??!
12 photos
Mini Hatch Cooper

Mini Hatch Cooper

3-Door Hatch, 5-Door Hatch
3.3 from 43 reviews

Reviews

3.3

43 reviews
5
(17)
4
(6)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.2 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (5)
  • Boot Size
    3.2 (5)
  • Features
    3.0 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (5)
Previous
Next
Jess

JessGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

My mini

published

I have a mini Cooper s purchased in 2018 new. I use my car daily for commuting to and from work mainly, to run errands and for the occasional road trip. I have been taking it to the mini service centre when the electronics prompt me for a service. There have been no mechanical issues found with the car so far after 2 years of ownership. Love the styling and quality of the product. Only downside is I wish that they would integrate Apple or Android car play soon, without it breaking the bank. Competitors have this on base models! Their own system for integration/app is useless and difficult to use and there's so much more potential.

Purchased in June 2018 at Mini Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
From A.

From A.Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Terrible Build Quality And Just A Terrible Vehicle In General

published

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mr Black

Mr BlackSouth East Queensland, QLD

So far so good 2010 R56 Cooper Hatch

published

2010 R56 Cooper Hatchback

1st Mini for me, Second hand straight swap for a 2011 Ford Ranger (long story, but a happy ending). Happy with it, no issues that I'd complain of. Glad I didn't go the Cooper S, as they appear to have more problems than the basic Cooper.

Daily driver, go kart cornering, but understand that I will have to fork out $$ for servicing, parts replacement and run flats. Lucky I have a mortgage eh!

Happy motoring!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mini Hatch Cooper compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rachel M.

Rachel M.Northeast, VIC

I loved this car until the timing chain broke without warning, causing catastrophic engine failure.

published

I regularly serviced my Mini and it was less than six years old when the timing chain broke without warning. It was out of warranty and Mini was going to charge me $14,000-15,000.00 to repair the engine or $16,000.00 to replace the engine. They only offered me $1,500.00 for a trade in (initially $500.00). I have since discovered that this is a common problem and a design fault in these that BMW is aware of. Although I loved this car and had no issues until this point in time, I feel devastated as I believe my car to have been worth about $25,000.00 at the time that it broke down. I had hoped to be driving for a few more years before I traded it in for a new one. Google BMW and timing chain faults before you buy these cars.

Purchased in January 2013 at Mini Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mitchell

MitchellSydney

  • 23 reviews

Terrible dealership service...good car!

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
lamster

lamsterSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Mini Cooper S Cabrio R52 Sidewalk

published

Buying a Mini is a lifestyle choice. It afords you the opportunity to join car clubs and meet nice mini people. My Cabrio is a special edition, noting major has gone wrong however I would recommend keeping regular maintenance especially in the oil department. Supercharger is very characterful. Roof works perfectly and is the outstanding feature of this car. This model is the ultimate version of the Mark 1 modern minis designed by Frank Stevenson.

BadgeCooper S
Doors3
Engine Size1.6L Supercharged Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Julia

JuliaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Fast and economical.

published

Enjoyed ever bit of that car. It is small, it is compact, fuel efficient. The car is comfortable to drive. Has a great pick up even though doesn't need that much petrol. The design from inside is a bit weird, the whole dash board is in the middle, unusual but easy to get used to.

BadgeCooper
Doors3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Tomislav

TomislavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

MINI COOPER-MAXI PROBLEMS

published
BadgeCooper
Doors3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Lauren

LaurenMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic to buy from

published

Bought a 2011 r56 mini cooper, awsome little zippy car. Purchased from Gabrielle motors NSW, were fantastic in their customer service and super responsive communication. Will be purchasing the next one through these guys again!

Driving is amazing 8n the mini, it hugs the road and corners beautifully, ive put to the test too and it handled very well.
Interior is basic but it feels like your in a larger car.. very roomy feeling.
Running cost are cheap as.. 45 to fill the tank and it lasts for ages, have had it now for 3 months and hasnt even done 100,000 ks not a thing wrong with it. Mechanic was blown away by how cheap and easy the car is to maintain.

BadgeCooper
Doors3
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mini Hatch Cooper compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
April

AprilAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

LOVE my Mini!

published

The driving experience is what sold me on the car, and the compliments are what made me keep it! It has a very low centre of gravity so you feel the bumps more, but going around corners or through the hills is amazing. If you can't get it in a manual....get it in a manual.
The interior is cute, but small. You can fit five people in but I wouldn't suggest it for a long drive.
Reliability is great, tells you if you need to pump up the tiers and running costs are low.

BadgeCooper
Doors5
Engine Size1.5L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Gregg

GreggSydney

  • 7 reviews

Great car if maintained properly

published
BadgeCooper
Doors3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Endless Headaches/Sloppy Engineering

published
BadgeCooper S
Doors3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2006
Melody21

Melody21Charters Towers

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My perfect first car

published

Mini cooper is really easy and fun to drive. For a new female driver, parking is easier with mini copper. It's very safe and fast to do turnigs and corners. The most important thing, The looking is cute. It's actually bigger than it looks. You can always put down the back seats and hold big luggages. Filling a whole tank is about $50.

BadgeCooper
Doors3
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Jerry

Jerry

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

We bought this car just half year, it’s really awesome, the control of the car is so comfortable. The noise is very low, you can change the interior light into your fav colour. The only one thing we don’t like is the halogen head light. anyway I think most people will like it

BadgeCooper D
Doors3
Engine Size1.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
dxline

dxline

  • 5 reviews

Love it!

published

Such a zippy and speedy car! An iconic model turned into a modern look and does not dissappoint. The car looks good outside and inside - especially with the leather interior and modern functions inside such as bluetooth, conventient buttons next to the steering wheel and the lighting inside of different colours!

BadgeCooper S
Doors5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mini Hatch Cooper compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel

MelMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Love love my mini

published

My mini is really fun to drive. It sticks really well to the road making corners feel really safe. The interior is shiny and has a luxurious feel with all the chrome detailing. It can get a bit squishy in the back with lack of legroom but if you are mainly solo driving then it won't be an issue. I don't think the diesel is as fuel efficient as the dealers say but for low to medium weekly use I probably spend about $50 per 1-2 weeks on petrol costs

BadgeCooper D
Doors3
Engine Size1.6L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
joker

jokergeelong vic

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

retro brilliance

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Badgecooper sevens
Engine Size1.5l
Cyn

Cyn

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

Mini is my first car, I enjoy to drive it every day. The only said point the service is too expensive. My first service if mini copper service team cost me 490 (engine oil is free)... But overall. the experience with MINI and their service team is very very good.

BadgeCooper S
Doors3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jess k

Jess k

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

My ultimate car and best car yet- it is love ❤️

published

Amazing handling, great steering, sticks to road well! Very good looking car and it turns heads where ever I go go which I love! Interior is very impressive clean cut and has the best looking dash! Running costs are great so affordable and that's even with the best most expensive petrol for the car!

BadgeCooper
Doors5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
The Beard

The BeardMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Car EVER

published

I love my Mini Cooper. I have the basic model 2015 and can't really fault it. The 3 Cylinder Turbo is very powerful yet incredibly economical. It handles very well and I have plenty of control on the road. The build quality is great and the interior looks funky. It is responsive for both acceleration and braking whilst looking cool on the road. Fits 4 people max.

BadgeCooper
Doors3
Engine Size1.5L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Eca

Ecaasked

Cooper R50/R53 (2002-2007)

Are these models in “s” series a better buy than the later R56 with known Timing Belt issues.? What known problems emerge in the R53 versions after 100k kilometres?

No answers
shanexu3

shanexu3asked

Cooper

Has anyone else experienced their Mini taillights melting or catching on fire? I’m a little concerned that if my melting taillight wasn’t noticed in time it could have set the whole car alight causing my house to burn down

No answers
Raquel J.

Raquel J.asked

Cooper R50/R53 (2002-2007)

I’m looking at buying a Mini Cooper S 2004 model for my daughter with 85,000km on clock I have read some good and bad reviews this will be her first car are these a good car? Are they expensive to service?
Does this model have many issues?

2 answers
Mitchell
Mitchell

A pretty risky gamble buying a 2004 model with 85K on the clock. In my opinion, it's not worth the gamble and would be akin to throwing away good money after a bad investment. These cars are expensive to maintain and the older they get the more expensive the maintenance, due to the number of issues that increase as they get older.
Again, this is just my opinion...

Vacublaster
Vacublaster

For a first car I would look at a Honda Jazz, they are cheap, hellishly reliable and a great car. My wife has had one for 5 years and it has not had one single problem. Mini's of that era are unreliable at best and were frought with problems.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.