??!
5 photos
Miele Blizzard CX1
3.9 from 99 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (45)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (45)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (46)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (46)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (43)
  • Pet OwnerYes (36) · No (12)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (4) · No (41)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Klaus

KlausGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Turbo head keeps breaking! Second one !

published

Even after regular cleaning the plastic ends on the roller brush seams to melt and collapse. That’s the second time this happened. Not happy.
No good for owner with a dog .

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 at The Good Guys for $505.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
chuck h.

chuck h.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Miele service

published

After trying to get through via the 1300 line for which there is NO direction re: Warranty issues I managed to get through to a very helpful Genevieve then finally to Russ in spare parts working from home.
My telescopic wand was free moving and would not lock in position anymore after less than 1 year in use (use 1/week and approx. 47 usages from new).
Russ was most accomodating and managed to get a new wand out to me in several days. No hastle whatsoever and surprise of surprise - NO cost.
Sterling service Russ and thanks.

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Rick W.

Rick W.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Good Vaccum, Powerhead isn’t good though

published

The Vaccum itself is pretty good, plenty of suck and filters are good.

The power head is a real pain though, probably ok if you have short hair animals but it can’t cope with our Malamutes fur. It gets clogged after about a couple minutes at best and because there is no easy way to remove it you either have to sit there pulling out the caught up fur.

The bagless container is also rather small and requires frequent emptying, although not a huge issue my old bagless dyson has about 3x the capacity

Overall its an good vaccum but not if you have long hair or thicker animals

Purchased in December 2020 at Amazon for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Miele Blizzard CX1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julie

JulieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Delightful little gem

published

Last week while replacing my Miele washing machine l happened to see this Vacuum while initially intrigued as it was bagless, l had previously bought the Miele C3 cat and dog and it had served me well. Jake from the Miele service centre in Adelaide demonstrated it and as l only have timber flooring now, he said that this model would suit me fine. So impressed with it as l have 2 Shetland Sheepdogs and one of my boys is doing a summer drop so massive amount of fur coming out of him and the vacuum’s suction is great so all fur gone for now and love the bagless feature so easy to use.

Purchased in January 2021 for $675.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeWood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
John

John

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Pretty pretty good

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Amazon for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Marie J.

Marie J.

  • 6 reviews

Excellent vacuum cleaner

published

Used on carpet, wooden floor and tiles. Works great and is fairly quiet. Love how easy it is to access attachments, comfort handle great and as I'm tall extra length perfect. Easy to move around, very handy having a place to attach telescopic tube. Very easy to empty dust compartment it's clip does look flimsy but time will tell if it holds up. Extra long cord great. Miele's done it again top product.

Purchased in December 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Heather

HeatherRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Disappointed

published

Living in rural Australia, I bought this expensive vacuum, after years of buying cheaper ones, expecting it to give many years of service. It was great to start with, but 2 weeks after the warranty expired (2 years), the suction dropped dramatically despite many attempts to clean the filters. The nearest Miele service man is 3 hours away and there is no local vacuum cleaner repairman so I am, once again, left having to purchase yet another vacuum cleaner. Very disappointed with Miele.

Purchased in November 2018 at Betta electrical for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Linoleum
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Martin

MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Miele service is terrible

published

Had an issue with cord not retracting. Contacted Miele service. It took them 2 weeks to respond initially basically asking same questions that was already answered in the first correspondence. Now after 4 weeks I am still waiting for them to respond.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
ETJL

ETJLSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Non-existent customer service and repairs

published

Our bagless CX1 vacuum broke 1 year after we purchased it. We submitted a warranty claim through AppliancesOnline, where we bought it, who contacted Miele on our behalf. Miele still has not replied to them, so AO can't do anything.

We contacted Miele ourselves, and were told to wait 10-12 business days (that's 2-3 weeks) for a reply. It is ridiculous that this brand tries to portray itself as high quality. We will never again buy another Miele appliance.

Purchased in September 2019 at Appliances Online for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
2 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
ETJL
ETJL
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Miele Blizzard CX1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible quality and price of repair

published

Do yourself a favour, do not buy this or any other Miele vacuum cleaner. The plastic dust caniste broke on ours, and Miele is now quoting us $216 to send us a replacement. This is literally just a bunch of plastic---there are no electronics or mechanics there. And they want us to pay a third of the price of the whole machine for this stupid plastic canister.

Do yourself a favour and buy a different brand. The top quality ones have lifetime warranties, and will end up costing you much less than a Miele in the long run!

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
3 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
EMT from Sydney
EMT from Sydney

I am already talking to your customer service, and the $216 is what they have quoted me for the plastic canister.

This is why I left you an honest review that accurately reflects how bad the quality and service are.

EMT from Sydney
EMT from Sydney
Not_happy101

Not_happy101Southwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great vacuum & after sales service

published

Bought/changed over to the Miele Blizzard CX1 Excellence and glad we did after having a Dyson Cinetic Big Ball vacuum for a few months which lacked decent suction, had to go over the same area 3,4 times to pick up items.

Wish we got the Miele Blizzard from the start. Awesome vacuum no issues very good suction and features. Noticed after a while during the warranty period that the handle and extendable tube plastic parts had cracked/split under normal use and affected the suction performance.

Contacted emailed Mile spare parts advised of situation with pictures and receipt and without any questions or issues sent out the parts without the delay. Awesome after sales support and recommend Mile vacuums.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Gemma Heales

Gemma HealesPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing powerful, easy to use, easy to empty

published

Great vacuum. After asking friends what vacuum they had and hearing Miele Often, I thought I’d look in to them.
I picked this one after looking up best vacuum for long hair. I was sick of cutting the hair out of my old vacuums roller head.
I use this on tiles, low pile wool and high pile rugs and it’s amazing.
It has soft floor setting and hard floor setting.
4 power levels again for hard flooring, carpets, rugs, furnishings ( great for prams and car seats).
Super easy emptying feature, one button no touch. I hated having to get my fingers dirty with my old Hoover.
An 11mtr cord, still can’t reach the whole house obviously but a lot more than I’ve seen on other vacuums.
Nice sleek look too.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $580.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
GW2

GW2Kimberley, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wow this is, hands down the BEST vacuum I’ve owned.

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
DesMo

DesMoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Multiple Turboteq brush failures

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
3 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
DesMo
DesMo
Miele
Miele representativeMiele

Hi, I'm sincerely sorry no one has gotten back to you. I'm chasing this up with the team who will get back to you as as soon as possible. Kind regards, Daniel.

Jess

JessSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

High suction, powerful vacuum

published

I use this vacuum on floorboards, tiles and carpet. It performs really well on all surfaces. I generally use it on the second lowest suction because it's really strong. On carpet I have to use the lowest suction, it's really strong. Glides really smoothly. Long cable. It is pretty heavy but worth it because of its performance. Looks sharp and cool. Has all the handy accessories. Cost me $470 from Bing Lee. Much better than my previous wertheim which only lasted 3 years and cost me $400.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bing Lee for $470.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Miele Blizzard CX1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rod

RodGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Poor design and makes vacuuming time longer

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $675.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele

Great product

published

The machine is super quiet and I found the suction to be great for both carpets and tiles. The wheels make it easy to maneovre around the house, however, it's pretty heavy so might not be suitable if you plan to lugg it up and down stairs regularly. The clip for the dust bin is a little finnicky but I haven't found this to be an issue so long as I take a second extra to close it properly. Overall happy with my purchase and would recommend.

Purchased at Amazon for $365.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele

Thanks for taking the time leave this review! Glad to hear things are going well with your Miele vacuum. Thank you for choosing Miele. Kind regards, Frank.

hmmm

hmmm

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great suction but not fit for purpose.

published

When it works it works well....but...it is marketed as a dog and cat machine but the turbo head brush is a pain. It is so hard to clean fur out - scissors are your only option! My first turbo head lasted less than six months before it stopped turning and the replacement has just stopped turning after 5 months! I really expected better. The engineering on the turbo head is appalling.

Purchased in June 2019 at Domayne ACT, Fyshwick for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
chuck48

chuck48AU

  • 34 reviews
  • 20 likes

I'm giving it a go!

published

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Ira

IraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great hoover but filter smells of a dog

published

Great hoover overall-quiet, good suction, haven’t had problems with turbo brush like some other reviewers here
BUT
it smells of dogs hair a lot! Only bought it October 2019 and washed filter 3 times - every time it dries the smell goes a bit for the first time and returns almost instantly. Any tips on how to get rid of it? Or where can I get a replacement of the filter?

Purchased in October 2019 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Carolyn

Carolyn asked

Blizzard CX1

How do you remove the filter frame from the dust container? It seems virtually impossible

No answers
Jenny Gray

Jenny Grayasked

Blizzard CX1

I am wanting to clean the filter frame but can’t remove it from the dust container. The instructions for removal ( fig 31 & 32 in the operating manual ) do not say how to remove it other than a couple of directional arrows. I don’t want to put undue force on it and risk breaking any plastic. How do I remove it? Thank you.

1 answer
Julie
Julie

Hi Jenny, sorry don't know.as mine is only a week old. Either google it or eing Miele customer sevice although l thought he said it was a lifetime filter

mike

mikeasked

Blizzard CX1

No suction in brush head. rollers not rotating. How do I clean brush head? I have unscrewed the two screws but that does not give me access.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Miele representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Miele Blizzard CX1
CategoryBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $579.00$549.00$649.00$699.00
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight8.56 kg8.46 kg8.56 kg8.56 kg
TypeBaglessBaglessBaglessBagless
Cord Length7.5 m7.5 m7.5 m7.5 m
Power900 W900 W900 W900 W
Suction (Air Watts)1,100 AW1,100 AW1,100 AW1,100 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 5 Miele Blizzard CX1

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.