??!
1 photo
Mitsubishi ASX XA

Mitsubishi ASX XA (2010-2012)

3.9 from 26 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
5
1 star
1

h3x

h3xAU

  • 20 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great but many recalls

published

This is a lovely car. It drives smoothly and is nippy and easy to park. Great family car. However there have been well over 5 recalls on in and its getting a bit ridiculous going in every 6 months for a recall issue. I dont think ive ever owned a car with so many recalls! Also the seats are a bit hard.

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Toni

Toniwallaroo

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

ok car.You get what you pay for

published

I live in the country so it doesn't get stop start city driving, I use my car every day.The car is ok nothing fancy. Interior is nice. My 2010 ASX is a 4wd that I have never used. If I did ,car is too low so would be like a snow plough. Had an auto years ago hubby used to say it sounded like a cow and this sounds the same when accelerating. Has a bit of power when needed This doesn't have the computer screen inside like newer models. Overall 2010 ASX is ok. Its a clean sporty looking car

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Sonja

SonjaPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

ASX still lacking

published

After reading the other reviews of AXS. I have come to the decision that i must obviously be used to a better class of car. The poxy cup holders in the back seat doesn't make up for the obvious lack of features i was used to in my previous car. Still very disappointed with lack of luxuries for the top model. And not even able to adjust windows or put on radio after turning off engine. I paid 41k to add some features to make it look better. I'm now looking at a Jeep or Nissan. Handling OK, nothing special. Aircon not the best for passengers at the back

BadgeASX
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Goose G

Goose GBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

2018 Facelifted model looks good, but that’s about it...

published
BadgeActiv
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Laurie Fisher

Laurie Fisher

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best purchase I have ever made

published

I purchased my 2017 Mitsubishi ASX about 4 months ago and I have never been happier!
They are a beautifully car to drive, very spacious on the inside.
It had rear view camera and Apple play, you just plug in you Apple phone using your USB cord and the home screen of your phone pops up on the screen which is ideal for music and answering/calling whilst on the road

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Barry M

Barry MWest Sydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Value!! very reliable

published

Bought a used one he other year there and it has not skipped a beat. Good looking car for it's age and very easy to find space to make. Cannot find any faults and for a car it's size it has very good fuel efficiency which is also a plus.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedOct 2015

randy00

randy00Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Got rid of it

published

I'll give it credit by saying it's a nice looking car.

But when your brand new car is an automatic, and it STALLS, what more can I really say about it?
An automatic should by no means stall when you are sitting at a red light, it turns green, and you put your foot on the accelerator (and normal acceleration, not flooring it).
Take it to the dealership I got it from and they look at it and can't find any faults. Won't replace it either.

Ended up getting rid of it.

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Dreviewer

Dreviewer

  • 4 reviews

Basic car

published

Easy to drive, good exterior looks. Makes a big change from hatchback car to now driving a mini SUV... feel more secure and safer. The interior isn't too flash but ok. Had a transmission problem and the dealer said nothing was wrong until a couple months later there was a mass recall of the ASX to fix the problem. Drives will now. Not for the speedy driver but basic driving is good

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Benny M

Benny MAdelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

2010 Mitsubishi ASX Aspire 2.0L 4 x 4 CVT

published
BadgeAspire
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Diesel DPF Dramas

published
BadgeAspire
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.8L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedApr 2012

WendyL

WendyLCairns

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

After 5 years I still love this car.

published

A very comfortable car to drive. Love the cross-over gearbox, or whatever it's called, as it allows the option to drive as a manual car which is extremely useful for long and/or steep descents - saves the brake pads - and also much safer on wet and slippery roads. As a frequent user of the Kuranda Range road, which is notorious for accidents, I found this gearbox option wonderful. I am 177 cm tall and this car has plenty of legroom for me - oh and did I mention all the space in the back, as the back seats lower completely? Even though it is now 5 years old and out of warranty, I am in no hurry to upgrade. No idea if it is an Aspire, just had to select something from the drop-down menu!

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedJun 2012

Blue Idol

Blue IdolBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

I Love It!

published

Awesome car that I ever had! Although bought it 2 years ago, still can't get over it! So good, easy to handle, so quiet, wonderful interior and beautiful exterior! I recommend it to all my family and friends, very reliable, had no problem with it so far, I Just can't live without my baby ASX :)

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedDec 2014

bob

bobcanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent in every way!

published

Low noise, excellent to drive. Turning circle is great for a large car! Never had troubles with it an fuel efficiency is fantastic! Cheaper on long drives than a suzuki swift! Interior is nice, the leather is great. Dashboard etc could be made out of a nicer feeling material rather than the plastic.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.8L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedOct 2016

John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

A very practical vehicle.

published

Excellent performance and fuel economy from 6 speed manual diesel ,have seen 5 litres per 100 during quiet suburban driving.all wheel drive is useful with the torquey diesel when roads are slippery.not so happy with inaccurate speedo(reads 9km fast at 100)and miles to empty reading.Apart from needing a regular high speed freeway burst to keep the particulate filter happy,has been completely reliable for 5 years and 90,000.

BadgeLS
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.8L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedOct 2011
mikey

mikeyabbotsbury (sydney)

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

It is a Lemon

published

Performance is good, blind spot front and back poor. The intrioris is plastic exterior panel plastic and if scratch the panel has tube replaced. Wow if you have an accident spare parts are the most expensive according to reputable panel beater. Bluetooth would not stay paired even though I had it looked three times by Mitsubishi during three services and even replaced by a better phone to no availability, know it is out of warranty Mitsubishi service does not want to know you.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Kingshuk

Kingshuk

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good family car with lot of space; Fuel efficient.

published
BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol

Solid compact SUV

published

Had the ASX aspire petrol for 5 years and has been pretty solid for that time. Fuel economy was good and performs as well as expected. Has had 2 recalls one which was pretty annoying was the power steering cutting out after hitting a major pot hole. Once they fixed the issue everything runs well. Did some light towing and a few road trips and has got the job done. I think as a package while not perfect was exactly what i was looking for.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol

2011 MITSUBISHI ASX ASPIRE (4WD) / XA

published

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

andysgalant

andysgalantAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very average car Very expensive to service

published
BadgeAspire
Engine Size1.8L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual

Nek

NekToowoomba

2010 Diesel 6 speed ASX

published

I love this car. Lots of torque from the diesel. 6L/100Km on the highway. 8 L/100Km towing a 750Kg boat.First gear is really low which is great for towing. but painful in city traffic.
I wouldn't recommend this car for stop/start city driving. I'd use it to go around Australia if it could carry more on a roof rack. I bought a full size spare wheel (from a wrecker).
The standard Dunlop tyres are too noisy on the highway. Pirelli P1 tyres are great on it. Reversing visibility is poor up close - fit a reversing camera
Economy, torque, style
Space saver spare tyre, Seats feel a bit hard after 2 hours driving. Maximum roof rack all-up weight of only 50 Kg

TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.8L Turbo-Diesel
7 comments
Nek
Nek
Nek
Nek
Nek
Nek

Further info - now done 86,000Km and discovered that the speedo is reading 7% low. When travelling at 100Km/Hr indicated, it's actually doing 93Km/Hr. Highway fuel consumption is averaging 6.0 L/100Km. Still loving this car.


Page 1 of 2

See all Mitsubishi ASX reviews

Questions & Answers

FRANCISCO M.

FRANCISCO M.asked

If asx 2012 model have timing belt?

1 answer
JonD
JonD

If you've got the 4B11 motor 2.0lt, timing chain. I think most of the engines in the range have timing chains from 2010 onwards.


Ron M.

Ron M.asked

Does a 1992 Delica have a timing belt or chain ?

No answers

Michael B.

Michael B.asked

What petrol to use

1 answer
cliff
cliff

always use e10, 94 octane from puma or woolies or BP who says its 91 but it is 94,or other stations,it love 94 octane e10


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

CategorySmall / Compact SUVs
Release dateJan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Replaced byMitsubishi ASX XB
Compare all Mitsubishi ASX

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.