??!
5 photos
Miele Blizzard CX1
4.1 from 78 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(42)
(16)
(8)
(6)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (25)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (25)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (14)
    • Weekly (9)
    • Daily (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (24)
  • Pet OwnerYes (19) · No (8)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (3) · No (22)
Toby

Toby

  • 2 reviews

Could buy better???

published

Unfortunately spare parts aren`t easy to obtain and the powerhead does last long clearing dog hair.
Wouldn`t recommend this at all!!
Had it 12 months and the dust container is broken and now having trouble getting another.

Purchased in May 2019 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Great machine with design faults

published

Designers need to think of their target market - eg people who do housework. In a large country house with high ceilings, various floor coverings and a dusty environment the ridiculously short hose makes for very hard work and does not reach high enough, the tools are very heavy and clumsy and the fixed dusting brush all but useless. The crevice tool should be longer, and the wretched thing keeps tripping on its own electrical cord. The machine itself is excellent!

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
matthew S.

matthew S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Badly built and designed to fail

published

This machine has been a nightmare. It is constructed from cheap plastic parts that do not stand the test of time. The plastic handle and adjustable stem have become defective after one year of use. The power nozzle makes a terrible rumble and was not effective in the slightest. The plastic filters are flimsy, with one of them no longer secure. Worst of all, the rubber gasket designed to contain the vacuumed contents leaks. The only part that has not yet failed on this machine is the motor. Even the cord retractor is faulty. Do not purchase a Miele bagless machine. You will be disappointed beyond measure.

Purchased in February 2017 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Miele Blizzard CX1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NWX2

NWX2Perth, WA

I think they can do better if they think about it.

published
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

DONT BOTHER

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Electronics Physical Store for $550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
reaver821

reaver821Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Disappointed

published

I don't understand why it cost so much with such mediocre performance.
everything is so average compare to other cheaper brands,
its said for "Multi Floor" but bad for carpets, any vacuums with a motorhead cleans better.
and btw the clip for the dust bin doesn't work well, some times it just won't lock.

Purchased in October 2019 at David Jones Online Store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

HKP

HKP

  • 3 reviews

Not sooo happy

published

I have always had Miele Vacuum Cleaners, the old one was still working but the accessories and the actual rod were a bit damaged so I wanted to spoil myself with a new one. I was convinced a new Miele would be better than the old one... but not really so. It is definitely quieter, but I find the suction is a LOT less than my old one. So, this would be the first time that I was rather disappointed by my Miele purchase. I would not purchase this model again.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bing Lee for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Simone68

Simone68Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Better than a Dyson!

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Hi Simone,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review!
Kind Regards,
Joel

Jafrin S.

Jafrin S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Perfect cleaning

published

I use it for both carpet and wooden floor. It cleans perfectly specially the carpet dust and hairs. It’s now a part of our home. Definitely recommend this vacuum cleaner.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Hi Jafrin S,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Kind regards
Joel

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Miele Blizzard CX1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lindy

LindySydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Disappointing

published

Pluss:-
Easy instructions and assembly
Very good suction
Sturdily built
Minus:-
Cord is ridiculously short at 6.4 metres. Not 7.5 as claimed on the Miele au.web site. Previous vacuum had an 11 metre cord. Short cord means changing power points twice as often.
The built in brush accessory is useless for cleaning sliding window and door tracks as the bristles are too short. There also aren’t many of them so I expect they will quickly wear out.
The dust canister doesn’t close tightly. There is a visible 1-2mm gap so the outside of the canister and the compartment it sits in are coated in dust which has to be wiped off every time I empty it.
It’s heavy and bulky and takes up a lot of space in the hall cupboard.

Cat and Dog model does not work on dog hair. Powerline clogs up and turns off power.

published

It was great for the first 6 months and then started clogging after 10 minutes of use. Each clogging requires an hour of taking apart the vacuum and repairing it, since the nearest repair center to take advantage of the warranty is 4 hours away.
I would not buy this again, and no longer recommend Miele.

Purchased in May 2018 at amazon.ca for $850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
reeni89

reeni89Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Better Than A Dyson

published

Absolutely perfect. This vacuum can pick up ANYTHING. I have two kids, four cats and a dog. The amount of dust, crumbs and hair it picks up is incredible. I'm left flabbergasted everytime!! Never did my two Dysons ever impress me like this.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!

I bought a year ago Miele Vaccum Cleaner, Blizzard CX-1 Excellence Powerline SKCR3. and it has terrible smell now.

published

It is advised by Miele Tech that I have passed over water and bad smell has caused for that. I bought for $699 and now Miele wants $270 for repairing after in warranty time. not recommended at all and poor customer service from Miele and Harvey Norman Thomastown.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $699.00.

Pet OwnerNo
Emma

Emma

  • 5 reviews

Good but not worth the $$

published

Whilst it does have a good suction, the force of air generated by the vacuum pushes all the dust into the air and around you. All the hair and fur got caught on the attachment pieces so those attachments are now useless. It is also quite heavy to lift up and down stairs.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Neel

NeelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Loving It

published

Bought the Miele Blizzard CX1 Cat & Dog 7 months ago and love everything about it. With 1,100 W of power combined plus the included Turbobrush, this vacuum has picked up the finest dog hair that even a Dyson wouldn't pickup. The Click2open button to empty the dust bin is a very clever feature and one of the most hygienic ways of emptying the dust bin. The build is solid but that doesn't make the vacuum hard to handle. I've found that this vacuum is very easy to maneuver even though it is corded and of solid build. Overall I recommend this vacuum and also suggest that you look out for sale events as you can get a very good vacuum for a much lower price during these sale events.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $599.20.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Hi Neel, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Miele vacuum! Kind regards, Jack.

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Miele Blizzard CX1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Elena

ElenaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

The best

published

Its a bit expensive but it is the Best vacuum cleaner I ever had! Strongly recommend!
We bought many different vacuums (even Dyson) in a pass few years and never been happy with them.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $649.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Elena for taking the time to leave this review!

Kelly W.

Kelly W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Easiest Vacuum ever!

published

This vacuum is a pleasure to use. I can see how much dirt and dust it has picked up with the clear easy to clean bagless compartment. This has 4 settings for different carpets and speed. Excellent on all types of flooring.
I've used it to clean my car, all the hard to reach places... my car interior looks new!

Thanks for producing a great product thats cheap and easy to maintain.

Purchased in September 2017 at Myers.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Kelly for taking the time to leave this feedback!

FuzzyWuzzy

FuzzyWuzzyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 6 reviews

Best vacuum on the market.

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for $549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your Miele CX1 vacuum!

Neo_one

Neo_oneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Disappointing, want my old vacuum back.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman, Gepps cross for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Miele
JoelMiele
Neo_one
Neo_one
smann

smannMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Love how the vacuum works but not the turbo head

published

This vacuum works like a dream however after each clean I need to cut the hair from the brushes which becomes clogged very easily. I would not have bought it if I had known this.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you for providing this feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns. Kind regards, Anna.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Kat

Katasked

Blizzard CX1

there are some very hard to reach nooks and crannies that need cleaning in the dust container. Any suggestions on how i can get to them. I cant leave it there because there is mould growing.

No answers
Dana H.

Dana H.asked

Blizzard CX1 Cat & Dog (SKCR3)

I bought my first Miele in Nov/Dec 2019 and it worked brilliantly. A month in I was losing suction and the roller barely spinning. Suction from the machine seemed ok but the roller. I longer spinning. I had trouble shooted as well as regularly cleaned the filter. Due to not having a rep close by I was told to take the unit back to place of purchase and they exchanged it in early January 2020. Now, 8 weeks later I have the same problem except the roller is also stiffer and nit moving. I’ve been a Dyson owner for 25 years and not happy with the lady dries of their animal ball and initially felt the Miele was my savior. I’m very disappointed and not sure what else to do.

1 answer
Miele
JoelMiele

Hi Dana, we apologise for the inconvenience of this matter. Please contact us on 1300 464 353 or book a service call using https://www.servicebooking.miele.com.au so we can assist you further. Kind regards, Joel.

*Note, the above contact information is for Miele Australia only. To contact New Zealand please call 0800 464 353. For all other countries contact information, please contact your local Miele representative.

Bonny Rugendyke

Bonny Rugendykeasked

Blizzard CX1

My Miele Blizzard CX1 now clogs almost immediately around the filter and cannot be used effectively. I brought this unit less than a year ago, and live remotely. Is there a reason why? and is there anything I can do, rather than pack it off to the nearest major centre for repair..?

2 answers
Rhea R.
Rhea R.

I just came from the Miele service centre, they were amazingly helpful. (my cord retractor needed replacing) If you can bear being on hold ask to be put through to the service centre to a technician. He did explain to remove the big cylinder grey canister filter (see when you remove the main canister) and wash in water every few months, just checking you have done this?

Bonny Rugendyke
Bonny Rugendyke

Thanks Rhea.. will do :)

Get an answer from our members and Miele representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.