??!
1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

3.6 from 78 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (26)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (26)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (26)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.7 (26)
  • Heating Speed
    3.8 (26)
Previous
Next
Tony

TonyThe Mallee, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Was a good unt to start with but when the hot water sytem uses $1500 of electrity i begin to wonder how they are

published

Chromagen is a very dodgy company beware if you are considering get a hotwater sytem through them they sighn you up and dont wish to no about you after that

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ken

KenWestern District, VIC

Very Poor Service backup

published

Product is ok but Chromagen service back up is poor. If you have an issue with your hot water unit on the weekend, they will charge you $275 even if its under warranty for labour and parts. Not very ethical company

Purchased in November 2020 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dave

DavePerth, WA

Cheap crap unit

published

I bought this system off Greenlogic solar over 2 years ago and the tank had a error on the system i called up the manufacturer and Greenlogic and they both want a $190 call out fee plus extra money for parts to fix the unit that should be under warranty, try avoid this unit and go for something else

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Positronic3

Positronic3AU

  • 12 reviews
  • 18 likes

Fantastic unit to get us off gas.

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Chromagen Australia for $1,068.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very happy

published

Rapid heat up, minimal noise, small spatial footprint and energy efficient. Easy to use, and relatively low cost. Very happy. Sits on a big hill in a coastal environment so harsh setting.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Fantastic

published

We wen without hot water for 12 days and no one showed up until Alex and moe called and said they be here tonight they showed up and fixed the problem not just great service but reall nice men who know what they are doing and I’m so happy of what they did tonight for me they deserve more than what they get as they are good at there job I’m very happy with them
And thank you again moe and Alex

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Rick M.

Rick M.South East Queensland, QLD

Service? forget it!

published

Installed by Builder in display home we purchased. Easy now to see why... cheap Chinese rubbish. Heat pump errored and stopped after 4 years. Rang Chromagen 4 times.. each time they would "send their electician" No Call, no visit. That was weeks ago. Its out of statutory warranty, hence out of concern. Dont waste your money. If you need to replace just get an off-peak. If you are young enough to see the savings in your lifetime..get solar.

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
John Smith

John SmithPerth, WA

Leaking

published

Bought a Midea heat pump 170 2 years ago and know the screen is faded I can’t read anything and the hot water is leaking from the front, wish I spent the extra money to get a better product

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Disappointed

published

Wished we install the 300 lt the same as we had which was a excellent heat pump but only lasted 4 years. Went with the smaller one as recommended but notice our power bill went up.Sales people say it would do 4 people it would struggle. A little disappointed.

Purchased in May 2020 at Chromagen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason

JasonPerth, WA

Don’t waste your money

published

published 2 years ago
This thing seriously comes up short in some very obvious design flaws that can cost you money.

Firstly, if the power goes out, even for a second, ALL presets are lost and if you don't notice this has occurred then when you do want hot water it could well be lukewarm or cold, depending on the duration before next use and/or noticing it has occurred.

Secondly, the tank insulation is pathetic, you can almost watch the degrees dropping away on the readout after your preset timer has switched off so basically you need to overheat your water

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best thing that we have done

published

We have 2 x 170 litre systems, one for the house & one for Granny flat. Best thing we have done, never run out of water. On a 6 degree night with the grandkids staying over the water temperature got down to 41 degrees, by morning it was back up to 61 degrees. I was impressed.

Purchased in December 2019 at Chromagen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

No hot water to en-suite

published

The hot water service it replaced was working perfectly, lovely hot water throughout the house.
Now no hot water, none to the en-suite. No need to use the cold water tap anywhere in the house.

Purchased in July 2020 at On line.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Allan Code

Allan CodeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Faulty outlet valve

published

My exhaust outlet value leeks far too much. It has been replaced about every 6 months. MY power bill goes up and water consumption soars. Any saving the heat pump makes is lost due to these faulty valves.
A different type of valve is required for this unit. Of course the temperature will drop when the water is flowing out over a litre an hour

Purchased in October 2015 at printz plumbing for $623.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Wish I'd heard about it sooner

published

Was contacted by the hot water company a few months ago and was put onto this new type of system and have noticed a massive difference on my latest quarterly bill. easily saved myself nearly $200 and only thing I've changed is my hot water system. work great for myself, the hubby and two teenage girls, havent run out of water once yet! wish I'd know about this years ago lol

Purchased in March 2020 at hot water co for $298.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Leonie

LeonieMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Product, Terrific Service

published

We are a two person household, meets all of our needs perfectly. Water is consistently hot and there is very little noise coming from the unit. Disappointed that Bunnings sold us an 8 year old unit, but it is performing very well. Had to contact Chromagen for an initial leakage problem, but this was very quickly sorted, their service was commendable.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,069.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nigel

NigelQueensland

Chromagen Heat Pump Hot Water - Rubbish.

published

The Heat Pump part of this cylinder stopped working after approx 3 years, the cylinder rusted out after 5 years & 3 months, 3 months out of warranty. Rubbish, Don't buy!

Purchased in December 2014.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Matt

MattPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Poor Quality: Won't last long term

published

Purchased in October 2014 at Infinite Energy for $1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Gift horse / mouth

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jeremy

JeremyCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Glad I made the switch to a hot water heat pump

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvest Hot Water Canberra for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Belinda

BelindaWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great system

published

Splutters when first turned on hedge called a few times awaiting for some one to come and look at it other than that very efficient heating system nice hot water

Purchased in March 2019 for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Geoff C

Geoff Casked

Hi. I will be absent from home for five months.

What is the best way to turn off the unit? Does it need to be drained? We live in a tropical climate.

Geoff C

2 answers
Tony
Tony

Turn it of at your switch board as they are extreamly expensive to run

Ken
Ken

I don't think it needs to be drained. there is possibly an isolating switch mounted near the unit, if not your switchboard will have a breaker marked hot water. Contact chromagen to confirm this for yourself

James T

James Tasked

Where is the heat pump manufactured and what are the running costs for 4 people households

1 answer
Ken
Ken

They are made in China. The 170ltr unit will not do enough hot water for 4 people, its suitable for 2. You will need to go for the 280 ltr unit for your needs. As to savings, you will save money....how much depends on what you currently use for hot water and who you buy your electricity from. We save around $40 per month at least

Ray H.

Ray H.asked

I have a problem with air in the heat pump. When hot water is turned on we get a lot of pressure from air
with spits and spurts for a minute or so. I don't believe it is a fault with the pump. I am after some help to fix the problem. I have followed the maintenance procedure in your guide and purged the tank - but did no good. The system was installed October 2019 so I don't think it is the anode. We did have air in the cold water lines as well but this has cleared up now. Can you help please. Ray Hart WA.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.