??!
1 photo
Michelin Primacy SUV

Michelin Primacy SUV

4.2 from 31 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (15)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (15)
  • Off-Roading Frequency
  • Wet Weather Handling
    4.1 (14)
  • Durability
    3.8 (13)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.1 (14)
Previous
Next

Stay Away and save your self from an accident

published

With in one month 3 tires are bent and are wobbling . Had to argue with the distributor to cover these garbage tires under warranty. Now waiting for replacement and not being able to drive the car as these tires are not safe. Please stay away from Michelin. Will never buy Michelin again even though had Michelin on all my cars.

Purchased in September 2020 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage1,200 km
Car ModelToyota Prado J150 Altitude 6 Cylinder, 4 Litre
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Hett

HettSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Michelin has done it again

published

Got Primacy SUV to replace my Michelin Altitude HP, Costco was having promotion Buy 4 get $100 off.
Over the last few months, fuel usage was down 5% without altering my route or driving habit. It feels the tire are firmer without impacting comfort inside the cabin. Hopefully the harder compound would give better mileage too.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Paddy11

Paddy11Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good road biased tyre

published

I love Michelins and got these on a second hand Prado we bought. Handles well on wet and dry. Good to keep tyre pressures on the high side as that provides better handling and consumption. Showing good wear as well. Would highly recommend them.

Purchased at Mycar (Kmart Tyre & Auto Service).

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage6,000 km
Car ModelToyota Prado
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
4WD Tyres

Find out how Michelin Primacy SUV compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RSC

RSCGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Dependable, safe quality tyres

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Costco VIC, Epping.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage20,000 km
Car ModelMazda CX-5 KE.I
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Kim F

Kim F

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic tyres!

published

Great quality tyres, my car drives well with these. Superior grip on the road, especially during the wet weather. Drove brilliantly towing our caravan. I feel very safe with these.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage15,000 km
Car ModelFord Territory SX
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

gturci73

gturci73Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent replacement tyre for Mazda CX5

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage50,000 km
Car ModelMazda CX-5 KE.I
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
OnTheMove

OnTheMoveGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best tyres, yet expensive

published

Great mileage, very quiet, and very reliable tyres for BMW X3. They are expensive (probably most expensive on the market), yet I believe they are a value for money. You can get them discounted sometimes online or at other service providers.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelBMW X3
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Fazz

Fazz

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good tyres but not for roundabouts

published

Purchased in December 2016 at JAX Tyres for A$215.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage65,000 km
Car ModelHonda CR-V RE
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Amanda

AmandaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great product and got a great deal

published

purchased from Bob Jane, usually i purchase any old tyre however they had a special on MCH 195R14C 106/104R AGILIS which also included a wheel alignment. I can say that when i drive i feel steady and safe knowing that i purchased a great tyre.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$536.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage150,000 km
Car ModelFord Courier
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
4WD Tyres

Find out how Michelin Primacy SUV compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neewhsa D.

Neewhsa D.Sydney, NSW

Very Poor Fuel Consumption

published

Bought them from Bob Jane and drove for two weeks. Was getting 700KM per tank with Yokohama's but only manages 600KM now with these set of tyres. Bob Jane have pumped rear tyres to 39psi and front ones to 36psi but no difference. Don't buy these tyres, they will cost you weekly.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$970.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage2,000 km
Car ModelToyota RAV4 XA40 GXL AWD 2.5L Petrol Auto
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Doug

DougBroken Hill

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Squirmy and the wear rating is a farce

published

Follow up after 20 months:
These tyres have now done 28,000km on my Pajero and are within 1 to 2mm of the wear indicators. Effectively by the time they are no longer legal they will have given only about 60% of the distance of the Bridgeston Duellers they replaced (which had done 53,000km).

Yet they supposedly have a much better wear rating than the Bridgestones.

Not happy!

The squirmy feeling is still there, way too much feedback of even the smallest inconsistency in the road surface and they seem to magnify the small amount of slack in the steering box.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$285.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero NT
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Perfect tyre for CX5 SUV

published

Changing 4 tyres on Mazda CX5 from original Yokohama done 50,000km to Primacy SUV. I was surprised with its quiet and feel soft on road. Road handling is good bothe dry and wet. It was special discount from Costco purchase 4 tyres get $100.00 discount, fitted and balance included. Happy with Costco service and price, a bargain @ $150.00 each. Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage1,000 km
Car ModelVolkswagen Passat B8 MK7 Sedan 132TSI Comfortline
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
1 comment
Smith
Smith

Done more than 2000km now. Driving suburban and highway in all conditions. The tyre still quiet and soft riding. So far so good

perfect tires for small SUV

published

first thought about the tires, they really are quiet.

i mainly short commute on highway with good road condition and it feels comfortable compare to my old tires.

i live in tropical country (Indonesia) so only dry and wet condition apply. so far no problem and better performance.

i also notice handling improvement to more confident driving experiences on corners.

about durability, i expect it to last 20.000kms

i recommended this tires

Purchased in April 2019 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage1,000 km
Car ModelHonda CR-V
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
FishoBen

FishoBenAU

  • 2 reviews

Michelin Primacy SUV - 6/2015 Kluger 3.5 V6 AWD

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage20,000 km
Car ModelToyota Kluger GSU50R
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Dean

DeanNorthern NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good tyres. Handle as expected. Seriously worth consideration

published
CarToyota RAV4
4WD Tyres

Find out how Michelin Primacy SUV compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emilio R

Emilio RSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

It’s a soft tyre which hold the road perfectly

published

Is a good tyres
It get worn out easy with high temperatures but you enjoying until last moment the quality
Some tyres not worn out but becomes hard and still can not use . I had a Michelin also on my bike and I have neve had a problem . It’s a bit more expensive but you pay for what you get it for

CarNissan Dualis
EzyTalk

EzyTalkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified purchase

Primacy SUV on a Mazda CX5 - excellent

published

Purchased at Costco.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage25,000 km
Car ModelMazda CX-5 KE.II
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Ed

Ed

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

All good so far on ride quality, noise and wear

published

Very happy so far. Far better than the OEM Kumhos which have a good treadwear but were far too hard, noisy and plain dangerous in the wet. Only time will tell re treadwear but with a rating of 440 I'd expect to get roughly 50k+ which is more than enough for me.

CarKia Sorento

Not durable

published

I put the Michelin Primacy SUVs on to replace the original dunlops that came with the car new. I got 90000 kms out of the Dunlops by driving carefully. I do a lot of highway driving, often loaded up and with a trailer. The rear michelins lasted 10000 kms before they were down past the wear marks. To the credit of the shop I got them at they replaced them with pirellis. The michelins drove really nicely around town and were exceptional in the wet. As promised they were very quiet. Not that I cared with a diesel! They are far too soft for a 4WD towing at highway speeds.

Car2015 Pajero
JAmes D

JAmes DCamperdown

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

very good tires

published

got these tires for my tiguan because the previous tyres just worn out too quickly (I think they were yokohama). i really just wanted something that will last me and won't cost me an arm and lag. dont really know the technical aspects of it but does the job and works pretty well

CarVW tiguan
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

James W.

James W.asked

Is this good for 2015 gx460 Lexus primary SUV?

No answers
Carmen D.

Carmen D.asked

Hi, would you use the Michelin Primacy SUV on a small pickup truck?

1 answer
FishoBen
FishoBen

Hi, check your required load rating first, then cross-check against the Primacy numbers.

Lee

Leeasked

HI all, has anyone noticed a huge increase in fuel economy since having Michelin Primacy suv? Mine has gone up by heaps in a 2015 Kluger 9l/100 to 14l/100. last tyers were Michelin Latitude Tour and i could get fuel economy down to 7.5l/100 sometimes

1 answer
FishoBen
FishoBen

Hi, no difference on my end. Loaded on trips out west I can easily get 8.5L/100 sticking to the speed limit and running around 38psi. I achieved this figure with Michelin Latitude, Yokohama Geolander 055 and the current Michelin Primacy 3 SUV. Around town 11.5L all day. On another note, see if there are any software updates from Toyota as I took mine in to have the reverse camera looked over due to a viewing delay on the screen. They told me it was a 'software' update and the camera worked better for about a week but the car was greatly improved, better responsiveness, better gear changes.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.