??!
1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

3.7 from 72 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.7

72 reviews
5
(39)
4
(6)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (20)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.8 (20)
  • Heating Speed
    3.8 (20)
Previous
Next
Rick M.

Rick M.South East Queensland, QLD

Service? forget it!

published

Installed by Builder in display home we purchased. Easy now to see why... cheap Chinese rubbish. Heat pump errored and stopped after 4 years. Rang Chromagen 4 times.. each time they would "send their electician" No Call, no visit. That was weeks ago. Its out of statutory warranty, hence out of concern. Dont waste your money. If you need to replace just get an off-peak. If you are young enough to see the savings in your lifetime..get solar.

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
John Smith

John SmithPerth, WA

Leaking

published

Bought a Midea heat pump 170 2 years ago and know the screen is faded I can’t read anything and the hot water is leaking from the front, wish I spent the extra money to get a better product

Purchased in March 2018 for A$1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Disappointed

published

Wished we install the 300 lt the same as we had which was a excellent heat pump but only lasted 4 years. Went with the smaller one as recommended but notice our power bill went up.Sales people say it would do 4 people it would struggle. A little disappointed.

Purchased in May 2020 at Chromagen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason

JasonPerth, WA

Don’t waste your money

published

published 2 years ago
This thing seriously comes up short in some very obvious design flaws that can cost you money.

Firstly, if the power goes out, even for a second, ALL presets are lost and if you don't notice this has occurred then when you do want hot water it could well be lukewarm or cold, depending on the duration before next use and/or noticing it has occurred.

Secondly, the tank insulation is pathetic, you can almost watch the degrees dropping away on the readout after your preset timer has switched off so basically you need to overheat your water

Purchased in January 2017 for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best thing that we have done

published

We have 2 x 170 litre systems, one for the house & one for Granny flat. Best thing we have done, never run out of water. On a 6 degree night with the grandkids staying over the water temperature got down to 41 degrees, by morning it was back up to 61 degrees. I was impressed.

Purchased in December 2019 at Chromagen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

No hot water to en-suite

published

The hot water service it replaced was working perfectly, lovely hot water throughout the house.
Now no hot water, none to the en-suite. No need to use the cold water tap anywhere in the house.

Purchased in July 2020 at On line.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Allan Code

Allan CodeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Faulty outlet valve

published

My exhaust outlet value leeks far too much. It has been replaced about every 6 months. MY power bill goes up and water consumption soars. Any saving the heat pump makes is lost due to these faulty valves.
A different type of valve is required for this unit. Of course the temperature will drop when the water is flowing out over a litre an hour

Purchased in October 2015 at printz plumbing for A$623.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Wish I'd heard about it sooner

published

Was contacted by the hot water company a few months ago and was put onto this new type of system and have noticed a massive difference on my latest quarterly bill. easily saved myself nearly $200 and only thing I've changed is my hot water system. work great for myself, the hubby and two teenage girls, havent run out of water once yet! wish I'd know about this years ago lol

Purchased in March 2020 at hot water co for A$298.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Leonie

LeonieMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Product, Terrific Service

published

We are a two person household, meets all of our needs perfectly. Water is consistently hot and there is very little noise coming from the unit. Disappointed that Bunnings sold us an 8 year old unit, but it is performing very well. Had to contact Chromagen for an initial leakage problem, but this was very quickly sorted, their service was commendable.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$2,069.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nigel

NigelQueensland

Chromagen Heat Pump Hot Water - Rubbish.

published

The Heat Pump part of this cylinder stopped working after approx 3 years, the cylinder rusted out after 5 years & 3 months, 3 months out of warranty. Rubbish, Don't buy!

Purchased in December 2014.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Matt

MattPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Poor Quality: Won't last long term

published

Purchased in October 2014 at Infinite Energy for A$1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Gift horse / mouth

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Jeremy

JeremyCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Glad I made the switch to a hot water heat pump

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvest Hot Water Canberra for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Belinda

BelindaWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great system

published

Splutters when first turned on hedge called a few times awaiting for some one to come and look at it other than that very efficient heating system nice hot water

Purchased in March 2019 for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Westy

WestyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Noisy

published

i bought it new and performed well for the first few months had the unit replaced after a constant whine up to 70 BD in the first 3 years . they replaced a new unit under warranty .

Purchased in December 2017 for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dannyb54

dannyb54yallourn north

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Good hot water service.

published

Bought May 2019 with some rebate, it cost $799. Replaced Rheem 325 heat pump that was unreliable. Really energy efficient during warm months and serviceable during cold months. So far a definite pass mark.

Purchased in May 2018 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
stasiahikisz

stasiahikiszGippsland, VIC

Savings on power bill

published

The unit is brilliant and the water is always hot and plentiful, even when we have guests staying. We have also noticed a big reduction in our electricity bill which is a great bonus.

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

JandK

JandKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Very happy, thank you!

published

I had one put in at my retirement home. 7 month ago. very happy, thank you!
my electricity bill net down a bit, every dollar helps, especially on a pension.

Purchased in August 2018 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
utao

utaoSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

very capable product

published

We have been using the 170L heat pump over 6 months. It easily meets our daily hot water usage (2 adults with 1 child, 2 showers a day for adults and 1 shower for child, plus kitchen and laundry, and occasionally having 1-2 guests ). Never failed to deliver continuous hot water so far. Have not touched control pad since installation and was told the newer models do not have the 'reset after blackout' issues any more. The price seemed to be dramatically cheaper than some of the top rankers on the heat-pump review page, so I reckon it is offering wonderful value.

Purchased in March 2018 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
glenys

glenysWestern District, VIC

  • 2 reviews

wonderful unit, for 3 people

published

It's really a good unit 170litres Midea, the only thing is when there's a power cut have to reset temp in middle of night for water otherwise cold shower in morning, and have to reset clock on unit like you do on microwave when power comes on.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Frank

Frankasked

Warranty on unit/heat pump? Does off peak night rate sufficient to keep the unit hot...what is the thermostat set at? Thanks

1 answer
Rick M.
Rick M.

The unit was installed by the builder of our demonstration home..At the time of failure it was out of warranty according to Chromagen...about 4 years old.... hence the lack of interest to fix i presume. Unit does not run on off peak as it needs to operate up to 17 hours per day to maintain 60deg

Pris L

Pris Lasked

Hi, I’m considering installing the 170L heat pump unit and wanted to understand if the heat pump requires electricity to heat up the water?

1 answer
Andrew
Andrew

Yes, the unit requires electrickery to run the compressor.
Think of this unit as a heat exchange unit.
It takes the heat from outside the unit and transfers it to the water in the tank.
So if it is cold outside then the unit is less effective as there is less heat to transfer.
They are generally cheaper to run than a normal unit though.

Bop P

Bop Pasked

Where are the midea heat pumps manufactured.

1 answer
Wil
Wil

China

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.