4 photos
Mitsubishi Lancer CJ

Mitsubishi Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

4.2 from 144 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mitsubishi? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (12)
  • Braking
    4.4 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (11)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (12)
  • Handling
    4.2 (12)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (12)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (12)
  • Features
    4.0 (12)
Previous
Next
DR
DRMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

So bloody reliable

published

Bought second hand back in 2014 for $10.5K. my best investment ever.
Might not be the prettiest car but it sure is reliable. We have treated Lance poorly, gotten the car bogged, taken it places we probably shouldn't have and it's never let us down. Honestly, the best $10.5K I could have ever spent and I feel very loyal now to the Mitsubishi brand.
Contemplating buying a Triton for some off road adventures. But I'll keep Lance going as my city car until the bitter end!

Purchased for $10,500.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised Review No

Still miss this car

published

Bought one of these new in 2014 and owned it for 5 years, great car to have for no issues with a good mix of efficiency and power from the 2.4L mivec. Great handler and a fun car to drive that was ahead of its time in looks. I think this car still looks better than a lot of new cars coming out in this segment today.

Purchased in January 2014 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Aaron S.
Aaron S.Gippsland, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable AF, good all rounder.

published

I went on a search for a second hand car with decent looks, reliability and full of extras which led me to a Lancer VRX.

I've owned one for nearly three years now ( 8 years old when I purchased it ) and it's given me no issues at all. It just keeps going and going. Lots of features , decent servicing prices, decent power and economy. Just a great all rounder.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer CJ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew1964
Andrew1964AU
  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Now at 260000km

published

this is an update - we have driven another 80000km since the last update. The Lancer has now done 260000 faultless km.

Nothing has been needed apart from tyres and maintenence oil and filter every 10k and a battery at 9 years old [about 5 years ago now]

I still say "What a great little car. Just the right balance of ride & handling power & economy" .

Road noise is a bit tyre-dependant... but what a pain free terrific, honest car!
I was , and still am, amazed they are so cheap to buy
CJ Lancer is an under-rated value proposition.

Purchased in March 2010 for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mark
MarkLaunceston, TAS
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A good car

published

Recently purchased A 2008 VRX manual 2.4 for a second car very impressed with the power from the 2.4 ltr , 5 star ancap rating,handles great good brakes, the only gripe is there is some road noise but can be fixed with some sound proofing. Good size boot for a car of this size, also the engine has a timing chain not at belt that needs replacing every 90,000km :) Good proven engine.

Purchased in January 2020 for $7,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Martin
MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Love my Lancer!

published

This is my third Lancer and I have yet to be disappointed. The economy and driving experience are very good, and it looks pretty stylish too. Repairs are relatively inexpensive. My only criticism is that the build seems a bit tinny, and I don't think it would do well in a bingle.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Amelia
AmeliaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Loved having this car!

published

I got a 2009 model (automatic) in September 2011 and owned it until March 2019 (only sold because I moved overseas). Over the 8 years, no issues with the car other than two re-calls which Mitsubishi fixed immediately. I got it serviced when required as per mechanic and considering I used it a lot for work everyday, very happy with no issues, just the standard brakes, tyres etc. Cost about $60 to fill up and so efficient.

Purchased in September 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ash Smithh
Ash SmithhPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

mitsubishi lancer vr 2008

published

its a reliable car that has never broken down, value for money with fuel economy even after all these years it still runs the same as the first day i brought it. zippy and compact than another 4 door normal family sedan

Purchased in October 2014 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ashliegh.D
Ashliegh.DCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews

If I could rate it a zero, I would.

published

Purchased in April 2016 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer CJ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
B Tra
B TraIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published

I have the manual version of the lancer SX MY11. This car has been very promising. It is durable and has yet to cause any problems. The interior is a little outdated, but I swapped the headunit for a touch screen aftermarket, giving it a great look. It is responsive and a fun drive. The paint job is an issue though, i have noticed the clear coat peeling off ever so slightly already which is quite worrying. All in all, mechanically it is top notch, but the paint work is something that mitsubishi really should have paid closer attention to.

Purchased in November 2018 at private for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ninian
NinianCairns
  • 3 reviews

Best money spent.

published

My boyfriend and I have Lancer, never had a single problem with it. :) My partner is a mechanic and recommended me to buy this car over any car! Transmission is smooth, aircon works really great. I drive to uni and for placements which is a bit of a distance but never had any problems. Amazing car!

BodySedan
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Lachlan B
Lachlan BCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Good old car

published

Car is now 10 years old and bought second hand. Previous owner clearly didn't look after it well due to paint chips scratches and stone chips being all over the paintwork. Mechanically, it still runs perfectly after 170 000km and feels reliable to drive.

Would recommend Lancers if you're looking for a good reliable car, just watch out for paint peel on the older models.

BodyHatch
BadgeActiv
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Love the car but fuel consumption is expensive

published

I have owned my beautiful Mitsi Lancer Ralliart for just over 2 years. I love everything about this car except that this car does a maximum of 350km to 380km a full tank and has to use Premium 98 petrol.
The car is beautiful inside and is amazingly stunning on the outside.

BodySedan
BadgeRalliart
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Chris
ChrisCanberra
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

expensive to fix man

published

This car is good if you maintain it properly. However, it is very expensive to fix even just for a low speed crash. Can go to 10000! I assume the lancer has a bad product quality regarding product itself, not referring to the passengers safety. So if you broken ur lancer better just get rid of it and move on! Typical Japanese car.
And sometime ABS does not work at all. So forget about it and go whatever else!

BodySedan
BadgeES Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jodie
Jodie
  • 5 reviews

Love my Lancer, won’t buy another vehicle

published

I purchased my 2014 Lancer as an ex demo model with lots of optional extras like tinted windows, sat nav, camera and reversing sensors. Love my Lancer! Has so much room for a mid sized sedan. I can fit three adults and two car seats in plus a weeks shopping in the boot.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer CJ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Mitsubishi Lancer reviews

Questions & Answers

Douglas M.
Douglas M.asked
Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

why does my Mitsubishi 2011 Vr Lancer have a squeak in the front right brake area after being driven for a short while about 20klms???????

No answers
Rona S.
Rona S.asked
Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

do the lancer 2014 LS have a timing belt if so when is it due to be replaced please

No answers
Kayla S.
Kayla S.asked
Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

mitsubishi lancer 2015 making a knocking sound ? can only be heard from inside the car.
happens after driving the car for awhile and once starts continues.

1 answer
Jermaine J.
Jermaine J.

Take to a mechanic straight away

See all Mitsubishi Lancer CJ (2007-2015) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mitsubishi Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

Details

Compare all 11 Mitsubishi Lancer
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $28,490
TransmissionAutomatic, Continuously Variable (CVT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L
Max Power125kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque226Nm @ 4100rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2007
Discontinuation dateOct 2015
Compare all 11 Mitsubishi Lancer

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.