1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

3.4 from 90 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Hot Water Storage Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Chromagen

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (35)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (37)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (35)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (35)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.6 (31)
  • Heating Speed
    3.6 (32)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
deank
deankGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not built for Australian Environment

published

Very poor quality plastic all round.

The plastic over the control panel panel begins fading in weeks and attached it what it looks like after two years. $120 to get the part to replace it yourself.

Under an awning and facing west with tree coverage as well. Wont last and have seen other reviews the same.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2018 at Chromagen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Martin
Martin
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

faulty valve

published

Had a problem with no hot water after install of Chromagen 170 heat pump. Called the office on sat arvo and left message. Within an hour Kelly returned my call and organised for Andrew to come around , he was here within an hour and fixed the problem , great response on a sat arvo.

Purchased in July 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dan
DanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Not great in the outdoors

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris505050
Chris505050South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do not buy chromagen ever or a heat pump from any company. Standard electric

published

Plumber in Brisbane, heat pumps have too many parts that can break. People selling Chromagen are scammers they know the tanks are rubbish. Is money more important than being a good person? A chromagen tanks do not last long.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Whatashame
WhatashamePerth, WA
  • 5 reviews

BUYER BEWARE - DO YOUR RESEARCH

published

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Not happy

published

Just copes with 3/ 4 showers day if quick and one lot of dishes .. if Power goes out you have to reset it , had mine just on two years and now I have to keep manually setting to heat water ,it will cost me travel tine plus parts and labour costs. Not happy as i live130 ks away from nearest service centre.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Medni Singh
Medni Singh South East Queensland, QLD

Hotwater system

published

If there was zero star I would give zero. It died in 6yrs.Had issue when it was a year old. Will not recommend this product. I had to spend $4938 to put a new one. Very disappointed, the company doesn't wanna know about it. Called them few times.

Incentivised Review No
Chromagen
Chromagen A.Chromagen
Rob
RobMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews

A great power saver

published

We have had our Midea operating for a year now The installers were great, took away the old unit and all the packaging. Any issues later were quickly dealt with. Unit ran quietly and smoothly with adequate hot water for our needs, couldn't be happier with the product

Incentivised Review No
Chromagen
Chromagen A.Chromagen

Hi Rob, that's great to hear. Thanks for your review.

noisy, sucks power like crazy, fan almost constantly running. leaking water worried about my power bill now

published

noisy, sucks power like crazy, leaks water, fan always on. big and bulky. only bonus it looks good. doubt its saving me money like we were told. wish i stayed with my old heater

Purchased in February 2021 for $700.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Chromagen
Chromagen A.Chromagen
kate
kate

I will email you back on the email you have supplied, thank you.

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandy
SandyThe Mallee, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

The noise from the pump is driving me crazy!

published

I wish I had stuck with my old hot water service! Now that the weather is cooler the pump is going a lot and I find the noise annoying. Is anyone else finding this?

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chromagen
Chromagen A.Chromagen
Sandy
Sandy

I have reached out thank you. I am currently waiting for my local service people to contact me.

Danielle B.
Danielle B.Gippsland, VIC

This thing is terrible!!

published

We're a family of 5 and after 3 short shower its empty and takes 3-5hrs to get back to temp. After the install they left all the rubbish and the old hot water units which have holes in them and are unuseable. When we tried to contact product support they gave us the run around and would not answer our phone calls or emails.

Purchased in August 2020 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chromagen
Chromagen A.Chromagen
WillyK
WillyKGoulburn Valley, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Installed by cowboys

published

Does not meet electrical standards information from electrical inspector.
RCD not installed. Isolator underrated only 20A units use 29.5A.Tried to contact company no response. Rang 4 times gave up finally gave up.

Purchased in March 2021 at Chromagen Australia for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chromagen
Chromagen A.Chromagen
Tony
TonyThe Mallee, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Was a good unt to start with but when the hot water sytem uses $1500 of electrity i begin to wonder how they are

published

Chromagen is a very dodgy company beware if you are considering get a hotwater sytem through them they sighn you up and dont wish to no about you after that

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ken
KenWestern District, VIC

Very Poor Service backup

published

Product is ok but Chromagen service back up is poor. If you have an issue with your hot water unit on the weekend, they will charge you $275 even if its under warranty for labour and parts. Not very ethical company

Purchased in November 2020 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dave
DavePerth, WA

Cheap crap unit

published

I bought this system off Greenlogic solar over 2 years ago and the tank had a error on the system i called up the manufacturer and Greenlogic and they both want a $190 call out fee plus extra money for parts to fix the unit that should be under warranty, try avoid this unit and go for something else

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

deank
deankasked

Hi, has anyone else had an issue with the plastic on the screen of the control panel. Thin plastic, just a few years in and it totally broke and exposed the buttons to the weather. I thought it was like a protective film. What quality product would use thin film plastic ?? its got less protection than my TV remote

No answers
Maree V.
Maree V.asked

I have just had a Chromagen 170 litre installed. Would not heat on economy (3days of cold water). Changed unit to hybrid mode I now at least get some hot water. Not much. Compressor runs all the time. Has not heated up to set temperature 60 deg (mostly in the 40's range). The unit has only been installed for 7 days and I am not receiving any assistance only excuses. Not good enough Chromagen.

2 answers
Cheryl Naughton
Cheryl Naughton

Not good ,i only ever use hybrid mine playing up setting correct on time but suits it self at what time it comes on No service from Chromagen Australia, i rang they said some one call me but now they have No one in my area

Chris505050
Chris505050

I always recommend electric hot water unit simple design, no compressors, computer less things that can break. If its still under warranty or just after and they aren't fixing the issue call your government department that looks after consumers. They can help. Make sure you always email and keep all records.

John W.
John W.asked

Hi, Is the Chromagen 170L Midea able to be converted to solar ? regards John

2 answers
Cheryl Naughton
Cheryl Naughton

I have no idea

Chromagen
Chromagen A.Chromagen

Hi John,
The unit itself does not specifically have connection points to connect to a solar hot water panel, however these units do work extremely well with solar power. These units come with inbuilt timers that can be used to set the times the unit will operate, so they can be tied in with solar power generating periods.

See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump questions

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.