3 photos
MG MG3

MG MG3 (2018-2021)

Also referred to as: MG MG3 2020 and MG MG3 2022. Excite, Core, Core with Nav
3.1 from 27 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for MG? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (23)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (22)
  • Braking
    3.9 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.2 (16)
  • Suspension
    3.2 (22)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (24)
  • Handling
    3.9 (22)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (23)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (23)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (23)
  • Features
    3.8 (22)
Previous
Next
Graham
GrahamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Value for money,

published

Pro’s - Price, 7 year warranty & 7 year roadside assistance, good seating, lively engine, cheap annual service cost,
Con’s - speedometer old style, drum brakes on rear wheels, road noise insulation could be a lot better.
Overall good value for money.

Al Lee
Al LeeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Good little hatchback, very economical. Service is expensive and repairs take long time - difficulty getting parts.

published

I use my MG for family transport, just my wife and I. As we are pensioners, we don't use it very much, about 6000 km a year, but with COVID19 virus lock downs we use it even less.
When I get it serviced (I have only had two so far) there have been no mechanical issue, but when I first got it there were a number of problems with the dashboard icons which lit up even though there were no problem with the items, for example, the brake warning light was on continuously, as was the tyre pressure warning light. Also the rear wipers and washer did not function, and the washers still has not been fixed.
Best feature is the reversing camera and warning beeps.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Llewellyn Stephens
Llewellyn StephensMelbourne
  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great Value

published

Purchased in March 2021 at Ringwood MG.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
tcam
tcamSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 17 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Little Runabout!

published

This car is zippy and totally suitable for a small family. Great for the work commute with low low fuel economy and parking is a breeze. Sensors and Apple car play make this well priced car up there in terms of technology for todays driver

Purchased in March 2020 for $16,990.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Hatchbacks

Find out how MG MG3 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melissa H
Melissa HPeel, WA
  • 4 reviews

MG3 Core - highly recommend

published

Great car, zips around, excellent on fuel efficiency, has all the mod cons. Easy to park. No mechanical problems, super reliable. Highly recommend this car. Really happy with my MG.

Purchased in September 2020 at John Hughes Car Sales.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Chezz
ChezzSydney Surrounds, NSW

Not Happy

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5

What a heap of Chinese junk

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $16,990.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Paul
PaulSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money, well made and has lots of handy features. Would recommend!

published

I use it as a ‘Town Car’, as we have a larger SUV for country trips. The car is used daily and I know the Service Manager at the Dealership, and he told me that the MG3 hadn’t shown any issues of note.

Purchased in May 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Denis M.
Denis M.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst new car we ever bought

published

The 1.5 engine is vastly underpowered, makes the car go down the gears when you hit an incline, the engine starts to labour and you can hear the tappits making that tinny noise. After buying new we decided to trade it in to an MG garage who told me it was made in China and more or less what did I expect. They offered me $10k for the car Against a 26k i30, I paid $18,500 for the car 5 months earlier. Beware buying if you think it will hold its value,
We ended trading it for a Ford Focus where we got $15k for it, we were glad to unload it . The MG Excite may have all the bells and whistles , however they forgot to put a engine in it that will do it justice

Noise Level
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Hatchbacks

Find out how MG MG3 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
John
  • 2 reviews

The MG3 specs say 5.3L per 100KM on highway but best we can get is 7.4 using 98 fuel. MG refuses to respond or discuss

published

Mostly long range trips with a minimum of around town. We use the car on average 3-4 times a week. Servicing is as per book requirement and is only 16000km at the moment. It actually just as cheap to use our V6 Jag around town than the little 1.5L MG hatch

Purchased in November 2020 for $20.90.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Kevin M.
Kevin M.Sydney, NSW

Fuel consumption

published

Got mg3 in november 2020 was using upto 13lph now its using 8.9 to 9.2 lph after taking the car back several times they acknowledge there is a problem. But they cannot find the problem so basically the dealer told they cant find the problem, so basically cant find a problem so bad luck so ive told them its not what i was promised i want a new car

Purchased in November 2020 for $20,500.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Olives
OlivesBrisbane
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Plastic like, loud clicks and dangerous

published
Incentivised Review No
Hatchbacks

Find out how MG MG3 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon
SimonMid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Car made bye Wish

published

First of all aircon is faulty leeks water on inside of car a lot of water the Andrew miedecke in port Macquarie I got it from brand new would not even look at it told me six weeks until they can even look at it. Had to take it to another dealer to get it fixed it has rust in it too under the bonnet and now all the bolts in it are rusting it is only a year old they don’t cover there warranty I hade to pay to fix it my self it’s a nice looking little car like everything from wish would not recommend to anyone a push bike would be better I’m going to sell it and cut my losses my old 20 year old Holden I got rid of was more reliable i wish everyone that has bought one the best of luck

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Helena Sowden
Helena SowdenMid North Coast, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic car with great torque!

published

Mainly local runs, one long run last week, amazing cornering, great on hills, just like driving a sports car! Tops 140 Klms with no effort . Can see this as a car of the future in car rally’s

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
weijun
weijunGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Bad car

published

I have 2019 core, very cheap nasty car, i agree with other comments, very noisy. The car always makes a noise from front end when stopping since the day i bought it brand new, windscreen wipers shudder all the time, rear end noisy when turning left or right or over any bump, dash rattles, the whole car is just cheap and noisy, headache to drive. First service Ringwood Nissan because Ringwood MG send you there, same owners i was told, Ringwood Mg no service centre, horrible experience, lady service manager rude, rude, rude, and was told by one guy we don't know much about these cars, $300 to change oil and filter and they put cheaper 10w oil instead of 5w which is recommended in service book. Avoid MG, Avoid Ringwood MG, Ringwood Nissan.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Questions & Answers

Fiona K.
Fiona K.asked
MG3 Core (2018-2021)

Can you display the cars speed permanently (instead of the odometer) on the vehicle information display on the MG3 Core 2021 model?

1 answer
Chezz
Chezz

Fiona
I have a MG3 excite and you can’t do it on my car not sure about the MG3 Core

Nancy C.
Nancy C.asked
MG3 Excite (2018-2021)

Has anybody had a problem with their 2021 MG3 Excite having a shudder or shaking sensation when travelling around 70/80kph? Does not do it at other speeds but has done it since day one. Only purchased in June.

2 answers
Denis M.
Denis M.

Yes on a slight incline the car would be struggling to get up the incline and dropping down gears.

Nancy C.
Nancy C.

No mine is not on even the slightest incline. Perfectly level smooth bitumen.

Sonya
Sonya asked
MG3 (2018-2021)

How do you adjust navigation volume

2 answers
Paul
Paul

Hi Sonya, Page29 of the Nav Manual. Bottom right Nav screen, tap the 3 horizontal bars, tap settings, tap sound, tap voice and adjust

John
John

Try asking MG they won't want to know you. MG warranty isn't worth the paper it is written on

See all MG MG3 (2018-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

MG MG3 (2018-2021)

Details

Compare all 3 MG MG3 (2018-2021)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $17,490$17,990$19,490
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy15" Alloy16" Alloy
Doors 555
Seats 555
Fuel Consumption6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power82kW @ 6000rpm82kW @ 6000rpm82kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque150Nm @ 4500rpm150Nm @ 4500rpm150Nm @ 4500rpm
Boot Capacity307 L307 L307 L
Country of ManufactureChinaChinaChina
Phone ConnectivityApple CarPlay (Wired)Apple CarPlay (Wired)Apple CarPlay (Wired)
Wireless ChargerNoNoNo
Security FeaturesImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizer
RoofHard-TopHard-TopHard-Top
Companion App NoNoNo
Steering Wheel AdjustmentUp/DownUp/DownUp/Down
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)200 kg200 kg200 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Keyless Features
Keyless Locking/UnlockingYesYesYes
Headlights
TypeLEDLEDLED
Headlight FeaturesAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/Off
Safety Features
CamerasRearRearRear
Cruise ControlAdaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)
Parking SensorsRearRearRear
Hazard PerceptionNoneNoneNone
Lane AssistanceNoneNoneNone
Speed Sign RecognitionNoneNoneNone
Dimensions
Kerb Weight1,170 kg1,170 kg1,170 kg
Driver Information
GaugesAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and Digital
Built-In Navigation SystemNoYesYes
Heads Up DisplayNoNoNo
Voice ControlNoNoNo
Release dateAug 2018Aug 2018Aug 2018
Compare all 3 MG MG3 (2018-2021)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.