??!
3 photos
Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL80VGD (7.8kW)

Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL80VGD (7.8kW)

MPN: MSZGL80VGDKIT
4.6 from 12 reviews

Reviews

(8)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Room Type
    • Living/Dining Area (1)
    • Whole House (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    5.0 (2)
Carl Millen

Carl MillenDarling Downs, QLD

  • 11 reviews

Works Wonderfully Well

published

Yes, we had it installed very professionally by a licensed electrician.
It works really well for both heating and cooling.
We use it mostly for heating, as it is so economical to run compared to most other forms of heating.
We have a very large and long lounge and it has the capacity to warm all of it.
We also installed the WiFi interface. Which is great. as long you an internet service you can turn it on with your phone from any where. Eg. before leaving work or on the way home, or before you get out of bed even.

Purchased in November 2018 at From the Electrician for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric
Alison binney

Alison binneyDarling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great unti

published

Fantastic unit, super quite, easy to use, cools and heats our large area really well. Didn't notice a huge increase in power usage from previous bills. Highly recommend this product.

Purchased in January 2019 at Betta Home Living for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Sayersmob

SayersmobNarre Warren North

  • 7 reviews

Love It !!!

published

Works really great, what a relief in the hot humid weather, we also have an evaporative cooler which struggles on the humid days, this gets as cold or hot as you like. Haven't had a chance to use it for heating yet but if it works as well as the cooling it will be awesome. It is very quiet to run and very easy to operate. Would recommend this split system with confidence.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL80VGD (7.8kW) compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
hipsterdonut

hipsterdonut

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

So far so good

published

Seems to work well, it is quiet and certainly keeps the house sufficiently warm in this particularly cold winter.

Also came with a $200 voucher which I have yet to receive but will update if anything goes wrong on Mitsubishi's end.

Currently no qualms with it at all.

Good controls

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Vicki

Vicki

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good enough for the entire open plan living, dining and kitchen room.

published

This unit provides us with climate control, the ability to direct the flow of air, and to set a time for it to operate.
Initially, I was not sure if it would cover the open plan area in our house but it has proved to work really well. We use it throughout the year to both heat and cool the space and operate it on a temperature range of 24 - 26 degrees celsius - we have found that this is the most efficient.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Wills

WillsNsw, 2259

  • 6 reviews

Excellent

published

Great setting for high that reverts to my normal setting a few minutes after i push the high power button. Gets the temp down quickly. Then eco setting keeps the temperature at the level i want. I cant seem to find a fan only function though. Which could just be me. Its the only thing i miss from my old air conditioner. This is a big model. But uses much less power than my old airwell that wasn't an inverter. I used this in summer and the bill was lower than last years by a third, and it was on alot more.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Mark3217

Mark3217Southwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

excellent air conditioning

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Poss81

Poss81

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Super Quiet And Works Perfectly!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
davidholstitis

davidholstitisBendigo

  • 3 reviews

cannot fault this airconditioner. Does my entire house top and bottom.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL80VGD (7.8kW) compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TasMal

TasMalHobart

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Heating an open planned area!

published

Have had the Mitsubishi GL80VGD running in cold Tassie weather and have been impressed with the ability to warm a large area. The unit is heating an area of 66 m. sq. and when we use the long air option, it pushes the heat into an extended part of the house. Easy to use.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Jeff C - Australia

Jeff C - AustraliaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 22 likes

Top performer, excellent temperature control

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
B. Salisbury

B. Salisbury

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Buyer Beware if you've got a hot fibro house!!!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
See all Mitsubishi MSZ-GL Series reviews

Questions & Answers

lisa

lisaasked

MSZ-GL80VGD (7.8kW)

where is this unit made?

1 answer
Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric

Hi Lisa,

The MSZ-GL80VGD is made in the Mitsubishi Electric factory in Thailand.

Best regards,
Mitsubishi Electric Australia Support

Franko

Frankoasked

MSZ-GL80VGD (7.8kW)

Has this machine have a filter ? and what is needed to clean and how?

3 answers
Stewpot
Stewpot

It will have outlet filters. My model is the 7.1 but assuming they are similar you need to open the hatch at the front of the indoor unit. It lifts upwards. The filters will be visible and slide out easily. A bit hard to explain but here but it is quite simple.

NadiaF
NadiaF

Stewpot has answered this as i have no idea... I will just get in the airconditioner cleaner to do it... lol

Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric

We have created a guide on how to clean your air conditioner filter, which this model has.

Find the guide here:
http://www.mitsubishielectric.com.au/how-to-clean-air-conditioner-filter.html

Kind regards,
Mitsubishi Electric Australia Support

Wayne H

Wayne Hasked

MSZ-GL80VGD (7.8kW)

Sounds like an installer problem , not a Mitsubishi one ! Can't see how you can blame them ~ they had no idea of your house "condition". Does anyone make a domestic heat pump capable of 16kw ?? We have just ordered the GL80 and our installer did the calculations. If it doesn't cope (which I'm sure it will) ~ it is his head that will roll, not Mitsubishi's !

2 answers
Kade
Kade

I agree, this review of his installer has nothing to do with the product. If product review had any thoughts of being useful they need to take stuff like this down

Rob
Rob

I also agree. The product is "unaware" of its intended location. So, an 8KW system could (to take it to the extreme) be installed in an outdoors football stadium and clearly it would not do the trick. On the other hand it would perform brilliantly in your en-suite. It is not the manufacture's fault. Mitsubishi have a great reputation, second to none - just take a look at CHOICE's review of a/c units as an example. We have one unit and another on the way. Mr Bishi, you're the one for us !

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi Electric representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.