??!
4 photos
Mitsubishi Lancer CJ

Mitsubishi Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

4.1 from 140 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.1

140 reviews
5
(71)
4
(43)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (7)
  • Handling
    4.4 (7)
  • Braking
    4.3 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (7)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (7)
  • Features
    4.0 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (7)
Previous
Next
Mark

MarkLaunceston, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A good car

published

Recently purchased A 2008 VRX manual 2.4 for a second car very impressed with the power from the 2.4 ltr , 5 star ancap rating,handles great good brakes, the only gripe is there is some road noise but can be fixed with some sound proofing. Good size boot for a car of this size, also the engine has a timing chain not at belt that needs replacing every 90,000km :) Good proven engine.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$7,600.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Martin

MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Love my Lancer!

published

This is my third Lancer and I have yet to be disappointed. The economy and driving experience are very good, and it looks pretty stylish too. Repairs are relatively inexpensive. My only criticism is that the build seems a bit tinny, and I don't think it would do well in a bingle.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amelia

AmeliaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Loved having this car!

published

I got a 2009 model (automatic) in September 2011 and owned it until March 2019 (only sold because I moved overseas). Over the 8 years, no issues with the car other than two re-calls which Mitsubishi fixed immediately. I got it serviced when required as per mechanic and considering I used it a lot for work everyday, very happy with no issues, just the standard brakes, tyres etc. Cost about $60 to fill up and so efficient.

Purchased in September 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer CJ compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ash Smithh

Ash SmithhPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

mitsubishi lancer vr 2008

published

its a reliable car that has never broken down, value for money with fuel economy even after all these years it still runs the same as the first day i brought it. zippy and compact than another 4 door normal family sedan

Purchased in October 2014 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ashliegh.D

Ashliegh.DCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

If I could rate it a zero, I would.

published

Purchased in April 2016 for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
B Tra

B TraIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published

I have the manual version of the lancer SX MY11. This car has been very promising. It is durable and has yet to cause any problems. The interior is a little outdated, but I swapped the headunit for a touch screen aftermarket, giving it a great look. It is responsive and a fun drive. The paint job is an issue though, i have noticed the clear coat peeling off ever so slightly already which is quite worrying. All in all, mechanically it is top notch, but the paint work is something that mitsubishi really should have paid closer attention to.

Purchased in November 2018 at private for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ninian

NinianCairns

  • 3 reviews

Best money spent.

published

My boyfriend and I have Lancer, never had a single problem with it. :) My partner is a mechanic and recommended me to buy this car over any car! Transmission is smooth, aircon works really great. I drive to uni and for placements which is a bit of a distance but never had any problems. Amazing car!

BodySedan
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Lachlan B

Lachlan BCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Good old car

published

Car is now 10 years old and bought second hand. Previous owner clearly didn't look after it well due to paint chips scratches and stone chips being all over the paintwork. Mechanically, it still runs perfectly after 170 000km and feels reliable to drive.

Would recommend Lancers if you're looking for a good reliable car, just watch out for paint peel on the older models.

BodyHatch
BadgeActiv
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Love the car but fuel consumption is expensive

published

I have owned my beautiful Mitsi Lancer Ralliart for just over 2 years. I love everything about this car except that this car does a maximum of 350km to 380km a full tank and has to use Premium 98 petrol.
The car is beautiful inside and is amazingly stunning on the outside.

BodySedan
BadgeRalliart
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer CJ compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris

ChrisCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

expensive to fix man

published

This car is good if you maintain it properly. However, it is very expensive to fix even just for a low speed crash. Can go to 10000! I assume the lancer has a bad product quality regarding product itself, not referring to the passengers safety. So if you broken ur lancer better just get rid of it and move on! Typical Japanese car.
And sometime ABS does not work at all. So forget about it and go whatever else!

BodySedan
BadgeES Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Jodie

Jodie

  • 5 reviews

Love my Lancer, won’t buy another vehicle

published

I purchased my 2014 Lancer as an ex demo model with lots of optional extras like tinted windows, sat nav, camera and reversing sensors. Love my Lancer! Has so much room for a mid sized sedan. I can fit three adults and two car seats in plus a weeks shopping in the boot.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
alannahrose

alannahroseGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my car

published

Drives really easily and smoothly, bought it as a company owned vehicle so it was treated really well which was good. I wish I had a AUX or a USB plug in, but i know that the newer models have this so when i upgrade will make sure to double check. Costs between $50-70 to fill up, depending on petrol prices. I will also make sure it is not CVT, because thats the one thing i dont like about the car.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Lizzy

LizzySpringwood

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ok- bad on petrol

published

It's a nice zippy little car, but it's petrol hungry, drives rough and suspension seem too hard. Otherwise I love the look of it, and love the way it handles corners quickly and smoothly, love the cruise control and chilly air con- however this takes AGES to get cold in summer compared to other cars.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Isabel

IsabelSunshine Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

So dissapointing

published

We've previously had two Lancers (both 1990's models) which were awesome. Unbreakable. Bought this Lancer expecting it to be the same quality. Nope.
Terrible road noise (vaguely improved with the addition of very expensive tyres), random engine noises, awful clunky manual gearbox, cheap poor quality foam seats.
The only decent thing about this car was the design. It looked great. Mitsubishi obviously put money into design and not much else nowdays. Will never buy again.
Traded this junk on a Hyundai i30 which is awesome. Lost a lot of money with this crap car. Glad I got rid of it as I heard they have now recalled them due to serious engine fault.

BodySedan
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Nanette

NanetteSouth Australia

  • 5 reviews

Perfect vehicle for safe comfortable country trips

published

Good for overtaking road trains on country trips.
Very reliable & economical & not expensive for services.
Very comfortable leather seats.
Plenty of room in the back, front & boot.
Seats fold down for extra boot room if required.
Very little road noise.
Good surround sound system.
Very good safe car.
My daughter is very happy with her purchase.

BodySedan
BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer CJ compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amylase

AmylaseMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Nice, practical car

published

The driving experience is pretty good. The engine is a bit noisy but you get used to it. if you like cars that make sounds this is the type of car for you. The performance is good too. it can go from 0 to 100 real fast and the driving is smooth. the brakes are the best. Breaks almost straight away as you press it, The interior is spacious for 5 people, there is ample leg room the lights are red for interior which makes it sort of a sportish look. the car is reliable. but has had 2 recalls in the past about the drive belt and the airbags. the running costs are not too bad full tank s about $50 and service been about $300

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Vallidos

VallidosSydney

  • 4 reviews

Perfect Car.

published

Car is very reliable, good on petrol and there are minimal mechanical issues. Sufficient leg space for all people in the car, especially with boot space in the hatchback version. The car looks good, runs good and does not fail to get you from A to B. Great car overall!

BodyHatch
BadgeRX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2009
Jaz

Jaz

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Gets me here & there

published

The car overall is a very reliable car! My mum purchased the car brand new with all the extras she could get at the time. Its now my first car and it goes like a champ! Its a beautiful red colour with a sports look to the

The only problem with the car is the amount of fuel it tends to use. I go through fuel a lot faster the older the car gets and it's getting frustrating.

The side strip on the car door has also had the silver peel off and go black when taking it to Mitsubishi they tell me that I need to get the whole side door penal replaced which is a very expensive fix.

There is no other problems with the car just those two things.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2009
Andy

AndySydney

  • 4 reviews

Love the feel of the ride

published

This model came with the touch screen and leather seats with seat warmer. This is by far the best purchase and I cannot live without it. Usually I hate driving in winter but the seat warmers make it enjoyable. The ride is very smooth since the handling is pretty good.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Sunil K

Sunil KSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Gets the job done

published

The Lancer's performance yearns for more. Likening the normal Lancer's performance to the Evolution's would make it a much more pleasure to drive. Nonetheless, it gets the job done. It is rather fuel efficient, and has handy indicators regarding fuel use. With the Aspire variant, the interior is significantly nicer. With leather seats and posh accents, many compliments have been directed at the luxurious feel of the vehicle. Legroom in the backseats are limited, but is a pleasure to drive.

BodySedan
BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 7
See all Mitsubishi Lancer reviews

Questions & Answers

Douglas M.

Douglas M.asked

Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

why does my Mitsubishi 2011 Vr Lancer have a squeak in the front right brake area after being driven for a short while about 20klms???????

No answers
Rona S.

Rona S.asked

Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

do the lancer 2014 LS have a timing belt if so when is it due to be replaced please

No answers
Kayla S.

Kayla S.asked

Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

mitsubishi lancer 2015 making a knocking sound ? can only be heard from inside the car.
happens after driving the car for awhile and once starts continues.

1 answer
Jermaine J.
Jermaine J.

Take to a mechanic straight away

Get an answer from our members

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.