insurance and would score below 1 if possible.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Amberry91

Amberry91Queensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Trying to cancel. Still haven’t been successful

published

The policy was chosen as it had the most competitive price for service at the time.
We have had a few claims with our accident prone dog. Their online claims portal is easy to use and upload documents.
The hard part is when it comes to settling the claim. The latest one took over 4 weeks for them to settle. This included calling to follow up. They are only available during business hours. Which can be a bit tricky to be able to sit on hold when you also work business hours.
Currently trying to cancel policy so we can go to RSPCA pet insurance. They are only open business hours and every time we call we get placed on hold for long periods of time for the call to be disconnected.
We are now trying to email to cancel..
Wouldn’t recommend.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Pet Insurance

Find out how Medibank Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew W.

Andrew W.South East Queensland, QLD

Have top cover for my pets at Medibank refused a claim for blood test. Don’t recommend Medibank Andrew Williams

published

Been with Medibank Pet insurance for over 10 years. First blood test for hyper thyroidism rebate as expected. Second blood test For hyper thyroidism with no rebate as they Medibank called it a blood screen. It was actually a second blood test. Don’t recommend as it appears they use word screening to get out of paying rebate when it was actually a blood test. Andrew Williams

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Andrew, I’m sorry to read your second claim wasn’t paid. I’ve just sent you a private message to grab some details and escalate this for you. – Jade

IanW

IanWMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ultimately not very good

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Buddy J.

Buddy J.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Crazy increased premium....

published

We are with Medibank pet insurance since 2018. We've just got email from them regarding the renewal of our policy. When we read it, we're shocked.
Our current annual premium is $771. But, new premium is $1000.
It's crazy increase with no detailed explanation. I understand why Medibank pet insurance has very low review rating. If you don't want crazy increased premium, avoid this company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
3 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Buddy J.
Buddy J.
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Buddy, I'm really sorry to read you're unhappy with your Medibank covers. If you'd like to reply to our private message with your details, we would be happy to escalate your complaint. Kindly, Jade

Patricia

PatriciaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Excellent. Easy to claim and fast approval

published

My 16 weeks old Toy Poodle had an accidental fracture that needed a very expensive surgery to repair. Medibank has been amazing and we couldn’t recommend the ultimate policy high enough. After paying more that $5000 in Vet Fees ( surgery, overnight stays, medication etc) a claim was made and 80% of what we paid was back in our back account within 48hs of submission. Very Happy Customers.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Paying of a claim

published

Worst company I have ever dealt with, keep saying bank is rejecting the money they owe me, have rung at least 8times, get nowhere with them. Always an excuse. Have been with company for 10 years, I want want I am entitled to.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Jennifer, I’m so sorry to read of the issues you have had with your claim. I have just send you a private message to grab some details. Kindly, Jade

SMOO

SMOOSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Charging after the pet has been Euthanised

published

The last claim clearly states "final vet trip- euthanasia", which was approved, paid and recorded against the policy yet they choose to carry on deducting premiums for a dead pet??

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there, I’m really sorry to hear your pet has passed away. I have just sent you a private message, to grab some details and escalate this for you. Kindly, Jade

Pet Insurance

Find out how Medibank Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anne J

Anne JPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic service when we needed it most

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Mick K.

Mick K.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

This has kept my dog alive and me not broke, Must have for any pet lover.

published

Good value, No hidden clauses, Just good fast service and reimbursement without any hassle. Noone should be without it. With high costs for medical services you will save in the long run.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Krystene

KrysteneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Very easy to claim, great communication not hassle

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Mikaela

MikaelaPerth, WA

Not informed of policy renewal

published
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Mikaela, I’m really sorry to read of your recent experience with our Pet Insurance team.
I have just sent you a private message to grab some details and escalate your complaint.
Kindly, Jade

MJ K

MJ KAdelaide

  • 27 reviews
  • 21 likes

Terrible pet insurance. Inferior PDS.

published

Recently, I claimed for my pet's cruciate ligament. My certificate shows annual limit for cruciate is $2600.
But, they paid just $2400. They said it includes $200 excess fee. But, PDS and certificate doesn't show that any excess fee applies to sub-limit. When I asked, they said Benefit limit and sub-limit are same. If they are same, they must cover more. My Benefit limit is $15000.
Also, annual vet consultation fee limit is $300. But, there is no details how I can claim it and when I can claim it. I believe their PDS is really inferior. I will escalate this issue to AFCA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Mango

MangoSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Did anything they could to get out of having to pay

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there,
I am sorry to read of your your recent experience with our Pet Insurance. I just sent you a private message asking for a few more details.
Thanks,
Anna

Pet Insurance

Find out how Medibank Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ymint

YmintSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not worth the money

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Do not touch with a barge poll

published

Don’t waste your money. They grasp at straws to not pay out! They charged me 2 lots of excess for one consult because there were 2 seperate conditions. They should be ashamed of themselves especially in this climate. This is why insurers get a bad name because they’ll do anything to keep your money

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Gail

GailPerth, WA

Fantastic insurance cover & service

published

We insured our beloved late 13yr old dachshund Benji with Medibank! Well what can i say but they have been fantastic throughout our journey with our baby - always there for information when i called, helpful, polite and got the job done. Claims done swiftly, money paid in quickly and without them we could not have given our darling Benji the care and treatment he required in his 13 years in our forever home. I would highly recommend them and if we have another fur baby will most defenitely use them again. Thank you Medibank and also for your kind message after the passing of our beloved Benji....

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us your comments and giving us 5 stars.
- Mary

Pet insurance increase by 40% in one month

published

Would never use them again with our next dog. They increase the premiums by a ridiculous amount because your dog is getting older even though we have insurance for ten years with them on the same dog. Absolutely disgusted. Will change our health insurance as well because of this disgusting act by them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
chou f.

chou f.Sydney, NSW

Ultimate pet care is Ultimate rip off!

published

Worst insurance in the market. Never again will I insure pet through this mob. Every claim submitted has $200 excess deducted, so am reimbursed sqwat. May as well not submit claim for anything.

Value for Money
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
Medibank P.Medibank

Hi there,
I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience. I just sent you a private message to see if there is anything further we can do to help.
Thanks,
Hayley

Page 1 of 17

Questions & Answers

BARBIE

BARBIEasked

Pet Insurance

The conditions state that any applicable excess is per condition and for a 12 month period . What is the period referred to . Is it the calendar year January to December ?

Please advise urgently ..

1 answer
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Barbie,

Thanks for getting in touch.

So that we can look into that for you, please send us a private message with your details.

Let us know if you have any other questions.

Thanks,
Anna

Vanessa

Vanessaasked

Pet Insurance

Hi, i have two dogs and one cat to insure. Will it be cheaper? Also we currently have our private health insureance with you.

1 answer
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Vanessa,
Thanks for getting in touch.
So that we can look into that for you, please send us a private message with your details. Alternatively, please don’t hesitate to contact our Pet Insurance team on 134 190 from 8 am to 8 pm Monday to Friday & Saturdays 9 am to 4 pm (AEDT) for assistance.
Thanks,
Anna

Nilu

Niluasked

Pet Insurance

Hi,
For the claim what is the meaning of Pet History . Do you need vet history from the birth. I got my pup when he was 8 weeks old and he didn't have a vet visit prior to that because he was a health puppy. His first vet check up was around 8 weeks old and didn't have any health issues so far. If I make a claim in the future would it be ok to have pet vet history from 8 weeks old.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Medibank representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Medibank Pet Insurance
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Life and TravelBusiness, Health, Life and TravelBusiness, Health, Life and Travel
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$4,000$15,000$8,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 70%Up to 80%Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional ExtraIncludedOptional Extra
Tick Paralysis$1,000$1,200$1,200
Emergency Boarding Fees$500$1,200$800
Lifetime Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Cooling Off Period30 DaysNoneNone
Consultation Fees$300$300Up to applicable annual limit of $300, if condition covered
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600$2,600$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days30 Days
Compare all 3 Medibank Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.