??!
3 photos
Mitsubishi ASX XB

Mitsubishi ASX XB (2012-2014)

4.3 from 47 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
23
4 star
15
3 star
8
2 star
0
1 star
1

Owner's Review

published

Purchased in May 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sean

SeanSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent car

published

The car is a 2.2ltr turbo diesel. I have sold the car to my step daughter, she loves it. I did 170,000km and was trouble free. It is fully optioned with moon roof, leather seats e.t.c. The engine has a lot of torque and is great driving around hills and mountains. The fuel economy is great.
It's easy to park and manoeuvre because of its size. Folding down the rear seats turns it into a wagon and has a lot of room.
The only thing that annoyed me was the turbo lag from stop to go.
I definitely recommend this car in the diesel if doing the k's.

Purchased in July 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nat

NatSouth East Queensland, QLD

Strange sound when I take my foot off the accelerator

published

A couple of months ago I went into the dealership to have my break pads changed (recall), not long after that my car started making a strange sound like it’s got a flat tyre when I take my foot off the accelerator and then disappears when I accelerate. I regularly pump my tyres up or so I know it’s not a flat tyre.. it sounds like it’s coming from the engine.

Purchased in December 2014.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
See all answers
GymJunky23

GymJunky23Canberra

  • 5 reviews

Good All round small SUV

published

Has been a great, reliable car, decent on fuel, we have the 2013 XLS, heated/leather seats is pretty awesome, but the latest round of recalls is why it gets 4 instead of 5. And also since we put the baby seat in, we realized how small the rear seat is. But in saying that, I would buy another one.

BadgeXLS
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Monique

MoniqueOxenford

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect smoky car

published

My Mitsubishi asx is a perfect small family car. The precision of the reverse mirror is exact and now I’m finding myself using it more than I should. We love our Mitsubishi asx and wouldn’t go with any other car. The black is a really nice colour we absolutely love iy

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedAug 2013

George Kow

George KowGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

A good workhorse for the price

published

We were looking for an entry level SUV as a family car. My wife has chosen the ASX over the Kia Sportage. Honestly I was disappointed but when I started driving the ASX I started to love it. Not a bad car at all for $25000.
The car can be noisy on the road, fuel economy is ok and there are enough room at the front and back.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedAug 2015

J Paea

J Paea

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published

Have never had a problem with this car, have serviced it regularly and I have done 150,000 kms and only things I have changed is your general tires, brake pads etc... no major issues, the only down side is that I have 3 kids under 4 and we have 3 car seats in the back and a Pram in the boot and it’s a tight fit but it works.

BadgeActiv
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedMar 2014

Elmer

ElmerMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Nice designed car!

published

May 2014 when I bought my Mizti ASX 2014 Model. This car is a bit slow to accelerate obviously compare to my Kluger.

Still good compact SUV car. Full leather, Auto Transmission and panoramic roof. It's well designed in and out.

Since 2014, my ASX runs more than 100km's and had no problem except to have this service and change the tyre :-)

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Keith2

Keith2Adelaide

  • 41 reviews
  • 50 likes

Not my choice of an SUV

published
BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Lea

LeaBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car

published

The ASX has excellent when reluctantly purchasing the vehicle the salesman made the comment my husband will have a hard time getting me out of drivers seat i scoffed - he is normally the main driver within a very sort time i became the main driver she is such a dream to drive i am so happy my husband persisted saying this car was for me he know his wife of 25 years well I Love MY car

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedSep 2013

nikhild

nikhild

  • 21 reviews
  • 7 likes

Drives great no issues

published

The cabin noise is quiet. Interior is pretty standard although you do get touch screen and Bluetooth audio and voice control.
Have done 50k on it and every drive has been effortless even on unleaded non premium fuel. Can’t complain about the mileage either. Bluetooth audio works like a charm.
Legroom is sufficient at the back and boot size is adequate as well.
Overall extremely happy with purchase. The capped price on servicing is fantastic although I have now exhausted the period. Next service won’t be capped so not sure what it will cost.
Very recently had to replace front tyres and rears are still going.

BadgeBase model
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Sallw59

Sallw59Surf

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Reliable, cost efficient SUV

published

Effectively equivalent to the Outlander mechanicaly (from the waist down). If you dont need the 2 extra dickie seats or couple of centimetres save $5K.

Changed the original tyres after 65000km, with a better tyre which noticeably improved the handling.

5 year warranty and fixed services costs.

Plastic trim is a bit harsh but easy to clean.

4x4 & Diesel gives great towing on our small caravan.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMar 2014

Col

ColSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Its All Good

published

Sold the 7 seat 4x4 when I retired we drove off in our Diesel 4x4 AWD 3 years ago , and we still love the car , on trips we getting 5.5 L/100K even with the kayak on top , around town it drops to 7 -8 , we find it is easy to drive even on dirt roads , the turbo Diesel growls a bit at low speed but with the radio on you don’t notice it , it’s half the cost of the Toyota to services , and the turbo Diesel has a bit of punch of the line and at overtaking it does not notice hills , a good all round car that did not break the bank.

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Sev

Sev

  • 5 reviews

Great value family car!

published

My Mitsubishi asx aspire has all the extras you can ask for and when you consider the price being just under $30k that's a great value. I've got the moon roof, navigator, Bluetooth, keyless start, leather seats with warmers. The motor is not a strong one but as a mum with 2 children it's a fantastic car.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Cass

CassMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

A reliable car but nothing flashy

published

This car handles well. It feels like you aren't driving a truck, has a reasonable turning circle and view of the road. The fold in mirrors are a lifesaver when you need to visibly check it rmember if you lock you car. Can fit the redsbaby metro pram in the boot but not much else. Fuel economy is not bad with $60-70 per tank for 600 kms

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedMay 2017
kelsmt

kelsmt

  • 4 reviews

Good car

published

Issues I have:
I feel it over revs before automatically shifting gears
It has a painful blind spot meaning I have to be extra careful when turning out of roads to the right
Visibility from rear window poor, I rely on the reversing camera, which on a rainy day can be useless if wet.

Overall cost effective on petrol and fun to drive.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

tricked65

tricked65AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good value SUV, questionable components quality.

published

GOOD:
2013 ASX, own it since new. Good value for money. High riding, comfortable ride, much more spacious than family sedan. Glad to have made the purchase as it was a good little SUV for our newborn baby :-). 12 months / 15,000km service interval. Good gas milage.

BAD:
Twice factory recalls - fixed first one then second recall came 1 month later! Could do better by putting the 2 recalls together!
Alternator making noise, bad bearing, replaced under warranty - the first year, near new vehicle needing alternator replacement!
Lack power picking up from standstill, could be due to CVT/transmission design.
CVT maintenance very expensive (90,000km service)

BadgeLS
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Lou

LouTasmania

  • 27 reviews
  • 8 likes

Rental car experience

published

Rental car with very low mileage. Say, as new. Automatic SUV. The car is overall a reasonable car but the auto gearbox does no justice for it. It has troubles selecting the right gear on a slight, gentle gradient. I can hold it in gear, the next gear is too long, back up and is too far again. Overall, it has many easy to use features like the cruise control, (my Mercedes is much better), and mirrors fold automatically when the doors are locked. I would not purchase an auto version of this car. A manual may be a bit of a better car to drive.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

2014 Mitsubishi ASX 6 speed auto turbo Diesel AWD

published

Yes you can get a car with more bells and whistles and bling ,We got the ASX in 2014 when we got rid of the Toyota 4x4 , we find the car meets our needs it’s good in city driving and long trips even on dirt & gravel roads we get 5.5 L/100 on trips, the CVT is smooth and responsive the Diesel gives a bit of a growl in low gear now and again but you would not notice it in traffic, pulling power is grate ,doesn’t notice a trailer full of sand , we can carry two Kayaks on top, , the Great fuel economy, good luggage space, attractive shape makes look like a small car but it is not and great accessories! Yes it is a car for all seasons, We just Love the car

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Flourish

FlourishGeelong

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it 4 years on

published

This car is lovely to drive. We have had it for four years with no issues. We may upgrade eventually as we now have two children so it's borderline too small but would highly recommend it for singles, couples or small families. Running costs are reasonable and it has been very reliable.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Page 1 of 3

See all Mitsubishi ASX reviews

Questions & Answers

Habib

Habibasked

My ASX 2012 indicator lights on both mirrors do not work. They do work when i lock or unlock the car. Sometimes they work when hazard is on. They never work when i indicate left or right. what can be wrong with it?

No answers

arbies

arbiesasked

Got a 2014 asx xls. Any way to check if it has an alarm ( apart from smashing the widows !!! )

3 answers
Sayersmob
Sayersmob

All models are different, check your owners manual, my model doesn't have an alarm

JonD
JonD

If you've got keyless entry, try locking vehicle and try the emergency key fitted in the fob and open drivers door. That might set alarm off if fitted. If it's a sensor alarm for car interior, get someone to lock car with you inside. Wait about 30 sec to arm and see if moving around sets it off.

arbies
arbies

Yes. I wound down the drivers window, locked the car, waited 30 seconds and then tried to open the drivers door reaching in and BINGO, yes I can let the insurance mob know that it has an alarm fitted.... Cheers and thanks for the interest.


Caroljane

Caroljaneasked

I have a 2012 Mitsubishi Aspire. I connect my phone via bluetooth, and everything works great..... That is until it is daylight savings time. My phone is always manual as far as the timezone goes. What I find is that my clock in the car automatically goes to daylight savings time (I am in Qld). I change the time and it stays that way for a while, but if I was to listen to music through on itunes, or use maps, it immediately goes to daylight savings again. I have to change the time constantly which is very annoying. Does anyone have this problem or at least a suggestion as to how to rectify this please? Cheers.

2 answers
Pavel
Pavel

We have the same problem. I gave up.

Kingo
Kingo

Hi Caroljane,
What a weird problem. I haven't noticed it before. Do you have digital radio? I think after the 2015 model these things were rectified. In my 2017 model I have no problems at all. I am in QLD as well and I play Spotify etc with no worries at all. Maybe your older sound system is your problem. I know 2 other people who drive a 2016 model and they have no problems at all. I suggest you see your local dealer. Hope this is helpful.
Kingo.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

CategorySmall / Compact SUVs
Release dateJan 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Replaced byMitsubishi ASX XC
Compare all Mitsubishi ASX

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.